Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Evil Dead, why so disturbing to some horror fans?

• 20-12-2009 2:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭

Let me explain, I am a bit of a horror buff,and the Evil Dead is amongst my absolute faves.

I have a friend from Romania who is just getting into this genre and she asked me for a few reccomendations on what was good to watch. She is 15 yrs younger than me and hasnt had the oppportinities to see some of the old "classics" as such.

So a few weeks back I gave her a lend of Carrie..she said it was too long and she got a bit bored.
    Then I gave her the Shining...she hated it.

So at this point I asked her directly just what type of hooror she actually liked as I was sure I could find something that would impress her (I have got hundreds of horrors)

She told me she really liked the Saw Series she also liked the Ring and The Grudge. Now The Ring is not particularly gorey but Saw and the grudge certainly are..I felt I had just the perfect film for her,so I gave her the Evil Dead thinking it would be a good opportunity for her to see an old Classic as such with the bit of the gore I thought she liked.

Saw her last night where she gave me back the DVD.

"Well then Sorana I enquire, Did you like that one"

I couldnt believe it when she told me it was "too freaky" and "was too bloody" and that she had to turn it off half way as it was "horrible".

Now I just dont understand it, Saw has gratutitous voilence and as for the Grudge..well?

I love the fact at least that she had a reaction to it but seriously what is so disturbing about this absolute classic?

Just curious as to what the other horror buffs think can you figure it out?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

She's clearly an idiot with shít taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

the ankle seen is horrible but no way it is it too gorey in general, maybe it wasw the tree scene that disturbed her?

i never liked the shining either just not to my taste at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Atwork

Hard to know, I was in video shop last night and was looking at a new release called the Antichrist. They had hand written warnings on every single copy because people had rang the shop requesting these warnings to be put on them after they had viewed it. I asked a bloke who worked there what the score was and he said it was hard viewing alright. I didn't get it as the other half would be giving out. Any of ye see it and is the video shop going over the top with warnings etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭the iceman come

indough wrote: »
    the ankle seen is horrible but no way it is it too gorey in general, maybe it wasw the tree scene that disturbed her?

i never liked the shining either just not to my taste at all

Ah the tree scene, you could be onto something there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Maybe she was disturbed by how crap it is?

krudler wrote: »
    Maybe she was disturbed by how crap it is?

Oh dear The Evil Dead is an undisputed classic,no accounting for taste,what would you consider a great horror?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

yeah tree rape isnt usually popular with the ladies...

Oh dear The Evil Dead is an undisputed classic,no accounting for taste,what would you consider a great horror?

The usuals i guess, Exorcist, The Shining, Suspiria, Dont Look Now, of the modern ones, The Descent, REC, i just dont get the fanboy love for Raimi and Bruce Campbell, although Drag Me To Hell was great fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

First time I saw Evil Dead I was 17 and not at all use to horrors still don't bother too much with certain ones.

I think it's hilarious!!! Love it.
    Fair enough the tree rape scene might have messed her up a bit. I'm sure men wouldn't want to imagine a branch being shoved up there gentlemans area!
    But with some films if you revisit them after a few years you realise actually it wasn't that scary/bad after all.

I even have the game(the first evil dead game) great craic :D

krudler wrote: »
    The usuals i guess, Exorcist, The Shining, Suspiria, Dont Look Now, of the modern ones, The Descent, REC, i just dont get the fanboy love for Raimi and Bruce Campbell, although Drag Me To Hell was great fun

Cant disagree with anything you have posted there to be fair,infact the Excorcist is to this day the only film to have ever actually scared me and still does:eek: Suspiria and just about anything by Argento I respect. TBH I think the evil dead is not to be taken all that seriously and as another poster has pointed out it is a hilarious film in some ways, I take your point on the Campbell/Raimi thing but thats not the only reason I love it,when I rate a film it is about many things and when you consider how cheaply this movie was made It really is some achievement. BTW I just love Evil Dead 2 just as much,but I really despise Army of darkness thats just so bad. Drag me to hell was great fun as you say also.
    BTW Have you seen Zombieland yet? Its fooking class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Hmm, sounds like shes into the more stylish modern "horrors" than the actual creepy ones.

Heh, I think I'm the only one outta my friends who likes the 1st one. The last time I showed a group of them they thought it was utter shìt, so they slap on Aliens Versus Predator: Requiem and thought THAT was a damn fine movie!

I can imagine she isn't used the convential horror film, more shock-value ones. She'll probably like Drag Me To Hell, I didn't like it but most seemed to have loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

i actually sorta liked elements of avp2 but i can see why most peopke hate it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

madrab wrote: »
    yeah tree rape isnt usually popular with the ladies...

There's a joke there about wood I'm sure... just can't put my finger on it.

Introduce your friend to the 2008 horror, 'Mirrors'.

indough wrote: »
    i actually sorta liked elements of avp2 but i can see why most peopke hate it

Its better than the first one but its still ****ing awful, and its so dark you can t barely make out what happening for most of it