Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Mod warning in post #1 or post #193] Brian Lenihan diagnosed with cancer

• 26-12-2009 5:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭

Brian Lenihan has cancer, suspected of being pancreatic cancer.

A very serious cancer to get.

Please God he will get better.

Edit by AlmightyCushion.

As I said in this post (http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63660452&postcount=193).
    I've deleted all the crap people were posting. Hoping he dies etc. That ends from here on. If it happens again, I will ban you for it. You may not like the guy but show some common fúcking decency. I'm going to update the first post to reflect this and edit the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Min wrote: »
    Brian Lenehan has cancer, suspected of being pancreatic cancer.

A very serious cancer to get.

Please God he will get better.
    Any source for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Wow, as bad as he is, he dosen't deserve this. Get well Brian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

lugha wrote: »
    Any source for this?

TV3 news, they said they knew on Christmas Eve but didn't reveal it due to respect for his family for Christmas day.

Its sad news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Looked at TV3 article: they have "learned", they say. Not sure what to make of that. This kind of thing will affect the financial markets, so there's going to be some scepticism until he says something himself.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I don't wish bad on any man despide his position. Get well soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Power-surge

Its terrible news, Get well Brian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Cancer, it's a horrible thing.

Had some personal experience with it and I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy.

Hope he gets treatment and beats it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Shocking news. Doesn't sound good. TV3 reported that they had the information on Christmas Eve but didn't realise it until after Christmas.

Its very sad for his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

God that's truly awful. The poor man. Hope he gets through it.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

That's terrible, especially at Christmas. :( No man deserves that.

Just wondering.

Anyone know if he is a smoker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Are ye serious?

Fcukers like him have this country the way it is.

Die... Die slow.

gtfo doubt you would have done any better mr internet hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 rossean

What a vile comment urging him to die slowly...he is somebody's husband, father, brother. Hang your head in shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭gerry28

bnt wrote: »
    Looked at TV3 article: they have "learned", they say. Not sure what to make of that. This kind of thing will affect the financial markets, so there's going to be some scepticism until he says something himself.

I think he said to TV3 that he wasn't going to talk about it till the new year, if it was untrue he would have come out and said so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Are ye serious?

Die... Die slow.

This is the kind of bull that makes me detest the boards, like the rules its attack the post, not the poster, attack his political beliefs, but he is a human like the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Seanohea

Are ye serious?

Die... Die slow.

Ridiculous thing to say, wouldn't wish cancer on anyone.
    How do people get banned around here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭ucd_guy

Cancer is a bastard and I wouldn't wish this on anyone. However it is Brian Lenihan so I couldn't give a ****.
    Are ye serious?

Die... Die slow.

Wow. Just... wow. Someone else mentioned going public - he will be treated in a public hospital, I'd wager, as the national pancreatic cancer centre is now in one public hospital, as are the best pancreatic surgeons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

God that's really awful, especially having to cope with the country baying for his blood and trying to make a budget to suit everyone and bring Ireland out of recession. The poor man, my thoughts are with him.

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Just wondering.

Don't know. But didn't cancer take his father?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I wish him a full and speedy recovery. My thoughts are with his family. Get well soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Trí wrote: »
    God that's truly awful. The poor man. Hope he gets through it.:(

If it is Pancreatic cancer, its not a good outlook.....under 5% if I recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

My father was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer last February and passed away in May. It is a horrible thing to have to witness and I sincerely hope Brian Lenihan can beat this and that his family doesn't have to go through what we did this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

That's terrible for him. Wouldn't wish that sort of fate of anyone.

Godspeed on his recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Unless caught by a vigilant doctor, symptoms only show when things are 'along a fair bit'.

Nasty cancer to get, you would not wish this on anybody.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Some peoples comments on this thread make me sick to the pit of my stomache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

What happened to ignoring the troll lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 mike rolite

Thats terrible - poor man. And on a selfish note, the country is f*cked now as he is the only one in government with a clue. Get well soon Brian. Real soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Unfortunately, this thread shows a sad truth. That there are some truly evil people out there, some of which are registered on this site.

Shame on you - how dare you wish that on anyone. If he was your brother/father/son, would you be as quick to say such things? I doubt it.

I hope he gets better - it aint his fault the way the country is. Hell, even Fitzpatrick and co dont deserve this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Are ye serious?

Die... Die slow.

Yes, he's politically inept.

But he's also a father, and a husband. A terrible time of the year to find out something like that. Hopefully he pulls through.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Just wondering.

I don't think pancreatic cancer would be related to smoking

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Some peoples comments on this thread make me sick to the pit of my stomache.

One persons comment. The mods will sort him/her out soon enough I imagine. Everyone else has been sound. They will always be one attention seeker unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Pancreatic cancer is one of the worst forms of cancer, it's hard to detect, and by the time it starts showing problems it's well on its way :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Nodin wrote: »

It's about that, yes. Very bad cancer to get. They're all bad but this one has a particularly bad survival rate.

It really is a terrible thing. I feel very sorry for the poor man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Nodin wrote: »

Aye, wikipedia say
    The prognosis is relatively poor but has improved; the three-year survival rate is now about thirty percent , but less than 5 percent of those diagnosed are still alive five years after diagnosis. Complete remission is still rather rare.

Poor bugger, didn't like him/agree with policies but I do genuinely feel sorry for him and his family and especially at this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I don't think pancreatic cancer would be related to smoking

It has an effect, I heard a rumour that he smoked all right. Wouldn't be a big fan of him but if he thinks the last year and a half was bad, he's got an infinitely more horrible battle ahead of him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Feel sorry for the man and his family. They have an incredibly tough time ahead, wish them all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Ah lads, come on, stop feeding the troll/s
    you should be taking bets as to which mod bans first.
    Ive got my money on Zohan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

RTE Six One not saying anything

Dept of Finance have no comment according to RTE news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Don't like Brian as a politician and have slagged him off many a time.But would'nt wish cancer on him of anyone.
    Hope he gets well soon so i can slag him again in the future.
    Best of luck to you and your family Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Folks, even commenting on what some idiot has posted regarding the issue at hand isn't worth the time typing and it detracts from the issue at hand. Mods will deal with trolls in time, the rest of us can concentrate on what is more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Very sad news, wish him all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Shoota

Well if true, I hope he pulls through it, wouldn't wish it on my mortal enemy.

HAsn't done a bad job for Dublin West at all either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Unfortunately, this thread shows a sad truth. That there are some truly evil people out there, some of which are registered on this site.

Shame on you - how dare you wish that on anyone. If he was your brother/father/son, would you be as quick to say such things? I doubt it.

I hope he gets better - it aint his fault the way the country is. Hell, even Fitzpatrick and co dont deserve this

I doubt those people are actually evil, I think it's just the usual case of internet hardman. I bet in real life they wouldn't say things like that. Some people just become complete morons when you put them in front of a keyboard. If it were up to me, these goons would be suspended from the internet until they cop on. It's just immaturity.

I certainly don't think that he is to blame for the state that the country is in.

It's mainly Bertie and Cowens fault.

Plus it's also the fault of many Americans, mainly George Bush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

As much as I'm not a fan of him as a politician it is sad to hear anyone being given such a diagnosis. Hope he gets better soon so we can get back to giving out to him for his policies :)