Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas - how was it.

• 28-12-2009 3:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭

I had a great time. my first as a Dad and as an uncle. Threw an assload of toys at the little ones (my niece genuinely had more fun with the wrapping paper - I kid you not. Plus, she ate some). Woke up without a hangover, had a few beers, dined on my mother's sublime cooking and fell asleep on the couch.
    Best of all, when the little dude woke me at 3 AM for his bottle, rather than watching Euronews, Brewster's Millions was on, and I had a bottle or two of my own :D

Quality. /soppiness - wanna hear the grizzly sh!t!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

My Christmas was awesome! I just had a really nice relaxing time. Can't believe it's nearly all over now though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

ah it was a good laugh yeah! I was playing mario kart on wii with all my cousins and having a few drinks.It was fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Twas gooooood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Christmas day was excellent, boxing day a disaster. First the missus shop get flooded by a burst pipe, second i get a panicked call from the missus saying my dog had been knocked down, thirdly, as i was (quickly) driving to get the dog, i slid my car into a hedge on the ice. So all in all it will go down as one of the worst xmas for me.

Shop could be worse, Dog survived but has to have an operation on Tuesday (broken pelvis) and car is hardly marked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

i relaxed for the first time in weeks.

BLISS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

It was OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Shite, my best mate hung himself 2 days before, so it was rather tainted.

Although seeing my girlfriend was nice, and her present was amazing <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Did the job; got some decent grub, got some presents, got some time off (a month :D). Too bad it brings the religion out in people, too much does my head in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

It was good. Had 4 over for the Christmas eating (less than usual, usually 6) who stuck around to the wee hours joined by 4 others. Three uncles, two aunts, a friend of one of the uncles and 2 cousins.

Was hoping we'd throw on Inglorious Basterds, but maybe its for the best that we didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

Senna wrote: »
    i slid my car...

sounds like Senna alright.

RIP

good to know your dog is ok though. i love dogs so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Not too bad at all so far!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Pretty good. very chilled out and relaxed.
    Senna wrote:
    Christmas day was excellent, boxing day a disaster.

Must have been a diaster, We've been independent 87 years now, we dont call it boxing day

Who the fuck calls it boxing day these days??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

That's awful. I hope you're doing OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    i relaxed for the first time in weeks.

BLISS
    Me too. Christmas day I felt completely relaxed. Still do. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Not as bad as I'd dreaded-the reletives behaved themselves.

Ahh, the power of the pimp hand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

We've been independent 87 years now

Brilliant, mini Flags for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

What a nice question. Mine was lovely, have been singing Abba on the singstar since 9am on Christmas day! My little cousins were all up from the country/abroad so that was great fun, christmas is all about the fun that kids have I think :) hope everyone had/is having a good one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

It was quiet so good for me, my wife was working but we had some tea when she came home. Also a good friend of mine had her flight cancelled so we invited her over as well. Good holiday but looking forward to going back to work tomorrow, don't know how people can manage having so much time off. I had 5 days and I'm going nuts. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

It was excellent. Always is for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Pretty good. very chilled out and relaxed.

Must have been a diaster, We've been independent 87 years now, we dont call it boxing day
    Who the fuck calls it boxing day these days??

Would that INDEPENDENCE allow the guy to call the meaningless, hollow holiday whatever the hell he wants? or is that the other kind of independence, I'm thinking of?

Ruu wrote: »
    It was quiet so good for me, my wife was working but we had some tea when she came home. Also a good friend of mine had her flight cancelled so we invited her over as well. Good holiday but looking forward to going back to work tomorrow, don't know how people can manage having so much time off. I had 5 days and I'm going nuts. :)

How's the free hookers/free booze industry these days anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

****. Sorry to hear that. this is the first christmas that our family has to spend without my little cousin who unfortunately passed away earlier this year.

Had a nice rememberance candle thing for him which was nice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

amsterdam1 wrote: »
    I love the idea of Christmas. Spending quality, relaxing time with family and friends. However, it never seems to turn out relaxing with running from here to there, spending too much money, other people being stressed, etc. So much pressure for one day.
    hotel marcel new york city
    bentley hotel in new york
    marcel hotel new york
    I wonder are you advertising....reported!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Senna wrote: »
    Christmas day was excellent, boxing day a disaster.

Mike Tyson start biting ears again, did he?

Boxing day?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

News as it might be to you, most Nordies of both religious denominations call the 26th boxing day. My Dad is Belfast born and bred and even after living in Dublin for 34 years, still calls the 26th boxing day.

In fact, Ireland I think is the only place in the world that calls the 26th St. Stephen's Day.

I has a so so Christmas. Had a bit too much to drink and ended up having a row with a family member after Christmas dinner. But then, hey, that's what's going over to your mates later on is for anyway.:p

ashyle wrote: »
    Boxing day?
    What a joke!

Seriously, you've never heard of Boxing Day? You've never ever been privy to the notion that something called Boxing Day might exist?

It's sad that this chip-on-shoulder thing exists. it's actually pathetic. I suppose yous don't know about thanksgiving either?

I suppose everyone here has seen the Chicago river dyed green on St. Patrick's Day? And you've the remote at the screen when RTE boast pompously about all the St Patrick's Parades around the world, with their pathetic little snippets?

I get BBC on my telly, i sometimes watch it. I'll also call the 26th of december whatever the fvck I like, when I like. Deal with it folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Ruu wrote: »

:eek: I thought Ruu was female.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

davyjose wrote: »
    What a joke!

Seriously, you've never heard of Boxing Day? You've never ever been privy to the notion that something called Boxing Day might exist?

It's sad that this chip-on-shoulder thing exists. it's actually pathetic. I suppose yous don't know about thanksgiving either?

I suppose everyone here has seen the Chicago river dyed green on St. Patrick's Day? And you've the remote at the screen when RTE boast pompously about all the St Patrick's Parades around the world, with their pathetic little snippets?

I get BBC on my telly, i sometimes watch it. I'll also call the 26th of december whatever the fvck I like, when I like. Deal with it folks.

Good boy, you go watch your telly. It'll be tough but I think these folks will deal with it just fine

Fine enough to not comment about it in the middle of the night? Or not? You're keeping up, yeah? Good boy yourself!

But I live in Ireland and it is called Saint Stephen's day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

JupiterKid wrote: »
    News as it might be to you, most Nordies of both religious denominations call the 26th boxing day. My Dad is Belfast born and bred and even after living in Dublin for 34 years, still calls the 26th boxing day.

In fact, Ireland I think is the only place in the world that calls the 26th St. Stephen's Day.

Then move to the North if you want everyone else to be saying it. Why would they call it St. Stephen's day anyway, considering that the official day in the North is Boxing Day.

We're the only one's who call it that because it's our name for the day. And Christmas is supposed to be religious, what is religious abiut the name Boxing Day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

It could've been better.. Woke up Christmas morning with tonsilitis and a bad flu.Then on Stephen's Day my nephew ended up in hospital where he still is and still undiagnosed. Plus the fact i was thinking of my friend who died a couple of months back and another nephew was thinking of his little friend who died a week ago it wasn't a totally joyous christmas at all. Roll on 2010-things can only get better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Ok with the kids.
    Boring with the tv, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mostly cold, with lots of gravy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Worst xmas probably ever for me. I've been sick for the past week
    and back to work tomorrow (hopefully). It was also my first single.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

thee glitz wrote: »
    Worst xmas probably ever for me. I've been sick for the past week
    and back to work tomorrow (hopefully). It was also my first single.

Joe McElderry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

:| wrote: »
    Joe McElderry?

Heh, no. Thanks for the perspective though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

It was lovely!I had to work Xmas Eve/St Stephen's Day so it was my only day to enjoy it all.

Ate loads,watched tv and got some fab gifts. Also enjoyed seeing people open the gifts I got them!