Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Temporary suspension of shooting

• 03-01-2010 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭

Our club has suspended shooting since New years day untill the weather improves. There used to be a nationwide ban by the government once ten continous days of frost occurred.
    To be honest, I tihnk it is very wise decision to suspend shooting voluntarily. While out filling feeders the normally very wild birds we have were acting almost semi tame under feeders, obviously very hungry.
    Are othe clubs or individuals doing the same, it would be intersting to get people views.
    Regards
    Bibio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

As someone's already posted here, it's been done officially in Scotland already (for the first time in 13 years apparently).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

ya noticed myself got 3 cock sthe other day should of had four and wasnt out long
    also lamping foxes there coming like greyhound to the call must be very hungry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

stopped shooting myself since St. Stephens day, but feeding covers, notice a lot of birds now since things are harsh hanging around animal feeders.

See this now on NARGC site

http://www.nargc.ie/site.aspx

Good point imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

what would happen if theres a nationwide ban, would the almighty powers extend the season or would it be just though more birds for next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭270WIN

i would think the minister in charge would love to ban shooting full stop :mad:
    i think there was a ban about 20 years ago due to bad weather and the season was extended but only in co cork??? does anyone know for sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

The last big ban would have been foot and mouth there at the start of the decade, iirc. It's a shame though cause this is some of the nicest weather to be out in, but it's definitely hard on the Pheasants. Great for duck I've heard, if you break a patch of ice on a frozen lake they'll come into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 .243 express

Just heard that there is to be a Temporary suspension of Wildfowl shooting from tommorow.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Just heard that there is to be a Temporary suspension of Wildfowl shooting from tommorow.....

I think thats in the north?
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/8440441.stm

I cant find anything on a ban for the republic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

if your minister had any idea of what happened in rural ireland ,he probably would have a suspension of shooting until it thawed.

the ground frost has lifted one day in the last tree weeks hear.i have filled the feeders twice in this time .

jwshooter wrote: »
    if your minister had any idea of what happened in rural ireland ,he probably would have a suspension of shooting until it thawed.

the ground frost has lifted one day in the last tree weeks hear.i have filled the feeders twice in this time .

Didnt thaw at all around me, one day the sun got at it but not enough to thaw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Total waste of shooting days on misplaced humanity rather than reality ideals.
    Wild animals are designed to survive harsh elements,including weather much harsher than this.Yes,even here in Ireland.Were this to be placed in the EU,our continental brothers would lose appx 6weeks off their shooting season,as this kind of weather is to be expected from Nid Nov to mid Feb somtimes as a given.
    However their shooting stops Dec 31st every year,where we have an extra month and even till end of Feb for deer.
    Only reason ye are seeing more game is wild animals like humans are opportunists to a free handout.Bet you wont see them once the weather improves again.So long as you dont shoot them when they come to feed or over feeding grounds,I would see no reason why a cold weather ban should even exist.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

When did gormless Gormley ever have any idea of what rural Ireland is like??Apart from a romantic "Green" Dub 4 ideal of windmills in every eco warm cottage,on non polluting , free range ,cruelty,GM free communal farms,powerd by electric or horse drawn tractors.With comely lesbian/Transsexuals and creatures of other dubious gender performing traditional non violent ethnic approved dances at the crossroads???:rolleyes::rolleyes:
    To quote Fr Jack Hackett " Arse!!!"

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

Shooting is suspended in northern areas of France ATM . It is also always illegal to shoot when the snow recovers totally the ground. Exception is for animals concerned by a culling scheme ( Boar, deer ) and considered as vermin ( depends on the region ).

When the ground is that hard it is normal to find the birds around the feeders: they are the only food source ATM. Same for woodcocks they can't feed at the moment ... they can only survive and hunting them will only weaken them.

When i don't really take position when it concern pheasants out of a pen, paid for... why not shooting them during the frost ... Just a matter of considering where you want your level of sport to stand. I just think Wild birds such as woodcocks, snipes should be closed ATM. They are preparing for a long trip and exhausting them is not a good setup for them to come back to mate in good conditions. If we have a few winters like this without protecting the birds, it will be really bad for the whole population...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

agree with Grizzly 45.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    When did gormless Gormley ever have any idea of what rural Ireland is like??Apart from a romantic "Green" Dub 4 ideal of windmills in every eco warm cottage,on non polluting , free range ,cruelty,GM free communal farms,powerd by electric or horse drawn tractors.With comely lesbian/Transsexuals and creatures of other dubious gender performing traditional non violent ethnic approved dances at the crossroads???:rolleyes::rolleyes:
    To quote Fr Jack Hackett " Arse!!!"

i agree with you on that one G 45

sorry i cant agree with hunting in extrame weather ,the worse cold snap in 50 years,
    i have not shot for 3 weeks now.

there is guys shooting starving pigeons around me all christmass , with noting in there crops in the evenings to keep them warm at nite.

deer are on high ground are under most pressure now ,there showing during the day trying to warm up and get a pick in the few hours mid day when the ground does thaw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

It is cold agree but not extreme.
    I guess Ireland is not prepared or used to cold weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Octopus

I think you'll find .243 express is correct.
    I've been watching the news for an announcement but nothing so far.
    Very bad chain of communication from the dept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 .243 express

A guy i work with is well up in the NARGC.He told me this morning.He is usually bang on(excuse the pun).......................

I scoured the net and could only find the link to the north. Very bad at getting the word out arnt they.

just looking at prime time , every one eles in the country thinks its extreme.

except the government .

are they back from there christmas hols , maybe there all still in grand canaria .

they cant decide how to get salt into the country.:confused: is there a corbon monoxide leek in the dail ?.

jwshooter wrote: »
    just looking at prime time , every one eles in the country thinks its extreme.

except the government .

are they back from there christmas hols , maybe there all still in grand canaria .

they cant decide how to get salt into the country.:confused: is there a corbon monoxide leek in the dail ?.

Still on their holliers JW, didnt they extend it by a week this year??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Still on their holliers JW, didnt they extend it by a week this year??

Not quite.
    I mean, they did extend it by a week.
    But it's not just this year, they do it every year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Well, one's getting cancer treatment in the Mater, another's cutting funding to the Mater so they can't open as many beds as before, and another's watching us ship salt into Cork to grit the roads in Limerick...

Not quite.
    I mean, they did extend it by a week.
    But it's not just this year, they do it every year!

Thought i heard some giving out on the news that it was extended. I think they cut it last year only to extend it again:rolleyes: