Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proof of competence

• 23-12-2009 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭

What do you guys make of this competence letter? its for a .22

Proof of competence and reasons for requiring Firearm
    Dear sir,

I find that for shooting rabbits it is quite hard to get close enough to them to take a humane shot and with the amount of rabbits on my permissions a shotgun isn’t very effective at clearing warrens for the farmers as one shot will spook all of the rabbits, this is my main reason for applying for the .22, as I can take safer shots from safe distances without “spooking” the others due to the lower noise level.
    I help supply Fota wildlife park in cork with rabbits for their big cats, they take them frozen and will now, not accept rabbits that have been shot with a shotgun due to the spent shot embedding inside them and the possibility of causing damage to the cats. They will only accept them if shot with a .22

My family likes to eat the rabbits I shoot and with a .22 the meat damage to the creature will not be as high as it would be with a shotgun.
    I am fully aware of the safety aspects of using a rifle, I have been instructed heavily by a close friend on this matter (he is licensed for a .22lr and .223rem), I have also attended the NARGC firearms safety course which I have a certificate for.
    I know to only take the shot when there is a 100% safe backdrop and to take humane shots.
    I have a 4 gun safe for the shotgun I currently have, the rifle will also be stored in there, My local garda has checked the safe out and was very happy with the level of security, I also have a separate ammunition safe in which all the ammunition will be stored in, and the bolt will also be stored separately to the ammunition and the gun safes to ensure safety.
    I am a member of the NARGC and I am a Member of Coppeen Gun Club,

Silencers have traditionally been used on rimfire rifles of .22 calibres when shooting rabbits. This allows the shooter to kill other animals who are not alarmed by the low report of the rifle.
    • Health and Safety: To prevent hearing damage to me and others nearby.
    To be aware of what and who is around me when hunting on my permissions and to be able to hear people who may be giving me instructions and warnings. Hearing protection is not an option under these conditions.
    • Public Safety and Peace: To reduce the noise pollution to the public if and when they are within hearing range of shots being fired. I have shooting permissions on lands where this can happen. On occasion the night shooting of vermin is needed and again the use of a sound suppressor will reduce the noise pollution to the public.
    • I have permissions to shoot on lands for the control of vermin where horses are kept and at time in foal and also other livestock. The sounds of shooting will stampede the horses and a sound suppressor is required on these occasions.

Photocopies of current Shotgun cert and all other relevant documents are enclosed.

Kind Regards,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Should have no major problems with rifle but as I found out the modertor could be another story

Good luck ;)

BTW how much is Photo Wildlife paying for bunnies ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

change silencers to moderators.

and loose the bit about nite shooting ,its none of there business .
    also loose the bit about hearing loss of others near by . as a full bore with a mod on there is no difference in the decibel level after 25 meters in front of the firearm, with or with out a mod on.

other than that its well worded. there is a very good chance they will not even read it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Boyle243

Good letter do the changes that JW mentioned and i cant see any problems.
    I got a 22 mag rifle about 2 years ago i had no hassle didnt need letters or anything cant believe the trouble lads are having feel sorry for ye:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Hill Man

You do not need to complete the part on competence if you read the application form, you need only complete this part if it is a first time application.

Your letter seems fine. You must establish that you have a good reason to require the firearm, you seem to have established this.

I have been instructed heavily by a close friend on this matter (he is licensed for a .22lr and .223rem),
    If I were you I would leave this part out. You have a safety coarse, that should be enough and your friend is not qualified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

OP has a shotgun and is looking for a .22 rifle.

Two totally different firearms in a lot of ways. As he hasn't already got a rifle licence he will need to prove competence with a rifle. The NARGC course does not cover much if anything to do with rifles afaik.

His friend has 2 x rifles and therefore Gardai deem him competent so why can't he "instruct" the OP on the safe use of a rifle? The final decision on this is with the Super he applies to tbh.

"Qualified" is relative to lots of things. I am deemed "qualified" by the Irish Army to use and instruct on a number of weapons but this doesn't/mightn't count for anything in a lot of civilian establishments.

As already said submit letter with amendments JW outlined ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

I'd end the first sentence after "rabbits" and start a new one with "This is my main reason..."
    That's just grammar, though. I can't help you with whether the letter will serve its purpose as I don't know much anything about applying for rifle licences.
    Also use caps for Fota Wildlife Park and Cork.
    noodle650 wrote: »
    What do you guys make of this competence letter? its for a .22

Proof of competence and reasons for requiring Firearm
    Dear sir,

I find that for shooting rabbits it is quite hard to get close enough to them to take a humane shot and with the amount of rabbits on my permissions a shotgun isn’t very effective at clearing warrens for the farmers as one shot will spook all of the rabbits, this is my main reason for applying for the .22, as I can take safer shots from safe distances without “spooking” the others due to the lower noise level.
    I help supply Fota wildlife park in cork with rabbits for their big cats, they take them frozen and will now, not accept rabbits that have been shot with a shotgun due to the spent shot embedding inside them and the possibility of causing damage to the cats. They will only accept them if shot with a .22

My family likes to eat the rabbits I shoot and with a .22 the meat damage to the creature will not be as high as it would be with a shotgun.
    I am fully aware of the safety aspects of using a rifle, I have been instructed heavily by a close friend on this matter (he is licensed for a .22lr and .223rem), I have also attended the NARGC firearms safety course which I have a certificate for.
    I know to only take the shot when there is a 100% safe backdrop and to take humane shots.
    I have a 4 gun safe for the shotgun I currently have, the rifle will also be stored in there, My local garda has checked the safe out and was very happy with the level of security, I also have a separate ammunition safe in which all the ammunition will be stored in, and the bolt will also be stored separately to the ammunition and the gun safes to ensure safety.
    I am a member of the NARGC and I am a Member of Coppeen Gun Club,

Silencers have traditionally been used on rimfire rifles of .22 calibres when shooting rabbits. This allows the shooter to kill other animals who are not alarmed by the low report of the rifle.
    • Health and Safety: To prevent hearing damage to me and others nearby.
    To be aware of what and who is around me when hunting on my permissions and to be able to hear people who may be giving me instructions and warnings. Hearing protection is not an option under these conditions.
    • Public Safety and Peace: To reduce the noise pollution to the public if and when they are within hearing range of shots being fired. I have shooting permissions on lands where this can happen. On occasion the night shooting of vermin is needed and again the use of a sound suppressor will reduce the noise pollution to the public.
    • I have permissions to shoot on lands for the control of vermin where horses are kept and at time in foal and also other livestock. The sounds of shooting will stampede the horses and a sound suppressor is required on these occasions.

Photocopies of current Shotgun cert and all other relevant documents are enclosed.

Kind Regards,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭noodle650

Hill Man wrote: »
    You do not need to complete the part on competence if you read the application form, you need only complete this part if it is a first time application.

Your letter seems fine. You must establish that you have a good reason to require the firearm, you seem to have established this.

I have been instructed heavily by a close friend on this matter (he is licensed for a .22lr and .223rem),
    If I were you I would leave this part out. You have a safety coarse, that should be enough and your friend is not qualified.

The reason i Add this is that At the NARGC course we were all informed on the safety aspects of both shottys and rifles, so therefore its relevent to my application, Secondly, my mate who owns a 12g a .22 and a .223 is deemed competent in the knowlege of handling and using these firearms so therefore he is also relevent to the application as i have spent a great part of the last 3 years out shooting with him. he is also one of my character references.

BTW for the poster who asked for the price of bunnies, they are going for about E1.14 a pop, not too bad considreing we could get 40 or 50 in a few days.

Thanks for the replies all, every piece of advice has been noted and applied.

Noodle