Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katherine Lynch's Single Ladies

• 06-01-2010 12:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

Yes RTE have given her another series and she is back on Tuesday next the 12th of January at 10.50pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Shes as funny as cancer tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I haz a sad now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

I have to agree with the rest. I find her really irritating. She's like the female version of Pat Shortt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

She THINKS she's the female version of Pat Shortt.

Pat Shortt doesn't use the same characters over and over again, and is, alot of the time, funny. Katherine Lynch is not, she's vulgar and annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

For ****sake. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭GLUEY

Sorry but women comedians are very very rarely funny, and she is no exception. Eww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

As if the January blues weren't bad enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭THEDONWALDO

she is the most unfunny alleged comedian i have ever seen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

amacachi wrote: »
    For ****sake. :(

I echo this sentiment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

FFS!
    This is 1970's club 'Did you hear about yer wan?' humour...played out and not, I repeat 'not' funny.
    Wasn't Twink getting away with doing this s**t back in the seventies/eighties? And she was as funny as a kick in the balls.

Katherine Lynch got 'An audience with'? These were supposed to be celebrity driven like the Billy Connolly, Rod Stewart ones. How after two runs are you waranted comissioning such a platform to such a nobody?
    She is only on air due to being related to and being chums with RTE folk, end of.

I fookin' hate RTE and it's blinkered, 'If me and Ronan dig it, so will the whole country' approach. Or worse, 'Let's give Katherine a show, sure Dymphna finds her hilarious. Jaysus!:eek:

I can't stand her, RTE are scrapping the bottom of the barrel again :rolleyes:

Pat Kenny is more of a comedian than her :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

We'll have to wait a while until we see Maeve Higgins' Fancy Vittles Series 2 so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

Ah for f*cks sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

dlambirl wrote: »

Pat Shortt doesn't use the same characters over and over again, and is, alot of the time, funny. Katherine Lynch is not, she's vulgar and annoying.

Different names does not a different character make

And he isnt funny at all anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

The sad thing is there is actually an audience out there for this shite, so i'm not surprised at all she has a new series, its bargain basement stuff for plebbs with terrible taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

From the advertisement RTE are showing it looks like she tried to bag Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Surely even the gormless twats at RTE realise that this is utter trash.. why are they subjecting us to such low brow shit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

FFS!
    She is only on air due to being related to and being chums with RTE folk, end of.

I hear this sort of think mentioned in regards to lots of RTÉ stars; Tubridy, McSavage etc. I'd really love someone in the know to draw up a family tree or some spider diagram that shows how all these RTÉ are related. It might explain a lot.

Not that I'm accusing RTÉ of nepotism, it's just that it'd be interesting to see how the various producers and "talents" are connected.
    Surely even the gormless twats at RTE realise that this is utter trash.. why are they subjecting us to such low brow ****?

I'm sure they know exactly how bad it is; but as long as it keeps getting decent ratings they'll keep pumping it out, regardless of their personal opinions of its quality.

An tSaoi wrote: »
    I hear this sort of think mentioned in regards to lots of RTÉ stars; Tubridy, McSavage etc. I'd really love someone in the know to draw up a family tree or some spider diagram that shows how all these RTÉ are related. It might explain a lot.

288xz5k.jpg

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 120 ✭✭ludermor

Different names does not a different character make

And he isnt funny at all anymore
    Killinaskully is ****e but Pat Short has been on the go for the guts of 20 years and had at least 10years at the very top. IMHO you cant compare Lynch and Shortt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Wyndman

The Andrews thing goes further (they're like our talentless Kennedy family) Todd Andrews, Tubridy and McSavage's grandfather was made head of RTE in the sixties after dismantling the railways for a quick buck.

The head of programming is married to Miriam O'Callagahan.

Lucy Kennedy's dad worked for RTE.

Eddie Doyle (Head of Entertainment, who has commissioned nothing but duds and many from his media friends like John Ryan's This is Nightlive abomination) has five family members employed in the All Ireland Talent Show.

Nepotism is rampant in RTE. I know it exists in all organisations to some extent but these people were useless in the first place, their entitled relatives aren't going to be any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

FFS!
    This is 1970's club 'Did you hear about yer wan?' humour...played out and not, I repeat 'not' funny.
    Wasn't Twink getting away with doing this s**t back in the seventies/eighties? And she was as funny as a kick in the balls.

Katherine Lynch got 'An audience with'? These were supposed to be celebrity driven like the Billy Connolly, Rod Stewart ones. How after two runs are you waranted comissioning such a platform to such a nobody?

I fookin' hate RTE and it's blinkered, 'If me and Ronan dig it, so will the whole country' approach. Or worse, 'Let's give Katherine a show, sure Dymphna finds her hilarious. Jaysus!:eek:

As you seem to be in the know, who is she related to in RTE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

dlambirl wrote: »

+1 Pat is likeable and occasionally very funny.

This one (or at least her characters) are brash, annoying and not even remotely funny enough to extract a 20-second clip that would entice you to watch it.

I change channel when herself or McSavage's promos come on, and the "Bad whatever" promos are just as "change-channel, quick, before that ****e comes on" impulse-triggering.

For a country with so much quick wit and craic, I find it astonishing that this ****e passes for comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭stevveyg

Cringe, she's so flipping annoying. how can she think her show is watchable let alone funny. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

i really think shes funny

that was class her acosting Ronaldo!

I don't think that was really Ronaldo.

Mre like this guy!

1713-n538717192_1103761_4978.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭podge018

Thought that was very funny. Good to see she's dropped the rubbish D4 character, the other 3 are priceless.

If you don't like it, don't watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭4Sheets

Well I for think its a great show..very funny indeed...
    I dont like kilnascully or I not a cluchie before someone accuses..its the best comedy since IT crowd..
    The sketch where she was getting the molehill ladies team to do a nude calendar brilliant..
    Apologies If I joined a 'bitch at RTE' Thread..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

I enjoyed it. Obviously not one for the comedy snobs or snobs of any kind come to that. A bit of harmless craic.

indeed

too many comedy snobs around

mayb they feels awkward laughing at irish stereotypes!

fair play to her for taking the pee out of some untouchable subjects on irish tv

refreshing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

wasn't quite as bad as I expected I suppose. She's as mad as a box of frogs.

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Peppapig

"I'm goin to fly off quicker than a batch loaf on a shelf in zimbabwe"
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Terrible, reminds of that June Rogers sh*te. Culchie humour, ah what can ya expect

as opposed to what humour? city folk in their sophisticated top hats?! elaborate on what u like then? or else to to the ranting forum u culchie hater!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

as opposed to what humour? city folk in their sophisticated top hats?! elaborate on what u like then? or else to to the ranting forum u culchie hater!

It reminds me of the Killinascully/Podge & Rodge style of affecting a silly accent and cursing a lot - that's her entire act. And I say "culchie humour" because that fanbase is the only reason for those shows success. I'm not a "comedy snob" by any stretch but I just don't see the appeal there, real lowest common denominator stuff

By the way I like The Inbetweeners, the Office, Daily Show and Mock the Week

It reminds me of the Killinascully/Podge & Rodge style of affecting a silly accent and cursing a lot - that's her entire act. And I say "culchie humour" because that fanbase is the only reason for those shows success. I'm not a "comedy snob" by any stretch but I just don't see the appeal there, real lowest common denominator stuff

get up the yard!

its great!

challenging so called celebs with such cheek - keep her lit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭The Prophet

Is inverted snobbery the only kind of acceptable snobbery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

4Sheets wrote: »
    Well I for think its a great show..very funny indeed...
    I dont like kilnascully or I not a cluchie before someone accuses..its the best comedy since IT crowd..
    The sketch where she was getting the molehill ladies team to do a nude calendar brilliant..
    Apologies If I joined a 'bitch at RTE' Thread..

You see, it's because of people like you that Brendan O'Carroll still has a career in entertainment :D

at irish stereotypes!

fair play to her for taking the pee out of some untouchable subjects on irish tv

refreshing!

I don't think there's anything untouchable on Irish t.v. these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RCNPhotos

"The best comedy since the IT Crowd" Right......

Another fantastic play by Eddie Doyle putting this idiot back on the TV. I wonder what production company it is? Perhaps the one with four of his family members working there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 thefrench

I thought it was great! plenty of laugh out loud moments.

I thought it was better than new series 'Your Bad Self' on Monday and 'Thats All We Have Time For' last Thursday - but they still needs time to establish their audience.

Anyone know viewing figures for Single Ladies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I enjoyed it a lot...very funny, laughed a lot...hopefully it will remain as funny throughout the series,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RCNPhotos

"That's All We've Got Time For" wouldn't be hard to beat. One of the worst pieces of television I've ever seen.

I don't understand why their rehashing muck like Lynch when they could have some of the biggest new irish comedy talents in the Hardy Bucks on the TV? RTE had them in their grasp and seem to just not care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Cannot stand the woman, tries to shock people with sexual 'quirkey' references but it wears thin. Characters are voices get me, doesn't really focus on peoples reaction like Naked camera did, she jus shouts at em, laughs, walks away and shouts something back! My mother seems to its funny tho!

No Podge and Rodge bashing, not so great this year but the had a great run a few years ago, their interview with Abi Titmuss was fantastic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 adiman

Lynch latest
    http://notthenuacht.com/?p=135
    Can't stand her myself but I'm not all down on RTE comedy. Caught bits of that new Bad Self sketch show and liked it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Carter96

I don't think that was really Ronaldo.

Mre like this guy!

1713-n538717192_1103761_4978.jpg

God RTE are pathetic. They can't even get this seasons kit right!! This one's from a few years ago...When Ronaldo was at United. :D

Oh and she's absolute garbage.

That was just a photo I got. He was probably wearing the right one on the night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

get up the yard!

its great!

challenging so called celebs with such cheek - keep her lit

Get up the yard:D Are you her writing partner? Here, say 'I willin' me barney!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭ianrush

The usual Katherine Lynch garbage. No need for a laugh track as she laughs at her own jokes most of the time. The shame is that very occasionally she can write a good line but she hurls so much other crap at the screen the viewer barely has time to notice (when a comedy show has not one but two musical sequences with characters dancing inanely in front of the camera, you really know it's bad). Here's a challenge to you Katherine, if you ever read this, try writing a character that's not straight out of panto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

I think there's probably quite a big class and rural/urban divide between what people find funny in this country. An awful lot of people from middle class urban backgrounds seem to be unable to relate to the broad, earthy humour of the likes of Katherine Lynch, Brendan O'Carroll, Pat Shortt etc. whereas people from working class and rural backgrounds can't seem to get enough of them. Maybe it was always that way, but I get a feeling the divide is bigger nowadays that it used to be. I thought it was funny anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭fcussen

This thread depressingly reflects that there actually is an audience for this ****