Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Years Resolutions

• 26-12-2009 9:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭

Who's going twelve rounds with the agenbite of inwit* next year?

For myself, I resolve to go under three hours for a marathon, sub 38 10k, and give up booze until I do. Oh, also learn calculus:)

Anyone else got big plans for 2010?

*look it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 happy28

mine are more modest
    run a sub 50 10k
    sub 1.56 half
    sub 4hr marathon (3.59)
    for some reason I just cant speed up can do just under 7min miles in training but never in races don't know why:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Rio 2016

happy28 wrote: »
    mine are more modest
    run a sub 50 10k
    sub 1.56 half
    sub 4hr marathon (3.59)
    for some reason I just cant speed up can do just under 7min miles in training but never in races don't know why:confused:

My advice would be to try and reduce you runs and run them slightly faster and add some intervals to your trainng if you do not currently do them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

Resolution No 1 revolves around getting diet in order : Currently about 208kg ,still train and run/cycle/swim reasonably well.
    Best for 5k in 09 is 20:48 and 1:45 for half Marathon. These will reduce if I can get the weight down , not going to challenge myself on these times just yet as long as I can see gradual improvement and that its still fun .
    Res 2 :complete an olympic Tri

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Resolution No 1 revolves around getting diet in order : Currently about 208kg ,still train and run/cycle/swim reasonably well.
    Best for 5k in 09 is 20:48 and 1:45 for half Marathon. These will reduce if I can get the weight down , not going to challenge myself on these times just yet as long as I can see gradual improvement and that its still fun .
    Res 2 :complete an olympic Tri

That's some 5k time off 208kg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    That's some 5k time off 208kg!

+++++1

I just need to do a BQ Marathon and finish the 1,000 mile challenge by August. EASY!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

First and foremost to HTFU :D
    Secondly tidy up the diet again, fell off the wagon about 3 weeks ago and haven't been able to struggle back on - not too arsed about weight or anything but after I tidied things up I was training better than ever.
    3: More swimming I'd like to do one big swim a week
    4: Get my full licence and stop pussy footing around with driving. Dying to get into mountain running but as long as I'm not driving I can't get doing any decent training.
    5: Start 'treating' myself for training and racing well. At least one sports massage a month.

A lot of races planned for 2010 and I've a LOT of work to do, the ice has really fecked up my training this last week and I'm trying desperately to remain calm. Consoling myself with the fact that I probably could have done with the rest given my knee that I hurt back in october with the bike accident has been acting up, plus, it has been rather nice over the last 3 days not worrying about getting out(although I do look out the window once an hour to check on the ice meltage) and just enjoying chilling out. I bloody well deserve to chill out, have a few beers and a few chocolates. :D

Roll on 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

happy28 wrote: »
    run a sub 50 10k
    sub 4hr marathon (3.59)
    +1 :)
    Also going to add a sub-24 5k and a sub-40 5 mile to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

"Currently about 208kg ,still train and run/cycle/swim reasonably well.
    Best for 5k in 09 is 20:48 and 1:45 for half Marathon."

Just added master KG to Lb conversions to my resolution list , that should be 208lb !!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

It would be nice to get a sub 38min 10k and 3hrs marathon in 2010. No idea if I will or not though and will mostly just stick to my current plan of run as fast as I can and see what happens. Getting something closer to a 5min mile would be nice as well, but don't do enough short distances to really give that a proper attempt at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭guerito

I'll get this out in the public domain, so I have no excuse for not doing it:

Get back into training properly. None of this half-ar*ed couple of runs a week, the odd cycle and a monthly swim. Pre-work swims or runs at least twice a week.

Get some structure to the training (the 310xt I got from Santa should help with that!)

Do all the races I can this year, starting with the Raheny 5 and either the AliveOutside or the Wheelworx duathlons.

Learn some Chinese.

Give up smoking (ducks head and legs it for cover)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭RealistSpy

To sprint PBs :).

NOTE: To anyone reading my log I won't be updating till college is back. Reason I don't have the time :S work, training and family :)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

My New Years resolutions:

1. To stop eating crap like the shops are going to run out of chocolate any minute now.

2. Focus my training for the whole year, not just look to one race then look for another. Im going to make a plan and stick to it.

3. Be the fittest, lightest and strongest I have ever been by my wedding in April.

4. Run the DCM much faster than this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

My New Years Resolution is not to make any New Years Resolutions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

New Year resolutions:
    1: Run at least 5 days every week; follow a proper plan and not just say, how far will i run today.
    2: Eat properly and lose 10 lbs (and not tell myself I ran this morning so I "deserve" a rock bun :rolleyes:).
    3: Try and get a bit faster (although I'm 38 so I don't think I'll get very much faster now!)
    4: Run a few more races and get some pb's under my belt, especially DCM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Much too profound for me. I like simple talk.

Your resolutions are similar to mine, this year. 2010 will be a taper year for me resolution-wise :D. The marathons I intend going will be hilly and scenic affairs, so its more about the doing than the time in Connemara and Dingle.

This year I PBed in 10k. Unless someone puts a rocket on my back I'm unlikely to challenge my 10k time in 2010.

I did a stupid amount of races this year (40+), but I had a ball doing so. I'd like to try to as many again and enjoy them as much. I resolve to enjoy my running as much as I can.

Being the proud owner of a recently new bike I'd like to do more cross training with the bike. In theory this should help the hill running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭actwithoutwords

Priority: figuring out a way of managing my constant groin injuries.

Completing a marathon training programme and marathon itself without a major injury problem.

If I can do that, finishing 2 marathons, and the 1,000 mile challenge before the end of the year.

Time goals: a half under 1.40 and a full under 3.45.

Bonus: Would absolutely love to be accepted in the NYC lottery, though I know it's an outside bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

I'm new to this whole fitness & running game but in 2010 I aim to
    • get 5k down to 27mins or below
    • finish the Rahenhy 5 mile, and work towards a 10k
    • get body fat down to 23%
    • maintain weight of 135lbs (lost 30 this past year)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Originally Posted by donothoponpop

Much too profound for me. I like simple talk.

Ahh, if it can't be said in 12th century Olde Englishe, its not worth saying.

Asked my wife, she gave the same resolution as last year: "Drink more water" -can't argue with that:)

Water is over-rated. I was quite taken with your courageous Baileys Irish cream rescue trip.. Some of that in a chilled water container would make for an interesting run. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Good to get the goals down for the year! Ticked most of mine this year which means they were a bit too easy.

5k- sub-18
      10k-sub 38
      40 bike TT- 1:05
      I'm someway off all these at the moment.
      And stay injury free- nearly got through 2009 without one and then two injuries in the last week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

A few; Run 2 marathons, one in spring and then the DCM in oct, beat my 3'22 pb in april and break 3'10 in the DCM.

I'm also gonna make each week count, i had far too many weeks of 1 or 2 runs where i was ultimately chasing my tail in hindsight and then cramming in the mileage before the big races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

A few new years' resolutions:

1. Qualify for Boston (sub 3:11) - hit 3:11:22 at DCM 2009
      2. Complete an ultra-marathon
      3. Stop eating so much junk food and drinking pints
      4. Do more cross-training

Ahh, feel better already for getting that off my chest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

I shouldn`t but here it goes...

1. Give up alcohol (except on my/his Birthday!)
      2. Speed train like a mad woman!
      3. A sixpack like yer wan Zuzana (http://www.bodyrock.tv/)
      4. A sub3 marathon
      5. Maybe a Boards Training log!?!?!
      6. A new set of PBs for 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭beamgirl

New Years Resolutions
      1. Get fear of dogs thing sorted to enable me to train properly
      2. Get up chocolate - I've tried only having a bit but have no willpower when I start
      3. Do up a training programme and stick to it - min 5 days exercise per week
      4. Complete a marathon
      5. New PBs
      5k: Sub 24:30
      8k: Sub 43
      10k: Sub 52
      Half: Sub 1:58

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭girvtheswerve

New Years Resolution:

Keeping it simple, I want to run consistently and give it 100%.
      I dont want to finish any races thinking..oh well I didnt do great but I didnt really try so its ok.
      And dare I say it... 26 miles in October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Ordered from most to least important target:
      1. Finish a 50 mile race
      2. Set a new PB over 39 miles (presently 5:40)
      3. sub-18 over 5k
      4. sub-38 over 10k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

For me:

Clean up my diet and cut right back on alcohol (except for special occasions like my wedding and honeymoon :) )
      5m - sub 38
      10m - sub 1:20
      Half - sub 1:50
      Full - sub 3:50
      If I can achieve one or all of these I'll be very happy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Targets for 2010

5k Sub 19
      10k Sub 40
      5 mile 33
      10 mile 70 mins
      Half mara 95
      Marathon.... mmmmm maybe do one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭elleburp

I'm brand new to the boards and even newer to running. But, for 2010 I'm going to push my body. If I'm honest, it's not something I've ever done before but coming up to the 30 mark I'm begining to see that this is something I have to do and, weirdly, I'm already looking forward to it!

So, for 2010 I will begin the couch-to-5 regime. I've seen week one and I up to the challenge. I won't be reading what comes in week 2 until after week 1 cos I know I'll get put off if I read too far ahead.

By the end of the year I'd like to run in at least 1 if not 2 of the IMRA races, I'd ideally like to run in some of the Leinster League races but I can't see the 3.5km that they speak of (?)

I don't have plans to do a marathon just yet but I will tackle a 5K race this summer.

I've got my runners and I'm loading my ipod. I'm arranging my diet plan, I'm reading tonnes of threads for advise and I'll soon be taking to the streets :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭brophya2007

Simple - run the DCM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Set PB's at every distance.
      Start watching my diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭backspacer

Only 2 for me:

Start road running 5 days a week hopefully, treadmill just doesn't do it for me.

Finish my first 10k race this year,would be an achievement in itself i imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Marathon - 2:55
      10k - 37:16
      Finish the ultra in Connemara, hopefully sub 5:30.
      Get back to doing some core exercises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

- Lose a stone
      - Become somewhat flexible
      - Do the core thing
      - Be injury free
      - Run some imra races
      - Run a track race or two
      - Sub 80 HM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 countrytimes

complete the following

Ballybunion half
      Limerick full
      IMRA carrantuohill
      Dingle half
      DCM

complete the following

Ballybunion half
      Limerick full
      IMRA carrantuohill
      Dingle half
      DCM

Nice targets. I'd suggest you do other IMRA runs as a step up towards Carrauntoohill. Theres more Munster races in 2010 than ever before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Watch the diet. Lose 20ibs. If i can do that all the targets in my head will be reached.
      there is a very good marathon in me and I havent realised my goals yet.
      Get a tshirt in ballycotton would be a scalp but going sub 60 is more important.
      Run 78 min for a half(lofty) but if you want to run 2.49 for a full thats what i have to run. Way of these goals but if i dont dream i wont succeed.
      Run sub 36 for 10km have only run 37.48 to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Get a tshirt in ballycotton would be a scalp but going sub 60 is more important.

60.30 or so should get you the t-shirt. Sub 60 is the harder of the two to obtain in recent times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

60.30 or so should get you the t-shirt. Sub 60 is the harder of the two to obtain in recent times.

With the recession and the running boom maybe this year might be a bit more competitive for the last of the tshirts.
      Talk is cheap though. Alot of running in breaking an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Just the one immediate goal, and thats the Rotterdam Marathon in April. Hopefully go sub 4 hours but not putting myself under too much pressure to do so. Only after I've done the marathon will I set further goals for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Birdsong

Rarely post here, but avid reader of all the great advice on the threads. Need to sharpen up my running a bit, doing it 3 years now & while i love it, i've kinda got in a rut.

So for 2010.
      Clean up the diet - gone to hell in December
      Run 5 times a week
      Improve core, maybe pilates as cross?
      PB for half marathon 2.10 would be aim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Sub 4 for the Connamarathon
      Sub 330 for Dublin Marathon
      Run a IMRA races
      Gaelforce and ROAR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭locteau

well for me....

1) Ironman china in march
      2) the big 6 grand slam irish marathon : Connemara, DCM, Belfast, Cork, Longford and maybe newry
      3) swim the english channel in august/sept 2010
      4) Then make my athletes working twice harder with better quality !

and I already have my 2011 resolution but can't tell.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

locteau wrote: »
      well for me....

2) the big 6 grand slam irish marathon : Connemara, DCM, Belfast, Cork, Longford and maybe newry

Jesus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

well for me....

Handy year then!!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

shels4ever wrote: »
      Targets for 2010

5k Sub 19
      10k Sub 40
      5 mile 33
      10 mile 70 mins
      Half mara 95
      Marathon.... mmmmm maybe do one.

Bit of drunk talk and I challenged a team to a race in the belfast marathon... Think i'd need to run sun 3:30 to beat them so fingers crossed they forget and i jsut have to do one leg and not the whole marathon.

Note to self dont talk about running while drinking....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭size5

1. Start running constiently-just hasn't happened too many breaks need to be CONSISTENT

2. Signed up for Conn marathon maybe a step too far changing to half marathon

3. more weights and core training

4. Flexibility

5. cut out eating chocolate sweets(as I put my hand into the tin;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Alot more modest than anyone else here probably, buts its simply to get back to modest fitness and run at least one competitive race this year.

I'm just 2 weeks over my back operation so its going to be probably at least 3 months before I get back jogging. But I'm hopeful I will do at least one race this coming year with reasonable fitness. I'm aiming for my county's novice cross country race, but this may come too soon, we will have to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

well for me....

Watched the 2009 highlights of this. Extremely high temperatures and humidity probably makes this the toughest IM there is. Good man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

Paris full in april, limerick full in may and DCM in October for me.