Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Greatest Irish Sportsperson!!!

• 01-01-2010 12:36PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭

Found text below on AAI website from 2004, makes a stark contrast with last night's announcements of Padraig Harrington as greatest ever sports(man). His win in the British Open reminds me of many years ago when the AAA championships were a big goal for Irish athletes. If all Irish athletes had to do was to now and then beat the best of the British and French, like in rugby, or win an occasional one of the many major golf tournaments, we would meet those goals and would not have to bite our tongues so much!

Sonia O'Sullivan Named Greatest Living Irish Sportsperson
    11 October 2004
    Sonia O'Sullivan achieved the ultimate Irish sporting accolade when acclaimed "The Greatest Living Irish Sportsperson" at the People of the Year Awards on Saturday 9th October in the City West Hotel. Mary McAleese President of Ireland making the presentation clearly had total familiarity with Sonia's career and this made the occasion particularly noteworthy.
    The live RTE coverage magnificently captured great moments from Sonia's career including the World 5000 metres championship from 1995; the three European championship victories over 3000, 5000 and 10,000 metres; the world cross country short and long course victories and of course the 5000 metres silver medal from the Sydney Olympics. Best of all though was the wonderful footage from the national cross country in Killenaule in 1987 where Sonia at 17 showed what was to become her trademark finish to beat all the top senior athletes in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭NeedsTraining

Can't understand why Eamonn Coghlan didn't feature in the top 10.

What do others think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭aoa321

Can't understand why Eamonn Coghlan didn't feature in the top 10.

What do others think?

... or John Treacy, or Ronnie Delaney, or Stephen Roche, or Barry McGuigan ... George Best at number 4? ... I suppose these things are supposed to generate debate but it should surely have been called "Most Voted" for Irish Sportsperson ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

echat wrote: »
    Found text below on AAI website from 2004, makes a stark contrast with last night's announcements of Padraig Harrington as greatest ever sports(man). His win in the British Open reminds me of many years ago when the AAA championships were a big goal for Irish athletes. If all Irish athletes had to do was to now and then beat the best of the British and French, like in rugby, or win an occasional one of the many major golf tournaments, we would meet those goals and would not have to bite our tongues so much!

Sonia O'Sullivan Named Greatest Living Irish Sportsperson
    11 October 2004
    Sonia O'Sullivan achieved the ultimate Irish sporting accolade when acclaimed "The Greatest Living Irish Sportsperson" at the People of the Year Awards on Saturday 9th October in the City West Hotel. Mary McAleese President of Ireland making the presentation clearly had total familiarity with Sonia's career and this made the occasion particularly noteworthy.
    The live RTE coverage magnificently captured great moments from Sonia's career including the World 5000 metres championship from 1995; the three European championship victories over 3000, 5000 and 10,000 metres; the world cross country short and long course victories and of course the 5000 metres silver medal from the Sydney Olympics. Best of all though was the wonderful footage from the national cross country in Killenaule in 1987 where Sonia at 17 showed what was to become her trademark finish to beat all the top senior athletes in the country.

I'm as big a Sonia O'Sullivan fan as anyone and believe she should be number 1 on this list, but you cant possibly be serious about your comments regarding Harrington. Comparing the Open to the AAA championships borders on insanity. The Open is the pinnacle of golf, along with the other 3 majors, and all the best players in the world compete in it.

aoa321 wrote: »
    ... or John Treacy, or Ronnie Delaney, or Stephen Roche, or Barry McGuigan ... George Best at number 4? ... I suppose these things are supposed to generate debate but it should surely have been called "Most Voted" for Irish Sportsperson ever.

Agreed, its more of a "Most Popular Irish Sportsperson".

From the nominees my top 4 would be:

1) Sonia O'Sullivan
    2) Sean Kelly
    3) Padraig Harrington
    4) Brian O'Driscoll.

Kelly and Sonia are the only two to have completely dominated their sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

04072511 wrote: »

1) Sonia O'Sullivan
    2) Sean Kelly
    3) Padraig Harrington
    4) Brian O'Driscoll.

Would agree with those four.

People forget how fecking awesome king kelly was...even amongst non-Irish fans he is still regarded as amongst the best of all time...There not many other Irish sportspeople you could say that about.

Id whack Roche up there too simply because the Tour is such an awesome achievement....one of the greatest there is in any sport.

But sure its voted for by the general public...in things like this footballers will always be higher than they should be and athletes in minority sports like cycling/athletics will always be lower.

ps-Id have Ruby Walsh up there as well, the fella has done amazing things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭aoa321

ps-Id have Ruby Walsh up there as well, the fella has done amazing things.

I agree with that, I don't follow horse racing but Aidan O'Brien should surely have been in the mix as well. I would agree that Padraig should be right up there in the mix for first place, he's a class individual as well as a class sportsman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭echat

I'm as big a Sonia O'Sullivan fan as anyone and believe she should be number 1 on this list, but you cant possibly be serious about your comments regarding Harrington. Comparing the Open to the AAA championships borders on insanity. The Open is the pinnacle of golf, along with the other 3 majors, and all the best players in the world compete in it.

I acknowledge people do not agree re the British Open but four majors a year is 16 majors to every one Olympic Games. Eamonn Coughlan, Sonia, John Treacy and maybe other athletes would surely have won an Olympic gold medal if they were held every three months.

Now that I do agree with!

1 Major does not equate to an Olympic Gold. No way! But I think 3 majors does without doubt. Not very many people have won 3 majors since World War 2. About 20 if even, and only 3 Europeans have done so.

At a quick glance, Harrington is one of just 24 people to win 3 or more Major Golf Championships since WW2. That deserves enormous respect. And he aint finished yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

Eamonn Coughlan, Sonia, John Treacy and maybe other athletes would surely have won an Olympic gold medal if they were held every three months.

Hole in one I'd say. Nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Would the Gold winning medalists take a break in the other years? The Chinese, Americans and Romanians are still there you know!!!

Michael Carruth won Gold in the Olympics, how highly do you rank him?

efb wrote: »
    Would the Gold winning medalists take a break in the other years? The Chinese, Americans and Romanians are still there you know!!!

Michael Carruth won Gold in the Olympics, how highly do you rank him?

Welcome back. How did you enjoy your ban?

If there was 4 Olympic Games a year then at Sonia's prime during 1993-1995 she would have won about 10 of the 12, perhaps even all 12 due to her complete dominance at the time. In addition if there was 4 chances to win Olympic Gold each year this would reduce the whole pressure of the "4 years work for this one race" type of thing.

Coghlan and Treacy were not near as dominant but if they were getting about 40 chances over 10 years to win an Olympic Gold then I'm pretty sure they would each have come away with a gold medal or two.

Great been to Spar getting over the Xmas.

Glad you have blind faith in our Sonia sure I'm sure we'd have an excuse for all the other golds she missed

on an aside is goading permitted in the athletics forum (I'm sure eamon coughlin would approve) or is it only permissable for certain members!

Katie would be raking up the golds for sure- but she doesn't count!

Great been to Spar getting over the Xmas.

Glad you have blind faith in our Sonia sure I'm sure we'd have an excuse for all the other golds she missed

on an aside is goading permitted in the athletics forum (I'm sure eamon coughlin would approve) or is it only permissable for certain members!

Katie would be raking up the golds for sure- but she doesn't count!

Is there any way this chancer can be kept off the Athletics forum. He/she only comes over here to try stir sh*t.

I am making a reasoned argument, you started with 'did you enjoy your ban'

Alot of my posts have been my thoughts on athletics my dad is heavily involved with tullamore harriers.

But if this is 'a local forum for local athletes I'll take my leave to a place where open duscussion is appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,255 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Golf is not a sport, and training horses to race does not make you a sportsperson.

Ireland's top sportspeople (in no particular order):

Roche, Kelly, Coghlan, Treacy, O'Callaghan, Tisdall, Delany, O'Connor (former Long Jump record holder).

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Golf is not a sport, and training horses to race does not make you a sportsperson.

Ireland's top sportspeople (in no particular order):

Roche, Kelly, Coghlan, Treacy, O'Callaghan, Tisdall, Delany, O'Connor (former Long Jump record holder).

How can you leave Sonia out of this list when she has achieved much more than Coghlan and Treacy combined?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

1) Sonia O'Sullivan
    2) Sean Kelly
    3) Padraig Harrington
    4) Brian O'Driscoll.

I'd have the same list, and agree totally with the last line

I missed the thing about the top sportspeople, but I'd definately have Sonia number 1. I believe that if Katie Taylor keeps going the way she is going, she will be well up the list in years to come. Her consistency is remarkable - though I'd love to put someone like Briege Corkery or Mary O Connor up there as well (Mary has 17 All Ireland medals!)

I agree about the point that if there were Olympics every year that Sonia would have come away with gold, but I think that too much emphasis is put on Olympic gold - IMO gold in a World Championships is a good as an Olympic gold. I looked up Sonia acheivements, but it only listed the major wins (friend has my copy of her autobiography), if you totalled up her number of gold medals in all events and compared to Harrington's total of wins (25) I'd be sure she would have more. She also should have had double gold in the 1993 World Championships (Chinese girls were proven to be on drugs!)

Her consistency, and the way that she came back from failure at the 96 Olympics and completely dominate in 98 was remarkable. I remember reading something Tom Humphries wrote about her at the 2002 World Cross Country in Dublin and two officials saying some bad things under their breath, when in fact Sonia didn't need them, they needed her - she was the reason there was a big media attendance! Not to take away from Harringtons achievements, but Sonias were more remarkable and she deserved the title of greatest sportsperson. I always admired her and her achievements, but after reading her autobiography, she went higher in my estimation!

BTW if anyone could PM me a link to the names of the greatest sportspeople that they announced or how to find out, it would be much appreciated!

I'd have the same list, and agree totally with the last line

I missed the thing about the top sportspeople, but I'd definately have Sonia number 1. I believe that if Katie Taylor keeps going the way she is going, she will be well up the list in years to come. Her consistency is remarkable - though I'd love to put someone like Briege Corkery or Mary O Connor up there as well (Mary has 17 All Ireland medals!)

I agree about the point that if there were Olympics every year that Sonia would have come away with gold, but I think that too much emphasis is put on Olympic gold - IMO gold in a World Championships is a good as an Olympic gold. I looked up Sonia acheivements, but it only listed the major wins (friend has my copy of her autobiography), if you totalled up her number of gold medals in all events and compared to Harrington's total of wins (25) I'd be sure she would have more. She also should have had double gold in the 1993 World Championships (Chinese girls were proven to be on drugs!)

Her consistency, and the way that she came back from failure at the 96 Olympics and completely dominate in 98 was remarkable. I remember reading something Tom Humphries wrote about her at the 2002 World Cross Country in Dublin and two officials saying some bad things under their breath, when in fact Sonia didn't need them, they needed her - she was the reason there was a big media attendance! Not to take away from Harringtons achievements, but Sonias were more remarkable and she deserved the title of greatest sportsperson. I always admired her and her achievements, but after reading her autobiography, she went higher in my estimation!

BTW if anyone could PM me a link to the names of the greatest sportspeople that they announced or how to find out, it would be much appreciated!

Please find attached. Your welcome :D

Cheers thanks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭echat

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1063393

1. Padraig Harrington
    2. Brian O'Driscoll
    3. Joey Dunlop
    4. George Best
    5. Roy Keane
    6. Sean Kelly
    7. Sonia O'Sullivan
    8. Christy Ring
    9. Vincent O'Brien
    10. Paul McGrath
    people voted from a list of 32 nominations, see http://www.rte.ie/sport/greatest_profiles.html Someone as great as Catherina McKiernan (keeping to athletics) did not make the 32.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Alot of my posts have been my thoughts on athletics my dad is heavily involved with tullamore harriers.

But if this is 'a local forum for local athletes I'll take my leave to a place where open duscussion is appreciated

I'd say its a pretty open discussion forum here, stay if you genuinely want to discuss athletics. But from what I see your thougths on athletics centre on visiting Spar, the sport being dirty, Harrington having a better watch than O' Rourke and some other comment about elitism. Now I guess open discussions on athletics will touch many topics because of their open nature, but one of the topics (visiting Spar) will have many here scratching their heads, the quality of our greatest ever sportsperson's watch will also have little significance with athletics folks while the other two will rile most people up and lead to a heated argument in which most people here will say you haven't a clue what you are on about and you will accuse them of elitism or something like that. I'd hate to be stuck beside you at the bar discussing the sport's finer points if these are your thoughts on the sport:)

I won't lie, I hate golf. I've played it and was handy enough but having played it and been around the scene it really grinds my gears. It really grinds my gears then that a golfer will win best sportsperson ever over people like Sonia or Kelly. But we have to suck it up and the only defence is take the piss out of the hobby along the lines of fathletes, its not a sport etc and we can safely do it here over in the athletics forum. I wouldn't dare head over to the golf forum and voice my opinions over there (not sure I think I may have in the past:o). I wonder if I did what would happen and start dissing a sport/hobby in a forum that people in that forum are passionate about.

Turn the golf courses up and down the country into cross-country courses and then we'll see real sport;) More Ron Hill tights, less tweed trousers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1063393

1. Padraig Harrington
    2. Brian O'Driscoll
    3. Joey Dunlop
    4. George Best
    5. Roy Keane
    6. Sean Kelly
    7. Sonia O'Sullivan
    8. Christy Ring
    9. Vincent O'Brien
    10. Paul McGrath
    people voted from a list of 32 nominations, see http://www.rte.ie/sport/greatest_profiles.html Someone as great as Catherina McKiernan (keeping to athletics) did not make the 32.

Kelly and O' Sullivan outside the top 5, crazy stuff.

How can you leave Sonia out of this list when she has achieved much more than Coghlan and Treacy combined?

When Coghlan won the world 5k title he ran 13:28, more than a whole minute faster than Sonia's best. In short, she achieved a great deal in women only competition. How invincible would Coghlan have been racing only against women?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

Golf is not a sport

She also should have had double gold in the 1993 World Championships (Chinese girls were proven to be on drugs!)

The Chinese women (of '93) were never ever proven to have been on drugs.

Tingle wrote: »
    I'd say its a pretty open discussion forum here, stay if you genuinely want to discuss athletics.
    Turn the golf courses up and down the country into cross-country courses...

and

+1.

When Coghlan won the world 5k title he ran 13:28, more than a whole minute faster than Sonia's best. In short, she achieved a great deal in women only competition. How invincible would Coghlan have been racing only against women?

Ah here now!

If Coghlan, Treacy, Jerry Kiernan can say that Sonia is the greatest Irish Athlete of all time then thats good enough for me. It really isnt much of a debate.

The Chinese women (of '93) were never ever proven to have been on drugs.

Didnt Ma Juran get done just before Sydney 2000?

Yeah, 6 of the atheletes he coached got caught, and himself and those athletes were thrown out of the team. He also used some fungus or something to improve his athletes physical condition as well from the early 90's

The third place athlete Zhang Lirong was convicted of drug use, not sure about the other two, but one still has to wonder why they flashed onto the scene and disappeared suddenly after that