Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three Men Go to Ireland BBC2 9pm

• 30-12-2009 8:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Season 4 Episode 1 of 2
    Having sailed along the River Thames in a replica skiff in Three Men in a Boat, and visited Cornwall in Three Men in Another Boat, comedians Dara O Briain, Griff Rhys Jones and Rory McGrath take to the water once more. In the first of a two-part special they are on Dara's home turf, setting off on a Guinness barge along the Grand Canal, Royal Canal and the Shannon from Dublin to Limerick, where Dara is to be a judge at the poetry festival. But they soon realise the vessel is not going to get them to Limerick fast enough and have to come up with another plan

The third adventure in this occasional series was a bit of a letdown hopefully it'll be back on form for the jaunt along Irelands waistline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Didn't realise that they made another one. I have it set to record now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Thanks for the headsup, forgot about this.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

I'm really enjoying this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

well done to the council in mullingar for ruining their trip by going over the top, if you want to show off your town,then show whats happens when an ordinary joe soap turns up, don't waste the 3 mens time with fecking brass bands and receptions. (or alteast to pretend to even if its inevitably pre-arranged)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I was a bit disappointed by it. If Dara O'Briain hadn't been trying too hard to be Irish (the stuff at Fore abbey was cringey) it would have been better. +1 on the Mullingar comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭ifconfig

Very watchable.
    Stumbled across the last 75% of it and was best pick for family viewing at that timeslot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Loved the English subtitles for the aul one on the stall in Mullingar:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Saw most of it, and was not bad overall. But that whole Mullingar thing was a bit cringeworthy. Makes it look like 3 tv guys appearing is enough to bring any Irish town to standstill, and the politicians and all appear. Embarrassed for Mullingar, but overall a decent show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I have watched the previous series of this and i enjoy them. Tonights was good enough but totally agree bout the Mullingar episode-even the 3boys were embarrassed over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Hang your heads in shame Mullingar, you just set the country back 15 years.

I can't believe people are still so out of touch on this island to think that was a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I turned it off at the start as it was so cringeworthy with Dara O'Briain playing his Irish card almost instantly.

You'd swear he was introducing British people to an entirely different species the way he went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 annegerton

Just in response to the previous people. I am from Mullingar the kids had a great time as did the guys involved in the show. If you were there you could comment. Irish people are always running their country down get over it, it was fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

annegerton wrote: »
    Just in response to the previous people. I am from Mullingar the kids had a great time as did the guys involved in the show. If you were there you could comment. Irish people are always running their country down get over it, it was fun.

Being there is one thing but it made your town look like a bunch of star struck hicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I thought it quite amusing and "charming", any excuse for a hooley.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

mike65 wrote: »
    I thought it quite amusing and "charming", any excuse for a hooley.

Me too. It looked like a town that can enjoy itself and as Dara said they were probably just using the 3 men as an excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I came across this by acident last night, and am glad I did as It was thoroghly entertaining.
    Yes the Mullingar welcome was a bit cringey but in this consumerist, technological age it was some old fashioned good clean fun, and Rory and Rhys really seemed to enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Griff is great. You should watch "Rivers" on BBC if it is aired again in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

How much of the taxpayers money was wasted on it?

Bond-007 wrote: »
    How much of the taxpayers money was wasted on it?

I don't mind the people making a welcome, but these ****ing moron councillors (or whoever they are) with their big gold chains can **** off from all "events" forever.

Who votes these gob****es in anyway, and why do they invariably have the name Willy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Anyone got an idea when and if this will be repeated?

Aidric wrote: »
    DOCUMENTARY: Three Men Go To Ireland
    On: BBC 2 Northern Ireland (Digital) (142)
    Date: Sunday 3rd January 2010 (starting in 3 days)
    Time: 23:05 to 00:05 (1 hour long)

Griff Rhys Jones, Dara O Briain and Rory McGrath return for more comedic water-based travels as they make their way across Ireland to the Limerick Poetry Festival. They begin in Dublin in an original Guinness barge, 80 years old, very heavy, with a temperamental engine and no reverse gear. They soon abandon this to take to a car with a difference. Reaching Mullingar they are greeted by a huge street parade, and then it all goes to the dogs as they watch Dara's greyhound take part in a race.
    (Stereo, Repeat, Widescreen, Subtitles, Audio Described)
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Excerpt taken from DigiGuide - the world's best TV guide available from http://www.getdigiguide.com/?p=1&r=242710

Copyright (c) GipsyMedia Limited.
    Sunday night. 23.05 BBC2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

it was watchable but a wasted opportunity. it would hve more interesting if they had gone sailing around the south or west coast. The second episode might be better

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Aidric wrote: »
    Bond-007 wrote: »
    Sunday night. 23.05 BBC2

Whoa there thats a repeat, its on Friday, January 1st, 2010
    8:00pm to 9:00pm first (on BBC 2 London anyway)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

If you were there you could comment.
    Yeah, that logic makes perfect sense...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

You'd swear he was introducing British people to an entirely different species the way he went on.

It's the same with his act. He's not a bad stand-up by any means - he's great at audience participation - but when he starts talking about Ireland he makes it seem like some backwards hole. He gives his British audience a very old fashioned view of the place, but I suppose the same is true of many Irish stand-ups abroad.

He's like that TV stand-up in The Simpsons:
    "Irish people drive like this... and English people drive like this..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

It's in two parts the second part is on tomorrow from 8-9pm on bbc2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

casio4 wrote: »
    It's in two parts the second part is on tomorrow from 8-9pm on bbc2

On now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

The paddy stuff is cringe worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

Dara's never off the bbc, does he have compromising pics of Alan Yentob or something ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

parasite wrote: »
    Dara's never off the bbc, does he have compromising pics of Alan Yentob or something ?

250imagine_ayentob_eggs.jpg

1484_large.jpg

yentob_pengilley_55423t.jpg

laplaca6-12-13.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Can anyone name the song played with the end credits? I know the song but i cant think of the name of it for the life of me!

I'm Shipping Up To Boston - Dropkick Murphys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Cecil Mor

Either way they'd great weather, couldn't have planned it better. As for Mullingar, theres plenty of worse things they could've done that'd have been more embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

What happened in Mullingar?

The locals all came out wielding flags and banners greeting them. The mayor and everything. I don't know if they came out especially for them or if there was something else going on in the town at the time but it was cringey.

Tonight's episode was much better I thought but Dara O'Briain should lay off all the Irish stuff. He was the only one making an issue of it.

Dara seems to see himself as the spokes person for Ireland, and this TV show was the first glimps any English person has ever had of Ireland.

He made it look like we a bunch of PC tools, taking issue with everything. Griff even said that he felt confused about what he could and could not say, what he could and could not point at or admire in case it was "too Irish".

Also, why did they go through the Midlands? The first show was pretty uneventful and depressing, much like the Midlands.

I assume because the canals and the Shannon go through the midlands :confused: They should have left Dara at home. The other two looked like they were prepared to enjoy themselves and take things as they came to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 211 ✭✭MickTipp

Mullingar was fair embarrassing!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

It was lovely gentle telly, Dara OBriain didn't annoy me at all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Firetrap wrote: »
    I assume because the canals and the Shannon go through the midlands :confused: They should have left Dara at home. The other two looked like they were prepared to enjoy themselves and take things as they came to them.
    You do realise it's all scripted, don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

humanji wrote: »

Highly contrived, yes. Scripted, not so much. Scripted or not, couldn't they script it to make Dara O'Briain a bit less condescending?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Antbert

An tSaoi wrote: »
    It's the same with his act. He's not a bad stand-up by any means - he's great at audience participation - but when he starts talking about Ireland he makes it seem like some backwards hole. He gives his British audience a very old fashioned view of the place, but I suppose the same is true of many Irish stand-ups abroad.
    Eh... Blasphemy Law anyone?

Ireland IS a backwards hole.

I thought it was great. I cannot believe people are affronted by the Mullingar thing. Who the hell cares? Dara O Briain comes to your town so you have a big piss up in honour of it. I'd sure as hell have gone if I knew.

I also sided with Gryff in the debate.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

The footage of the fog on the Shannon was stunning. Ardnacrusha was pretty good, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

The locals all came out wielding flags and banners greeting them. The mayor and everything. I don't know if they came out especially for them or if there was something else going on in the town at the time but it was cringey.

Whats so strange about that? sure dont they do that every night when Micheal O Leary arrives home.;)

What amazed me was there is a Supermacs on the Arrann Islands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

"The Mullingar Incident" as it will now be known, was embarrassing. :D

I dont give a feck if the people of the town want to make a huge event of an Irish comedian and his two friends passing through while making some tv show for the BBC, good luck to em. But it was well OTT honestly. They're not olympic gold medalists or grand slam winners from mullingar. Any excuse for a piss up i spose.

humanji wrote: »

Yes I know they're working to a script of sorts but it doesn't make Dara O'Briain any less annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

The locals all came out wielding flags and banners greeting them. The mayor and everything. I don't know if they came out especially for them or if there was something else going on in the town at the time but it was cringey. .

In some interview I watched, might have been the late late, Dara O'Briain said something similar. He said he was embarassed as it turned into a bit of a lets promote Ireland but in the background if he asked how are things lads, every where people said just dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Antbert wrote: »
    Eh... Blasphemy Law anyone?

Ireland IS a backwards hole.

I thought it was great. I cannot believe people are affronted by the Mullingar thing. Who the hell cares? Dara O Briain comes to your town so you have a big piss up in honour of it. I'd sure as hell have gone if I knew.

Eh...inferiority complex anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

Oh God they're (literally) having a debate over who's better; Ireland or Britain.