Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rugby moment of the decade?

• 01-01-2010 12:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭

Thread inspired by Sky Sports.

What is your rugby moment of the decade and why?

For me, it is the 2006 Heineken Cup Final.

00181312.jpg

Oh, almost forgot!

Happy_New_Year_29.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

in the pub jacks havin a moment but it had to be that guy from australia who kept probing lads with his big tumb, he was ver rude... ill provide a link later, happy new year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

in the pub jacks havin a moment but it had to be that guy from australia who kept probing lads with his big tumb, he was ver rude... ill provide a link later, happy new year...

Love the username mate! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

This is the only link of fingers hopoate worth watching:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2xRBDRrfQ8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭mufc4lfe

<RUGBY MOMENT OF THE DECADE>
    *2000-2009*

Munster finally reaching the holy grail in 2006!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

BODs try in Cardiff! AND I WAS THERE!!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Suppose some of the funniest moments.

Was in the south stand in twick for toulouse vs Wasps.

Sitting right in the corner where howley got that try

David Humpreys try in the Heineken cup.
    Not sure who it was against but he took off his scrum cap and the other team headed for the posts.
    Took a quick tap and ran it into the corner. (there used to be a youtube vid but cant find that)

Also have to mention that Dominici knock on in 6N France Vs Italy.
    Where he got past everyone and dropped the ball trying to touch it down under no pressure. (cant find a youtube clip)

Eddie Jordans Cars for Australian GP after Ireland beat England at twick in 2004 had this on them

"Sweet Chariot For Sale
    IRE 19 ENG 13"

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Ireland beating England at croker was a great moment for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

dan carters performance in the second test in the cake tin in 2005.he shut the lions up big time after all their whinging from the previous week and sent them packing.the most complete performance from a flyhalf ive ever seen.it was an epic game,with loads of needle.

one of the best bits was umaga telling one of the welsh players who had been giving him stick all game to "get back under those posts you fat bastard" after the all blacks scored again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

It's hard to pick just one moment ... there have been some great ones.

If I have to pick one brief moment ... it has to be BOD half-concussed from several cheap shots, thinking he was a forward, and scoring a prop's try against England in Croker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

Surely 'THAT' drop goal in Cardiff this year to seal the Grand Slam. Time stopped for the few seconds from boot to past the posts. Amazing end to the perfect Six Nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

1. O Gara's drop goal vs Wales and the Grand Slam, 2009.

2. Horgan's try and the win vs England, 2007

3. Stringer's try, Munster's Heineken win, 2006.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

dan carters performance in the second test in the cake tin in 2005.he shut the lions up big time after all their whinging from the previous week and sent them packing.the most complete performance from a flyhalf ive ever seen.it was an epic game,with loads of needle.

one of the best bits was umaga telling one of the welsh players who had been giving him stick all game to "get back under those posts you fat bastard" after the all blacks scored again.

give over ya troll its boring at this stage

can only be one....

Brian-O_Driscoll--P_153084t.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Bugnug

BOD intercept try against Munster in the Heineken cup. One of the sweetest moments ever, but the best part was ROG trying to catch him. As if. Ladyboys indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

Full-time whistle in Cardiff on March 21st.
    No competition whatsoever. Beats all previous 'biggies' that I've been at bar none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

November 22nd 2003, Telstra Stadium, Sydney - Jonny Wilkinson's last second drop goal to win the World Cup for England but, in fairness, there have been many great moments this decade and Ireland's Grand Slam victory at Cardiff would be alongside England's win. However, the decade isn't over yet and Munster winning a 3rd Heineken Cup this year could also provide the moment! :D

Thanks mate you just brought back my worst rugby moment ever. What a horrible moment that was.

However, the decade isn't over yet and Munster winning a 3rd Heineken Cup this year could also provide the moment! :D

Pedantic note:

Thats a decade of 21st century years.
    Done.

subfreq wrote: »
    Surely 'THAT' drop goal in Cardiff this year to seal the Grand Slam. Time stopped for the few seconds from boot to past the posts. Amazing end to the perfect Six Nations.

Agreed still sends a shiver down the spine no matter how many times I watch it.Final Whistle probably the best moment though the thought that we had got over the winning line.

There were so many other highlights over the decade but strangely from an international viewpoint my other highlight would be Ireland winning the Churchill Cup against England A. Really showed how confident Ireland's youngsters had become that not only did they win but they kept going until the end showing the belief to push on while in a comfortable lead.

From a provincial viewpoint while taking great joy in Munster and Leinster winning the HC, from a Connacht viewpoint most of the decade was presided over by Bradley with few highs. Perhaps the win over Munster at the end of 2008 and the win in Donnybrook in 2002 v Leinster with a last gasp Mark McHugh drop goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Justind wrote: »
    Pedantic note:

Thats a decade of 21st century years.
    Done.

This is an often argued point. Does first full decade of this century end with 2010 or 2009? Remember there was quite a fuss made over this when we hit 1/1/2000 - some arguing that new millenium didn't begin properly until 1/1/2001.

Entirely different. A decade is ten years.
    The confusion over Millenium is when it started. The last ten years started on January 1st 2000 hence a decade.

Enough of my pedantry and off-topic ranting. I'm right. The other poster was wrong.
    You're welcome. :p

Bugnug wrote: »
    Thanks mate you just brought back my worst rugby moment ever. What a horrible moment that was.

On the other hand, probably the greatest game of rugby union ever played was in 2000 (first 'Sloe game of 2000). Was a loss for Aussie but what a test it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

On the other hand, probably the greatest game of rugby union ever played was in 2000 (first 'Sloe game of 2000). Was a loss for Aussie but what a test it was.

Such a shame that they won with bully boy rugby and probably the greatest rugby kicker of all time and very limited in all other areas. I know winning is winning but it was a shame. Wouldn't it have been better to see the french or the kiwis win playing fantastic rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭GymJim

In spite of all the great days we've had with Munster over the last 10 years, have to say the rugby moment of the decade had to be that try by Dempsey at Twickenham in 2004.

Was when we really put it together as a potent international force and instilled belief in players who really only knew getting well beaten there. Think we forget we beat the World Cup champs in their home.

But that try. Best team try I've ever witnessed (not old enough for Gareth Edwards one for the Baa-Baas against NZ in 79)

Almost forgot...Fcuk you Ben Cohen...dirty cheating scumbag!

Bugnug wrote: »
    Such a shame that they won with bully boy rugby and probably the greatest rugby kicker of all time and very limited in all other areas. I know winning is winning but it was a shame. Wouldn't it have been better to see the french or the kiwis win playing fantastic rugby.

No England rugby union fan will slam that win as anything other than brilliant and to be honest, if it were Ireland I don't think any Irish supporter would care either how they won a RWC final.
    It was a final. What do you expect? They played to their gameplan, limited as it may have been and tipped Aussie in extra time. Had been building up since the preceding November, won the Grand Slam, once in NZ and once in Aussie then capped it all off in Sydney the following November.
    They deserved and earned the win. I'd take a season like that ANY day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

For me it has to be the final day of the 2007 Six Nations. I really thought Ireland had done enough against Italy. And then when Scotland scored that try..... I don't think it can ever be topped for pure drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

THAT drop goal, going nuts, commentators going mental, Rog's celebration. Brilliant.

Close second is Munster HC final win when Stringer fooled them.

I'll remember those 2 moments most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

21/3/09.......just epic! Don't think I'll ever forget Peter Stringers sneaky try in the Heineken Cup final 2006!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

twinytwo wrote: »
    give over ya troll its boring at this stage
    you dont think carter was immense that day?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

wow 10 years! that really is along time (without mentioning ul bohs thirds!!!!)
    from an irish point of view there are a few thanks to eddie and declan, and also warren for just a abit.
    i think it was 2001 when we played the all blacks in lansdowne and for 60 mins i realoly thought we had them, there was even the jonah lomu at full pace splitting the centres and girvan dempesy tackling him full on. we lost but from there we just got better and better. it may have taken a decade to win the 6 nnations but it was well deserved.

at province level, munster beating toulouse away, and also winning the heinekin cup twice is pretty good. but i'll always remember fabian pelous kicking alan quinlan up the arse for no real reason at all in 2006. what was he thinking??mynephews who are 4 and 2 dont kick each other so blatantly.

munster v wasps in lansdowne, i sat in every seat in a sitting room occupied by myself alone and was still standing at the end! that was frankly epic!!!

from a leinster point of view winning the h cup in 09 was special, it was a year we were written off, by alot of our supporters too!! but comingout on top was great!

honestly i feel abother great year coming on now, should i jinx it????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Cuchulain

CatFromHue wrote: »
    but i'll always remember fabian pelous kicking alan quinlan up the arse for no real reason at all in 2006.

Didnt Quinny stand on his foot deliberately?

Anyway for me it has to be POC emotion/reaction to the grand slam win when he ran around the cardiff pitch like a lunatic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,943 ✭✭✭✭phog

I had a thread on the Noughties and found it difficult to pick a moment for each year so picking one for the decade is nigh on impossible.

Some special moments were:
    Watching Galwey and Willaims sharing the Celtic Cup in the Millenium Stadium.
    John Langford's contribution to Munster rugby.
    Ireland's Triple Crowns
    Ireland beating England the world champs in their own back yard
    Ireland beating England in LR to prevent them winning the Grand Slam
    Ireland beating England in Croke Park
    Munster against all the odds beating Leinster in their own back yard in the H/Cup S/F
    Munster winning the H/Cup in 2006
    Munster winning the H/Cup in 2008

But for me I think I have to go for Ireland winning the Grand Slam this year and if I have to pick a moment from all the games it would have to be ROG's drop goal to beat Wales. If I was allowed one more it would be meeting Jack Kyle later that day in Cardiff Airport and seeing the great joy he got from us winning the Grand Slam again, a true gent.

BTW - here are the 3 choices from Sky Pundits
    Stuart Barnes
    Miles Harrison
    Dewi Morris

you dont think carter was immense that day?

oh he was no doubt about it.. but why not just say that instead of always having a dig at someone/something else

phog wrote: »
    BTW - here are the 3 choices from Sky Pundits
    Stuart Barnes
    Miles Harrison
    Dewi Morris

3 x Sky Sports covered events.
    Quelle surprise . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭TitoPuente

My three moments of the decade:

grand-slam-winners_ireland.jpg

5618.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭pajoguy

3 x Sky Sports covered events.
    Quelle surprise . . .

Sky Sports didnt cover the rugby world cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

The Grand Slam is definitely the best. Find it hard to see how any Irish rugby fan is meant to pick anything else.

Other great moments include HC 2006, the miracle matches and Llanelli away in 2008.

Horgan in the corner in Twickenham for the Triple Crown was immense as well.

pajoguy wrote: »
    Sky Sports didnt cover the rugby world cup
    Murdoch productions then (part-owner of ITV)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I'm not ashamed to say, in fact I'm proud to say, I cried when Leinster won the Heineken Cup and it was one of the most satisfying moments of my sporting fan life!

It only tops the grand slam win as I was in Edinburgh and felt a part of it all, but winning the grand slam and THAT moment when Jones missed the kicks is one of the greatest emotional swings from pure devistation to pure elation that I've ever experienced.

Also nice that on both occasions my brother was sitting beside me and I got to hug and jump up and down with him!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Being part of the Munster crowd that took dear Conters to the cleaners at Thomond Park last year was a highlight. :D

He got his revenge shortly after though. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I don't understand how some people can put provincial memories over international memories.

The Grand Slam over any other rugby is my memory of the decade.

A close second is the semi-final between Leinster and Munster, standing beside my dad and deaf lad who introduced himself to us as "deaf eddie". The 3 of us were the only Leinster support in the surrounding seats :D. After being called fair-weather (etc....)fans for years, a vindictively pleasing memory is watching a sea of red jerseys departing the stadium in the last 10 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Being part of the Munster crowd that took dear Conters to the cleaners at Thomond Park last year was a highlight. :D

He got his revenge shortly after though. :o

Don't remind me. :(

That was a lonely night in Limerick!

Was down with a couple of Dublin based Munster buddies...my god was that a long night....little did we all know what was around the corner!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

d-gal wrote: »

Absolutely 100% agree, funnily enough despite all that Irish rugby has achieved over the past few years, that was the precise moment that kept replaying in my head every time I looked at this thread....Arguably the point at which Irish rugby began its ascent to its current lofty heights?

Keith Woods is one of the Irish players I admire most, sure, not the fastest, fittest, most skillful, but boy did the guy have something....if only he was born 5 years later....plus I had the great privilege to be at that game, a real 'miracle match'.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

I was in the stand right in front of where he scored that try- nearly bloody missed it as well as was queuing for beer!!

Leinster V Munster - Croke Park last May for me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

This is probably a bit unexpected coming from me, but fcuk it:

From an Irish perspecitve;

Munster's first tilt at the Heineken Cup led by Woody.

Given the darkness surrounding Irish rugby in the 90s, seeing Irish players succeeding was such a novel experience for someone of my age. It was the first real sign that Irish teams could and would compete with the best.

And then for me, three moments;

Ireland v England, 2007

Leinster v Munster, May 2009

Ireland's Grand Slam.

Feel obliged to mention some of the Welsh Grand Slam's and New Zealand between 2003 and 2007 too. Awesome rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Massive Muscles

2007, France scoring with a 'forward' pass try, knocking out the greatest team of the decade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭marky boii

Ireland winning Grand Slam in 2009

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭SARZY

For me it was the Munster win in Bordeaux which laid the foundation for all that has been achieved since.