Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turbo Advice

• 03-01-2010 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭

I've seen a lot of talk on here lately about these Turbo thingies. My knees have gotten a bit dodgy lately and I need to get back into some kind of regime and keep the weight down so was thinking this could be a good idea as I've heard cycling is the best way to keep fit without heavy impact on joints etc.

I haven't been cycling too much lately at all, this is my bike and I wouldn't be looking to spend crazy money, just something that I can hop up on in the morning and do half an hour on or so and know I'm getting a good workout for that time. Not too interested in stats or anything so no real need for a computer or anything but would like to be able to change resistance levels etc if possible with these.

I know absolutely nothing about them, do I just sit my bike into it or what and should I change anything on the bike incase of damage?

Would appreciate any help and links/suggestions on a good one to buy, just for general fitness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

You can go cheaper, but the Tacx Satori is a pretty solid and well respected unit. €180 from CRC, I'm sure Home:Ballyhoura knows of somewhere cheaper.

This Elite Voltare trainer has 26% off at €122, might want to google it for reviews though.

Use an old tyre rather than a trainer specific tyre to save money, turbos tend to eat up tyres with regular use so this can be a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

I recieved a Cycleops http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/CycleOps_Classic_Magneto_Turbo_Trainer_with_DVD/5360019996/ a few years ago. Simple machine, change resistance by changing gear, I can't say it's enjoyable but it works well. The best turbo accessory has to be a fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Thanks for the feedback :)

Dirk, do you mean tyres or wheels?

So if I got the one for €180, you reckon I'd just need to get a few spare tyres to use on it, or should I get new wheels too? Or just a back wheel? Bear in mind I've no experience of this, I just want something I can hop up on for half an hour before a shower in my boxers :P

No just tyres. Although having a spare wheel (with cassette) means that the inevitably tedious task of swapping around tyres is avoided.

If you are using it for short stints, then you can leave your regular tyre on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

As dirk says turbos will eat a regular tyre relatively quickly so something like this (a specific tyre for a turbo) which should last longer, but i understand they are extremely difficult to get on and off the wheel and not suitable for road use. if you were getting a turbo it might be an idea to get a turbo tyre, rear wheel and cassette which could be used exclusively with the turbo and have another wheel for road use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I'm sure Home:Ballyhoura knows of somewhere cheaper.
    Haha, good one! :D Unfortunately not this time Dirk, I'd say CRC is your best best @ €180...although I got mine (same one) there 12mths ago for €150. Great turbo if you want one that is solid and reliable and not too concerned with data/stats.
    cormie wrote: »
    Dirk, do you mean tyres or wheels?
    Well you could get away with using really cheap tyres on your current wheels, they will still wear quickly and even someone today mentioned his shredding to bits after only a short session. Admittedly you will probably go through quite a few of them if you use it regularly enough. They are also a bit noisier than using a specific trainer tyre (you can get them closer to home if necessary too) which would probably be a better option and work out cheaper in the long run. With one of those, ideally you would want to get a spare back wheel. It doesn't have to be great at all and you should be able to pick one cheap enough (I might even be selling a set of Bontrager SSR wheels soon which might suit you). This would save you having to change tyres every time you switch between going out on the road or on the trainer. which really isn't a practical option. Best of luck (P.S. You don't know what you are getting yourself into buying a turbo. You have probably got the vibe here of everyone's thorough enjoyment using them! :rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

abcdggs wrote: »
    As dirk says turbos will eat a regular tyre relatively quickly so something like this (a specific tyre for a turbo) which should last longer, but i understand they are extremely difficult to get on and off the wheel

Whilst my Vittoria Zaffiro Pro training tyre was a complete sod to get on the first time, since then it's quick and easy (easier than Gatorskins anyway). Must have needed a good initial stretch.

thanks again for the replies everyone! Yeah I wouldn't mind just getting a specific wheel with the cassette and turbo tyre because whenever I do go for cycles, it's usually spontaneous and I wouldn't want the task of changing tyre each time to put me off it meaning I'd get out less.

Would I be looking to get the tyre, cassette and wheel separately or can you buy turbo specific ready made sets? Would it even be possible to just get a tubeless/airless tyre, just a full rubber one so it'd last longer? Again, just something simple, cheaper the better, if I could get the whole set up for less than €250 it'd be great, if I could get it for less than €200 it'd be even great :)

I've no idea what cassette and wheel would be compatible with my Giant SCR 3.0 though, would any do or would they have to be specific to the bike I wonder?

Pretty much any 700c road bike wheel will work, they are pretty much a standard size you will be glad to hear! (I am yet to decide but I might be putting up my used but still running grand Bonty SSRs including tyres, tubes, cassette and skewers for around a hundred, maybe just a bit over...let me know if you would be interested). You would also need tools to fit the cassette a chain whip and lockring remover, about another tenner each (I would fit the cassette for you on mine if you wanted them).

No such thing as a full rubber tyre as far as I know! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭papac

Bonty SSRs including tyres, tubes, cassette and skewers for around a hundred

@ Home Ballyhoura
    I would go a hundred on these if OP doesn't want them,they are in reasonable nick and the tyres have some life left in them.- I assume we could arrange collection around Ballyhouras.
    Of course OP has first shout. Pm if interested.

Thanks for the offer Home:Ballyhoura :) Can you tell me though, do I need a SET or will one wheel (the back one) do for use on a turbo? The front wheel just sits there as far as I know and it's only the back wheel in use?

I'm not suree, but does the set you're selling come with the turbo training tyres too? I'd be happy to buy the back one with the cassette and turbo tyre for €50 if it was suitable for the Giant SCR 3.0? Again, I'm not too sure if this is what you're selling as my bike parts knowledge isn't the best and I'm not even too sure what it is I need :P

If you're saying I can get everything I need from you for €50 and then just buy the turbo for €180 then that would be fine with me. I'm guessing with the cassette and everything, the back may cost more than the front so maybe half €100 isn't the right price for just the back wheel? Or do I actually need both wheels for the full €100?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

This turbo will work as well as the Tacx Satori for a good bit less... (I have the Satori and the Imagic - The Satori is a very good machine and if you can afford it then go for it, bit if you are on a budget then its not any better that I could tell than the other magnetic trainers I have used - although it did look better)

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=44182

That way you have plenty of cash left over for a spare wheel.

PS: You just need a back wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

You just need a rear wheel, however €100 for a wheelset+tyres+cassette is a very good deal, cheapest 10 speed cassette would set you back €40 on its own and that is already 38% off from CRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Quigs Snr wrote: »
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=44182

That way you have plenty of cash left over for a spare wheel.

Picked up one of these in.... Halfords :eek: last week, €125.

Thanks for the offer Home:Ballyhoura :) Can you tell me though, do I need a SET or will one wheel (the back one) do for use on a turbo?
    blorg wrote: »
    You just need a rear wheel, however €100 for a wheelset+tyres+cassette is a very good deal, cheapest 10 speed cassette would set you back €40 on its own and that is already 38% off from CRC.

Well, I haven't decided 100% yet that I am going to sell them although I should know within the next couple of days if thats OK. Also, it was not bang on one hundred that a said but a just a bit bit over it. The tyres are Vittoria Rubino Pro's with plenty of live left in them and the cassette is a 9-speed SRAM PG950 (one cog blocked off and I thought your bike was 9 speed, no? ... could leave out the cassette if you really didn't want it!) - Continental Race 28 & Vittoria Ultralite tubes too! Also, you only really need the back wheel for the turbo and I would rather sell mine as a set (the front wheel runs basically like new) but may be able to split them up if necessary (again, you are right back wheel would be slightly more expensive than the front for the reasons you mentioned). And mine don't come with a turbo trainer tyre. Again, I'm not fully sure if I will sell them but if I do I will let ye know and see if you still want them. Cheers! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭dexty

Just bought this one http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=15262

It's crc's most popular, anyone used it/ opinions on it?

D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭kerryscoob

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    You can go cheaper, but the Tacx Satori is a pretty solid and well respected unit. €180 from CRC, I'm sure Home:Ballyhoura knows of somewhere cheaper.

This Elite Voltare trainer has 26% off at €122, might want to google it for reviews though.

Use an old tyre rather than a trainer specific tyre to save money, turbos tend to eat up tyres with regular use so this can be a good idea.

Purchased this today, buckets of sweat (30 mins), but at least it's some bit of a work out, and no broken bones.

kerryscoob wrote: »
    Purchased this today, buckets of sweat (30 mins), but at least it's some bit of a work out, and no broken bones.

Which one? There are two trainers mentioned in your quote, was it the Tacx or the Elite that you went for in the end? And I presume if you bought it today and used it today you must have got it locally. Was the price anyway similar to what is offered online? Best of luck with it anyway. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭gaffmaster

I was hoping someone would start a thread about this - I'm in a similar position to the OP.

I need to get back on the bike asap but the weather is unforgiving.

I see they are available in Halfords: Does anyone know if there are any budget friendly ones available in the bike shops of Dublin City Centre?

Which one? There are two trainers mentioned in your quote, was it the Tacx or the Elite that you went for in the end? And I presume if you bought it today and used it today you must have got it locally. Was the price anyway similar to what is offered online? Best of luck with it anyway. ;)

Sorry Bally
    The Elite Volare for €167 the Edge in Cork, I knew CRC was cheaper but was tired of waiting for the thaw. I never thought of Halfords but I'm not sure if it's the same model.

I pm'd you today with regard the Kuota, did you check.

Oh ya! Sorry, forgot to respond to that. That seems like a lot of bike for the money, I will let the lad interested know what you told me and I'm sure he will be delighted. Thanks for finding that out for me. I wouldn't expect him to go any lower on the price anyway! Cheers ;)

Actually that one in Halfords does look quite similar apart from the colour scheme. Doesn't really matter, at least you have your one now to enjoy while it is always nice to give the lbs a bit of business every now and then. Sounds like quite a good shop that, the Edge, is it? Worthy of a trip or to drop in next time I'm in Cork maybe. What ya think?

Oh ya! Sorry, forgot to respond to that. That seems like a lot of bike for the money, I will let the lad interested know what you told me and I'm sure he will be delighted. Thanks for finding that out for me. I wouldn't expect him to go any lower on the price anyway! Cheers ;)

Actually that one in Halfords does look quite similar apart from the colour scheme. Doesn't really matter, at least you have your one now to enjoy while it is always nice to give the lbs a bit of business every now and then. Sounds like quite a good shop that, the Edge, is it? Worthy of a trip or to drop in next time I'm in Cork maybe. What ya think?

Can't fault it, it's not my normal LBS but it was either Riverstick or town and I wasn't going to risk having a smash over the turbo trainer. The Edge and Douglas Cycles shop in Riverstick do have good stuff and it is good to suppport them but it is hard to not go on line and get stuff in from the UK.
    I suppose it's a balancing act.

Seems to be a lot of different ones popping up in the thread, get a bit confused when that happens usually rather than multitudes of people recommending the same thing :o

Is there any real big difference between the models linked to though? Is the Tacx Satori simply worth the extra buck if I have it? Do any of them actually have computers that will tell you how fast you're going etc? They all seem to have the same features so far and I'm not so sure why for example there's two tacx linked to, and the cheaper one has more info in "features" and Quigs Snr says the Elite Voltre, which Dirk Voodoo has recommended already, is just as good as it but the Satori looks better :confused:

Wouldn't really be up for spending €60 extra just for the look really!:o

Again, thanks for all the very helpful replies to everybody!

I'd still be interested in buying a ready made back wheel with cassette, turbo tyres and one that's compatible with my Giant SCR 3.0 :)

EDIT: Just to note by the way, I'm heavy enough so I'd need a sturdy one that could easily hold 100KG ;)

Only very expensive trainers have computers, AFAIK.

Just get a cheap mag one and spend the extra money on a heart rate monitor.

What do you mean by a "mag" one? I'm guessing magnetic?

When you say about a heart rate monitor, would this be for fitness/weight loss optimisation? I've read about that before that weight loss can be optimised by keeping within certain heart rates, but I was a bit lost reading it :o

I would have thought spending €180 would get me a little computer one that could tell my top speed, distance and that, wonder how much I'd have to spend to find that out!

If the Elite Volare is just as good as the Tacx Satori, and solid enough to take my 90/100KG weight then I might just go for that! The Satori does look a bit more solid though.

Yes, mag=magnetic resistance.

A HRM (heart rate monitor) is the best way of measuring effort on a trainer, since speed doesn't mean anything. (A power meter is better still than an HRM, but that's a major step up in cost).

You can get trainers with integrated computers, power meters, virtual reality systems etc, but I wouldn't bother with any of that, it won't ease the misery that much anyway and will cost a fortune.

If you spend the money on an HRM you can also use it outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Hi Folks,

I am going to invest in a turbo. So what is the genral consensus. Which of the 2 mentioned should I go for and where would be the cheapest place to buy it (Lead time is not a factor). Also What spare tyre to be used for trianing on the turbo do you think I should invest in. At least I have an electrical fan which I will not need to get:D

Thanks again for the advice. Think I have a cheapo heart rate monitor I picked up in Lidl somewhere around. It straps around your chest anyway so I guess that's a function of it, it's a bike clock mainly. Must try set it up properly!

So I guess it's between the Tacx Satori and the Elite Voltare. Just wondering which would hold better for me.

What do you mean by a "mag" one? I'm guessing magnetic?

When you say about a heart rate monitor, would this be for fitness/weight loss optimisation? I've read about that before that weight loss can be optimised by keeping within certain heart rates, but I was a bit lost reading it :o

I would have thought spending €180 would get me a little computer one that could tell my top speed, distance and that, wonder how much I'd have to spend to find that out!

If the Elite Volare is just as good as the Tacx Satori, and solid enough to take my 90/100KG weight then I might just go for that! The Satori does look a bit more solid though.

The Elite has no problem with my approx. 90Kgs :D, so don't let that stop you.

Cool, I wonder is the halfords one the same model? One of the reviews on the Halfords site says it's quite noisy, another says it's not too noisy. Surprised Halfords is pretty much on par with CRC. Perhaps the Halfords one is a cheaper model though?

Same model, I got one last week.

Edit: the picture on the halfords site is not the one they have in stock, the one I picked up is the same colour scheme as the picture on crc

Cool thanks for the info! I guess the question now is whether to nip down to Halfords and pick up the Elite Voltare, or get the Satori from CRC :pac:

Does it say Voltare anywhere on the halfords model at all? :)

Just to add the Voltare I got came with

This Set is currently coming with a riser wedge for the front wheel, Elite 500ml sports bottle and a sweat band to attach to the bike.

Good deal, the riser and sweat band cost a bit on their own. I tried a phone book but it was not very stable, IMO the riser is necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

Hey just wondering how noisy these things are? For instance should I forget about it living in an upper floor apartment?

Oops, was just about to ring Halfords to ask about the deal but forgot that you got it from another shop ;)

Hmm, the Satori comes with a front wheel support. How much are these typically on their own? Wonder could I get Halfords to throw one in too :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

My new training wheel and tyre just arrived from CRC, but I cycled in today so can't try them out just yet. Mine is not too noisy with my road tyre on it, and they're supposed to be quieter with a trainer tyre. I'm not sure how it would go down in an apartment though.

sweat band is a nice way of saying spit band imo...

I have no riser, currently using a block of wood which is okay.. I have it setup in the garage so its fine... oh may not appreciate blocks of wood in the sitting room tho

poochiem wrote: »
    Hey just wondering how noisy these things are? For instance should I forget about it living in an upper floor apartment?
    They are noisy. I swapped a road tyre for a trainer tyre and put a trainer mat under it, it is still noisy.

Worth noting is that they are much quieter at slower wheel speeds. So if you have one that offers a good resistance you can run it at high resistance and it will be a LOT quieter.

I have a virtual reality/video one and it is very noisy during descents, not so much during climbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I have the same one as blorg and like his, very noisy on the downhills and flats. Very quiet on the uphills, mine makes a sound rather like an old tape walkman running out of batteries. Thats the riders fault of course.

OP, all of these are pretty noisy. Even with a trainer tyre and mat I still need to either turn the TV up really really loud of wear headphones if I want to hear anything.

Checked Halfords in Cork, out of stock they can order,but it doesn't come with the accessories.

Thaw will be well and truly in by the time they get them.

Noise wise mines in the shed, but I reckon you would be divorced/thrown out if in the house/apartment.

Tried out the Edge 305 as well last night for cadence/HRM etc excellent.!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

turbo with freebies a bit expensive though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭ajk24

I got my Tacx Flow from bike24.com in Germany. shipping is only €10.
    The Satori is well priced as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

If I may add my own tuppence to the discussion, I think having cadence is very important on the turbo, particularly anybody who is training (rather than just exercising). I know I'd be lost without mine, helps me to push myself.

Like Quigs said, I have to wear headphones when watching something. That's with a trainer specific tyre too which supposedly reduces noise.

A matt can help dampen noise too. One other thing, the added height can mean you need to get onto your tippy toes when getting on. If, like me, you have wooden floors that people don't like getting marked, watch out as cleats will chew them up! I now put my shoes on when on the saddle.

Noise wont really be a problem with me thankfully and I've actually replaced the clipless with some spikey pedals :)

What's cadence?

Pedal rotation, generally quoted in RPM. Must get the sensor hooked up on mine, then I can play games of keeping this at X and that at Y to distract me from the utter HORROR of the whole thing.

Jaysus don't put me off my impulse buy :P

Do you think this will be good for excercise/shaping up if the knees are dodgy for jogging/running impact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

A lot less impact on the knees.
    Spiky pedals mean more impact on the shin bones...:D
    shin.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I ordered one from CRC and it was delivered on Friday - just in time for the weekend and the thaw!! They also delivered it quicker than a pair of shoes I ordered earlier in the week and which I'm still waiting for!!

Anyway, set it up and had a couple of sessions over the weekend.

As regards the build and set up, that took less than 20 minutes despite what other reviewers elsewhere have said. As someone who is not terribly mechanically minded I found it easy enough to do.

On Saturday, then, I went for my first ride. For anyone comtemplating getting one, it is not ever going to replace going out on the road or even be an acceptable substitute. Although, it was not nearly as boring as I thought it would be.

"Thankfully" at the moment I've to study for some exams, so I broke the ride down into 5 minute blocks. Each block started with me reading a page of notes and then booting it for the remainder of the block (usually 2 to 3 minutes) and increasing the resistance by 1 every 30 seconds before returning it to "1" at the end of the 5 minute block and repeating the process.

I sweated like Gary Glitter in a Barney Suit, but as crude interval training went it wasn't too bad. On Sunday I did another longer session (1:10 as opposed to 50 mins on Saturday). I felt like I got a decent workout on both occasions from it.

Noisewise it was fine. The radio was on at its normal volume in the kitchen and I could hear it even at the higher resistances. No one complained about being woken up by it.

It also worked well with the Garmin giving me good readouts for RPM & HR. I reconfigured the device so the speed and distance fields were not showing.

The downsides of turbos are probably well known but I found it useful as I could concentrate on certain aspects of my riding withouth having to be distracted by looking at the road - I also reckon I'll be able to construct more precise training exercises to complement the road riding.

The turbo also offered to distinct advantages over the road - first, it is possible to sip espresso while warming up (very Euro!) and second, you get some idea of what it's like to have domestiques - in this case the kids!! Now all I need to do is get them to stand either side of me shouting "allez, allez, allez" and I won't need to upgrade to the VR trainer!!