Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Israel threatens another large-scale Gaza war

• 24-12-2009 7:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

"Israel has threatened another massive war against the Gaza Strip as the impoverished enclave continues to suffer in the aftermath of the devastating January offensive.

Israeli planes have been dropping thousands of leaflets across Gaza, warning Palestinians against cooperating with the resistance fighters based in the coastal sliver.

The leaflets also threaten Gazans with a new attack just ahead of the first anniversary of Israel's 22-day onslaught against the Palestinian territory".

This is not looking good at all, the Palestinians have not recovered from their last ordeal which has annihilated whats Left of their homeland. It is going to be far worse this time with extra security beefed up at the Rafah border and coast preventing humanitarian aid coming in and refugees leaving. Talk about shooting fish in a barrel. :mad:

http://www.presstv.ir/detail.aspx?id=114471&sectionid=351020202

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Israeli planes have been dropping thousands of leaflets across Gaza, warning Palestinians against cooperating with the resistance fighters based in the coastal sliver.

http://www.presstv.ir/detail.aspx?id=114471&sectionid=351020202

Can't see too much wrong with that.

These guys should get a grip and stop attacking Israel.

Then all this nonsense will stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Well, maybe Israel ought to practice what it preaches and stop attacking Palestinians. There is nothing more annoying than someone saying, do as I say and not as I do.

Both sides need to cut out the nonsense and not just one of them. When, Israel starts adhereing to the concept of non-violence, then they may have a leg to stand on, when it comes to moral superiority. As it stands the Israeli government is no better than Hamas imho.

As for another attack, it will only increase the suffering in Gaza, which will inevitable lead to more hatred. You attack people, and they will hate you, there is rarely any other response. Half starving them to death, and imprisoning them will hardly help matters either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

Its a Press TV 'exclusive'. Given the week that is in it in Iran and what their president has been saying, I wouldn't be surprised if it was just deflectory bullsh.

Justind wrote: »
    Its a Press TV 'exclusive'. Given the week that is in it in Iran and what their president has been saying, I wouldn't be surprised if it was just deflectory bullsh.

Actually, just noticed the source, and you may be right. Having said that, it wouldn't surprise me if the Israeli's were to attack Gaza again either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭S.L.F

That would be my view too!

One has to wonder where the Palestinians get their €50,000 missiles from?

Indeed, 50k would feed a lot of people in that area.

I wonder do the people driving trucks from Ireland over there realise that.

One always has to take off one's idealistic glasses to look at these unfortunate situations in their proper perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Tigerbaby

S.L.F wrote: »

never mind the elephant in the room eh ? or shall we really begin to talk about where Israel gets its vast military resources ? talk about stones versus nukes. What a wonderul brave nation is Israel. the leading light of democracy in the Mid East.

a right shower of bastards. and I'm being as circumspect as I can here.

May God send his blessings to Gaza this Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Tigerbaby wrote: »
    never mind the elephant in the room eh ? or shall we really begin to talk about where Israel gets its vast military resources ? talk about stones versus nukes. What a wonderul brave nation is Israel. the leading light of democracy in the Mid East.

Grad rockets are pretty big elephants alright.

Yes the palestinians are a right shower of bastards. You'd think they'd have a bit more cop on after the last pasting they got.

If it was not for those resources it would be over-run, destroyed and it's entire population slaughtered.

As for the "stones versus nukes" I don't think it is very wise for anybody to be throwing stones at someone who has nukes.

One has to wonder at the mentality of people like that, doesn't one?

And I agree may God send his blessings to Gaza this Christmas but also to Israel

Yes the palestinians are a right shower of bastards. You'd think they'd have a bit more cop on after the last pasting they got.

*Slaps head*

That was the name...Grad Rockets.

Thinking back I'm not too sure if they were €50,000 or not but I do know that they have 50,000 ball bearings in them

Saw some of the damage they leave when they hit a target luckily for the Israelis they have an early warning system (probably American made).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Tigerbaby

Occupation, death, arrest, destruction of farms, denial of fuel, electricity, medical services. Dropping phosphorous on civilians. I would call these a reasonable causus belli. The Palestinians should be proud for the way they have stood up to this beautiful display of democracy and civil rights.

have a read of the Goldstone report if you have a problem with reality. Check out how nice it is to dump burning phosphorous on a child.

Bring on a one state solution, and lets see demographics sort it out.Oh, thats assuming if Israel really does believe in democracy. I wont hold my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

As far as I can gather a grad hasn't been fired from Gaza since March.
    Nice little racist comment there.

Anyway, I'd have my doubts about this considering the source. I'd doubt the Israeli government would be so stupid as to launch another large scale attack on Gaza given the diplomatic disaster it would be for them.

Bring on a one state solution, and lets see demographics sort it out

What colour is the sky in your world?
    A one-state solution??
    This thread will turn into the usual wiki-wagging session no doubt but ffs, your solution is a little too . . . Nasser-like.

http://thunderpigblog.blogspot.com/2009/01/gaza-grad-rockets-made-in-china.html

Indeed..... Israel should be commended of restraint here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Opposed to the €3 billion in military aid Israel gets?

Look, ideally I'd like to see both sides just halt everything and get everything back on the negotiating table so peace can be restored. I think everyone in this thread would like that.

But here enlies the problem - Israel continues to illegally occupy, evict and imprison Palestinians. It's hard to try and reason with people when they have watched their entire family be killed.

Israel is provoking Palestinians with these illegal settlements and evictions. This is not the Palestinians fault. Anyone can see this. Unless of course, you find the idea of illegal occupation, eviction and harassment to be ethically ok.

On a somewhat related note, Israeli victims of rockets from Gaza have asked a Belgian court to try Hamas leaders. Fair play to them. However, I'd doubt that any members from Hamas would be traveling to Europe for an arrest warrant to be carried out.

http://www.haaretz.com/hasen/spages/1137413.html

The Saint wrote: »
    As far as I can gather a grad hasn't been fired from Gaza since March.

That only proves that Israel were right to invade and blow up all the tunnels but you can be sure as soon as they have them rebuilt they'll be firing more missiles and they'll have yet another invasion and all the tunnels will be blown up then peace then tunnels rebuilt more missiles then invasion blow up all the tunnels on and on
    Anyway, I'd have my doubts about this considering the source. I'd doubt the Israeli government would be so stupid as to launch another large scale attack on Gaza given the diplomatic disaster it would be for them.

Given a choice between a diplomatic disaster and having a whole bunch of missiles fired at my civilians I know which would be more important to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭T "real deal" J

dlofnep wrote: »
    Look, ideally I'd like to see both sides just halt everything and get everything back on the negotiating table so peace can be restored. I think everyone in this thread would like that.

Absolutely.
    But here enlies the problem - Israel continues to illegally occupy, evict and imprison Palestinians. It's hard to try and reason with people when they have watched their entire family be killed.

"Illegally occupy" is a commonly used term. This refers to repeated UN resolutions which are anti-israeli. In '67 Israel's 3 neighbouring Arab countries attacked it with the plan of wiping the jews out (please see below '67 Arab propoganda pic)

Al-Farida%2C_Lebanon_pre-1967_war.jpg

Israel defeated the Arabs and took some of their land (west bank). The way israel sees it is this; they attacked us, we won, we keep some of their land. This is how war works>>> eg...Germany lost WW2, it had to cede territory after. I don't think there were worldwide protests for 10 million German Prussians to have their homeland returned to them, they simply had to move out of Poland.

You have to understand the israeli psyche. Post holocaust and post '67 etc Israel has to look out for itself and its own interests...and it does this very aggressively. It is fully aware of the western media's anti-israel tirade, but this is simply irrelevant to them. Why should Israel care about what we say or trust us? The Jews have been persecuted for millenia and now have a homeland.

Read "The iron wall" by Avi Shlaim. It gives an excellent non-biased account of the region which helps better to put into context the Israel sitaution. It can help remove much of the ignorance which people seem to have about the conflict.

That only proves that Israel were right to invade and blow up all the tunnels but you can be sure as soon as they have them rebuilt they'll be firing more missiles and they'll have yet another invasion and all the tunnels will be blown up then peace then tunnels rebuilt more missiles then invasion blow up all the tunnels on and on.
    Well that's really just speculation. Anyway, it's more the manner in which the IDF acted during the previous invasion that people have an issue with.
    Given a choice between a diplomatic disaster and having a whole bunch of missiles fired at my civilians I know which would be more important to me.
    Given that, as far as I can gather, there have been no Israeli casualties since the last invasion and that the number of rockets fired had drastically reduced I don't think the Israelis really have the cassus bellifor another invasion. An invasion would do Israel a lot more harm than good by launching an attack. I'd very much doubt this is going to happen.

Anyway, given the source I wouldn't think that this is really a story anyway. I've not seen it reported anywhere else.

Absolutely.

"Illegally occupy" is a commonly used term. This refers to repeated UN resolutions which are anti-israeli. In '67 Israel's 3 neighbouring Arab countries attacked it with the plan of wiping the jews out (please see below '67 Arab propoganda pic)

Al-Farida%2C_Lebanon_pre-1967_war.jpg

Israel defeated the Arabs and took some of their land (west bank). The way israel sees it is this; they attacked us, we won, we keep some of their land. This is how war works>>> eg...Germany lost WW2, it had to cede territory after. I don't think there were worldwide protests for 10 million German Prussians to have their homeland returned to them, they simply had to move out of Poland.

You have to understand the israeli psyche. Post holocaust and post '67 etc Israel has to look out for itself and its own interests...and it does this very aggressively. It is fully aware of the western media's anti-israel tirade, but this is simply irrelevant to them. Why should Israel care about what we say or trust us? The Jews have been persecuted for millenia and now have a homeland.

Read "The iron wall" by Avi Shlaim. It gives an excellent non-biased account of the region which helps better to put into context the Israel sitaution. It can help remove much of the ignorance which people seem to have about the conflict.

From this post it seems you have a misunderstanding on the 1967 war, international law and Avi Shlaims view on the current situation.

Can you lot ever stick to the subject? Again with the regurgitated sanctimonium ad infinitum et nauseum ???
    Why must every bloody thread on anything to do with the region always be hijacked with one-eyed and more often than not, ill-informed comments from the usual armchair activists?

An Iranian 'international news' channel has claimed that Israel is about to attack Gaza again.
    I reckon its bunkum and they're not doing nothing of a sort. Can anyone prove otherwise?

I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭halkar

It would not surprise me if they attack again. Israel use Palestine and Lebanon to dispose their oversupply of armaments. It cost money to dispose armaments and Israel does not have a large land mass to do this internally. Doing it externally would be very costy.

Makes sense? Maybe not but stop and think a moment. Nationalism left the world after WW1. War games are all about money these days no one cares about the suffering it brings. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭T "real deal" J

From this post it seems you have a misunderstanding on the 1967 war, international law and Avi Shlaims view on the current situation.

Well do go on and explain. This statement without an explanation is a waste of time.

I wasn't referring to Avi Shlaims views, I was referring to the facts in his book.

Well that's really just speculation. Anyway, it's more the manner in which the IDF acted during the previous invasion that people have an issue with.

I think it is more than speculation, there have been plenty of sucide attacks on Israel in the last 20 years those attacks have stopped now that Israel have closed their border to Palestine.

I'm well aware that closing the border has caused enormous hardship for the Palestinian people but Israel is not in the position to let people in who will blow themselves up to kill ordinary Israelis.

The IDF is an army, armies are not there to hug people they are there to kill, I don't like what they did anymore than anybody else, the bombs they used should not have been used in populated areas and there is no question of that but by the same token HAMAS should not be using people as shields either.
    Given that, as far as I can gather, there have been no Israeli casualties since the last invasion and that the number of rockets fired had drastically reduced I don't think the Israelis really have the cassus bellifor another invasion. An invasion would do Israel a lot more harm than good by launching an attack. I'd very much doubt this is going to happen.

Anyway, given the source I wouldn't think that this is really a story anyway. I've not seen it reported anywhere else.

I very much hope so too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

of course it will be tomorrow when the fewest people in the western world are paying attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Isreal doesn't even have a constitution,our actual borders.

digme wrote: »
    Isreal doesn't even have a constitution

Neither does the UK so what's your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭paulaa

According to Bibi's brother-in-law, Hagai Ben Artzi, the next Gaza slaughter is imminent. Israel must have more new weapons to test !!!!

"I hope that we will be able to release Gilad during the next war in Gaza," he said.

Noam Shalit asked him in response to forecast when the next war in the coastal strip would take place, to which Ben Artzi answered "either in two months, or in six months."

http://www.haaretz.com/hasen/pages/ShArtVty.jhtml?sw=gaza&itemNo=1136617

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

They're just waiting for the next shipment of blood money from the Americans in the form of hi tech killing equipment. You know, while the American government pontificates about wanting "peace" or "freedom", and hands one of the parties a knife with which to stab the other when no one's looking.

Your signature is quite apt:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

When is someone going to stop those criminals in israel ...and when will the middle east stand up to them against their demolition of the palestine state...vicious scum is all they are

FlutterinBantam - Do you believe the Gaza war was entirely the fault of the Palestinians?

I can't speak for FlutterinBantam, but reading the various talkbacks on the Israeli newspapers sites on this, the 1st anniversary of the massacre in Gaza, most Israeli apologists see no wrong in slaughtering hundreds of children, in fact many are hailing Cast Lead as a success.

imo it was a failure for Israel and finally brought the world's attention to the savagery and greed that now defines the "State of Israel". Another slaughter like that and those propping up the regime in Tel Aviv will not be able to sell it to their electorate for much longer, despite AIPAC and the other corrupt lobby groups. Israel is becoming a liability to the few backers she has left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

I think whoever mentioned Iranian propoganda earlier in this thread may be right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Rossibaby

Are you for seriousz?

Yes those 400 innocent children got one hell of a pasting at the turn of the year didn't they.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

You'd think they'd have a bit more cop on after the last pasting they got.

Are you new to the world?

The conflict has being going on for over 60 years now and neither side has 'copped on'.

Rossibaby wrote: »
    Are you for seriousz?

Yes those 400 innocent children got one hell of a pasting at the turn of the year didn't they.

That's what can happen if callous terrorists use them as human shields.

I agree with you. Both Hamas and the IDF used innocents in Gaza.
    Pretty sad that "the most moral army in the world" has to resort to such tactics.

You mean like the IDF did, as per the Goldstone report, HRW report, and the Amnesty report? One would assume that if you against people being used as Human shield, it would bother you that the IDF are very well known for doing it, and it has been shown on these thread repeatedly, and in every new thread people seem to forget about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Yes. Callous terrorists on both sides are guilty of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

both sides are as bad as each other
    end of story

I think whoever mentioned Iranian propoganda earlier in this thread may be right.
    Stop sticking to the subject of the thread. Its not looked upon favourably here.

I'm glad you agree that the IDF are callous terrorists. FlutterinBantam on our side. Who'da thunk it?

http://edition.cnn.com/2009/WORLD/meast/07/15/israel.gaza.report/index.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Rossibaby

How exactly were Hamas using those 7 baby brothers and sisters who were asleep in their beds as human shields?

By operating in the general area where they lived, amongst the people.

Surely that is obvious no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Occupation, death, arrest, destruction of farms, denial of fuel, electricity, medical services. Dropping phosphorous on civilians. I would call these a reasonable causus belli. The Palestinians should be proud for the way they have stood up to this beautiful display of democracy and civil rights.

have a read of the Goldstone report if you have a problem with reality. Check out how nice it is to dump burning phosphorous on a child.

Bring on a one state solution, and lets see demographics sort it out.Oh, thats assuming if Israel really does believe in democracy. I wont hold my breath.

Hear, hear.

Jew/zionist lobby need to be confronted and shown for the hypocrits that they are.

Apologists for terrorism and suicide bombers need to be confronted and crushed.

What nation will allow it's population to be living in terror of brainwashed extremists bent on sowing death and destruction in their midst?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Apologists for terrorism and suicide bombers need to be confronted and crushed.

What nation will allow it's population to be living in terror of brainwashed extremists bent on sowing death and destruction in their midst?

The jew/zionists lobby who occupy Palestine are the problem, Flutter.

Since 1948 Palestine has been in turmoil.

Prior to 1948, that region was relatively quiet and peaceful.