Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheapest way to get BBC/ITV/Channel4?

• 17-12-2009 12:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭

What is the cheapest option for receiving these channels, and whats the chances of getting set up before Christmas?
    All the companies online seem to be charging 200-250euros upwards for equipment and installation, surely its possible to get it cheaper than that? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

200 is pretty good for both equipment and installation in a basic setup, ie: normal sat reciever and one lenght of cable from dish to box.
    Don't think you will have it before Christmas I'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Cupart

It's not half difficult to set it up yourself. You just need a little patience and you'll be more than fine.

There is a pretty big chance that one of your neighbours have a dish up (a black mesh oval type) which will most likely be pointing towards 28.2E where you will be getting the Free To Air (FTA) channels such as BBC1, 2, HD, Ch4 etc.

The direction of the dish is compass heading 28.2dge East of South so the actual compass heading should be 157.8 dgrs relative to true North -> Compass needle heading).

If you are located in the Dublin area the elevation (the up/down movement of the dish) should be around 42-43 dgr. and the LNB skewed around -16 dgr. Sounds much more complex than it really is! Trust me!

I think you should give it a go, and if any problems ever should arise while setting it up there are loads of people here who can help you out :-)

This way you can buy a sat system as a Technomate receiver (in my opinion a very versatile piece of kit and quite future proof) for around EUR 60-80, A 60 cm mesh dish for around EUR 20 and cable at around EUR 1 pr meter as well as a LNB for around EUR 15-20.

Just my two pennies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Cherrycola

I was thinking about this;

http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/Freesat_DIY_satellite_systems.html

They even have a video on how to install, looks idiot proof, but...:p

Any thoughts?

Or, my parents have a spare sky box, and i think my BIL has a sky dish, it just needs an LNB, how easy is it to install a sky dish and box yourself?

Or does anyone here know anyone who can do it for the cheapest possible rate(well, it is nearly christmas, and we're in a recession ;) )
    Im in Biffo country...yeah, that in itself is bad enough! :rolleyes:
    If i have to sit through christmas with rabbit ears and 4 fuzzy channels i'll cry. :(

Please, make a poor girls christmas wish come true this year....;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,340 ✭✭✭✭Tony

The sky dish can be installed in exactly the same way as in the video you saw. There is a signal and quality readout on the sky box just wait 5 secs or so when adjusting the dish until it says "locked" and you have signal and quality readings.

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

Cheers mate. ;)

Now, what should i expect to pay for an LNB? and will they all fit a Sky dish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Jimmyireland

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=171836&cat=all

This might help

Tony wrote: »
    The sky dish can be installed in exactly the same way as in the video you saw. There is a signal and quality readout on the sky box just wait 5 secs or so when adjusting the dish until it says "locked" and you have signal and quality readings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭coffee to go

Cherrycola wrote: »
    Cheers mate. ;)

Now, what should i expect to pay for an LNB? and will they all fit a Sky dish?

If you head over to http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/Lnb_Sky_Digital_.html you'll pick one up for €15 minus the discount given when you quotes Boards.ie during the order process.

This is assuming your BIL has a minidish supplied by Sky with a rectangular arm protruding from the front that the LNB slots into. Also you'll need to see if he has the appropriate mounting bracket and arm bits for it. If not, you might want to pick a new dish altogther.

You'll also need a good length of decent grade shielded cable to connect the dish to the box like this: http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/RG6_Digital_coaxial_cable_CT_100_.html. No brown aerial cable please.

If you head over to http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/Lnb_Sky_Digital_.html you'll pick one up for €15 minus the discount given when you quotes Boards.ie during the order process.

This is assuming your BIL has a minidish supplied by Sky with a rectangular arm protruding from the front that the LNB slots into. Also you'll need to see if he has the appropriate mounting bracket and arm bits for it. If not, you might want to pick a new dish altogther.

You'll also need a good length of decent grade shielded cable to connect the dish to the box like this: http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/RG6_Digital_coaxial_cable_CT_100_.html. No brown aerial cable please.

Thanks a mill for all that, yes he says the dish has everything apart from the LNB, so i will order that and the cable. Fingers crossed we will be up and running soon, for the pricely sum of E27 and a few pints for my very helpful BIL's who will attempt to install it. :D Lucky husband isnt home til Christmas Eve when all the hard work is done. :rolleyes:

Thanks a lot guys. :)

Because its almost x mas and you mentioned you were on a tight budget I am going to send you a quad lnb in case you want to add extra boxes later. Hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭wait4me

Cherrycola wrote: »
    ........ for the pricely sum of E27 and a few pints

Best leave the pints until he's down off the ladder tho' ;)

Ah, thanks a million, thats really nice of you! :)

Just ordered, added a signal finder too, just to make it easier for the lads. :D

Honestly, i should be used to crap telly after living in the UAE for 3 years but i was sooooooo looking forward to all the BBC repeats and ITV reality shows this Christmas,:D:D
    Thank you sooooooooooooo much Tony. ;)

My pleasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Whatsyourface

Ever hear of 4OD??
    Its on channel 4's website.
    You can watch programs you've missed there online for free..

wait4me wrote: »
    Best leave the pints until he's down off the ladder tho' ;)

For sure!! tea and ham sandwiches til then! ;):D

Ever hear of 4OD??
    Its on channel 4's website.
    You can watch programs you've missed there online for free..

yeah but i also have crappy mobile internet at the moment too, so it would be unwatchable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Apogee

Tony wrote: »
    Because its almost x mas and you mentioned you were on a tight budget I am going to send you a quad lnb in case you want to add extra boxes later. Hope this helps

Jaysus, these satellite installers must be rolling in so much money, they don't know where to put it! Sure I've heard they barely get a decent night's sleep what with all the bumps in the mattress from the wads of €50s and €100s stashed underneath. :D

I guess no good deed goes unpunished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Apogee

Not here anyway, that's for sure!

Fair play, Tony, it's great to see the xmas spirit in action even in a recession.

But I'm getting my bid in early for a Chaparral Corotor dual band setup for next year.

Apogee wrote: »
    Not here anyway, that's for sure!

Fair play, Tony, it's great to see the xmas spirit in action even in a recession.

But I'm getting my bid in early for a Chaparral Corotor dual band setup for next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭smodgley

Fair play to ya tony . nice one well done you !!!!!!:D

smodgley wrote: »
    Fair play to ya tony . nice one well done you !!!!!!:D

Hey guys

Just wanted to check back in and say a HUGE thank you for all ye're help, and especially to Tony. :)
    The stuff arrived the very next morning after i ordered them(with the quad LNB ;) ), and after a few days trying to get a fire under the BIL's @ss, i am now sat in my living room watching my free to air channels!!!:D:D

Thanks a million for everything, i will think of you often over the Christmas as i merrily channel hop to my hearts content.

Thumbs up for Tony at Satellite.ie, cant fault yeez at all. Fair play, and Merry Christmas, Everyone! :D:D

Thanks for the kind words, glad its worked out for you.