Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Do You Love About Ireland?

• 25-12-2009 12:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭

Was thinking about all the negativity that is spouted regarding this country and how it's not really that bad.

I love certain things about this country.

It might sound strange saying this, but I really love the sky here it's got such great colour to it, almost surreal at times and without our awful weather I probably wouldn't have such great sky definition to make me smile.

So, what do you love about this country?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    but I really love the sky here it's got such great colour to it

Blue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

the little leprechauns prancin' about the place...

hate the gingers tho...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Santa's in shannon right now...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055778916

That's a pretty bitchin thing for a country to have going for it..
    All we have to do is trap the bastard now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

It might sound strange saying this, but I really love the sky here it's got such great colour to it, almost surreal at times and without our awful weather I probably wouldn't have such great sky definition to make me smile.

You stoned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Wazdakka wrote:
    Santa's in shannon right now...

http://www.noradsanta.org/en/index.html

Peopel steal my thread ideas - gotta love it!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Griffen262

The crazy old people...every town has one!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Peopel steal my thread ideas - gotta love it!

<_<
    >_>
    Wazdakka wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Wazdakka wrote: »
    <_<
    >_>

(Actually he was in the Azores when you posted this....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Oh look...sarcastic replies...never seen that before....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Seriously: The traditional music.

There's no folk music in the world that even compares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

honestly, nothing i can think of right now

hating every second of being back here, and still another 12 days to endure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

if this country was a person, id kick the living **** out of him / her, and ask for my ****ing money back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Timistry

The Guinness
    \ Thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Any relation to the cat-lady?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

the greeness aka the emerald isle :D

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Any relation to the cat-lady?

No, I'm not related to your mother...if I see her I'll tell to go home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

No, I'm not related to your mother...if I see her I'll tell to go home...

oooh good one..........lets see where this goes.....watch!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Coddle. Proper coddle. And proper Irish stew.

Tallaght.

Every man and woman that represents Ireland in sport at an international level, especially the football and rugby teams.

I can't think of anything else off the top of my head but if I was living somewhere else I could give you a thousand things I love about the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Croke Park. The GPO. St Stephen's Green.

The Late Late Show.

Abrakebabra.

People taking themselves waaay to seriously! LOVE that about Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭punkindrublic

Fair city!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

It's ability to complain about every ****ing thing under the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Adriatic

The accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

The sky? are you takin the piss?
    its bloody grey the vast majority of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

The people. Especially if yer in the country. If yer down and out on yer luck they'll virtually bend over backwards to help.

Panda wrote: »
    The sky? are you takin the piss?
    its bloody grey the vast majority of the time.

Ahh but it's those moments when it isn't feckin grey that I'm talking about.

There's certain times in the morning and evening (weather permitting of course) when it's alive with colour and there probably isn't anything like it anywhere else in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Its AH,what else did you expect?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 peterwhilluk

what i really love about the Irish culture

1)nosey, jealous, bitter people
    2)watching x factor
    3)becoming grossly overweight
    4)greed
    5)being queer

ta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

20 years ago I would have said it's the people.

Today, they are exactly what has me hating Ireland and wanting to stay abroad for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I'm emigrating in about 8 months, so I think this is relevant for me.

I love the way this is a small country. For example, if I need to get somewhere in Dublin city, I can walk to it.

I love that we have a lot of socialist policies, such as free health care and free education.

I love that anyone can achieve anything in Ireland. A skanger can go to Trinity and become very successful. For example, Joe Duffy. We may hate him, but he is a success story.

I love the innocence of Irish people. If you've ever lived in a major city (e.g. Paris) you'll know what I mean.

I love the cosyness of Irish pubs.

I love our interest in politics and current affairs.

I love our pale skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Hmmm, ok....

Accents. I love how some of our regional accents have an almost musical quality. I also love the colour of language and expression that you can hear between locals in a pub in the back end of nowhere.

I also love our musical and cultural hertitage, and the fact that we are so strongly respresented across the world in so many genres of music. Also, I love the soulfulness and romance of our folk music.

I also like to think that, for such a small country we make quite an impact on the rest of the world. That may not explain itself well, and I'm certainly not talking about the last 10 yrs of arrogant bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I think we can be more inventive in the way that we swear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Pineapple_Boi

the extreme amounts of overregulation we dont yet suffer compared to other european countries.

In places like holland you need a permit for *everything* and there is a law for every aspect of your life

Even though the government is working extremely hard to catch up with their european neighbours for the sake of trying to be more modern

Yea they think micro managing people's lives makes them more technologically advanced for some reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭belge boy

Helix wrote: »
    honestly, nothing i can think of right now

hating every second of being back here, and still another 12 days to endure

same right here pal. every summer, my mother gets me and my sister to go with her to visit relations and damn its so boring place. i mean maby its good for old people but i think its so boring.

i mean ye theres worst countries but i could think of much better ways to spend a week of vacances :rolleyes:

belge boy wrote: »
    same right here pal. every summer, my mother gets me and my sister to go with her to visit relations and damn its so boring place. i mean maby its good for old people but i think its so boring.

i mean ye theres worst countries but i could think of much better ways to spend a week of vacances :rolleyes:

You ever think that maybe it's the people and the surroundings and not the country.

Sure if you're active and doing things any country in the world can be exciting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I love the green, I love the irish put tone into swearing.
    I love the way irish red head girls can turn heads.

I love the green, I love the irish put tone into swearing.
    I love the way irish red head girls can turn heads.

Red heads, I love red heads.

Bordering on slightly obsessive...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

That we're an example that the little guy won't be pushed around by the big bully and if needs be the little guy can make the big bully regret the day they ever laid eyes on them. Also a lot of the stuff mentioned already about cheap education, healthcare etc. for the less fortunate of society. The morals of the majority of the country is also quite high. Just wish we could get rid of the minority that are ruining the streets and reputation of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

leddpipe wrote: »
    if this country was a person, id kick the living **** out of him / her, and ask for my ****ing money back!
    So... you buy people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

So... you buy people?
    I think he is suggesting this country has mugged him. But you never know on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

belge boy wrote: »

I would take your point on board, if you didn't come from the most sterile country in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

Adriatic wrote: »
    The accents.

Yea i love my accent , turns the girls on too:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭20goto10

I'm probably the only person in the country who thinks this but I love our climate. Sunshine is great when you rarely have it but it's not so great when you have it every single day. I love that the whole country goes into BBQ party mode everytime there's a bit of sunshine. I love the unpredictability of our weather. Where else in the world can you get 4 seasons in one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭magnumlady

I love the landscape and the clean air(where I live anyway).

Also this year has been a rotten year and people went out of their way to help us, so I love the community spirit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭PH4T

I'm surprised that this hasn't been mentioned already, alcohol.

I love that we are a nation of alcoholics.

Not only do most of using love drinking but it's nearly approved of to be an alcoholic.

From St. Patricks Day to the new Arthur's Day to the 12 Pubs of Christmas, this is a great country if you love booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

I love the fact I dont live there anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Redrocket wrote: »
    I love the fact I dont live there anymore

But surely not living there, you see the things you like and the things you don't like. (I lived in the Netherlands for a year and have been 6 months in Australia). What I've come to realise is that there is no place on Earth that's perfect. There a whole load of everyday niggles anywhere that you choose to live. It's how to choose to cope and adapt with them that's important.

I found the Dutch to be a bunch of ignorant b******s but I'd move back to the Netherlands in a heartbeat. I've come to appreciate why they are the way they are and what lessons we can learn from them (like the importance of family) and what things they could take on board from our country (like not having to book a night out 3 weeks in advance).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Our history.
    Trad music.
    Sing-songs.
    The way we get so excited if our national rugby/soccer team, pro sports person or someone in the Olympics in a sport which we know fúck all about are doing well.:D
    Underage drinking.
    Discos(not the crisps).
    Tayto.
    Father Ted.
    Dougal.
    The stick-together, help eachother out attitude that most community's have.

I love Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

The fact we have our own language and also speak an international language fluently. We have the best of both worlds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The fact we have our own language and also speak an international language fluently. We have the best of both worlds!

:D Thats an optimistic way to look at it! Must remember that one!