Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Snapper

• 18-12-2009 10:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭

Went to see this last night in the IFI. Today FM were doing a screening to promote the DVD release.

15 years on and this film still holds up, just choc full of laughs all the way through. Colm Meaney is just truly amazing in it.

Easily one of Ireland's greatest (and funniest movies) ever made......even if it was made by the BBC. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I have a secret....I hate this ****ing movie, i mean really hate it, Meaney is the only actor who gives a decent performance, the scenes were Sharon and her gaggle of skanger mates are in the pub are almost unwatchable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

It's ok to hate. It's a very negative emotion but it's ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

BaZmO* wrote: »
    DVD release.
    Finally. I loved this film when I lived abroad, wasn't so fond of it before then. I used it to explain what I meant when I referred to "Georgie Burgess."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

great movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,196 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I haven't seen it in years so might pick it up over Christmas.. my girlfriend has never seen it so that's probably reason enough!

But I remember it getting huge acclaim at the time - but I always have more of a soft spot for 'The Committments' (for everything - the dialogue, the humour and the music) and 'The Van' (as it's a bit more light and sillier than the others in the Barrytown Trilogy, but it's equally as funny) than I ever did for 'The Snapper'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

I think I'll be picking this up as well. I agree with Basquille, I think it's the weakest of the Barrytown Trilogy but still well worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Malice_ wrote: »
    I think I'll be picking this up as well. I agree with Basquille, I think it's the weakest of the Barrytown Trilogy but still well worth a watch.
    Ah no, I think it's definitely the best. It was non stop laughs last night, actually forgot how good it was.

What I like about it in particular was that it's a real Irish movie, with real Irish (in particular Dub) humour. I grew up in a council estate so I can really relate to it. I think the Commitments had a real universal element to it, i.e. struggling band trying to make it big. And the Van was a bit too twee for my liking.

Interesting enough, they had a Q&A with Roddy Doyle and Tina Kellegher, and Roddy was saying that neither movie made a profit. To quote the man himself, "There was more creativity involved in the accounting of the Commitments then there was with the writing of the script" He went on to say that he normally doesn't make a whole pile from his movies, he just gets a flat fee for the screen rights and then that's it. Was surprised at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

A1 Shar'don, A1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭granturismo

Ar ye all righ dere, Shadden.

I just bought the DVD this morning in Golden Disks for €14 and saw 'The Van' and 'Into the West' for €6 each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

BaZmO* wrote: »
    He went on to say that he normally doesn't make a whole pile from his movies, he just gets a flat fee for the screen rights and then that's it. Was surprised at that.
    Good old Hollywood Accounting again!