Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insane driving in snow, what are people thinking???

• 06-01-2010 9:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭

Just come in from a walk where some skobie in a Glanza nearly caused a serious accident in Firhouse, speeding around a corner and his car ended up pointing in the opposite direction of travel on the opposite side of the road. Seriously, what do people be thinking??? I was out driving earlier, roads frozen SOLID around Rathfarnham/Firhouse area, I had two drivers tailgating me, even though when you use brakes the car keeps going... What part of basic cop on do some people not get???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

i missed gettin my car wrote off by about 3 seconds this evening, on the way home from work and some numpty decided they could drive like a lunatic on compacted snow and ice, came to a bend and shot across my side of the road and in on to the grass

some people shouldnt be on the road full stop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

The same indifference and ignorance that you see every day, people not using indicators, the same basic, "get the f*ck out of my way", you would think you might see just the briefest suspension of this kind of behaviour in conditions such as this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Damien360

Saw 2 stupid incidents in heavy snow near my house as I walked to tescos.

First was a 04 mondeo driver who sped down to a crossroads with lights and braked at the same point you would brake when in the dry. He slid all the way out in to the middle of the junction and then sat there like a fool looking around him wondering what could have gone wrong.

Second was a glanza driver who did'nt notice his drive wheel spinning as he drove as hard as he could and then quickly changed up a gear, causing his car to do a tailspin.

Luckily in both cases nobody hit and no damage.

Does anyone notice the white stuff falling from the sky at all ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Darragh29 wrote: »
    I had two drivers tailgating me, even though when you use brakes the car keeps going... What part of basic cop on do some people not get???

I had the same thing at the weekend, I was driving to Blanch (if I had known the area was as bad I would have stayed at home, it was fine in town) and I was crawling along because the roads were like glass

There was a guy behind me who in my opinion was too close although luckily he was taking it handy as well

A car coming towards me skidded across the road in from of me, I had enough time to stop as I was being uber cautious, the guy behind me nearly rear ended me and then started flashing his lights as if I had slammed on or something, the poor guy who skidded got rear ended buy the guy behind him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Driving in a queue about 30 kph out of Kilkenny today, everyone doing fine, a good 10 metres or more between cars, and some GIMP in a 97 CW Land Cruiser overtook about 6 or 7 cars so as to get ahead. He had to pull in in front of me because a truck appeared, and I had to brake (albeit very gently) to slow down, ABS going mad, dashboard lighting up like a Christmas tree.

This IDIOT obviously thought "I'm OK, I'm in a big 4x4, so I'm invincible", but didn't think of the knock-on effect his pulling in in front of me would cause.

He gained absolutely NOTHING from this stupid manoeuvre, because the traffic was 30-50 kph all the way to Waterford and he ended up arriving in the city at the same time as me.

FOOL!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

fricatus wrote: »
    Driving in a queue about 30 kph out of Kilkenny today, everyone doing fine, a good 10 metres or more between cars, and some GIMP in a 97 CW Land Cruiser overtook about 6 or 7 cars so as to get ahead. He had to pull in in front of me because a truck appeared, and I had to brake (albeit very gently) to slow down, ABS going mad, dashboard lighting up like a Christmas tree.

This IDIOT obviously thought "I'm OK, I'm in a big 4x4, so I'm invincible", but didn't think of the knock-on effect his pulling in in front of me would cause.

He gained absolutely NOTHING from this stupid manoeuvre, because the traffic was 30-50 kph all the way to Waterford and he ended up arriving in the city at the same time as me.

FOOL!!! :mad:

The exact same thing happened to me heading home to Tullow, just before Killerig. What these idiots will find out soon enough is that having 4WD won't help them brake any better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Aussie Sean

Haven't taken the car out since New Years Eve. Not worth the hassle or the risk. I appreciate that some people have no choice but to take the car,but take public transport or walk if you can.

Sean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

The only good point is if the idiots crash into eachother then there will slowly be less of them on the road in the future.

One can only hope. Im still amazed that people tried to tackle tinkers hill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭napapa

Just come in from a walk where some skobie in a Glanza nearly caused a serious accident in Firhouse, speeding around a corner and his car ended up pointing in the opposite direction of travel on the opposite side of the road. Seriously, what do people be thinking??? I was out driving earlier, roads frozen SOLID around Rathfarnham/Firhouse area, I had two drivers tailgating me, even though when you use brakes the car keeps going... What part of basic cop on do some people not get???

I was walking back from the Firhouse Supervalue and must've seen his retarded brother driving a fiesta, with no back lights and L plates. Car was spinning out of control...idiots!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

some idiot in a 4WD was tailgating me today, i flashed the fog light at him, to no available.

came on to an accident between two vans, and had to stop, and wait for traffic on the far said of the road to clear, went to talk off and my car had stuck and wheels were spinning, the idiot in the 4wd started beeping at me, a very nice man came and gave me a push and idiot 4wd bloke was flashing lights when i got moving again - have no idea what he wanted me to do.

what is wrong with people.

had another one beeping the feck out of on belevede road in dublin, because i wouldnt drive into the yellow box (fair enough you could see it with the snow) but he appeared to want me to sit in the North Circular Road - flipping muppets :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

I wasn't as lucky as you lot today, was driving on the N7 in the left lane on my way to work,nothing infront of me for miles, then a car goes by me see's slower moving traffic in her lane and SLAMs on the brakes,loses control and comes into my lane,hits me and sends me into crash barrier.Have to say i'm not a happy camper after that. :-( sad times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

jaybee747 wrote: »
    I wasn't as lucky as you lot today, was driving on the N7 in the left lane on my way to work,nothing infront of me for miles, then a car goes by me see's slower moving traffic in her lane and SLAMs on the brakes,loses control and comes into my lane,hits me and sends me into crash barrier.Have to say i'm not a happy camper after that. :-( sad times

Woah Jesus, the main thing is your alright, right? there are a lot of clowns about just have to watch out for them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

It's not just the 4x4's, saw this in a carpark this afternoon, was like WTF, in this weather. Get some sense people!

31142B799BD443D1887D5050A59B137F-800.jpg

415376B7A36B4D199F1564847722FE27.jpg

Or maybe it's a new type snow-slick tyre....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Sorry to hear that. Drivers don't just need to slow down and avoid any sudden braking, acceleration, etc., they need to read the road ahead, constantly scan for hazards and concentrate on what they're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭confuzed

Hope you are OK. Thats most important.
    I have been tailgaited today at N7 by a supercar (Audi) when I slowed in hard shoulder and let him pass. May be he wanted to win a race. RACE to HELL but i was no contestant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

Hal1 wrote: »
    Woah Jesus, the main thing is your alright, right? there are a lot of clowns about just have to watch out for them. :)

Yeah i'm grand thanks, wifes car took abit of a battering though. She's rightly pee'd off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Jebus, I'd sue her for all she's got.Totally stupid and ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

bbk wrote: »
    Im still amazed that people tried to tackle tinkers hill.

Oh you gotta be kidding me! :eek:

I bet there were some idiots who tried to go up Rugged Lane too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Not so good, Naas rd is lethal at the best of times. What lane where u driving in when she hit you?

Opps. I just re-read your post!! The silly f-in beeb, nice of her. Honestly there are some idiots on the rd that shouldn't be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭johndoc

Wonder how much of the taffic delays were caused by the likes of some drivers I was behind today
    10kph. Long straight road. No oncoming traffic. And no reason to drive at 10kph holding everyone up.
    There is a need to drive with caution. But for goods sake exercise some caution - and drive. If you want to park, then park. Let the rest of us get on with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Was passed by a glanza, white with black bonnet, walking up the knocklyon road today doing ridiculous speed for this weather, followed soon after by who I can only assume was his buddy in a civic.. Everyone was taking it handy enough but these two were really going for it. Could have been the same glanza as you saw, but living in Firhouse you probably already know theres plenty of invincible spas driving them around.

I'd wish they wrap themselves around a tree and hurt noone but themselves, but thats only gonna push my insurance higher :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭ninalucy1985

The thing is.. those boyracer car's etc.. wen you think they are speeding they are more then likely just out of control skidding by themselves, there are so many alterations to these type of cars these days that thewheels go 90 without even being driven..
    I know of an incident in Limerick where they went out purposly to skid their cars on ice..
    SHould I order the coffins now or....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

This weather has really shown how brain dead alot of the 4wd driving a_holes are in this country...big egos,big jeeps yet totally fockin stupid behind it all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

There are a vast amount of drivers who are asleep or semi-concious while driving.

This is irrespective of the cars they drive, or the weather conditions they're driving in.

The bad weather is only serving to make it more apparent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

Was dropping my wife to work this evening, stopped at a traffic controlled junction-lights went green just went to move off and a car comes from my right through the lights oblivious to the fact the lights had turned green when he was a good 50 yds away and had plenty of time to stop. Luckily i was keeping an eye on him.

Earlier i was walking home and crossing the road with a green pedestrian light when a observed a white van man driving and talking on a hand held mobile. The wife saw a female driver doing the same thing earlier to day.

Do these idiots have any regard for the welfare of their fellow citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

johndoc wrote: »
    Wonder how much of the taffic delays were caused by the likes of some drivers I was behind today
    10kph. Long straight road. No oncoming traffic. And no reason to drive at 10kph holding everyone up.
    There is a need to drive with caution. But for goods sake exercise some caution - and drive. If you want to park, then park. Let the rest of us get on with it.

I am going to agree with you.

I had to sit behind people driving in first gear. :mad:

I gave them plenty of space, and did not tailgate, but it was very fustrating. :mad:

Then there were the people driving in a gear that I do not have - they seem to have a gear between 1st and 2nd. :eek:

And then the people who think that the bad weather means that they can go through red lights. :eek:

And the ones who think that they can stop on the yellow box. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Even when the roads were actually gritted last week, there were some idiots driving in 1st gear as if the road was covered in ice :rolleyes:
    I mean ffs if you can't determine the road conditions get off the road!

Ditto - noticed the red light thing. Very odd.

As for driving behind people in first gear.... had that too. Only thing was the guy was half way up a hill, spinning his front wheels and going nowhere. When he did eventualy get going, I put my car into second and drove off, tyres none the worse for wear.

RGS wrote: »
    Earlier i was walking home and crossing the road with a green pedestrian light when a observed a white van man driving and talking on a hand held mobile. The wife saw a female driver doing the same thing earlier to day.

Do these idiots have any regard for the welfare of their fellow citizens.

But, But, But...
    How are you supposed to tell your friends and family where you are if you can't use your phone? :rolleyes:

I saw a driver sitting in one spot - wheels spinning - while chatting on the phone.

Put the phone away and concentrate on your driving.

Stee wrote: »
    Was passed by a glanza, white with black bonnet, walking up the knocklyon road today doing ridiculous speed for this weather, followed soon after by who I can only assume was his buddy in a civic.. Everyone was taking it handy enough but these two were really going for it. Could have been the same glanza as you saw, but living in Firhouse you probably already know theres plenty of invincible spas driving them around.

I'd wish they wrap themselves around a tree and hurt noone but themselves, but thats only gonna push my insurance higher :mad:

Same c*nt, white Glanza black bonnet.... If you ever get the reg no please PM it to me, this is one little runt that should not be allowed next nor near a car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

johndoc wrote: »

+1 Have been driving every day in the snow/ice for the last week - cautiously, but still moving. Was behind some car this evening doing less than 10kph on a perfectly straight flat piece of road with no junctions etc. I kept back a good 6/7 car lengths but the other driver obviously thought I was tailgating and put her hazards on to warn me to keep back farther :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭grizzlyadams

dudara wrote: »
    There are a vast amount of drivers who are asleep or semi-concious while driving.

This is irrespective of the cars they drive, or the weather conditions they're driving in.

The bad weather is only serving to make it more apparent.

Couldn't agree more , totally oblivious to whats going on around , in front or behind them :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

P.C. wrote: »

Which of course they can do legitimately, under certain conditions, if they are turning right.

TJJP wrote: »
    Which of course they can do legitimately, under certain conditions, if they are turning right.

Yes, I know that.
    Was not talking about them, as they would then move off the yellow box, and not be obstucting traffic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

P.C. wrote: »

All the yellow boxes have mysteriously disappeared with the advent of the snowfall :D

I've never seen such impatience and barely concealed agression on the roads as I have over the last few days... I haven't even been driving when I noticed this, often drivers completely losing patience with each other and the road like an icerink...

sesna wrote: »
    All the yellow boxes have mysteriously disappeared with the advent of the snowfall :D

Especially the one where I had to sit and watch the lights change three times before I could go, as the junction was blocked by drivers stoped on the yellow box (and, no, they were not turning right).
    The best thing was that the two Gardai decided to just look the other way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Here's a good one....

I was coming down the palmerston road towards the junction on palmerston park. A person in a merc was in front of me. As we approached the junction, the car came to a full stop. Fair enough, that's fine. However what the bollox did next was mind numbingly stupid.

For some god forsaken reason this dumbass decided to maneuver the car to the left (Now bear in mind that the car is a rear wheel drive :rolleyes:). Rear wheels started spinning and the back end started to maneuver itself to the left (to turn right???). FFS :rolleyes: Eventually the idiot had the good sence to stop. I take he stuck it in 2nd gear this time :rolleyes: as he got it around the corner. Obviously wasn't fit to use 1st... :rolleyes:

My turn next.

Stuck it in 1st, moved gently off, ASR was on. Round the corner to the right no problem.

Granted, my car is front wheel drive, however I don't care what type of drive you have on your car; If you don't have the cop on not to spin the ****e out of the front / back wheels and / or try to fight the ice then you don't deserve to drive a car in any conditions. You're obviously too stupid to know how to properly operate a car if you do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Had some moron tailgating me in the icy overtaking lane on the M7, was passing pretty slow traffic and when I pulled back into the driving lane he proceeded to tailgate the next car in front of him. I saw him do it to a few more cars further up aswell. While he was behind me he was throwing his hands up in the air as if I was in the wrong. He was driving a Peugeot 407 light blueish have his reg and all should of reported him for dangerous driving. 08**1203.

It really is astounding how idiotic people are, he was an absolute moron and his total disregard for other road users annoyed me so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

I filmed this earlier today in Park West, the trafic leaving Park West over the canal bridge towards the Nangor Road was at a standstill after this truck had several failed attempts at negotiating the incline. Truck drivers united managed to acquire a few bags of salt and spread it by hand on the hill. This is a video of the successful attempt to cross the bridge. The shrill blast of the horn towards the end happened as the truck met a gimp in an Audi A4 who decided to overtake the entire line of stationary traffic coming in the opposite direction. Thankfully nobody was hurt and no damage was done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

A girl got stuck on the hill coming out of Woodford in Clondalkin, a few guys got out and pushed her off, then others got stuck and we all pushed again. Camaraderie was evident all over the place

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I got stuck in Parkwest, then past Cloverhill, then by Liffey Valley. Damn inclines!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

groovyg wrote: »

After the last two days I'm going walk to work until the roads return to normal its too scary out there :(

It's not too much safer walking tbh! Much hilarity ensued this evening as women in their stilleto-heeled boots negotiated skating rinks. I walked on the road a bit as it was less icy than the foot path!

Also noticed this evening that a fire engine had their lights on going through traffic lights and people just ignored them :rolleyes:

The google says its -6 in Dublin now - I wonder what state drivers will be in when the morning comes. I usually drive an mx5 but there wouldn't be a hope of it seeing road over the past few weeks, I simply don't know enough to be in a car (especially a light rwd) and I'd end up killing someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

I swear. I'm appalled to the point of no return. Today fellow drivers showed their true colours. I oberved people not able to drive in snow who believed more accelorator = uphill.
    I must praise the two people in the Rialto area pushing cars up the hill. Not to blow my own whistle but I did not at any point need help I knew how to climb these inclines.

Still. Apart from drivers ignoring traffic lights, road markings, other road users, general rules of the road.
    Honourable mention to the toyota avensis who drove the wrong way up blackhall place (cabra/navan road) at the luas tracks. You certainly are a prat!

4hours and 40 mins later I Finally got home! *sigh* I'm staying off the road to avoid such idiots!
    God speed idiot in Avensis. God Speed.

Onkle wrote: »
    A girl got stuck on the hill coming out of Woodford in Clondalkin, a few guys got out and pushed her off, then others got stuck and we all pushed again. Camaraderie was evident all over the place

Good on ya. I'm fairly sure assistance that doesn't take a second thought for the able to offer is more than appreciated by those who are in a bit of bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭PanhardPL

Did anyone see the Range Rover skidding on the nine o'clock news, and the driver on his mobile phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Maybe he was calling Land Rover to find out how to actually drive a 4x4 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

I think some people do not realise they cannot get away with the s*it that they normally do. In gridlock traffic on Church street guy comes up my inside (I had already stopped) & drove staright through red light. He was so late he barely halfway before other traffic started on green. :rolleyes:

SUV idiots seems to be a common complaint. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

There is a Range Rover Sport abandoned on the M50 in the hardshoulder tonight along with 4 other cars. The roads were not that bad especially for a Rangie driven properly.

Whats with the Feckin truck drivers and taxi drivers in the east of this country. Its feckin -7c out in Lucan the roads don't look treated they are VISIBLY covered in hard ice and snow and artic's are blasting along hitting their limiters. I tested the braking conditions when their was no one behind me their was NO BRAKING capacity my abs activated and I didn't slow at all. How on earth do you stop a 30+ tonne truck in an emergency from 90+ km/h when there is no friction. Taxi drivers speeding and undertaking cars on the M50 in lanes that are very visibly covered in half an inch of ice and are untreated.

I got overtaken on the old N4 from Kilcock to Enfield tonight by a 99WH rigid. I was doing 70km/h in an 80km/h zone the roads were at best average their is snow/frozen slush on the road and I was following the previous cleared by other road users tracks and its a no overtaking area with double whites and big bright Yellow signs that show the limit and no overtaking yet dopey truck driver decides I'm driving too slow pulls out and goes past.

This country's drivers just beggar belief. How on earth do we have one of the lowest death rates on our roads in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 AdyDurn

I have to say, as a pedestrian trying to make it around Dublin, and coming from England (and yes, I've been a pedestrian and driver in London) I am disgusted by the driving on show.

Since I got here 2 months ago, everytime bar once when I've used a pedestrian crossing (and used it properly, waiting for the little green fella to appear before even thinking of crossing) someone has driven accross it, in front of me, behind me, I even had one guy slam the breaks on to avoid hitting me he played it so close.

Also, yellow boxes, I was under the impression same rules as the UK on these fronts, no entering unless your exit is clear?

Oh and constant use of the horn in slow moving traffic. Seriously guys, you're some of the most patient people I've ever met, I mean generally, so please tell me I'm just out walking at bad times?