Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 pack abs - what a nightmare!

• 31-12-2009 11:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭

So I've been trying to get my abs to show for over a year now, but to no avail.

I do at least 30 minutes cardio every day, a lot of the time more than that - I'm a runner. I do crunches every day, my diet is really sensible (apart from the last week:o) and I drink my 2 litres of water every day. However, I still can't shift that last little bit of stomach fat that is determined to hang around. :mad:

My question is, what else can I do to get my abs to come through, or is there no hope at all?!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Lots of people think that by doing sit-ups, they will lose fat as it will be replaced by ab muscles. This isn't really true.

Just lose the remaining weight. I know it's easier to say it than to do it, but it is possible. The last bit is always the hardest to lose as your body is lighter, therefore every action you do is less demanding on your body, so therefore you burn less calories when you are not doing exercise.

If you lose that last bit of fat, your abs should begin to show. Read the sticky at the top of this forum for tips. Give it a few days and a lot of people will be joining you in losing weight (including me), as Christmas results in gaining weight for most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

Lots of people think that by doing sit-ups, they will lose fat as it will be replaced by ab muscles. This isn't really true.

Just lose the remaining weight. I know it's easier to say it than to do it, but it is possible. The last bit is always the hardest to lose as your body is lighter, therefore every action you do is less demanding on your body, so therefore you burn less calories when you are not doing exercise.

If you lose that last bit of fat, your abs should begin to show. Read the sticky at the top of this forum for tips. Give it a few days and a lot of people will be joining you in losing weight (including me), as Christmas results in gaining weight for most people.

Oh god, I already only weigh 150lbs! You're right when you say the last bit is the hardest, it's a nightmare! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

It's your emergency fat store, so it's the last place you'll lose weight

Post up your diet. It may not be as great as you expect

Are you eating much fats? You need to take in lots of fat to lose it. Sounds ironic, but makes sense! The more fat your body has comin in, the loser it holds onto your emergency stores

I'd suggest some yoga for your abs, planks etc

and alternate your cardio

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

You guys are missing what's probably the most obvious problem... At 150lb they're probably not carrying enough muscle to have deep defined 6 pack abs.

OP, how tall are you, and are ya a guy or girl???

Sorry, I'm a 5' 11" bloke and it is true to say I'm not big-boned, I'm afraid.

Diet wise - I eat 5-6 times a day, all the usual stuff - Porridge, muesli or poached eggs for breakfast, then a mid-morning snack of a piece of fruit or a homemade protein shake. Lunch is varied and can be anything from soup, tinned fish, cheese and pickle sandwich, chicken and veg or just a big plate of veg. I'll then have another piece of fruit or a protein shake mid-afternoon before my dinner. Dinners could be where I'm going wrong as that is dictated to me by whatever is put on the table. However, it's usually either spag bol, chicken, chilli, more chicken, pasta, rice etc.

I've never tried yoga before, it always seemed, er, girly... I do a lot of planks, swiss ball stuff etc but to no avail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Hi There

I think Hanely is bang on the money. I am 5' 6" and 168lbs and I think that I am skinny.

The OP is almost 6' and is a stone and a bit lighter. Also the OP states in their original post the they are a runner. Would you be a distance runner by any chance?

Distance running is not conducive with gaining muscle. See the pic of Paula Radcliffe below (Had to pick a female athlete as the men don't run with their midrift showing :) ), She lifts weights does core work, has an excellent diet, low body fat, but does not have a really "defined" 6 pack.

Paula_Radcliffe1_350x350.jpg

Best Regards & Happy New Year,

M

You're right B Builder, I am a distance runner. The thing is, many distance runners I know have 6 pack abs so if they can do it, why can't I?! :confused:

Would you say I'm underweight? Some people have started saying that recently, although I think I'm just borderline. However, I bow to your greater knowledge and will put weight on if needs be. The thing is, it's difficult enough as it is, dragging myself around these run courses at a relatively quick pace so if I put much weight on I'll slow down! It's a predicament...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

colblimp wrote: »
    You're right B Builder, I am a distance runner. The thing is, many distance runners I know have 6 pack abs so if they can do it, why can't I?! :confused:

Would you say I'm underweight? Some people have started saying that recently, although I think I'm just borderline. However, I bow to your greater knowledge and will put weight on if needs be. The thing is, it's difficult enough as it is, dragging myself around these run courses at a relatively quick pace so if I put much weight on I'll slow down! It's a predicament...

i wouldnt say you are under weight, for a runner. but dont drop any lower either IMO .. lifting heavy a couple of times a week can do wonders for stubborn fat .. your diet looks ok to me, as long as you didnt let anything out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

I am no expert, just an ordinary Joe Soap like your self, so I have no greater knowledge to bow to. I work out primarily just to stay fit and healthy.

I was simply pointing out that at 5" shorter than you I am over a stone heavier and I think I look skinny.

I have no knowledge of what would be considered ideal weight or under weight for a 5' 11" runner. I do know that for distance running it is beneficial to be as light as possible while staying healthy, so you don't have any extra weight to carry around with you which as you say will result in slower times.

I also think that the last of the fat covering your abs is the hardest to lose and that you need to be strict with your diet to get rid of it.

Do you know what you body fat % is? As far as I know, at 10% you will have slightly defined/noticeable 6 pack, and may need to get to as low as 8% to have a 6 pack similar to that of a Men's Health cover model.

Maybe if you post up a typical days food intake in as much detail as possible(time of meal and content, Include everything that passes you lips), some of the more experienced folks on here will be able to recommend some tweaks that may help.

Best Regards & Happy New Year,

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

B-Builder wrote: »
    Hi There

I think Hanely is bang on the money. I am 5' 6" and 168lbs and I think that I am skinny.

Your BMI puts you as overweight?

Now we all know BMI is crap for telling what shape people are in (you probably carry a fair bit of muscle) but I dont know how you can figure you look skinny unless you mean skinny for a body builder?
    I wouldn't say you are under weight, for a runner.

He's not underweight in general...never mind for a runner.

Perfectly healthy weight to be at.

As for the six pack do crunches actually do anything at all? I mean I know they dont burn fat and replace it with muscle but do they actually increase the size of ab muscles?

I could easily pop of 100 crunches so I dont see how they could be doing a lot for muscle size. I agree with the weights suggestion, in the past when Ive done weights Ive noticed my abs showed a lot more....I think the overhead squat is particularly good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Pharma

If you are a runner you shouldn't care if you have a six pack or not. Who cares so long as you can run quickly. There isn't a six pack competition at the end of the All Ireland Cross Country. Running 30 mins a day is not long distance. Up your mileage slowly adding a mile a day every week. Then throw in some interval work.

If you want to go down the bodybuilder route then you will have to reduce your running as running is catabolic. It breaks your body down. You will never have big muscles if you run 50 miles a week. First off all you will be too tired to lift weights and second off all your body will use all available protein to repair your muscles instead of making them bigger.

To be honest it is pointless worrying about it. You can't do both pick one and stop worrying about how you look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Pharma wrote: »
    If you want to go down the bodybuilder route then you will have to reduce your running as running is catabolic. It breaks your body down. You will never have big muscles if you run 50 miles a week. First off all you will be too tired to lift weights and second off all your body will use all available protein to repair your muscles instead of making them bigger.

What about strength?

I'm doing 60 mpw myself at the moment....couldnt care less about having big guns (and as you say its a hindrance for a runner) but my lack of strength annoys me. Would you say its possible to build significant upper body strength while doing that sort of mileage?

I get what your saying about tiredness too...its a real struggle to get any sort of lifting in but Im going to try to stick to two sessions a week focusing on upper body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Pharma

What about strength?

I'm doing 60 mpw myself at the moment....couldnt care less about having big guns (and as you say its a hindrance for a runner) but my lack of strength annoys me. Would you say its possible to build significant upper body strength while doing that sort of mileage?

I get what your saying about tiredness too...its a real struggle to get any sort of lifting in but Im going to try to stick to two sessions a week focusing on upper body.

You'll get stronger for sure if you can do it. Its just that the energy requirements are too large. 60mpw would require probably 3500 -4000 Kcal a day just to stay the same weight. If you want to get "bigger" (idea seems alien to runner) you'll have to eat more (easy) and get in quality weight sessions (impossible after a 10miler).

If you have a choice between running more and doing weights run more. No one ever got better by not running. Once you've maxed out your mileage then maybe add some weights. Core exercises like the plank, side plank, birddog are much more important than lifting. By having a strong core you will prevent injury and become more efficient at running. Of course if you add weights you will get stronger but don't expect it to make you a better runner. An extra kilo of upper body muscle will slow you down its simple physics as that muscle is not going to produce the power to carry itself.

Bodybuilding is for bodybuilders, running is for runners. You can't do both to the maximum.

Running 30 mins a day is not long distance. Up your mileage slowly adding a mile a day every week. Then throw in some interval work.

You can't do both pick one and stop worrying about how you look.

I'm aware that running 30 minutes a day isn't long distance. I run between 30 - 50 miles per week, depending on my programme and injuries. The 30 minutes a day thing was in addition to any running I do. I do interval and hill work, as well as fartlek and tempo stuff - I sort of know a little what I'm doing when it comes to running.

I do worry how I look, that's why I started this thread. My whole point is if other runners can have a visible 6 pack, than why am I finding it so difficult?

I have no idea what my body fat % is B Builder, how would I measure that?

As for lifting heavy, I'm a weakling - I'm not built for that lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Two things you need to start doing:

Most important - Take a look at your calories. If you are not losing the fat then you are eating more than you are burning off. You need to get strict on this if you want to see a six pack. I didn't start really seeing my abs until I tracked everything I ate each day - keep an online record and it's no hassle.

Lift weights or do some sort of bodyweight exercise if you don't like weights. Push ups, squats, lunges etc - there is loads you can do. These will act as a different stimulus for you body as you've likely gotten too used to running. Mix it up!

celestial wrote: »
    Most important - Take a look at your calories. If you are not losing the fat then you are eating more than you are burning off. You need to get strict on this if you want to see a six pack. I didn't start really seeing my abs until I tracked everything I ate each day - keep an online record and it's no hassle.

Can you suggest any website that lists calories? Obviously I know calorific content in tinned goods, but what about cals in fruit and veg etc? Also, you mention an online record - are there any templates/websites that can help me with this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Can you suggest any website that lists calories? Obviously I know calorific content in tinned goods, but what about cals in fruit and veg etc? Also, you mention an online record - are there any templates/websites that can help me with this?

fitday.com is your new best friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

yep, fitday . if you fairly active I wouldnt bother counting the calories from vegetables, too time consuming and not necessary IMO

I'm looking at Fitday at the moment and it seems to be extremely time-consuming. Is there no other way?

I don't like fitday actually, don't find it that easy to use but people seem to use it. Just keep it simple - write down everything you eat and drink and then look up the calorie count online - just type in 'calories in an egg', etc, and loads of sites will pop up. So it's as simple as writing down what you're eating and then putting the calorie amount beside it. You should aim for your daily calories to be no greater than your weight in lbs x 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭rccaulfield

If i were you id abandon the cardio and begin building muscle with weights and a high lean protein diet for about 6 months or so. At 150 lbs any bit of a 6 pack you have under the bellyfat would be miniscule! Bulk up then burn the fat off! Are your friends/family commenting on how skinny you look etc? Running is not the thing to be doing if your only out to look good mate-hope this helps!

+1, what's the point in having a six pack if you're still skinny!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 JediPoncho

The last bit is always the hardest to lose as your body is lighter, therefore every action you do is less demanding on your body, so therefore you burn less calories when you are not doing exercise.

Does having more lean muscle not encourage the body to burn more calories, even when i'ts resting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭gavtron

If anyone is looking for calorific content or protein content etc. of food check out http://www.wolframalpha.com

You'll get tons of information there it's really good, overkill even but very good!
    Just type calories in eggs or whatever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Yapamillias

JediPoncho wrote: »
    Does having more lean muscle not encourage the body to burn more calories, even when i'ts resting?

Lean muscle will require extra energy throughout the day indeed, I presume the other lads was talking about the extra energy needed to perform movements with extra fat as added weight. :confused:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

JediPoncho wrote: »

Yes it does. I'm talking about weight-loss. If you were to graph a person's weight against time as they were losing weight, it would be a concave slope (i.e. starts falling steeply, and gradually begins to level off) as their weight would be reduced, therefore the amount of maintenance calories being burned is less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

To be honest it is pointless worrying about it. You can't do both pick one and stop worrying about how you look.

+1 on this, im not sure how you can do both, im 5'9 or 5'10 and weigh 170 and my abs are clearly visable, I think you probably just lack the muscle for visable abs due to the amount of running you do and the only method of building that muscle will affect your running.
    I could be wrong in what im saying but I think your in a catch 22. Abs don't really make that much of a difference to your appearance anyway cause its something most people arn't aware you have
    Running is not the thing to be doing if your only out to look good mate-hope this helps!

Ye if you run cause you love running fair enough but if your doing it to improve how you look then better off getting out of it, it just makes your whole body waste away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Mickk

Hi OP,

there is one of two causes here, ab development and fat over them. Can you feel the 6-8 separations on your ab muscle and is there a layer of fat over them?

If you still have a layer of fat over your abs and you are running 30 miles a week, maybe you need to drop your carbs before you run. If you fill up on energy (carbs) before your run, your body will just use the easily available carbs already in your blood from the food you have just eaten and won't really go near the fat, fat is your bodies emergency store of energy. If there are no carbs in your system when you go for a run (just protein) then your body will have no choice other than breaking down the fat and turning it into energy to keep you running.
    If you don't have/can't feel clearly the separations then do some more core work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭RichJH

What you have to do is have a good mix of cardio and weights with an excellent diet and you can achieve both the body you desire and maintain your running.
    I'm 5'10", 160lbs and I have a 6pack. I'm also a runner - it can be done.
    How many miles per week are you currently at?
    Are you running competitively? Can you afford to gain half a stone to allow muscle growth?

Rich - I do run competitively, although I'm nowhere near quick enough to be winning anything! I'm doing the Mallow 10 next Sunday for starters and hope to go sub 70 minutes. At the moment my weekly mileage is down due to the crappy ice and a reoccurring knee injury, but it's normally between 30 - 50 per week, dependant on what race I'm preparing for.

I've just had a quick feel (ahem!) Mick and I can feel a little separation so perhaps I do need to do more core work. After saying that, I have been eating a little poorly lately - I have a thing about mince pies, I'm afraid... :o

Colly, I love my running - I could never give it up, it keeps me sane!

Perhaps I should just forget the 6 pack as most of you have said I can't run and have visible abs, but then Rich has them and he's a runner, but he's 10lbs heavier than me. The thought of dragging more weight around when I run just doesn't appeal to me - it's hard enough as it is lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

skinny for a body builder?

all bodybuilders think they are too skinny!