Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I really shouldn't laugh at the recently deceased but...

• 06-01-2010 2:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭

HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! Fcuking idiots, good enough for the cowards...

Kabul, Afghanistan (CNN) -- Fourteen suspected terrorists died Tuesday night when the bus they rigged with explosives blew up prematurely, police said.
    The explosion occurred as the suspects were riding the bus in the province of Kunduz, said police chief Abdul Raziq Yaqobi.
    Yaqobi said the suspects wanted to attack Afghan police or foreign soldiers.

http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/asiapcf/01/06/afghan.terrorists.killed/index.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

hah

stupidity and explosives, not a good mix it seems!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

i never understood how anyone can call a suicide bomber a coward? Extremely brave and passionate in my opinion

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    i never understood how anyone can call a suicide bomber a coward? Extremely brave and passionate in my opinion
    :mad:
    you sir, are mistaken.

To say the very, very least

Max Power1 wrote: »
    :mad:
    you sir, are mistaken.

To say the very, very least

In that case Bobby Sands was a coward, killing himself to get a message across, maybe Maggie was right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Hmmm. I see what you're saying but, I still think there is cowardice in not being around to face the consequences of your actions. You can die believing you're a hero, but you'll never have to look the families of the innocent victims in the eye, and you will never stand trial for your actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

If they firmly believe the crap they do about an afterlife, it seems like an easy choice, not a brave one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

BS

Blowing yourself up so you go to heaven, not facing punishment for your crime or the kids of the people you killed, killing unexpecting innocent people...sorry i meant to say Heros not cowards.

SoulTrader wrote: »
    Hmmm. I see what you're saying but, I still think there is cowardice in not being around to face the consequences of your actions. You can die believing you're a hero, but you'll never have to look the families of the innocent victims in the eye, and you will never stand trial for your actions.

Are the Americans cowards for using drone planes to take out targets and firing missiles from warships etc? The Afghans are merely resorting to this because they don't have technology like Team America

In that case Bobby Sands was a coward, killing himself to get a message across, maybe Maggie was right?
    HOW THE HELL IS THAT THE SAME SITUATTION?

Did bobby sands blow anyone else up? NO. You are dangerously misinformed. *

*to say the least, were i to say what i really want to say about you i would be banned. Your troll like posts are not worth getting banned over

Sorry to intervene on someone else's comment but, although I don't support republican violence, I can't say Bobby Sands was a coward, because he only took his own life during the hunger-strike. That to me is an extremely dignified protest, ending with the ultimate human sacrifice.

Support his cause or not, nobody can call Bobby Sands a coward.

Sorry to intervene on someone else's comment but, although I don't support republican violence, I can't say Bobby Sands was a coward, because he only took his own life during the hunger-strike. That to me is an extremely dignified protest, ending with the ultimate human sacrifice.

Support his cause or not, nobody can call Bobby Sands a coward.

Yeah i guess it's different as it was only himself

How would you like it if i was "brave and passionate" and blew myself up, killing your mother/immediate family?

well I would hate you. But there is hatrid on both sides in a war.

Are the Americans cowards for using drone planes to take out targets and firing missiles from warships etc? The Afghans are merely resorting to this because they don't have technology like Team America

This is off-topic. I never mentioned America. Don't try and steer the thread into some sort of anti-American rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

well, back on topic here, i dunno if i'm amused. like i can see how its funny, but really i'm just thinkin 14 less dangerous crazies. phew!

well I would hate you. But there is hatrid on both sides in a war.
    But would you respect me and state that my actions were those of a brave man, whose passion for the cause in which he killed my family is none but admirable

This is off-topic. I never mentioned America. Don't try and steer the thread into some sort of anti-American rant.

by foreign soldiers i presumed they meant to blow up UK/USA troops

But would you respect me and state that my actions were those of a brave man, whose passion for the cause in which he killed my family is none but admirable

no but if your family was killed by one of my rockets do you think you'd respect me?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I think you'll find that suicide bombing does not get filed under "peaceful methods of protest"

MarkR wrote: »
    I think you'll find that suicide bombing does not get filed under "peaceful methods of protest"

I know, bad comparison sorry.
    Anyway, I'm not a big fan of American (Western) Imperialism, and these people only do this because they're so bloody desperate, mad b*stards but I think they've been driven to it if you ask me. Nuff said.

Edit: Did people laugh when IRA "volunteers" blew themselves up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Couldnt have happened to a nicer bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Ah the poor fellas. Live by the sword, die by the sword :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

The object of war, my dear boy, is not to die for ones cause, but to make the other fellow die for his.

Nothing brave about walking into a market and blowing up innocent people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Anyway, I'm not a big fan of American (Western) Imperialism, and these people only do this because they're so bloody desperate, mad b*stards but I think they've been driven to it if you ask me. Nuff said.

They certainly were -"tickets please".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

... and with 72 virgins waiting for them they'd be stupid not to do it!

They probably did.

But on the first points, eh, desperate, yeah they are desperate, doesn't mean innocents should die. Nor should anyone. Blowing yourself up is a cowardly way to fight a war, and it's most unsporting.

They probably did.

But on the first points, eh, desperate, yeah they are desperate, doesn't mean innocents should die. Nor should anyone. Blowing yourself up is a cowardly way to fight a war, and it's most unsporting.

well they're not exactly heroes on the other side either. Dirty war. And isn't all fair anyway?

History is written by the winners, if the Afghan war ever ends, guess who will be the heroes. :) And rightfully too IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Did bobby sands blow anyone else up? NO. You are dangerously misinformed. *
    He was a member of the IRA and presumably would have carried out a gun or bomb attack if asked. Yes, personally he was quite brave, but still wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

I'd almost be inclined to think this, but....

What is the fcuking point?

Shortcut to heaven - I know of no religious text that incentivizes shortcuts. To die in battle while defending the faith is just wonderful, but this isn't battle.

Fight the invaders - Geurrilla warfare is long established as the most effective way to fight an enemy who out-numbers and out-guns you. Hit the bases and the soldiers, not the civvys.

A warning to collaborators - Showing them how much human life would be valued if the invaders weren't here and the 'resistance' took over. Not much of an incentive to help the cause.

The only possible 'gain' through a suicide bombing of civilians is that you can show how 'committed' your people are. So its a demonstration of both cowardice and incompetence on the part of the leaders, and of retarded gullibility on the part of the bombers.

Or pointless waste of life in other words.

Gurgle wrote: »
    What is the fcuking point?

well, there's none really, but most of these people have been persecuted and many may have had their families wiped out by invaders etc. It's hard for us to understand their mindset but they're not stupid either, just because they're poor and religious doesn't mean they're idiots, they're as human as we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

But is seems like most of the time, the attacks that use car/truck bombs mainly kill locals - i.e. other Muslims - not Americans. US personnel are generally well protected in these countries compared to the civilian population. So the main effect on Americans is generally symbolic - it makes the administration look bad, and fuels calls for a) retribution or b) to withdraw. And this is on the backs of innocent people who may not like the American presence, but have no say in the matter of being blown up to Kingdom Come. So, no, all is not fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It takes two to tango, when it comes to a war both sides are as bad as each other.
    The only reason the terrorists use these tactics is because they think they've no other choice, and their right to a certain extent they can't fight the west by traditional means they'd simply lose. I'm not saying their justified or anything but I do believe that they believe they're doing a good and noble thing. I can't really justify calling them evil or "the bad guys" because of that. Just backward, ignorant, misguided fools.

well, there's none really, but most of these people have been persecuted and many may have had their families wiped out by invaders etc. It's hard for us to understand their mindset but they're not stupid either, just because they're poor and religious doesn't mean they're idiots, they're as human as we are.

Can you show me statistics that say most of these people have been persecuted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

I meant the point in a suicide bombing.
    If you want to mount a resistance, mount a resistance.

Its not at all hard to understand the mindset of those joining the resistance / terrorist groups, but that of the leaders is beyond comprehension.

They must be idiots falling for the bullsh1t of some old con-man mullah, who makes feckin certain that he doesn't have to strap on a suicide vest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭fikay

While you guys are busy debating the issues facing the modern tardicide banger, I was thinking of this hero.http://www.darwinawards.com/darwin/darwin2008-25.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It appears their intentions were to attack foreign troops. They are fighting for their cause, in the same respect that the Americans are fighting for their cause.

Do you laugh when Americans die in cross-fire? I doubt it.

These people are being occupied by a foreign army, and have obviously witnessed many deaths in their life as a result of the occupying forces - possibly family members and friends.

If my family members and friends were killed by an occupying force, I'd have no problems in justifying an attack on them, and neither would most people in this thread if they could be truthfully honest with themselves.

10'000's of civilians killed. Not one of you blink an eye and even attempt to understand what impact this plays on someone.

Nowhere in the Qur'an does it mention that it is noble or a way to heaven and have virgin wives if they commit suicide while killing infidels, but the majority of suicide bombers believe this.

The are brainwashed to believe that they will go to heaven and be considered a hero if they commit these crimes, with that mindset they are most definetly cowards for carrying out these crimes. Brainwashed or not its a cowards way to fight a war.

All through history there have sides of wars and political injustice that were compeletly outmatched by their opponents but they kept their dignity in fighting for their cause and didnt resort to killing innocent people and made huge sacrifices to themselves and their families, see Easter Rising 1916, Martin Luther King, Ghandi, etc.

Suicide Bombers see it as a win-win situation, sneak up on the opponent, kill as many people as you can, be a hero, go to heaven. The men who entered the GPO in 1916 believed they would be killed or imprisioned because of their actions and only fought men in uniform. Those men where heros who fought with dignity and sacrificed everything for their cause, i think it would be fair to say some of them believed that they would go to hell for what they were going to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Hazys wrote: »
    Suicide Bombers see it as a win-win situation, sneak up on the opponent, kill as many people as you can, be a hero, go to heaven. The men who entered the GPO in 1916 believed they would be killed or imprisioned because of their actions and only fought men in uniform. Those men where heros who fought with dignity and sacrificed everything for their cause, i think it would be fair to say some of them believed that they would go to hell for what they were going to do.
    The men from 1916 would never have boomed indiscriminately though. The men of 1916 would have been disgusted by the modern IRA up north and probably would have vomited at the thought of accidentally killing an innocent bystander.

If the rebels in the middle east exclusively attacked military targets they may get more international support, it often makes me go into conspiracy theory mode as to why these people make attacks on their own people, surely it can't achieve anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

he heh Brainwashed I'd say. Oh and stupid too:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

dlofnep wrote: »
    It appears their intentions were to attack foreign troops. They are fighting for their cause, in the same respect that the Americans are fighting for their cause.

These people are being occupied by a foreign army, and have obviously witnessed many deaths in their life as a result of the occupying forces - possibly family members and friends.

If my family members and friends were killed by an occupying force, I'd have no problems in justifying an attack on them, and neither would most people in this thread if they could be truthfully honest with themselves.

10'000's of civilians killed. Not one of you blink an eye and even attempt to understand what impact this plays on someone.

I couldn't give a bollox, serves them right the cowardly shower.

Oh yes, give me the innocent Taliban any day, they never hurt a fly:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I couldn't give a bollox, serves them right the cowardly shower.

Define "cowardly", and then we'll discuss if attacking a foreign occupier is a cowardly act.
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    Oh yes, give me the innocent Taliban any day, they never hurt a fly:eek:

Who said the Taliban were innocent? Nobody is abstaining them of their wrongdoings. I was merely pointing out that people often overlook 2 key issues in regards to such an attack. Who they are attacking (Foreign troops), and why they are attacking.

If American troops killed 1000's of Irish civilians, would you sit idly by and would you accept being called a coward if you responded to their occupation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

*sings*

The bombs on the bus go tick tick boom, tick tick boom, tick tick boom, the bombs on the bus go tick tick boom, Allah wills it sooooo

If American troops killed 1000's of Irish civilians, would you sit idly by and would you accept being called a coward if you responded to their occupation?

I don't know if you are aware of this but the British killed many irish civilians throughout the years. Then the IRA blew up many innocent civilans in the past 30 years and i'd like to think the majority of people in Ireland were disgusted by the bombing and murdering of innocent civilians, no matter their political views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭SlimJ

Jerry Seinfeld has a bit about this in his new act...

"I like it when the suicide bombers blow up before they intended to. Like some kind of Jihad E. Coyote."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Jumpy wrote: »
    *sings*

The bombs on the bus go tick tick boom, tick tick boom, tick tick boom, the bombs on the bus go tick tick boom, Allah wills it sooooo

That was almost exactly what I thought when I read that cnn story.
    Mine was

"The wheels on the bus go up and up, up and up, up and up."

Any time suicide bombers kill themselves and no one else it's a plus as far as I am concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Not sure if he was in a crowded place rigged to the hilt with explosives though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ffs, if these guys were using guns and airstrikes they'd still be considered terrorists

why is that? are they not fighting a war?

How is it any different to what the Americans are doing? They kill innocents too, albeit accidently (most of the time)