Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aston Martin Cygnet Concept pics - based on Toyota iQ

• 16-12-2009 12:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭

Aston-Martin-Cygnet-Concept-2.jpg

basically it is a rebadged iQ which will cost a whole lot more.

more pics here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Basically, it's a year old story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Moses7

yes it is, but the pics are new and Aston released them today if you check their web site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

That is possibly the coolest little small car I've ever seen! Fair play for Aston for branching out. What engine are they putting into it?

Please say a V-xx, please say a V-xx.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Interior is nice with the leather. Bit pointless though IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭A Doozer

This a level??? My love for aston martin just shrank a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

betafrog wrote: »
    Pretty sure a lot of people said that about the BMW Mini when it was first released.. And it's f*cking everywhere! There's a lot to be said for high priced small cars with assumed prestige...

There's a gulf of difference between a DBS and an iQ. That really isn't the case between a 3 or a 5 series and a Mini. You're comparing a supermini with another mainstream car. With the Cygnet you're comparing a supercar to a re-badged Toyota city car (however good it may be).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

AFAIK the thinking behind it is do to with reducing aston martins overall emission output across the range & they will only available to existing customers.
    I read about in car magazine a good few months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

Wow, that interior is fantastic. The db grille, not so much. It's a 'cute' Aston. I don't nkow if Astons should be cute.

If I had a DBS or a Vantage, and a DB5 in the garage, this would make a great second or third car for the City.

I can see this, or a Toyota/Lexus version, selling by the bucket, plenty of wealthy Londoners or Parisians looking to beat the Congestion Charge in style!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

As the PaintDoctor says. Same as last year. Still sad.
    Pretty sure a lot of people said that about the BMW Mini when it was first released.. And it's f*cking everywhere! There's a lot to be said for high priced small cars with assumed prestige...

There no BMW badge on the MINI anywhere, is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Are Toyota providing the engines too?

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    Are Toyota providing the engines too?

I'd say the Aston V12 won't fit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Aston Martin are unbelievably overrated. They have never produced a single 'great' car in their history, just a handful of good, but deeply flawed ones. They have gotten by on their looks in recent years but I can't see it happening with this one.

An epic failure, on every level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭CONM

Its only being made available to people who already own an aston martin, aston believe that most of these people would want a city car aswell so they made this. Therefore it will never become as common as a mini

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Although the whole point of this exercise is to bring down the average CO2 output of the cars they produce... Unless you get one free with every db9 or whatever they'll never sell. An Aston Martin badge on a Toyota IQ doesn't entitle them to throw a hefty price tag on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭(CH3)2CHOH

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Aston Martin are unbelievably overrated. They have never produced a single 'great' car in their history, just a handful of good, but deeply flawed ones. They have gotten by on their looks in recent years but I can't see it happening with this one.

An epic failure, on every level.

Talking of Epic Fails, this post defines Epic Fail.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

Any truth in the rumour that the DB10 is based on the avensis ? :D

Funny how sticking an AM badge on a toyota makes it cool. I wonder if they put a BMW badge on it, would it become the ultimate driving machine....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

AFAIR, these were only going to be offered to existing Aston customers. They're not designed for mass production/consumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Remember that sticker from years back 'My other car's a Porsche...' that was invariably stuck on a a FIAT rustbucket or such-like. Self deprecating humour at it's best:D...

This Cygnet however is neither funny nor self-aware:
    "My other car's an Aston Martin but I like...care about the enviroinment and stuff so drive this teeny city car around town".

I just love the fashionistas jumping up and down claiming this is the future of environmentally friendly motoring for the brand-obsessed.

Whatever... Astons have been losing their class bit-by-bit for the last decade or so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

It's a handbag with wheels for Aston Martin owners (wives) ...a little something for under the tree or to make up for that anniversary that you forgot :D

pburns wrote: »
    Whatever... Astons have been losing their class bit-by-bit for the last decade or so...

Have to disagree. In my opinion the V8 Vantage is one of the best looking cars of the last decade. And the interior is great too.

(CH3)2CHOH wrote: »
    Talking of Epic Fails, this post defines Epic Fail.........

Please elaborate.

Do you think AM have produced a truly 'great' car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Lads, ye do realise that this is actually just a cynical tool to bring down Aston's average co2 emissions, all its normal cars produce around 300g/km whereas this will produce under 100g/km, brings the average down a nice bit for starters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭CONM

As does the DB9, so much so that Jaguar tried to copy it :p
    Considering Ian callum designed both the db9 and the xk i wouldn't say jag copied aston, it was purely his style of design

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

That's a desperate looking car,
    Someone will park a Fiat 500 beside it and the Cygnet owner will cry into their latte.

...while the 500 owner slurps up his / her Italian strength espresso and hits the road again with poise and speed :D

steve06 wrote: »
    Have to disagree. In my opinion the V8 Vantage is one of the best looking cars of the last decade. And the interior is great too.

Just 'cos it's good looking doesn't mean it has class. Labelling the centre console and start-up procedure the 'Emotional Control Unit' was the last straw for me. Now they come up with this crap. Astons are style over substance these days with as much class as Jordan (she's good-looking too - if you look beneath the make-up, fake tan and breast ops).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

If ever the word "Fugly" was appropriate....this is it.

DB5, DB6, the original V8 Vantage, the V8 Vantage Le Mans, and the new V8/V12 vantage are all 'great' cars...

No. Just no. They're good looking but mechanically they're pure **** and performance and quality wise they paled in comparison to their rivals. Simply appearing in a James Bond movie and being considered somewhat collectible does not make the DB5 a great car.

Do you ever wonder why AM is constantly re-releasing their new models with revised handling and tweaked mechanics, suspensions and gearboxes? They were all **** to begin with then little by little they improve slightly over the models lifetime until a new model comes out and that is plagued with the same problems.

The DB7, DB9, DBS, Vanquish/S, and Vantage are all deeply, deeply flawed cars. Because we're next door to the Brits we have to listen the biased journo's go on and on about how brilliant they are, then when it's time for a new tweaked version to come out they admit there was problems with the car from the start. Same old story with Aston, it's no secret these days.

Great looking, yes. Great car, eh, not so much. Seriously dude, do your research before you start mouthing off again.

Just 'cos it's good looking doesn't mean it has class. Labelling the centre console and start-up procedure the 'Emotional Control Unit' was the last straw for me. Now they come up with this crap. Astons are style over substance these days with as much class as Jordan (she's good-looking too - if you look beneath the make-up, fake tan and breast ops).

Completely agree.

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Lads, ye do realise that this is actually just a cynical tool to bring down Aston's average co2 emissions, all its normal cars produce around 300g/km whereas this will produce under 100g/km, brings the average down a nice bit for starters
    Yea, I stated this in post 18.
    Just because the named a part "The Emotional Control Unit" - doesn't mean it's got no class. And because this one car is sh!te, don't label them all the same... You're probably the same kinda person that brands Ferrari's as crap because "The 355 was the last good looking car they made" so move along with the times or realise that what everyone thinks, including you, is just an opinion.
    To a lot of people, the measure of a great car is how it makes them feel. And an Aston does a bloody great job of making you feel great.
    I agree 100%

I had begun writing out a big long winded retort and a counter to everyone of your points, but to be honest I'm not arsed. Not everyone's definition of a great car is how quick it can get round the nurburgring or how many tens of a second quicker it gets to 60. Very very few car's evoke emotion like Aston Martins do. To a lot of people, the measure of a great car is how it makes them feel. And an Aston does a bloody great job of making you feel great.

Oh and don't start with the "Oh just cause we're so close to the brits we have to listen to how great their cars are" ****e. I'm fed up of listening to brit bashing ****e on this site. Wouldn't surprise me at all if your sole reason for disliking Astons was their origin.

I know that's not aimed for me but i'll counter that...

I like British cars and loved the older Astons, flawed though they were (the big, gruff V8 Vantage from the 80's for example). The new ones leave me cold though. Too much about marketing-speak, product placement and fashion. Too mainstream. Boring...

All the prestige brands are similar but Aston are by far the worst and most cynical. Ferrari for example have produced something as stunningly great as the latest 458 and continue to be the most iconic team in F1. The new McLaren is an even better example of substance over style. In comparison Astons are for chavy posers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    No. Just no. They're good looking but mechanically they're pure **** and performance and quality wise they paled in comparison to their rivals. Simply appearing in a James Bond movie and being considered somewhat collectible does not make the DB5 a great car.

Do you ever wonder why AM is constantly re-releasing their new models with revised handling and tweaked mechanics, suspensions and gearboxes? They were all **** to begin with then little by little they improve slightly over the models lifetime until a new model comes out and that is plagued with the same problems.

The DB7, DB9, DBS, Vanquish/S, and Vantage are all deeply, deeply flawed cars. Because we're next door to the Brits we have to listen the biased journo's go on and on about how brilliant they are, then when it's time for a new tweaked version to come out they admit there was problems with the car from the start. Same old story with Aston, it's no secret these days.

Great looking, yes. Great car, eh, not so much. Seriously dude, do your research before you start mouthing off again.

What about the V12 Vanage? Its supposed to be an excellent car and it looks great aswell.

V12 Vantage is totally the dream car.