Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J1 2010 Boston

• 17-12-2009 12:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Hey... Just wondering anyone goin 2 boston nxt summer on de J1 ??.... Thinkin of goin stayin at MIT but goin 4 de 1st time... Is it a hard spot 4 jobs?? Gud craic?? Wat frat 2 stay ??? Drinkin scene(only 20)?? nd thinkin bout hiring or buyin a car 4 a few weeks??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

ciand480 wrote: »
    Drinkin scene(only 20)

you wont get served anywhere without id some places insist on passport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Aigee18

Hey, me and 2 other friends are going to Boston for the summer 2010. we're staying in MIT aswel in one of the frat houses because we think it's probably our best option tbh! It should be some amount of craic if theres a lot of ppl there.
    We arnt 21 yet either, like we're only 19 and we havnt got a clue what we're doing for id's yet. We've been told Boston is one of the hardest places to get away with fake id's cause if ya dont have a passport they ask for an instate driver's licence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 c19

Alrite lads!

Yeah I'm the same, goin to Boston on J1 and stayin in a frat house in MIT. Should be unreal:D! am 21 though so don't need fake ID but any craic with jobs anyone?? Im thinkin o just hoping for the best when I get out there at this stage but still half lookin!

yeah me and my friends have been looking for jobs for the last 2 months nearly and got nowhere so id say we'll be searching for them when we get there!!
    what MIT frat house are ya staying in??

Theta delta chi! looks unreal, can't wait! yourselves??

haha no way, thats were we're staying too!! is there many of yas going over??

Ha deadly! nah jus meself stayin there. Yee all paid up??

oh wow really? thats mad goin on your own ha! emm not yet we're jus getting the contracts in the next few days! wbu?

Ha yea, usual story...friends pulled out, blah blah...not too bothered bout it, yea paid there yesterday! U stayin in a quad or dye kno yet?? Still waitin on contracts? i got in coz o cancellation nd that was last sunday..should ye not have contracts by now?

aw no way, thats crap! emm no my friend emailed them the other day nd we're going for a triple room and apparently there was a cancellation for a triple room so they took us. the guy said he was sending our contracts out as soon as he had them done up but we only finalised that we were taking the room yesterday!
    when are ya heading over?

Ah savage! Eduardo? headin over 7th o June, u? He say wot itll cost for ye's?

haha emm yeah i tink thats who the guy is, ha! emm i tink its €725 initially nd then €725 when we leave plus the deposit! wbu?
    thats soo weird we're heading over on the 7th aswel haha

ha! mental, via hethrow?

haha, emm no im nearly sure we're flying direct with aer lingus! we dont get to Boston til 4pm tho!

Yeah im worse again! dont land there till 21:45, Im in a quint so bit cheaper (600$ for 1st half o rent) plus deposit 200$! hope we get it back!

oh god, hope ya know ur way around boston cause otherwise you'll be taxing it to TDC ha!! aw yeah i suppose the bigger the room the cheaper it would be i suppose! are u gonna be in a room with ppl ya dont no??

yeah half thinkin o jus takin a night in airport hotel...ramada or sumtin then head over tdc the followin day, neways its very close so should be grand!! got talkin to couple o them in the same room as me already on http://www.j1forum.com/discussions/ but no dont know them. Sure ye not ever stay in a hostel?! ur pretty much guaranteed to be in a room with a good few ye dont know! Im not exactly worried tbh, good way o meetin ppl...where yee from? college?

oh right yeah probly not a bad idea tbh! oh thats cool, where are the rest of the ppl in your room from??
    emm we're all from Dublin and all go to college in NUIMaynooth. what about you??

ha jesus! im 4th yr in maynooth nd from near summerhill (meath)! eh three lads from dublin in 3rd yr in DIT and havent got talkin to th other guy yet but mite give em a shout soon..

omg no way!! this is too weird! what are ya studying in college?
    theres gonna be loads of irish there haha..savage craic :D!

yea bit mad alri!! doin science...cant wait ta finish! u? wot yr ye's in?

eww science, haha i dont like that subject very much ha! all 3 of us are doin law, nd me nd one of my friends are doin Business with is nd the other is doin arts with it! i cant wait to finish either...im sooo stressed with the final assignments nd studying for exams :(!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 tuttles

anyone have any good ideas where 2 go interrailing in europe on d cheap this summer, were looking 4 good activity to do.....

yea dont like it much meself, kinda a problem! ah very good, must be tough, ah sure a few more weeks in its the hols, no worries!!

haha yeah 4 years ya've been studying the subject :P!!
    yeah it is kinda tough..dont tink im cut out for this college malark..haha all the studying nd work is depressing!! i jus finished my last assignment of 1st year there...thank god ha! yeah jus over a month nd im finished my exmas and all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Bluefox21

check out a company called gentle giant when you're over there furniture moving company incredibly tough work but it gets you fit and the pay/tips are unreal! made enough in June and July to travel for all of August pay back my loan and have spare change :D

ah sure all ye have to do is pass n iz all good! yeah im finishin may 25th nd countin! u? wish i booked flights for june 1st now...tried to change them n all but cost too much to do. Ur 1st yrs?! fair play for gettin ur act together for de j1! tbh from what ive heard its all about th house partys over there, shouldnt be much of a problem if ye dont have fake ids sorted

yea i was lookin at them, tink theyve hired already?? yea im lookin to do the exact same, travel the last few weeks im there, ive got 2 grand loan to pay back in jan!! skint!

haha yeah im the 24th, so 24 days to go :D!! yeah all i wanna do for 1st year is pass, dont really care about high grades at this point! yeah i no, we're well organised :P. but the taughts of staying around in Ireland for the whole summer was depressing me so i had to get out, ha!
    yeah im hoping that the house parties are more common than going out cause i wudnt be able to deal with not having a social life for 3 months, haha! i dont even no where id get a decent fake id like!!

Ah ur dead right to try get away for a bit!:D I dont think ids wud be too hard to get, jus keep an eye out nd ask around!

Hey Bluefox,
    Did u have work sorted with them beforehand? or did ye jus drop in when ye got there? Where bouts did u stay, head out n all that most th time? any advice for someone goin this summer??

you shoudl all come see me at work and do a jump one of the weekends :D

www.skydivenewengland.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

I'll take u up on that offer peakoutput!! Wats the price of a dive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Mactiho

Heading over on the 4th June, direct flights! Thankfully! Staying in TDC, gonna be messy!

ahh cant wait to go..TDC is gonna be unreal :P!! not long now :D

Yeah! Only 4 exams and a few days in work left! World Cup will be on too, gonna be a few sessions for that! What room are you staying in Aigee? Was it expensive?

ugh so lucky, i havnt even started my exams nd even when they're finished il still have 2 weeks until we're going...i jus wanna be there now!!
    we're staying in 301 (“3rdL”), well thats what it says on my contract thing anyway! its €1094/$1450 for the whole summer, so its not too bad, nd theres 3 of us in the room!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭thisguy

I was out in boston last year, its great craic out there tonnes of irish around everyone up for a laugh. I worked in a restaurant in the city centre called Elephant and Castle, the managers irish and they hire irish every year(although we all took the piss a bit last year so hope i didnt ruin ye'r chances:p), anyway they have a website that will give you the exact address, pop in there if you're looking for a job you might get lucky. She hired about 7 of us last summer, and they dont mind if you have no previous experience doing it.

Ah good stuff! Ours was only $1200, we're staying in the quint in the basement which is beside the pub think! Perfect! :D 3 of us going over! What date you staying until?

Cheers for that info thisguy! Did you end up getting many hours?

aww thats cool within stumbling distance :P! i tink our room is the 3rd floor so not too bad ha!! yeah theres 3 of us going over too :)! we've booked a flight back for the 10th of August cause if we've repeats they start on the 11th nd we were too late to get the exam insurance but if we dont have repeats(and still have money) we're gonna change the date to a bit longer nd do some travelling i think! what bout urself??

That's the plan! Fall into the room! :D We don't fly back until the 25th and because we're kicked outta there on the 20th, some travelling will have to be done!

haha good stuff!! cant wait to go, its gonna b awesome!!
    yeah id love to be able to stay until the end of august/start of september like travel at the end for a bit, i jus hope to god i pass all my exams!!
    have ya got anything ya wanna do planned already or ya just seeing what happens??

You must be fairly worried of not passing if your leaving that early! I wouldn't going atlantic city for a weekend or something! Also Man United are playing a preseason friendly or 2 in a new york, there is an excuse to visit there!

its not really that we're worried, its more so jus to cover ourselves, like it doesnt cost that much to change the date of the flight date either! oh thats kinda cool! we're probs gonna be headin up to new york a few times aswel cause we've got other friends goin there so we'll visit them but nothing else really planned at all yet!

Ah right, i thought it might have been expensive to change them. Sure NY is only a few hours away and then Cape Cod for a weekend or too. Loads to be doing!

Do you know how much the deposit is? Still haven't got around to paying it yet!

yeah cape cod aswel is gonna be good, or martha's vineyard or one of them!!
    emm i tink its $200 but i dont no for sure, we havent paid it either, ed hasnt gotten back to us yet, like we sent the contracts but he hasnt replied to say he has them! hope everything is alright!

That Eduardo you were talking to? He can be a bit all over the place at times! I'll probably worry about the deposit when i get there, i have paid half the rent anyway!

I'm sure you will be fine, bit late to be passing the rooms on now anyway!

yeah he just emailed us back there saying the contracts are wrong but i dunno how we make them right tho! yeah its eduardo im tlkn bout, he keeps emailing me and one of my friends back but not to my other friend, haha! yeah ill worry bout it all when i get there ha!!

And he didn't tell you how they were wron? Idiot! Well I looked after myself and the 2 lads I'm heading with. He only emailed me and not them too, so i wouldn't worry about that either! Only 3 weeks and a bit to go!:D

yeah he is a bit of a retard tbh! yeah i keep tellin my friend not to worry so it should be fine! yeah its not that far at all, i jus gotta get these exams out of the way and im set!! ugh i jus wanna be there now tho :(!!

thecatspjs wrote: »
    I'll take u up on that offer peakoutput!! Wats the price of a dive?

i think its 189 without video but im not sure in two years working there i never paid much attention to the price suprisingly enough :o

if you just want to come out and do a jumpthen book for anytime if your up for a jump and camping and serious partying let me know and ill tell you the good dates to come out