Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever had a f**k buddy?

• 28-12-2009 5:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭

Ladies I know there has already been a thread on the topic of FBs and yer opinions on them, and I'm not trying to reignite that moral debate here. However I am wondering how many of ye currently have or have had FBs at some stage. Just trying to find out how common a practice this is. Thanks.

Do you / Did you have a FB? 167 votes

Yes I had a FB before
    0% 0 votes
    No I've never had a FB and don't think I ever will
    50% 84 votes
    Yes I currently have a FB
    34% 58 votes
    No I don't have a FB at the mo but would def consider it
    14% 25 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Nope never had and don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Tried it with an ex but realized it was a bad idea. I found it hard to separate the emotional and physical parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

KTRIC wrote: »
    Tried it with an ex but realized it was a bad idea. I found it hard to separate the emotional and physical parts.

To be fair, proper FB can't work with an Ex because you shouldn't really care about your FB as a person, it's a mutual agreement to use each other for sex, not intimacy.

Someone had a post in PI or something about the proper way to do it but I can't find it, interesting stuff.

That said, I haven't had an FB yet, but I would definitely be interested in it.

To be fair, proper FB can't work with an Ex because you shouldn't really care about your FB as a person, it's a mutual agreement to use each other for sex, not intimacy.

Someone had a post in PI or something about the proper way to do it but I can't find it, interesting stuff.

That said, I haven't had an FB yet, but I would definitely be interested in it.

Hey big boy ;)

But seriously FB's would be good for a while, but eventually one person willget attached and want more then just sex.

It's a dangerous game to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

I had one before my last gf.
    Was just some good clean fun and nobody got hurt.

To have a good FB relationship, you have to call it off after a few weeks, before somebody does get hurt.

It sounds sleazy and all, but it's not.
    We're still friends and we still keep in contact.

We're not FBs anymore as she now lives abroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Here it is.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Just a reminder, this is the Ladies lounge....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Ah yeah, I have and I guess I do now! Never really talk about it, like, "So, are we fcuk buddies?', just sometimes things happen... repeatedly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

yep, have had one.

as long as both people know exactly what it is, and what it will never become, then it works fine.

it's a disaster though if either person harbours secret notions of a relationship developing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Yup and my feelings got involved unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

Yep.

A most satisfactory arrangement all around on the couple of occasions I've had it fall my way, so it doesn't always end in complication and regret.

Novella wrote: »
    Ah yeah, I have and I guess I do now! Never really talk about it, like, "So, are we fcuk buddies?', just sometimes things happen... repeatedly!

Cheating? The wedding's off!

I actually don't even know anyone with a fb. I didn't think it was a common thing. Guess I was wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

i had at one stage,was grand while it lasted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭sadhbhc15

Some interesting results and comments so far! Far more common than I would have thought too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 cosmogirl85

Had one also but as others have said it can get complicated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Rayne

I never had, but def wouldn't rule it out.

As long as you both are on the same page, it should work out. Its time to stop when one starts having feelings that the other doesn't share.

I think its a great way of exploring sex, what you like, what you don't, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭MsHolloway

I've never had one, not sure I could either.

I've only ever had sex while in relationships, I'd find it difficult to distance myself from the emotion of the situation. I'd probably be the one to end up developing feelings.

That said though, its tempting when you're single :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Fago_25 wrote: »
    But seriously FB's would be good for a while, but eventually one person willget attached and want more then just sex.

That's not true, it's perfectly possible for two people to be attracted to each other enough to want have a sexual relationship but to know full well they would make a terrible couple. Ime, though quite a few guys don't think it's possible for a woman to have a sexual relationship without getting attached and get their egos a bit bruised when they realise the woman they are sleeping with really is only using them for sex. (Not that I'm saying this about all men just two that I had fun sex with until they couldn't get their head around the fact that I didn't want them in the way they didn't want me to want them but were insulted nonetheless.):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

No and I doubt I ever will. I don't think I can separate sex from emotions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭hornyfemale

Yes, on and off for 4-5 years. Both had relationships in between where nothing went on with us. He's getting married soon and me in serious relationship now.

Worked I think cause we were never friends as such, just people who had great sex now and then when either of us felt like it. We got on but knew a relationship was never on the cards between us so there was no pressure.

iguana wrote: »
    That's not true, it's perfectly possible for two people to be attracted to each other enough to want have a sexual relationship but to know full well they would make a terrible couple. Ime, though quite a few guys don't think it's possible for a woman to have a sexual relationship without getting attached and get their egos a bit bruised when they realise the woman they are sleeping with really is only using them for sex. (Not that I'm saying this about all men just two that I had fun sex with until they couldn't get their head around the fact that I didn't want them in the way they didn't want me to want them but were insulted nonetheless.):rolleyes:

It's possible for two people to have JUST sex, but only for a short time. Eventually, without a doubt, one of them WILL get attached.

And it's not only women. Men have an equal chance of getting attached.

I'm a bloke and I'd more likely be the one who gets too into it and want a relationship.

but I suppose it's different fo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

It's possible for two people to have JUST sex, but only for a short time. Eventually, without a doubt, one of them WILL get attached.

nope, thats not a guarantee.

it may well happen, but equally it may well not happen.

there are people who can separate sex from any attachment and emotion, and they can have successful FB arrangements.

others, who cant make that distinction, tend to be the ones who do get attached and thus have unsuccessful FB arrangements.

i've done it very successfully for a prolonged period of time (i'm talking years) as have friends of mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I can't even get a snog, so having a FB is definitely out of the question. It's like trying to climb mount everest before you can even crawl!

I can't even get a snog

You know it is your job to ask.
    God says so.

I have no interest in this kind of thing.
    I want the whole she bang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Yep have had one for the last two years.Its not something I thought i would ever have but I do like our arrangment a lot!I cant stand his personality at all,he's a bit of a twat but he's hot and I find him sexually very attractive.

I dont contact him when I have a boyfirend so I go for months without seeing him. Im not really into One night stands or random scoring so its an arangment that really suits me.

It seems from here that its pretty common

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Yeah I have (had) one, well just recently stopped. I had no emotional attachment to the girl what so ever. I think the whole aspect is a over hyped. I love one night stands and sex with a girl that you love is obviously great. But, I just started to lose interest having meaningless sex with the same girl that you have no emotional attachment with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I've never had one, dont think i'd ever have one at this stage since the opportunity has never arised...

That being said, people who can have/have had a succesful FB "relationship", fair play to them. They know how the system works and nobody gets hurt in the end afterall, its only sex, human nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

I've never had one but helll yea I'm lookiing for one.
    Who says one can't deperate sex from emotions. One can I'm an example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I have a had a few. But I get too emotionally attached, so no more.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    You know it is your job to ask.
    God says so.

I have no interest in this kind of thing.
    I want the whole she bang.

I had to re-read that she bang part 6 times to understand what you meant and not what I thought you meant. tee hee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭bp1989

KTRIC wrote: »
    same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I actually don't even know anyone with a fb. I didn't think it was a common thing. Guess I was wrong.

Well, people don't really go around saying, "Oh, me and him? Yeah, we have sex every so often!" :P

Like, with this particular guy, we have a lot of mutual friends and they all think we kissed once or twice and that's it but we've been doin' more than that for two years now! :rolleyes:

Seriously hope they don't Boards stalk me!

Novella wrote: »
    Well, people don't really go around saying, "Oh, me and him? Yeah, we have sex every so often!" :P

Like, with this particular guy, we have a lot of mutual friends and they all think we kissed once or twice and that's it but we've been doin' more than that for two years now! :rolleyes:

Seriously hope they don't Boards stalk me!

fair point.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

No and I doubt I ever will. I don't think I can separate sex from emotions.

Nor can I.

I doubt I'll ever have one probbly just end wrecking my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Bellemz

I've had a couple of FBs...some lasted longer than others...I even found out one had a GF at the time which was awful.

I always need some sort of a friendship to go with it though, and if the friendship suffers, I lose interest in the sex... Couldn't have a FB that I didn't know well...would have to be sure that I didn't want a relationship I guess

For anyone looking to try if for the first time - It's a minefield, I've watched him get attached & I've gotten attached in the past and it sucks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 universal girl

Yes! FBs are the way to go, Icurrently have one and he's not the first! I would be horrified though if somebody currently with a GF suggested FBing, that's just cheating!

It fulfills the physical side of things and sure when Mr Right comes along I can be a nice girl then :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

I currently have one.
    Happened sort of out of the blue never imagined myself doing it but so far so good - 4 months.
    Outside the bedroom cannot stand the chap, in fact i find him incredibly dull and not the kinda person i would hang out with down the pub.
    My main rule will be to end it when it stops being fun.

We have never had a conversation outlining the parameters of our relationship but we have an understanding that we are both more than happy with.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Never had an 'FB' per se, but when I was 16/17, myself and one of my very good male friends quite often ended up having what I suppose you'd call 'makeout sessions', loathe as I am to use that word. It never went any further than kissing, and the odd grope, but we were both a bit young for anything else. Years later and we're still the best of friends, luckily it never caused any weirdness between us. In fact it was him who introduced me to my H2B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I used to be sure that i could seperate sex from emotions so thought i would always be fine with a f*ck buddy. Turns out i couldnt and i wasnt......didnt end well :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Just cos it scored high on a boards poll doesnt mean its a common thing. Its not. Boards is not the national thermometer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Yep I had one for 5 months. It was great fun as we got on really well as friends, went to gigs/clubs together, texted loads and just happened to always end up in bed at the end of the night. One night she ended it completely out of the blue and was pretty nasty about it and it really shook me up.

The whole time, I thought we actually had a great friendship but was a little bit worried that without the sex, she wouldn't want to hang out with me as much, but she assured me that wasn't the case. Yeah...I think it was though.

I'll never really understand what went wrong, but I would definitely have second thoughts about being in that situation again - especially with someone I really wanted to keep in my life.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Yes, I had one for a good number of years and it was great.

He was a guy i'd grown up with, we got on great, fancied the pants off one another and had hugely hot sex.

It worked for me because I didn't want to have sex with randoms and he was a good guy. We didn't want to go out with one another, might not speak for weeks on end but when the urge took us it was fabulous.

It came to a natural end when the pair of us got involved with other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Never had one. Having said that would consider it. Always tell my o/h that if we ever broke up would love if we could get along this way. I dont think the reality would be possible especially if she started dateing again.

I think its a good notion like threesomes and tantric and all maners of business but I dont think on an emotional level it would be possible to sustain it for long.

If I am wrong.... Lucky you. A ride without the emotional baggage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Hugo Drax

If I am wrong.... Lucky you. A ride without the emotional baggage. "

If that's all your after try Benburb street at 2am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Hugo Drax wrote: »
    If I am wrong.... Lucky you. A ride without the emotional baggage. "

If that's all your after try Benburb street at 2am

Well done hugo but what do you think a fcuk buddy is..... Its sex with someone you know with no strings and usually no cost. A bit like regular prostitution with the payment.

Why are you getting so rightous at this stage;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I have had FB's in the past, and I was fine with it - never got emotionally attached or anything. But I can understand when some women say they aren't able to do it, it wouldn't be for everyone.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Hugo Drax wrote: »
    You're obviously not a movie buff.
    Hmm well I wouldnt consider Moonraker in the top ten of great movies to be a buff about. In any case Please stay on topic or at least clear in your posts.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭elleburp

I had one a few years back. It went along grand for about 3 months then I felt used. It became very clear that there was absolutely no respect there at all.... Haven't had one since. Doubt I'll ever have one again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭discostick12

Nope never had one.

Been with my BF two and a half years now.

But I defo consider it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭TitoPuente

Been with my BF two and a half years now.

But I defo consider it!

I'm sure your BF will be delighted with that :D