Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swoop on top gangsters foils assassination plan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Always the chance they'd make a balls of it and kill some innocent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Potentially saving some innocent bystanders life?

Yeah **** that, they should be out on roads resembling a runway with a speed limit of 50km giving people "speeding" tickets.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

InReality wrote: »

Garda Síochana: Guardian of the peace, does exactly what it says on the tin in this case.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The 'let them all killl each other' idea hasn't worked too well in Compton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Gangsters driving Volvo's:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Five suspected gangland figures were in garda custody last night after armed officers foiled what they believe to have been an assassination plan.

Detectives seized a loaded Glock handgun and 14 rounds of ammunition when they intercepted a car and raided a house.

They are satisfied that a gang of well-known crime suspects were on their way to carry out a 'hit' on a target from a rival group.

The garda strike followed a surveillance operation by the Organised Crime Unit and was spearheaded by the Emergency Response Unit.

Officers have been carrying out a series of similar operations, targeting key crime figures, in a bid to prevent gangland shootings in Dublin and other major cities.

This was the second vital interception by gardai in less than a week. Last Friday, uniformed gardai prevented another serious crime when they stopped two suspects and seized a loaded handgun and ammunition in west Dublin.

The latest swoops were carried out in Celbridge and Lucan on Monday evening after the five suspects were believed to have met in a hotel in west Dublin earlier in the afternoon.

Detained

Three of the suspects were detained when gardai followed a Golf car into a housing estate in Celbridge in north Kildare at around 5pm.

Gardai were not certain of the identity of the likely target and waited until they saw some of the occupants of the Golf walk towards a house in a cul de sac nearby.

In a search of wasteground beside the house, officers found the Glock and discovered it was loaded with 14 rounds.

One of the men was wearing a bullet-proof vest. The man, who is from north Dublin, had been the subject of an assassination attempt earlier this year after a row with criminals from Coolock and Ballymun.

Although he survived by barricading himself in a house, he was shot twice.

Another suspect arrested in the Celbridge estate was a close associate of gangland figure, John 'BJ' Clarke, who was murdered as he and two friends were driving into an underground car park at an apartment block in Artane, last May. He was hit by at least six bullets from a semi-automatic pistol.

Gardai seized two more suspects when they stopped a Volvo car in Lucan in west Dublin.

Officers are still searching for two other cars which they believe were being used by the gang.

Last night, a senior officer extended the detention period of the five men, who range in age from 18 to 46 years. Two of the five are being held at Newbridge garda station, two in Lucan and one in Leixlip.

They are being questioned under section 30 of the Offences Against the State Act, which allows the gardai to hold them without charge for a maximum of three days.

Gardai say one of those detained is closely involved with a major gang boss from west Dublin while another is suspected of having links to a well-known criminal in the north inner city and a wealthy figure operating in south west Dublin and Kildare.

Last Friday, uniformed gardai detained a 26-year-old suspected gangland figure following a chase at Mellowes Road in Finglas. Also held was a 14-year-old youth in a school uniform.

Gardai seized a loaded Webley revolver and six rounds of ammunition. The two suspects were later released without charge.

A file is now being prepared for the Director of Public Prosecutions.

Senior officers said last night that the targeting and surveillance of key crime figures would continue in the run-up to Christmas in a bid to prevent a fresh outbreak of gang-related shootings.

Cops doing their job. Where's the problem? They're damned if they do and damned if they don't.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Useless bastards, preventing crimes. Where the f*ck do they get off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Well done to An Garda Siochana, OP what kind of a statement was that to make?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'm not condemning the Gardai for doing their job well at all. But how much more money and resources are going to be wasted defending these eejits in the future?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

WindSock wrote: »
    I'm not condemning the Gardai for doing their job well at all. But how much more money and resources are going to be wasted defending these eejits in the future?

They aren't defending the guy, they are defending the state. Hence the people arrested are being detained under the offences against the state act. Also is it not better that 5 of these guys are now potentially off the streets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Relevant wrote: »
    They aren't defending the guy, they are defending the state. Hence the people arrested are being detained under the offences against the state act. Also is it not better that 5 of these guys are now potentially off the streets?

True, but they could have arrived a little bit later ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

Fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

What ever happened to innocent until proven guilty? Everyone is and should be entitled to a fair trial and if found guilty be punished under the laws made by the people.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

How...how DARE they?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

How dare they. I am quite fond of my drug dealer and if anything were to happen to him id be a little upset. beit going to jail or injured beyond repair due to the shareholders not reacting quickly enough to a hostile takeover. Id have to find another reliable dealer which i wouldnt be happy with. Its so hard starting another longing relationship with a new person. I had a dealer cheat on me once and suffer from trust issues.

How dare they indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

They quite likely stopped a group of drug dealing scum from performing a murder, even though on their own kind and the guards now have sufficient evidence to jail at least one of them.

I'd call that a result, OP what did you do at work today that benefited the state and places you on such a high horse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The gardai need to cop on.

Are they trying to completely mess up the Christmas drug supply or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Steyr wrote: »
    Well done to An Garda Siochana, OP what kind of a statement was that to make?:rolleyes:

I imagine there was more then a hint of sarcasm with the OP's comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Last Friday, uniformed gardai detained a 26-year-old suspected gangland figure following a chase at Mellowes Road in Finglas. Also held was a 14-year-old youth in a school uniform.

Haha, what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

The 'let them all killl each other' idea hasn't worked too well in Compton

Give it time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

In 2006 a few guys were leaving a pub just near my house.

They all got into a Jeep parked just outside my front door and window.

These row of houses I live in are the old two story cottage type with no front garden, so the parked Jeep's driver's door was three feet from my front window.

My sofa is three four feet from the window and about ten seconds after I heard the Jeep's car doors shut, an almighty clatter of gunfire rang out.

I opened the door, on autopilot more than anything, to see three guys walking away as two other's limped from the Jeep leaving their friend (the driver) dead.

I am not from around here and so I was the only witness (and still am - three years later - case still open) despite at least a dozen people seeing the whole thing.

The road was closed for a week for forensics. The road on the other side of the Jeep was strewn with bullets.

If that Jeep had of been facing the other way, no question some of those bullets would have hit my window.

So, I have no problem with the Guards trying to prevent assassinations, even if for this reason alone.