Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many times have you fallen on the Ice/Snow this winter??

• 04-01-2010 10:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭

How many times have you fallen on the Ice/Snow this winter??
    Just thought this would be an interesting one??

So far for me in the space of two days it's four!!eek.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭homersimpson

None :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Once, nearly twice.

Just a good thing I looked like the Michelin man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

Zero times.

But came very close on a few occasions yesterday. Lost my footing and found it difficult to recover a number of times, but managed in the end. Paths around blanchardstown are absolutely lethal right now. The snow's been compacted by pedestrian traffic and frozen into an ice rink in most places. Not going out as a result today (work at home, lucky me :)).

Absolutely zero sign of any gritting round here either. I guess if it snows again tonight, though, at least there'll be something with traction to walk on tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

None, but have had many near-misses. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

Twice, both last night.

Then my mam broke her wrist and the funny side disappeared fairly sharpish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Slipped countless times, fallen none, practice practice practice!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭phoebe!

Just once, but managed to break my ankle in the process!! Fun and games!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

not up until i posted in this thread anyway.:pac: the small steps help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

4 times on the back street, we live on a hill so there's the slow way and the quickway to get from the back door to the bottom of the street atm :( Lost count of how many times I've almost fallen, just had one there about 5 minutes ago :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭dollydishmop

Only once....but I didn't break the mug! ...and the tea I ended up wearing instead of drinking was pleasantly warming :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭JonnyM

none but seen an ambulance near the apple garage in arklow the other day and poor girl looked like she had broken her arm after slipping :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

The question should be 'how many times have i fallen on ice taday'

Many, many close calls, i'm back in dublin now btw ,not tipp:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

None, and I fall over in normal weather. The trick is to slide your feet - don't lift them. Seriously, try it, you'll look like a twat but you'll stay upright. Unless you're on crutches - sympathies phoebe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

What are the footpaths like in around the city centre (Stephens Green, Grafton St etc) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

3.14159265 times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

3 times, mostly during the ice rain spell. Slipped to near falling countless times. Quite embarrissing when there are loads of people around. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

3 times, mostly during the ice rain spell. Slipped to near falling countless times. Quite embarrissing when there are loads of people around. :o

Ah don't be embarrassed. I've helped up two people sofar in the last week when out and about. I think everyone knows it could be anyone who slips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭Pangea

When i was sliding on purpose i fell twice ,was lucky not to break anything, but other than that I havent fallen while walking normally, of course i have had many close shaves but got my balance back before i fell.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

3.14159265 times
    Snow pie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

0 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

Luckily none :) I've been out walking a lot and seen a good few people fall but not me, for the moment anyway.

Gah, I jinxed myself. It was raining on top of the ice while I was in the chipper. Did the splits when I walked out the door. Feck. :o

• Subscribers Posts: 16,615 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

fozzle wrote: »
    Gah, I jinxed myself. It was raining on top of the ice while I was in the chipper. Did the splits when I walked out the door. Feck. :o

never mind that, are the chips ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭paddy cork

once,vertical to horizontal in a quarter of a second!

copacetic wrote: »
    never mind that, are the chips ok?

:p but of course, they never touched the ground. I know my priorities!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

fozzle wrote: »
    None, and I fall over in normal weather. The trick is to slide your feet - don't lift them. Seriously, try it, you'll look like a twat but you'll stay upright. Unless you're on crutches - sympathies phoebe!

This is what i do and i haven't fallen once, Yeah you'll look like a twat but not as much as the people sittin on their arse.

baraca wrote: »
    This is what i do and i haven't fallen once, Yeah you'll look like a twat but not as much as the people sittin on their arse.
    Did the splits today, but in my defence it was raining so I assumed there was no ice. Mistake. Sliding feet is definately "the way forward" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

I haven't fallen once. Main reason being I've stayed in as much as possible.

I do that sliding my feet thing as well and it's always worked fine. Fingers crossed I haven't jinxed myself now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I haven't fallen either.

The trick for me is to wear heels (;);););)). Yes I know this sounds like madness, buts strangely enough the heel grips better. I think the balance is different. Any of my trainers/shoes are like wearing ice-skates.

Slippers don't slip either - but I am not a fan of wearing pj's during the day though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭sarahlulu

Just once, I was carrying my two year old and she landed on top of me. Ouch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

Uggs are pretty good too. Normally wouldn't wear them much but they're great on the ice, havn't slipped once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

slipped once and broke my ankle.. needed surgery to fix and with pins and screws.... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Uggs are pretty good too. Normally wouldn't wear them much but they're great on the ice, havn't slipped once.

Yeah the girlfriend noticed this.

Wasn't me i swear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I was doing great until today. I ran and landed nicely on my side. The snow was fresh though and I was wearing layers so it was like landing in bed. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Joe Public

On saturday night my wife fell once on the way to the pub and once on the way back even though I was holding her all the time. She's not inclined to wear the more sensible shoes because she's going out - women's psychology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Joe Public wrote: »
    On saturday night my wife fell once on the way to the pub and once on the way back even though I was holding her all the time. She's not inclined to wear the more sensible shoes because she's going out - women's psychology.

To be honest I find I walk much more safely if I'm not holding on to anyone. My OH tries to "help" me, but then my pace is all off and I'm more likely to slip. Just give me a good solid railing to hold onto. Then I'm grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,198 ✭✭✭✭Basq

None... slipped plenty of times.

But never fell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

plenty of near misses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

A scene I have seen countless times over the last few weeks:

fun02.gif

During Christmas, I witnessed 3 beures walking arm in arm down the street singing drunkenly some crappy christmas tune. When they all fell in unison I thought it was really awful.

but funny....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Not once and no near misses.

After decades of mountain life in many places... Sure footedness is an adaptation

Even the dogs are used to it now after a few wee skids.

And I do not count the time I was helping to try to push my car and ended up on my knees.

Good place to be in an emergency anyways...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Just the once - around 5pm on Christmas Day..... and no I wasn't pi**ed, it was a bit early for that!
    It had just rained and the temperature had risen above freezing so I presumed all the ice was gone but as we remember the rain froze on roads and pavements creating black ice. It was the first time I've seen this happen in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Rodg3

Took a nasty fall in Blanchardstown Village yesterday morning. Feet went right out from underneath me, up in the air and landed square on my back and clocked my head off the ground. Got up after a few seconds and there was someone stuck in traffic who checked it I was alright :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭isle of man

Just landed right style on me ass, well me spine.

me dam own fault, next time im going to lvl the track out and not leave a slope,
    bloody hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭markfla

My wife (also pregnant) was walking the dog along the canal in Kilcock today...dog ran out on the ice and fell in at the middle of the canal.....dog was struggling and couldn't get out..was deffo a goner...wife went in on the ice after him and ice collapsed under her midway out in the canal, she got the dog out and barely got out herself due to weight of jacket/clothes and boots.....I had said it to her not to go up there without me (I was in bed at the time as I'm working nights)....moment of scary madness...she had to walk about a mile back to the car (my car....I couldn't get to her) ...could have been a disaster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Ambersky

Fell on my back quite hard Christmas day but bought a pair of these last winter and decided nows the time to try them out.
    You slip them on over your normal shoes and they give much better traction so you can walk normally.
    They are great on snow and ice but you are not suppose to wear them on dry surfaces or indoors so I have them on a pair of slip on shoes which I take off when there is no more snow.

YaktraxPro-Shot.jpg

They can be bought from a few sites online like
    http://www.yaktrax.co.uk/

I recommend them on the kind of footpaths and roads we have these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

3, all while cycling. Thankfully all have been at slow speed and all 3 ended up with me on my backside rather than any more awkward falls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭keenan110

came off the bike 3 times in the past six days, only the last one was bad, turned a corner and the bike went from under me and ended up across the street!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Joe Public

Did ye see the lad falling on the news, it was a perfect example and well caught. Luckily enough he was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Had my first fall today. Went for a walk up to the field at the scenic car park on Bray Head with the dogs. Brought my Binoculars along with me because the views of the Alps....eh, I mean Wicklow Mountains are stunning.

Everything was grand until I decided to walk home via the seafront, ie walk down the path that runs down the front of the head. Got to the pedestrian bridge over the Greystones railway line and slipped. Now what would have been an embarressing fall on my arse was made one hundred times more painful by the fact that my Binoculars were in their bag over my shoulder and hanging around my back. I landed on them full force with my back. Twas like someone kicked me with steel tipped boots in my Kidneys.

Very very tender and occasional painful back spasms when I twist a certain way.

Ouch!! :D

All that said....Hasn't put me off the Snowy icey weather yet. I love this weather, Feels like a real proper Winter. Roll on Sunday and Mondays event!! :D