Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How old were you when you had your 1st proper boyfriend

• 16-12-2009 6:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Ms_Taurus

Just out of curiosity how old were you when you had your 1st proper boyfriend

I was 23 when I had my first boyfriend, in my late 30s now, I did not have any boyfriends when I was a teenager parents were strict

23 I think is way too old to start dating, the guys I went out with were well experienced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I was fourteen. :rolleyes:

I was a year younger than everyone in my class at school though so all my friends were dating and I sort of just fell into it.

He was a great guy. I'm not too sure about love, don't really understand it but I was all kinds of crazy about him. We went out for over two years and I was absolutely gutted when we broke up, thought I'd never like anyone ever again!

He was my first boyfriend, my first kiss, the guy I lost my virginity to, the first boy to make me cry... It was wonderful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

19, second year in college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I was fifteen, he was sixteen. We were inseparable for about five months, then I went to the Gaelteacht and was very freaked out by both him and his mother writing me long soppy letters every day about how much they missed me ... so I broke up with him the evening I got back! He cried. Lots. I assume she did too. Umm ... that was it really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 kerah86

I was 19...moved in together after a week and were together 3 years...broke up last febuary and still the best of friends...think we both just got bored of each other after about 2 and a half years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Lemondrop kid

I was fifteen, he was sixteen. We were inseparable for about five months, then I went to the Gaelteacht and was very freaked out by both him and his mother writing me long soppy letters every day about how much they missed me ... so I broke up with him the evening I got back! He cried. Lots. I assume she did too. Umm ... that was it really!

OMG!!!
    That was me!!!
    I'm so so sorry.
    What a fool I was.

Nah, I'm messing with ye:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I was 17.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

I was 15, he was 20. First kiss, lost my virginity etc all that. I subsuquently became pregnant and 11 years later still have to put up with him (not together since I was pregnant). Aint love grand :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

16. I had a few brief dates before that, but this was the first one that went beyond a week and a half. We went out for about a year before I left for university.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭phic

16, we went out for a few months, I was totally in love with him, then he broke up with me. We stayed friends, and he's just recently come out! It's very weird talking about hot boys with your ex!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I've never had a boyfriend. :(

I blame my dress sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

21, a few dates here and there before that but nothing serious, am fairly quiet, cant stand night clubs and that so dont go out much

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Hmm, that's a tricky one. I was technically going out with someone for a couple of months when I was 14/15, and although it was only a brief thing, we did keep hooking up over the next few years. I ended up losing my virginity to him.

I guess my first definite proper boyfriend was when I was 16. It only lasted about 3 months before I got sick of him. Then I was mostly single until 18 months ago, when I met my current OH. He's my first serious boyfriend.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

16, started going out a month before i turned 17, and i was a late starter compared to my friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Koushki

I was seventeen, he was 22. it was magical while it lasted :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

14. I used to hang out with a group who played basketball on Saturdays, One of them decided that he was going to snog me that day, went off home to put on a rake of after shave. Came back and started making eyes at me, I ran off to a forest nearby with him after me! I wasn't at all ready for a boyfriend and meanwhile he probably thought I was playing hard to get! Got used to him after a few weeks though (I'd stopped running at that stage :D)

I'm not a particularly romantic sort, I blame my first boyfriend for hunting me down like an animal :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭yogalady

i was 27 he 24. Still together 4yrs later. Waited along time but was worth the wait. he is wonderful. Your never too old to have your first boyfriend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Still together almost 5 years later.

22ish. I just wasn't interested in relationships before then.
    He is a dote. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

19, in college. Lasted about six months, was gutted when he dumped me, he was gorgeous! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭beauty101

We were both 18 + totally in love
    We broke up a few months ago :( i still love him + hopefully he feels the same about me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I was 15 and we ended up going out for 7 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

18 and still no boyfriend....:(

Funny thing is I'm perfectly happy right now with no boyfriend but it's still kind of in the back of my head. I know it's stupid but as in I wish I had a boyfriend when I was 15/16 and if it didn't last fair enough but at least it would've been an experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I'm not sure what is meant by "proper" exactly :confused: But I heard a couple of teenage girls talking about this the other day and I thought it was funny. :D

I've had some improper boyfriends (!), but the first guy I would consider serious, where I actually cared if the relationship lasted, I was 24.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

First official boyfriend was when I was 17, going into 2nd year in uni. Lost my virginity to him. He cheated on me. B@stard.
    When I was 19 I met my first serious boyfriend. We were 20 when we started going out and 26 when we broke up. He cheated on me. Mega B@stard.

I wait in hope for the next one. I just really really hope he doesn't end up being an Ultra B@stard! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Had a slightly secret boyfriend when I was 14(due to large age gap) :eek:

First proper public boyfriend was when I was 15(different dude and nearer my age well..3 years older than me...younger than the first dude at least!!)

He unfortunately had serious OCD issues and I ended up being more of a therapist than a girlfriend -.-
    Plus he has psychotic jealousy issues which ultimately lead to me dumping his arse.
    He didn't take the break up very well and still claims to love me. Professes this love everytime he sees me.
    Even though he has now turned...gay :eek:

I do know how to pick them! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Malari wrote: »
    I'm not sure what is menat by "proper" exactly :confused:

Agreed not quite sure what you mean by proper?

Had my very first BF in first yr and he was in 6th class, his mum was an assistant teacher in my primary school! Awww it was love, lol I think we kissed once...so innocent!

Had my first longish term BF for 9 months at 16, he took my innocence! But the next BF the one I broke up with the other guy for I was with 2 & half yrs.

Ahh young love! :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

17 and 3/4.

Was in my 6th year in school and I was mad about him. I lost my virginity to him and I wouldn't change a thing about that night. Of course it all went pear-shaped in a high drama huge energy hysterical fcuk you no fcuk you the most way.

Over a decade on and we're still good buddies. Of course every now and then the drama starts up with him slurring "you broke my heart" at me, cue my losing the temper, slamming down the phone or slamming out of the pub or slamming something anyway.

We fight like two kids. He can wind me up like noone else can. We have these big ranty arguments and then we start laughing. We revert back to our teenager selves with logic and sense flying out the window. It's very juvenile but I love it, and him. He's a great guy.

My god, spot the hungover rambly person. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭sparkling sea

I was 14, loved him to bits for about 6 months but then got fed up. Then had few couple of week boyfriends.

Met my next longterm boyfriend when I was 16, got married when I was 18, have been married for over 20 years and I still think he is the most gorgeous thing I have ever set eyes on.

The thing is everyone is different my friends thought I was mad as I didn't have to get married, but well we wanted to have children and if it was going to be possible we needed to have them sooner rather then later.

Funny thing is I had two children at 19 and was absolutely delighted,had bought a nice house, we had our own business everything hunky dory. We ended up getting pregnant again when I was 26 (it was a miracle) and we were both devastated, felt we'd been there, done that. Had a 7 and 8 year old and we didn't want to go back the way, I life was just as we wanted it to be. There were some risks involved but we decided to go ahead with the pregnanacy and everything was fine (but I would still be very much pro choice). Maybe we are just lucky but we have also worked hard to make sure we appreciate one another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭HereticPrincess

I went out with a friend of mine for 5 months when I was 16, we broke up cos we were pretty young & hadn't gone out that long.

Bring on the end of that year, (one month shy of 17) myself & a good friend fell for each other..& we live together now, my 21st is next summer & I still love him more than ever:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

My first serious boyfriend was when i was 15, he was 16, we were joined at the hip for almost 2 years then it ended kinda nasty. We had a good run though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

Um, I was 19 and we were/are good mates, still with him narly two years later and can't imagine not being :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Futurecrook

I was 16. We were friends for a while beforehand and still really good friends now. We lasted about 5 months. it was all very innocent and lovely. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Kissed boys before this but they were all sloppy and decided I didnt ever want a washing machine kisser until I met my first proper one at 15 he was 17, was with him for 2 years until I found out he was shaggin my best friend :mad:

He really put me off men!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

I was 20, and I'm nearly 22 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I was 17, and we ended up together for 5 years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

I was just shy of 16 when I started seeing him, had turned 16 by the time we made it official. Stayed together 2 and a half years, it was lovely while it lasted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

right after i turned 17,lasted almost a good three years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

17 and never had one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I had a bf for almost a yr when I was 13/14 but it certainly wasn't serious!!

My first proper one was when i was 16,for a year and a half,lost my virginity to him. Ended badly but on good terms now!

Had other brief affairs,nothing more than a few months (and wasn't that serious about any of em!) until I met my OH 2 and a half years ago...defo serious about him!!!:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

I was 17 at the time, he was 20, we'll be together a year on Stephen's day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SupaDupaFly

I was 19, so was he, fell madly in love..too much too soon...discovered he was a drug dealer and had a nasty temper. We both decided to end it after 7 months. Most intense 7 months of my life, your first love is mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I was having a great time in 6th year and 1st year of college playing the field and scoring all the players. Hahah! I liked the chase and then would drop lads like a hot cake. :rolleyes: I had no interest in the drama and the intense rubbish that comes with the teenage dating scene. Hearing my friends sob stories and soap opera relationships was enough.

In the summer before 2nd year of college I eventually gave in. We were buds, I was mad about him. Took 3 months to pluck up the courage to kiss him... First love and still together 5 years later. Best friends and living in sin. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Polar Girl

I was 17 and it lasted 8 months. Not pleasant memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

14, lasted a year and a half

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 cakes

15, it lasted 3.5 years and then he threatened to hospitalise the next one :eek:

Haven't talked to him since and that was 7 years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭wonderingabout

Had some 2/3 month things when i was around 15 or 16 but met my current boyfriend 3 weeks before my 17th birthday, one week before his 18th and we're still together 2 & 1/2 years later & i just couldn't be without him :D!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Stella777

17/18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

I was 15, he was 18. My first everything, kiss, love, heartbreak etc..

Weren't togther that long maybe 10months, I was so in love with him and sure he was the one. It was amazing! He broke my heart, well and truly. Took me a while to get over him.

Had a few rendez-vous's over the years but havn't spoken to him in nearly 2years.

Was 6years ago at this stage, I'm 21 now.

I wouldn't change a single thing. Learnt a few valuable lessons from it and when it was good it was perfect! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭fullback4glin

16 :mad:

I was 18
    We're really good mates now. I love him to bits