Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Dracula Movie

• 24-12-2009 6:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭

I think its time a new Dracula movie was made, its been 16 years since francis ford coppolas version and its such an iconic character and vampires are in now I would like to see it made again, I know its been done alot before but it Dracula hasnt been done right according to the novel that many times, after all they are making another Robin Hood and thats been done to death too, I suppose itwill be done again regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Never beat bela lugosi as Dracula though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

As it happens we're getting a Bram Stoker film next year, and it's Irish!
    http://www.dublinpeople.com/content/view/2721/56/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

"Ere bud, ill suck yer blood if ye dont pony up the dosh!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I'd really love to see a Tim Burton version.

Think his slant on it would be interesting viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

The best version of Dracula that I have seen was shown on BBC around 30 years ago at Halloween. Count Dracula stars Louis Jourdan in the role of Dracula and our own Bosco Hogan as Jonathan Harker. The casting raised a lot of eyebrows at the time but when I watched it I was amazed at how good it was. If you haven't seen it and are a fan of Dracula I would highly recommend you do. I bought it from the BBC shop a few years back and watch it every now and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Hollywood have decided they're gonna do an action genre version of Dracula (ala Sherlock Holmes I guess)

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1563154/
    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/movies/news/a190242/brad-pitt-to-produce-vampire-film-vlad.html

Galvasean wrote: »
    As it happens we're getting a Bram Stoker film next year, and it's Irish!
    http://www.dublinpeople.com/content/view/2721/56/

Shame it looks woeful. If it cost 8 million then I have no idea where the money went, certainly not on the film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Hank_Jones wrote: »

Sure the casting is out of the way; Johnny Depp as the vampire and Helena Bonham Carter as the love interest.

Vokes wrote: »
    Hollywood have decided they're gonna do an action genre version of Dracula (ala Sherlock Holmes I guess)

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1563154/
    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/movies/news/a190242/brad-pitt-to-produce-vampire-film-vlad.html

That will have nothign to do with Dracula and concentrate on the story of Vlad the Impaler upon whom Dracula is based. There have been a number of films about Vlad in the past.

The last Dracula film I really enjoyed was the Dracula 2000 trilogy, parts 2 and 3 are surprisingly strong for direct to disc sequels. Dracula 300 is also fun in a completely brain dead manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Christ no, itd just be Sweeney Todd with kooky fangs, Dracula would have a kooky stripy black and white cape, and might have some sort of kooky kitchen implement for fingers or something, and possibly a kooky hairstyle, while acting kooky

Sure the casting is out of the way; Johnny Depp as the vampire and Helena Bonham Carter as the love interest.

I'd rather see Depp in the Jonathan Harker role with Helena as Mina.

krudler wrote: »
    Christ no, itd just be Sweeney Todd with kooky fangs, Dracula would have a kooky stripy black and white cape, and might have some sort of kooky kitchen implement for fingers or something, and possibly a kooky hairstyle, while acting kooky

I'd imagine that if he was going to do it then he would be influenced by Nosferatu (1922) and the film would have a lot of German expressionist influences.
    Sweeney Todd is a musical and is completely different from Dracula in style, the only thing they share is that both have dark characters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Actually a couple of them coming out this year.One is the sequal based on the new book, Alex Pryonis is doing Dracula Year 1 and there's some other drac origins film coming out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

With plenty of warped trees and Dracula is armed with Burton's hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Exactly the reason Ive lost interest in anything Burton does. Cast someone else man, its getting very very boring.

Depp is a fantastic actor though, I really don't see a negative to him being cast. Same goes for Scorsese casting Di Caprio and ehh Hitchcock casting James Stewart.wink.gif

If they are good why wouldn't you cast them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I think I just vomited in my mouth a little bit.
    Christmas is ruined!

Depp is a fantastic actor though, I really don't see a negative to him being cast. Same goes for Scorsese casting Di Caprio and ehh Hitchcock casting James Stewart.wink.gif

If they are good why wouldn't you cast them...

Depp may be a fantastic actor but he's been playing the exact same character for nearly two decades. Same goes for Burton who has been making the same film over and over again.

Scorsese has casts De Caprio in a number of films recently but unlike the teaming of Depp and Burton, Scorsese and De Caprio have and continue to make drastically different films. There are no similarities between say the Aviator and The Departed where as every Depp/Burton collaboration has looked exactly the same. A friend worked on Alice in Wonderland and according to him it's yet more Burton/Depp crap with no redeeming

Galvasean wrote: »
    I think I just vomited in my mouth a little bit.
    Christmas is ruined!

There's also no Santa.

Mod edit: yes there is. Don't listen to him.

Depp may be a fantastic actor but he's been playing the exact same character for nearly two decades. Same goes for Burton who has been making the same film over and over again.

I really don't see a problem with Burton pumping out the same style of film all the time, he is extremely good at it.
    At least his films have some artistic value, which is more than can be said for most of the trash that is being made currently.

I really don't see a problem with Burton pumping out the same style of film all the time, he is extremely good at it.
    At least his films have some artistic value, which is more than can be said for most of the trash that is being made currently.

Shooting films in the similar stylistic manner is all well and good but when every film you made looks exactly the same, features the same actors and similar plots then you have a problem.

Take any film maker with a signature style and while you will discover numerous similarities you will also see stark differences from film to film. A friend worked on Alice in Wonderland and told me recently that it's more of the same with Burton just repeating himself by casting the same actors in the same roles and rehashing the same plots and set design.

The reason for Burton using the same styles (set,characters etc) is that he is greatly influenced by the German expressionist films of the 1910's,20's and 30's.

He takes the look and feel of those films and incorporates it into the films that he makes.

Burton is pretty much the only director that does this and to me that is extremely unique and I always look forward to the visual spectacle of his films.

The reason for Burton using the same styles (set,characters etc) is that he is greatly influenced by the German expressionist films of the 1910's,20's and 30's.

He takes the look and feel of those films and incorporates it into the films that he makes.

Burton is pretty much the only director that does this and to me that is extremely unique and I always look forward to the visual spectacle of his films.

I'm aware of his influences but if you look at any German Expressionist director you will find that their style evolved over time allowing them to craft drastically different stylistic films. Burton on the other hand makes each film look identical as well as reusing similar plots time after time.

You can tell a Burton film from the the fist ten seconds of the trailer. Oh look it's all dark and foreboding looking with widespread use of triangles for windows etc. And here comes Johnny Depp as a wacky and unorthodox anti hero followed closely by Helena Bonham carter playing wacky and unorthodox. As much as I enjoy Burton's work I rarely find myself excited by anything he has done in recent years. It's hard to get excited when you've seen it all before. I have more hope for Marilyn Manson's proposed Alice adaption than that of Burton's as I know that Manson's will be far more original.

I'm aware of his influences but if you look at any German Expressionist director you will find that their style evolved over time allowing them to craft drastically different stylistic films. Burton on the other hand makes each film look identical as well as reusing similar plots time after time.

You can tell a Burton film from the the fist ten seconds of the trailer. Oh look it's all dark and foreboding looking with widespread use of triangles for windows etc. And here comes Johnny Depp as a wacky and unorthodox anti hero followed closely by Helena Bonham carter playing wacky and unorthodox. As much as I enjoy Burton's work I rarely find myself excited by anything he has done in recent years. It's hard to get excited when you've seen it all before. I have more hope for Marilyn Manson's proposed Alice adaption than that of Burton's as I know that Manson's will be far more original.

Dark and foreboding works for me. I'm really into set design so I enjoy the darker elements of his films as they are like no other directors currently. I can see how you wouldn't enjoy the fact that he uses the same cast and makes the same type of film. It just works for me.

As for Manson's film, hopefully he does bring something different to the story. I honestly can't see it being something special though. It's written by, directed, produced and starring Manson. I would have said maybe it might be good if he wasn't directing and starring.

But then again, ya never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'd truly hate to see a Burton-esque Dracula adaptation. I honestly like Tim Burton, but for god's sake, the man really needs to come out of his comfort zone more often. Big Fish was one of the best films of his career, which honestly shows what's he's capable of when he stepped away from all the typical gothic imagery and the stale casting choices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Sam Worthington in negotiations to play Dracula

I like Sam, but he wouldn't be my choice for this role, the guy doesn't say royalty or supernatural to me. He should stick to the everyman roles, that's what suits him. I smell another Van Helsing coming on; a film with great potential but one that ultimately ends up being horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

Scorsese has casts De Caprio in a number of films recently but unlike the teaming of Depp and Burton, Scorsese and De Caprio have and continue to make drastically different films. There are no similarities between say the Aviator and The Departed where as every Depp/Burton collaboration has looked exactly the same. A friend worked on Alice in Wonderland and according to him it's yet more Burton/Depp crap with no redeeming

10/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I have too much time on my hands:

Dracula: The Un-Dead (2010) - Seems to be just a slasher movie.

Dracula (2011) - Described as "An avant-garde interpretation of the Bram Stoker novel". Directed by Albert Serra.

Dracula Year Zero (2011) - Directed by Alex Proyas and Sam Worthington is rumoured to be in it.

The Slacks of Dracula (2010) - It's either going to be pure genius or horrific.

Vlad (2012) - Based around the early life of Vlad The Impaler, but it's a horror, so it may go into the realms of the supernatural. It's being produced by Brad Pitt, not that that means much.

Dracula's Stoker (2009) - Made last year, but should be released this year. I think it's been done by an Irishman. But the fact that it's written, directed, starring, produced, make-up by, publicised by, coffee gotten by the same person, I can't imagine it being a blockbuster. It's a mix between documentary and fiction.

Vampire Diaries Renfield (2010) - Based around the character Renfield being a vampire in modern america.

The Last Voyage of The Demeter (2011) - About Dracula's journey from Transylvania and the crew that he ate.

And these are just the more mainstream films. There's a good load of straight to video horror movies that have Dracula in various different locations.

Also there's an episode of Robot Chicken from last year where Jean Claude Van Damme played Dracula.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,703 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

step away from the computer now

Surely they all won't stick? It will be impressive if even three are released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

The last Dracula film I saw was Dracula 2000. But i'd be interested to see what sort of Dracula can be portayed in this time, with CGI and all although for me whenever CGI is involved in a film I tend to be sceptical.

Also I don't think Tim Burton would be bad as Director of the movie. I think he could live up to it, and bring us a good movie especially if Johnny Depp is involved. He just needs to be careful and not try to make it look too kooky. But knowing Burton, he's proberly going to put his own sense of humour into the film so I don't know.

Burton is doing his own vampire thing atm with Depp. They're adaptating the great Dan Curtis's Dark Shadows into a film which is a shame as I have my doubts that they will do it justice.

Aren't Burton and Depp already doing a Vampire film?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

rednik wrote: »
    The best version of Dracula that I have seen was shown on BBC around 30 years ago at Halloween. Count Dracula stars Louis Jourdan in the role of Dracula and our own Bosco Hogan as Jonathan Harker. The casting raised a lot of eyebrows at the time but when I watched it I was amazed at how good it was. If you haven't seen it and are a fan of Dracula I would highly recommend you do. I bought it from the BBC shop a few years back and watch it every now and again.

I completely agree, I saw it too:). I still have to tuck the duvet round my neck at night:eek:..I bought the dvd recently online..followed the book closely, brilliantly atmospheric...and above all -what a 'Dracula', he was marvellous.....the special effects were a bit dodgy but grand for the time.
    KamalK.jpg Louis Jordan