Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish-Polish Wedding

• 02-01-2010 4:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭

Hi, Can anyone help me with information on an Irish-Polish wedding. My fiance(polish) and I(Irish) are planning to get married. We have both agreed to tie the knot in her home town in Poland. The problem is that we are unsure about the wedding ceremony language. How we can have both polish and english mixed into the ceremony. Has anyone been at a wedding with that had both Polish and English languages spoken.

I would appreciate any help on this.

Kind Regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

My other half's Polish, and one of her friends is currently in Poland getting married to her Irish Fiancé. Just find a priest who is bilingual, and meet him beforehand to aid translations, etc.

For speeches at the wedding, you'll have to resolve yourself to the fact that the Polish will give Polish speeches - with a few words of broken English thrown in, and vice-versa with the English parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Chelsea1

Hi Paintdoctor. appreciate the quick reply. Its hard enough to find a bilingual priest in my fiances home town as its not city size like Warsaw and Krakow etc. Also would you have anymore info on the type of ceremony/wedding that you other halfs friend is having? just online trying to get some ideas. obviously its going to involves friends and family from ireland coming over for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭water-man

Hello,

Got married to a Polish girl there during the summer.

We had all wedding Mass in Polish, except readings. Then for the vows we said in English but for the blessing of the rings I learned Polish, its only like 2 sentences.

We would have liked to have some of the Mass in English but the priest said it would take longer, as it would basically be 2 Masses.

Then for the reception we hired a translator. He was excellent - explained everything that was going on, acted as an interpreter between each of our guests. He came from quiet far away but that is his job. I can give you his contact info if you like.

All the best,

WM

Hi Waterman, Thanks for the reply.If you could pass on his contact details that would be great. Also any other hints/tips/ideas would be greatly appreciated. Where about in Poland did you get married?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭water-man

Afternoon,

Will look for that lads details and will PM them to you.

I assume you are getting married in a catholic church. How long before you get married? What part of Poland (town)? We got married about 90km south of Krakow, if you are close to where we were I could pass on sworn translator info too.

You will have to meet priest 3 times.
    1st time is to tell you what courses and Documents you need. I was even asked for a letter form secondary school that I studied Religion!!

2nd time you fill in some documents about your catholic background e.g confirmation, prayers etc.

3rd time we gave him all documents & IDs. We discuss Mass etc.

He will want a pre-marriage course but make sure you get it signed and stamped. Then there is a family course which is 3 times and each time its 1 hours, as far as I'm aware you can do this in Dublin or Sligo (We done it in Poland). And is also a lecture about family etc, was called an assembly day.

Confessions too. He gave me a document to get stamped after I'd been to confessions. 2 stamps were required.

Also you will need to contact the local registry office. Here they will tell you what civil documents you need. But make sure they are no more than 3 months old and will need to be translated into Polish by a sworn translator. This translator will also need to be present during the civil marriage to explain what you are signing.

Civil documents that I had to get were: Letter of freedom to marry from dept. of foreign affairs, Long birth cert and ID (I used passport). Think that was it.

We were probably in Poland 6 times before the wedding. I really orgainsed nothing my piekna zona had to more or less do everything. I was just the driver.

Any other questions, fire away.

Mr Water-man and Mrs Water-woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭maceocc2

Hi Water-man,

Great advice in this tread, thanks. I have a question for you since I'm getting married in poland this summer. Im in the process of getting the letter of freedom to marry from the department of foreign affairs and I was wondering whats general process becuase I have contacted the dfa who say the application needs to be in no later than 4 months before the date of the wedding and the registry office in poland say the letter cannot be any older than three months. I just afraid the letter will arrive before the 3 month mark. Do you have any info around this problem or does it all just work out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 PFiddy

Just booked our reception in Wroclaw for our Irish-Polish wedding next May. To be fair my other half has been doing most of the planning since she's Polish and it'll be on her home turf :)

Water-man, I'd be very interested in the contact details for your translator, if you could PM them to me I'd really appreciate it.

How are the plans coming along Chelsea, Water-man, Maceooc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Chelsea1 wrote: »
    The problem is that we are unsure about the wedding ceremony language. How we can have both polish and english mixed into the ceremony. Has anyone been at a wedding with that had both Polish and English languages spoken.

The first thing I would advise is getting a celebrant who can speak both, but all this depends on having very flexible priests. I had a German-English bilingual ceremony a few months back. The wedding was to be in a small village the the German priest there didn't speak any English, we told him we were hoping for a bilingual ceremony and he got in touch with a friend of his from another parish who had spent a few years in America and was fairly fluent. IIRC they had to get the bishop to agree but the friend came to the village parish and officiated no problems. It didn't take very long, we split the mass up into one part English, one part German.. so it wasn't as someone else said twice as long or anything of the sort.

Tbh the whole thing came down to the priest being willing to help us out. He could've been awkward about it and refused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Ag.

maceocc2 wrote: »
    Hi Water-man,

Great advice in this tread, thanks. I have a question for you since I'm getting married in poland this summer. Im in the process of getting the letter of freedom to marry from the department of foreign affairs and I was wondering whats general process becuase I have contacted the dfa who say the application needs to be in no later than 4 months before the date of the wedding and the registry office in poland say the letter cannot be any older than three months. I just afraid the letter will arrive before the 3 month mark. Do you have any info around this problem or does it all just work out?

Hi Maceocc2,

I have exactly the same question and was wondering if you maybe clarified this one since you posted it?

I was on to the DFA today and was told that they can issue the letter of freedom at earliest 4 months in advance, however they heard that in Poland it cannot be older than 3 months. I am a bit stressed out about it as obviously, we need to translate this letter and then make an appointment in my home town in Poland. Any help much appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭trevorku

Hi Guys,

I proposed to my girlfriend in May and we have booked the church and the reception for September 25th. All the requirements for the wedding on this thread seems quite scary, however we are getting married in very small town so am hoping we wont have to go through the same rigmaroll however its possible we will have to change the date, wow back and forward 6 times to Poland to organise that, scary. We will only be going over once between now and September, guess we need to make some calls to see whats gonna happen. Im hoping it will be okay, wedding will be in small town way outside Warsaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 JuliePhotoArt

Hi trevorku,
    Do you have someone there helping with preparations?
    I think that would help a lot :)

Hi Julie,

We are doing it all ourselves, unfortunately says you,lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭karlkarlson

I'm marrying a Polish girl this November but we're actually marrying in ireland. Getting to grips with the documentation is difficult enough. I've got a fresh confirmation and birth cert for myself and it seems I need to get a letter of freedom from the parish where i now reside in Dublin (i'm from Sligo).

My bride to be has not been a practicing Catholic since a very young age and in fact she was not confirmed - was baptised and got communion. priest doing the ceremony says he does not mind this fact. But he is doing the ceremony in the midlands and apparently the priest who puts my docs together and signs off on the things is actually my parish priest in Sligo, so hoping he doesn't have a problem.

my understanding is the other half needs to get a fresh birth cert and letter of freedom from Poland (she has been an Irish resident for the past 5 years).

Is there anything I'm not thinking about here or any potential problems i should look out for?

thanks for any help
    k

We are supposed to be getting married in September but we never applied to the department of foreign affairs to get my letter of freedom from them, I only have it from our local priest, but the polish priest here was sending the docs to the priest in poland where we are getting married, am I fooked? Can the wedding still go ahead? I feel a bit of anxiety coming on.... :-/

trevorku wrote: »
    am I fooked? Can the wedding still go ahead? I feel a bit of anxiety coming on.... :-/

Get onto the DFA a.s.a.p. and explain the situation. When getting my own last year the lady at the Dept. I was dealing with was extremely helpful and interested in the whole thing (although had mine done in good time). Hopefully you will get someone similar who might be able to give you a dig out with getting this done correctly. Best of luck.

I was just onto them, I can get it off them immediately but need to fly to Warsaw next month :-/ need birth cert, passport and sign some forms when im there and 20 Euros...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Ag.

I know it is all a bit confusing but the civil docs and church docs are two completely different things. I took me a while to get my head around that. I hope you will get your letter of freedom asap.
    Once you get it it has to be translated into Polish by the sworn translator and then presented at the meeting in the Polish registry office.

We're flying out next Sunday specifically to do that. It's a pain but has to be done....

Good luck with everything.

2 weeks ago I flew over to Warsaw to see Maurice, the Irish Consul to get all the paper work. It was such a nightmare in the registry office also, they they called us yesterday to say they couldnt accept the document as it was a photocopy from the embassy and not the origional. So my gf dad had to go today to the embassy to get the origional and bring to the registry office, such a load of things to do, they have us jumping through hoops so hopefully that was the last thing. Just one month to go until the wedding :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭THEFRIDGE

Sounds like I need help too ! I am engaged to a polish girl and planning to get married in Poland. I am no a catholic so it will just be a registry office for me I think ( does it have to be ???). She is happy enough to do that tho so it's cool. Would it be better to do registry here or in Poland ?

The wedding party I am finding out is the tricky part. She has told me that we need to pay for guests accommodation is this the norm ? I understand we supply the drinks and i think that's great idea.

Hi, Just seen your post now. I am also getting married to a Polish girl. If you are not catholic its probably best to get married over here because Poland is a seriously Catholic country. Thats just my thought, as to avoid any complications getting hitched over there. Yes its true that all drink is to be supplied for the wedding in Poland but im not so sure about paying for guests accomodation.

Regards

In Poland it it customary to host the guesting arriving from abroad either in your own home but if not usually put them up in accomodation. I mean if all 8 of us wanted to stay in my fiances parents house in Poland we would be more than welcome, but would be a bit cramped so everyone is paying for own Flights and Accomodation. Our wedding is next Saturday and we are flying there on Thursday.

Tomorrow we have to get the last letter of confession from the priest, its the final thing we need for the wedding. Poland may be a catholic country but you should still get married there out of respect of your future wife as if she plans to settle down in Ireland its the least that you can do, lol.

Non Catholic weddings may be frowned upon by most in Poland but its the 21st century to each to their own.

Basically we are buying all our drink in the supermarket for the wedding. Im glad its not open bar, imagine the bill if everyone was ordering Don Perignon.

For the registry I'd always say its best to do it in the country you wish to reside, although we are here for the moment I believe I may find myself living over there in the years to come. It really comes down to the decision of where you want the registry to take place. Your partner may want it to be in her homeland as its more affordable for Irish family to go to Poland than for them to come here.

So what faith are you? Perhaps if you talk to the priest they could make some exceptions or something like that, I'm not too sure how it works on that note. Let us know anywho and everyone keep your fingers crossed for my wedding next week :)))))

Thanks for the detailed reply. I am a born again Christian. So can you tell me if all your guests from
    Ireland are paying for their own accommodation ?

Unfortunately the only people coming from my side are my parents, brother, sister, brothers girlfriend and my friend from Austria. Thats it :(
    Guess everyone else was too busy doing something else, of course they made the 'we dont have enough money' excuse.

My mother is paying from everyone in the hotel basically, it will come to 1600 Euros for the 8 of us for 5 days which isnt the worst I suppose. Also Irish people are used to a certain level of comfort so dont usually want to stay in a rural small farmers house :)

If theres lots of people coming, you could agree to pay the deposit for the accomodation and them pay the balance, and the end of the day your most likely not rich so you have to budget within your means also, remember its your wedding, not your guests ;)

THEFRIDGE wrote: »
    Thanks for the detailed reply. I am a born again Christian. So can you tell me if all your guests from
    Ireland are paying for their own accommodation ?

I got married abroad and everyone paid their own flights and accommodation. At the wedding itself we laid on food and drink for the day/night.

Having said that we also arranged a party back here in Ireland scheduled for after the wedding, so many people chose not to travel abroad to the wedding and instead came to our second wedding party here. We were happy with that. I think most people were, people who travelled really wanted to and paid their own accommodation, and people who didn't travel didn't feel left out etc. I think that was an ok way to go. Nobody even suggested that we the couple would have to pay for accommodation while they were there.

Are you Irish yourself? Where in Poland would you be getting married if you did decide? I see your from Lucan, I grew up in Palmerstown, living close enough nearby though. When you thinking to set a date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭cailinoBAC

I went to a wedding in Poland recently and all drink and accommodation was paid for us. I mean, we ended up giving money as presents, but even so, we found it very generous. Still, I think there were just 4 of us coming from abroad. Most other people were staying at home I think. They paid a driver to drop people off as and when they felt like going home.

Hi Guys,
    I'm getting married to a Polish girl in may 2012. We planned way ahead because we're living in Ireland and it gives us ample time to arrange things from here. There will be approx 35-50 people travelling over from Ireland to the ceremony. The hotel where we are having the reception is are giving us a great room rate for guests which makes in much more appealing for people to travel. Also we are paying for all of the food and drink at the wedding(2 days). Does anyone have anything similar planned and if so how are you getting on with the plans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 EimearM

Am I the only Irish girl marrying a Polish guy?

So we are getting married next year in Poland. Have the church booked for 6pm 4th August. We have the venue booked, the band sorted and I even put a deposit on my dress!

The band has been our biggest point of conflict so far. I wanted to have a band who play traditional Irish music as well as all the Polish classics with a bit of rock and/or roll thrown in for good measure. All that is costing us more than double the average in Poland but I just can't stand that casio keyboard vibe that most of them offer.

My other half is very heavily involved seeing that it is on his turf but being the bride I have my hand on everything as well. Trouble with a capital T!! Luckily I speak Polish well enough to get by but I am wondering about the ceremony and how that will go.

Planning on doing Polish evening classes in Trinity this September just to make sure I won't need a translator during the mass.

Anybody else out there considering Polish lessons for their big day?

Pozdrawiam,
    Eimear.

Haha maybe not the only but you would be in the minority I suppose.
    I got married to my Polish wife last September, we had the whole service in Polish, and I read my part i Polish also, just didnt want the wedding ceremony to be broken up, plus there was only 5 members of my famly there so didnt see the point really.

I heard the lessons in Trinity are good but they can be pricey, I would probably do it myself if I didnt work shifts but I also have a son (Grzes)
    so I do rather be home in the evenings.

I have plenty of Polish language books and self study courses and CD's but its hard to get the time to complete them. Also its hard studying on my own, also peope think as you'd have a Polish partner that they could teach you but we all know that doesnt work out very well.

Its good tha you speak Polish well, mine is quite basic. I understand more than I speak, you'd think I'd know more after 6 years together :DDDDDD

Czesc Trevorku!

I lived and studied in Krakow for 2 years and attended Polish classes 4 mornings a week for 3 semesters so my Polish probably should be better than it is to be honest!

Luckily I have plenty of people to pracitce with between my other half's family and I am a member of a Polish Folk Dance group here in Dublin. But as far as speaking Polish with himself... ehhh no! We tried a few times but it just seems so unnatural. I can hold a conversation but usually on topics that would be considered superficial. Plus I can't win arguments in Polish so it's a no go.

I think we are going to do most of the mass in Polish with the readings being in Polish and English and the exchanging of the vows in both languages. The rest can be in Polish. Who listens to what is said in church these days anyway??

Our band are going to act as translators for the party. The funny thing is the manager and lead singer of the band speaks Irish and keeps emailing me "as gaeilge". I haven't the heart to tell him that I have to copy and paste it into google translate.

What about your son. Is he talking already? Does he speak Polish and English? I am really facinated about the future generations of Pirish. I wonder will my other half put the effort in to pass on Polish to any children we might have. Usually it is the mother's native tongue that the children pick up quickest - hmmmm wonder is that where the word mothertongue comes from?

Czesc Eimciu, :)

I actually saw the Polish Folk Dance poster in the iLac library at one stage. I was gonna check it out, do youz do any shows or anything like that for the public or is it all just for hobby purposes?

Its embarrassing when non Irish people can speak Irish better than us isnt it. Its okay with Google translate for now but when you have to see them face to face, it could prove awkward hehe.

My son can talk alright, probably more than I'd like sometimes. He mainly speaks English because we want him to get a head start in school, Polish is important too but not the number one necessity now. He speaks Polish too, not as good as english but knows alot of words and understands alot of commands. He is really lazy with his R's though.

Pirish, haha havent heard that one before loike. Usually foreign fathers are lazy with teaching their native languages as far as I have noticed but it would be nice of him to at least speak to them at home in Polish. They should speak Polish because with the grandparents more than likely not speaking English and all.

So how long are you both together? Living in Dublin or out in the countryside somewhere? We were together 3 years when we had our first son, thinking about more but dont want to in a way because we like our sleep, lol.

Its good your planning the wedding so far in advance, I proposed in May and we got married in September :D

Maybe we should start a new thread for Irish people with Polish partners. We could share conspiracy theory stories and discuss how disgusting Flaki is!

Seriously though the Folk Dance Group is a hobby for us. We haven't done any exhibitions, although the two teachers from time to time do. They are the professionals after all. We meet every Tuesday in the Dominican Priory basement on Dorset street. The first Tuesday of every month is for new comers and all are welcome. We are on a break right now but are starting back on the 18th August.

Polish is spoken during the entire 3 hours of pracitce but if you need anything translated into English everyone is more than helpful. To be honest once you know the basic dance vocab it rarely diviates from "step one to three, turn around, forward, back" etc.

If my wife touches Flaki she needs to use Listerine before I'd kiss her again. It looks absolutely rotten. So this dance group, is there many men in it or just women, also do you wear like the traditional dress for Folk music dancing? I can just imagine eimear spinning around to her favourite disco polo track. Are their many Irish people in the troup?

I can't stand flaki. Our first argument about the wedding was about flaki. I didn't want it within ten miles of the wedding house but himself insisted.

There are plenty of fellas in our dance "team" as the Polish say. I'd say it is about half and half. The two instructors are very good; Gosia and Piotr. The lads tend to wear tracksuits and runners. The girls had very basic red skirts made up from material bought in Hickey's, which one of our talented members turned into elasticated red tent shaped thing.

There are other nationalities represented there; a couple of Italians and there was a guy from Brazil that came now and then. As I said Polish is the working language in the class which might put other nationalities off but I bet you would understand a lot. If you have even picked up Polish through the osmossis/diffusion it would be more than enough.

I joined around March this year and I'm still crap but I thoroughly enjoy it and it gives me a chance to practice Polish in a fun environment.

one more thing .... disco Polo is not involved unfortunately!!!! Google "Pan Tadeusz - Polonez" for an idea of one of the most simple dances we do.

Do they accept people with 2 left feet? I'm 27 and not so let on my feet, i.e. a tad overweight lol so not sure if id be so nimble on my feet. Have you met other irish-polish couples there? Do you go with your fiance? Are there many Irish there or morest Polish? Is it free or do you have to make a contribution now and then?

Being that I have a kiddie its hard to get out and meet folk outside of working hours so it would be interesting, if they were looking for even more people then I may give it a shot.

I'm 27 myself and don't have much in the way of grace and poise but it is good laugh and as you say, a way to meet new people out of the normal circles. You can always come along on new members night and see if you like it. If you don't then no harm no foul.

I don't go with my finace, it's not really his thing and I like that it's an activity outside our normal routine just for me. Although I think he might come a few months before the wedding to brush up on his moves. We do a bit of waltzing so that will come in handy for the first dance.

There are other married couples there but they are Polish. No other Irish apart from me which kind of affords me celebrity status with the group!!!!

We are always looking for new members so come along and give it a go, if you don't like it I promise we won't send the Polish Folk Dance Mafia after you. Right now the membership is free but we are thinking of introducing a fee, we want to build up our supplies i.e. skirts, shirts, shoes etc and to pay for the room. It shouldn't be more than €3 a week and new comers won't have to pay for the first month as far as I understood.

I think Tuesday 16th of August is our first day back but I will let you know closer to the time.

Milego weekendu!
    Eimear.

Alright well sure I might give it a go, be sure to send me an email or something closer to the date. As long as its not put on youtube for all to mock me, lol. I told my wife about it and she thought I had a fever but sure its a bit of fun isnt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Bogena

Hello Eimear,
    I'm sorry to interfere into your conversation. I don't know if you are still interested in the theme of language of marriage vow.
    Usually if we have "mixed couples" Polish-Irish or Polish-English most of the mass is in Polish. But vow is always in English, because this is the most important part of the marriage and has to be understandable for both - groom & bride. So you don't have to have a translator. Sometimes - if the priest speak English well - it can be made in Polish and in English.
    Don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions ;)

Just a quick update for us... We have ditched to wedding in poland now and have decided to take an easier route. We are heading to Vegas in Sept to tie the knot. Going to get married over there, just the 2 of us going as it was such short notice for friends. We are going to have a party back over here then when we get home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sirrco

Hi Eimear,

This thread has been a real eye opener. I am marrying a polish girl in kwidzyn near Gdansk next August and have been searching for a suitable band. could you send me the details of the band you're looking at they sound ideal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sirrco

btw our wedding is the end of august so no chance of a clash!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 aaronsti

We are thinking of getting married too, she is polish.

What were thinking of doing is getting married here in the Reg office, as we'll both be living in Ireland and maybe in a 1-2yrs we'll have the church wedding in Poland when we can afford it.

My question is, if in 1-2yrs we want to do the church wedding in Poland will we run in to any problems due the fact that we got married here in reg office so long ago?

Thanks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 zebra12345

maceocc2 wrote: »
    Hi Water-man,

If you'll be in Poland before the wedding, I recommend getting the letter of freedom from the embassy there. I got it from the office in Warsaw, had to fill in a form, and it was ready in 10 minutes. Also, they put it in Polish and English so you don't have to get translated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 earlofsandwich

Hello,

I'm currently in the very early stages of organizing our wedding in Krakow next year (end of June 13). My fianceé is from just outside Krakow and expecting upwards of 40 of her close friends and family with a similar number on my side, so +/- 80 guests in total.

I'm hoping you guys might be able to share your wisdom on costs;Church/transport/venue - incl Meals, open bar, band/accomodation/ and how you dealt with the travel aspect (we've guests coming in from all over the place).

Appreciate that it's a bit of an open ended post so any sort of useful insight is greatly appreciated.

Best regards,
    earlofsandwich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 slan78

Wow....I am an Irish girl, getting married to a Polish guy (we live in London at the moment). We are not getting married until Summer 2014 but now that I have read about all the extra documents that are needed, I'm hoping to get sorted earlier! Not sure if any of you have looked at this thread for a while but any info would be much appreciated. We are getting married in a smallish town in North East Poland and I would like the mass to be Polish / Engish or maybe I should just have the ceremony in Polish & then the readings or prayers in english?
    As in regards the band, I would like a band that speaks some sort of English as the band is pretty much involved throughout the reception. They can sing polish songs & would be happy with them playing cd's of the Irish music.
    So, the docs I will need are the freedom letter (not more than 3 months before the wedding?) & translated? My birth cert? Do all priests ask for confirmation / communion proof?
    Have you all gotten married in a registry office also? I was just planning on doing the church wedding as they do in Ireland etc.
    Reading all these threads have really got me thinking so any help would be much appreciated!

Hi, I'm Irish and got married to a Polish girl in may. We got married in Poland too. We decided to have the ceremony in polish and some readings in English. We had a band that sang both polish and English songs. We also arranged a DJ who I gave a playlist to of all the latest music along with 80s and 90s.
    The documents you need is the letter of freedom, birthcert, baptism cert and confirmation cert. all to be translated. Also you need to do your wedding course. If you do that in Ireland, the wedding course cert needs to be given with all these other documents to your parish priest who will then send it to the relevant church office for processing. Then they will send it all to the church/priest who will marry you in Poland. Very long winded I know...
    I think that's everything :) let me know if you need more info..

Warren

Thanks so much for that Warren! I didn't think I needed to have so much! I assume they all need to be original? Also, is it right that I can only have the letter of freedom dated just 3 months before the wedding? I am not getting married until Summer 2014 but would love to be as organised as I can as I don't want to be over & back for the last few months trying to sort things! We are living in London at the moment so we will probably do the wedding course here so I am assuming that will be ok. If the priest doesn't speak English, we will do the service in Polish & then readings & prayers in english. I suppose I could learn the vows in Polish to make it easier, or I could say them in english I'm sure. We will be meeting the priest when we go over at Easter so should be a bit more clear then I guess.
    Thanks so much for all the info, it really helps!
    Sinead

Hi Sinead. Glad to hear the info was helpful!! When I said copy of the documents I meant originals. Sorry for the confusion. And the letter of freedom has to be done by that 3 month rule unfortunately.. Another thing we had an issue with was we had to apply to the town mayor to have the marriage there or maybe it was to be recognized. On this day you will need a polish English translator present with you. Bit ridiculous I know... I just think the mayor was trying to be awkward because I was foreign. If you need anymore info you can contact mr through this or by email if you want a quicker reply..

Kind Regards

Warren

Jeez, permission from the mayor???! Ok, so glad I found this or I would be doing all of this last minute! I will try & get as much info as I can when I head there at Easter. Just 1 more thing.....some of the others here were talking about a registry office service...do I need to do that once I'm married in the church? I didn't think that would be necessary?!
    Thanks again so much for the help, I am normally last minute with things so I will get on all the confirmation cert etc as soon as I can! We live in London so we'll probably do the marriage course here.
    Really, thanks again it is a huge help! I am trying to learn Polish but as you know it isn't easy, I can't see myself being anywhere near fluent before the wedding!! :)

I am Irish and marrying a Polish man in his home town in Poland....So I have been told by my future mother-in-law that the priest asked for my Birth cert, batism cert and confirmation cert all within 3 months of the wedding. I am a little uncertain if he means that we give it to him within 3 months or if I actually have to wait for within 3 months of the wedding before I can get them from my church? I already got each of these certs in order to be prepared. I just find it strange that I would have to wait for these as it's not like they can be changed. Just want to confirm if anyone else knows about this.
    I know the letter of no impediment for the church and embassy needs to be written within 3 months of the wedding as this is to prove I have not been married before so I understand this, just want to check on the other documents.
    Thank you for any help!