Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

College bollockarey and funding

• 15-12-2009 7:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi!

I don't know where to start since everywhere I pick seems so relevant, but I need advice and somewhere to rant, so, Err, Lets have a go shall we.

I'm 21,male, And have been in and out of college for the last four years in different courses.

Background :

I come from a middle class family with 2 brothers. And all my life I have been dependent on my own source of income. I **** you not! My first job was full time, when I was 11 years old. Fair enough it was only during the times in between school breaks but it was done, and the money was saved. I was rared on life's bare minimum. Food, Shelter, and cloths that looked, but not smelt the part.

I know im supposed to feel like a better person inside cause I do everything for myself and when I buy something, Its my work went into it...... Well **** that, I deserve money thrown at me for enduring the crap I have to day in , day out, but ill save that rant for another day.

Back to the topic on hand!

I WANT AN EDUCATION to get me out of this rat hole my *Independence* has shat me into. I have attempted college four time's (different courses in usually different colleges) in the last four years. The reasons why I changed so much was all down to my financial instability. Yes I have worked all my life, and yes I have saved all my life, But when push comes to shove, With no benefits to speak of, Education is a money pit for us *in-betweeners*

Because I live with a family who are just a fraction above the line in which grants are shoveled out, I am not entitled to a grant. I receive absolutely NO money from my parents or relatives to help me get through college, I receive absolutely no benefits to help me through college either.

I have wasted thousands of my own money on getting my foot in the door, to have to drop out because I become broke shortly after Christmas. Even on attending a college that is the closest one to home so I don't have to pay accommodation, I still have to pay fee's, Registration fees, books, accessories, food, everything!!!!!!

The most recent drop out was due to the course work being so pilled up that my lecturer asked me to do one of two things, Quit my job (because I was actually the best in the class at what I was doing) or Quit the course, Cause I simply could do not both.

Well I of course had to drop the course, Cause no money = a dead student with unpaid bills.

Anyway, What I need to know is HOW DO PEOPLE DO IT! 95% of students I have ever talked to, ooooo and trust me I have talked to allot in my time thus far, USUALLY have daddy and mammy paying for them INCLUDING grants for this that and the other. about 4% of people have a one or two day a week job, and the remaining 1% are just as ****ed as me.

I am so bitter towards class mates and most people who enjoy college cause they all seem to have so much fun , doing the college thing, with only exams to worry about at the end of the semester., going out most nights on daddy's money, just chilling and spending more money on ridiculous things to keep them entertained during college hours. Can someone please tell me how this works?

I have at least 5 GOOD friends who are borderline poverty stricken, Who are now finished their final years in college in far away lands without having worked a day during college terms (summer - they did) How do these people cope? updating face book with class nights out every two days?

Can someone tell me where all this *Go to college and have fun on us* cash is? And how I might get some smidgen of its bounty. Cause right now, Life is insanely bleak, Working another miserable miserable full time job to save for another attempt at college in September, To be financially un-assisted while 99% of college students run amok with financing , grants, welfare.

I am very clever! Bright! Determined! And a good person! So why cant I get the chance to improve my skills to advance out of these dead end jobs that I am subject to, Counting down my insanity levels after each fag smoked out the back with the other zombies I work with.

life is ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 SteeveSmith

get a student loan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I left home at 16. I have been financially independent since. I worked two jobs while I was in uni & had a hefty student loan to boot. My friend is a single mum who worked a job & raised a child while completing her degree. It is possible, if you are prepared to get the head down & work like a demon.

Sure there are people who get things handed to them but I'd stop letting that make you angry and resentful and use it as motivation to get your qualifications to make your life better.

You could consider moving as well, further education is subsidised for residents in the UK, making fees much cheaper - or you could consider the Open University & apply to OUSBA for help paying your fees in instalments and work your job & do your course work in your own time? Check out your options & most of all, stop looking at other people, it doesn't help you regardless of how rich or well supported other students are. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Danniboo

You seem to boast about your financial independence in one breath then whinge about how you think money should be thrown at you and how your so broke in the next. That's a bit of a contradiction. Take out a loan and work weekends that's what most financially "independant" people do. You claim you lived on the bare minimum growing up and yet you think your parents should throw money at you, which is a really spoilt attitude in my opinion. If you were really independant you'd be proud of the fact and glad you weren't sponging off your parents like the others you talk about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

OP if you have been saving all your life then the banks will have no problem giving you a loan. You need to draw up a budget before you apply to a course coz at the minute you dont seem to grasp how much college costs.

Talk to the college and see if they can be of assistence also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Why not work full time and study by night. It may take a bit longer but will be worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

How in the name of God were you working full-time at the age of 11 ? Isn't that illegal ?

prendy wrote: »
    OP if you have been saving all your life then the banks will have no problem giving you a loan. You need to draw up a budget before you apply to a course coz at the minute you dont seem to grasp how much college costs.

Talk to the college and see if they can be of assistence also.

No the banks are really **** for giving loans like this. I tried to get a loan to be financially independent when going to college and they laughed me out of the place - and that was before the recession

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

hmmm, when i was 17 i put myself through college (wasnt entitled to a grant either). paid all my fees, registration, books etc. myself, had a part-time job and worked my arse off in the summer to get money together.

when i was 33 i put myself through college while holding down a full-time job and a part-time job to pay my mortgage, bills etc.

stop blaming everyone else, it is no one else's fault you cant budget. get yourself a full-time and do your course from either home or part-time in the evening. you dont deserve anything handed to you in this world.

Op, I do sypathise with you, it's tough for people to who are from modest backgrounds to get an education and working long hours and studying is very hard, there should be more help for people like you who are clever enough to get through the course but don't have the financial benefits many on the course have.

I completed my masters degree last year, and while I was entitled to a grant, i didn't have the luxury of living at home so I was paying extortionate rent and trying to keep my head above water financially. Education is a money pit for everyone, grant or no grant. Sometimes I got frustrated by the fact that I seemed to be the only person on the course who had to work at all, the rest of them seemed to be financed by their parents.

It can be done though, if you are working and have been for years you should be able to save money before you get to college, hopefully you could get a part time job (although that's not easy nowadays). It's tough but you can do it.

You do seem quite bitter in your post. It sounds like you have a lot to contend with but there's no point projecting your frustrations on to other people on your course. It's not their fault they're are more priviledged then you and have had things easier. I always felt a little smug when I looked at my other coursemates who had had things handed to them on a plate all of their life, knowing I had got where I was through my own hard work.

pinky133 wrote: »
    Op, I do sypathise with you, it's tough for people to who are from modest backgrounds to get an education and working long hours and studying is very hard, there should be more help for people like you who are clever enough to get through the course but don't have the financial benefits many on the course have.

I completed my masters degree last year, and while I was entitled to a grant, i didn't have the luxury of living at home so I was paying extortionate rent and trying to keep my head above water financially. Education is a money pit for everyone, grant or no grant. Sometimes I got frustrated by the fact that I seemed to be the only person on the course who had to work at all, the rest of them seemed to be financed by their parents.

It can be done though, if you are working and have been for years you should be able to save money before you get to college, hopefully you could get a part time job (although that's not easy nowadays). It's tough but you can do it.

You do seem quite bitter in your post. It sounds like you have a lot to contend with but there's no point projecting your frustrations on to other people on your course. It's not their fault they're are more priviledged then you and have had things easier. I always felt a little smug when I looked at my other coursemates who had had things handed to them on a plate all of their life, knowing I had got where I was through my own hard work.

that's nonsense his parents earned too much therefore he wasn't entitled to the grant, he said middle class not modest. I know people who have wealthy parents and still got the grant.

i have to agree with you. college is extremely expensive. I had saved up money during the summer but that went on rent at the start of the year.
    im also fairly broke at college. i rely on my mother for money and even at that i've very little. i havn't been able to find a part time job either. i finish exams this week and everyone is on about a big night out on friday. i can't afford it and don't know if il be able to go back after christmas. i don't even qualify for a grant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Danniboo wrote: »
    You claim you lived on the bare minimum growing up and yet you think your parents should throw money at you, which is a really spoilt attitude in my opinion. If you were really independant you'd be proud of the fact and glad you weren't sponging off your parents like the others you talk about.
    irishbird wrote: »
    stop blaming everyone else, it is no one else's fault you cant budget.
    Right...so you think the guy who was working since he was eleven wants to hear this? And you think he has no right to be angry because of the massive financial strain put on him from such a young age? Come on lads...use your heads here. nobody should have to work at 11 years old to afford food. If he's pissed off because he's been rejected grants and has had to quit college 4 times because he couldnt feed himself if he kept going, let him! I'd be!

Anyway OP, have you considered abroad at all? Or is that even an option? I know you didnt give much detail on your home life but im assuming things are less than average.

I am so bitter towards class mates and most people who enjoy college cause they all seem to have so much fun , doing the college thing, with only exams to worry about at the end of the semester., going out most nights on daddy's money, just chilling and spending more money on ridiculous things to keep them entertained during college hours. Can someone please tell me how this works?

I'd love to know too, 2 students sitting behind me on the bus yesterday were chatting about going to the cinema, clothes shopping, ice-skating, a class party and Ben+Jerry's ice ceram. Sounded like a great life to me, I was jealous.

Student loans I suppose OP but they need to be secured by parents usually.

that's nonsense his parents earned too much therefore he wasn't entitled to the grant, he said middle class not modest. I know people who have wealthy parents and still got the grant.

Sorry what part of my post is supposed to be 'nonsense'?

If you have 2 working parents they do not have to be on very large incomes at all in order to disqualify you for the grant. Some people from modest back grounds aren't entitled to the grant. If you know people who have wealthy families and still get the grant I can only imagine they have found some way to cheat the system.

Either way just because you have comfortable off parents doesn't mean they are forthcoming with funds to support you though education. OP is clearly having to fund himself and it is very hard working full time and studying.

like someone else said, it seems to be that your problem is not being able to budget your money. If you know in august that theres no way you will be able to afford rent and bills by xmas then why did you start a course? th money won't magically appear.

You need to plan in advance and budget for all major purchases, such as books. and only start the course if you know that you stand a chance of making it to the end of the year financially.

As for how do others manage it, well i worked 20 hours a week (sat and sun and one week night) for the first three years of my degree and full time during the summers. I recieved no grant or pocket money from my parents. Its not expensive to have the odd night out once a week or whatever, cheap wine at someones house then go to a club early so you dont have to pay in and fill a taxi on the way home. i often had mad nights out for 20euro. I budgeted and stuck too it and worked really hard. and yeah, like you i was jealous of my friends who had grants or an allowance and never had to have a part time job ther whole time they were in college, but thats life, try not to be bitter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Maybe instead of starting a new course next year and having to drop out after Christmas, give it another year or two, then go back to college.

That way you'll have more money saved from the extra year or two's work which will get you through a few years rather than paying fees every year and then having to drop out?

I am the exact same and so are a lot of students, I don't go out at all, I had 30cent by the end of last week but I'm not whinging because there's nothing I can do about it, might aswell struggle on and reap the benefits when I am finished. Best bet is a student loan from the bank or credit union, better off getting into a little debt and paying it off slowly than dropping out completely. I personally think you could be blaming your indecisiveness on monetary constraints. I think you'd know you can't afford to stay in college by the 2nd or 3rd time so why keep going back and then you could save up and go back when you know you can stay. Anyway your college should have a student assistance fund you could apply for.

• OP, you sound really bitter. I'm from NI, where almost everyone gets a student loan or works through college. I was in a better position than lots of people, as my parents helped me out a lot, but I still paid my own rent, food, bus fares, books. I have 16K to pay back now, as do most of my friends. I'm not sure why you think your parents should be paying for you at your age. It would be nice if they could help you out, but by the sounds of it, they aren't very well off.

What's the point in comparing yourself to other people anyway? You don't know their financial circumstances. People used to tell me I was lucky and spoiled because I didn't work for a year or two of college, but they didn't know I was living off a student loan that I'd have to pay back. I'm doing a Masters now and working part time, and most people don't know I work. I really don't think you're much worse off than most people, tbh.

Sorry what part of my post is supposed to be 'nonsense'?

The part where you think middle class is the same as modest. We all had to work through college and struggle along shopping in aldi etc. The OP claims his independance and yet can't support himself and claims he deserves hand outs.

Wagon wrote: »
    Right...so you think the guy who was working since he was eleven wants to hear this? And you think he has no right to be angry because of the massive financial strain put on him from such a young age? Come on lads...use your heads here. nobody should have to work at 11 years old to afford food. If he's pissed off because he's been rejected grants and has had to quit college 4 times because he couldnt feed himself if he kept going, let him! I'd be!

Anyway OP, have you considered abroad at all? Or is that even an option? I know you didnt give much detail on your home life but im assuming things are less than average.

Where does it say he had to work for his food, talk about being dramatic.

The part where you think middle class is the same as modest. We all had to work through college and struggle along shopping in aldi etc. The OP claims his independance and yet can't support himself and claims he deserves hand outs.

I don't think middle class is the same as modest. I don't know where you have that from.

If OP is telling the truth (which we have to assume he is) it sounds like has been brought up in a modest background and is struggling financially to get through college, hence that dropping out through lack of funds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭lisajane

I'l probably be in the same position as you next year. Finacially, i'm on my own. Hoping to go back to college to do a PLC course. There are no fees involved for plc courses, so have you looked at plc colleges? I think registeration fees are paid for you also if you go to a scottish college. But ya, it will leave you with living expenses and what not.

I am lucky in a way that the thing i want to do can be done in a plc college for 2 years rather than 4 years in UCD, but it involves me having to move away. I have enough saved up to last about 3-4 months and il continue to save but there's so much i can save. I'l never have enough. If you're in a dead end job, the last thing you want is to spend an extra year or two there, just saving. You want to get out.

Don't know what il do really but hoping on finding work when i move for college. And maybe even a loan (but that's the last thing i want to finish college with). You're not alone.

I don't think middle class is the same as modest. I don't know where you have that from.

If OP is telling the truth (which we have to assume he is) it sounds like has been brought up in a modest background and is struggling financially to get through college, hence that dropping out through lack of funds.

The bit where you just said it.:confused: In his original post he claims he comes from a middle class background. I worked with my grandparents in there business when I was 12 used to get up at 5 with them, absolutely loved it and had a few bob for myself at the end of the day. The OP is painting a picture as if he was forced in to slave labour or something.

OP also says that he was raise don life's bare minimums which is what I was referring to when I said modest background rather then the middle class part.

But to be honest I don't think it's worth us debating what exactly does and doesn't count as a 'modest' background, I don't think it's of any help to OP are anything to do with the problem at hand.

OP also says that he was raise don life's bare minimums which is what I was referring to when I said modest background rather then the middle class part.

But to be honest I don't think it's worth us debating what exactly does and doesn't count as a 'modest' background, I don't think it's of any help to OP are anything to do with the problem at hand.

I disagree entirely part of the problem is he has no concept on how to deal with money he thinks he's poor so to speak yet says he comes from a middle class background. He needs to appreciate what he has and not be so bitter about people in his class. There are plenty of people from single parent and less well off families that manage to put themselves through college and don't expect handouts. If the OP has been saving all his life what did he do with all his money.

• Danniboo wrote: »
    I disagree entirely part of the problem is he has no concept on how to deal with money he thinks he's poor so to speak yet says he comes from a middle class background. He needs to appreciate what he has and not be so bitter about people in his class. There are plenty of people from single parent and less well off families that manage to put themselves through college and don't expect handouts. If the OP has been saving all his life what did he do with all his money.

His background doesn't sound middle class to me, if his parents are barely making more than the cut off for grants and have other kids as well. It's not as if they're bringing in 100,000 grand a year and refusing to help him, it sounds like they don't really have that much money to spare. My parents are much better off than OP's, and I still had to fund most of my own college stuff, as did my siblings. My friends would mostly be from a similar background and most of them never got money thrown at them either. They worked every weekend all through college.

[quote=[Deleted User];63524316]His background doesn't sound middle class to me, if his parents are barely making more than the cut off for grants and have other kids as well. It's not as if they're bringing in 100,000 grand a year and refusing to help him, it sounds like they don't really have that much money to spare. My parents are much better off than OP's, and I still had to fund most of my own college stuff, as did my siblings. My friends would mostly be from a similar background and most of them never got money thrown at them either. They worked every weekend all through college.[/quote]

Well the OP said it so unless we dont believe him he does in fact have a middle class background. Most people have to get through college themselves as did I, but I didnt go around saying I deserve handouts or being bitter about other people living off mammy and daddy.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

Hi OP,
    I liked reading your post, i like the way you write and i enjoyed reading your rant. I think you've got talent, you've also got goals, determination and a strong work ethic! i hope you can figure this one out for yourself and if and when you do you'll make it big time! don't give up, don't compare yourself to others, keep focused and the best of luck to you!

you need a four year plan, if you can take a course/degree that will allow enough time for part time work (i.e. less intensive) to support you this will be a more appropriate route to take.

when you become 23 & a mature student, if your living away from home a grant will not be means tested on your parents income so your entitlements will be based on your income alone which could work for you.

perhaps studying in the UK may provide better options.

i would recommend you explain your situation(s) to some student finance advisor or whatever they're called in your college, they could better explain whats available..

credit union loan would be a viable option too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

OP what about enrolling in a part-time course allowing you to work and attend college in a manageable way ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Take out a loan and work weekends that's what most financially "independant" people do.

That was the winning formula for me.

OP, you should definitely look into a student loan. The couple I have were easy to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Where does it say he had to work for his food, talk about being dramatic.

Right here (emphasis mine):
    Even on attending a college that is the closest one to home so I don't have to pay accommodation, I still have to pay fee's, Registration fees, books, accessories, food, everything!!!!!!

Wagon wrote: »

This is the bit i'm referring to of course the OP has to pay for his own food and utilities now. This post made out he was working since he was 11 to afford food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

OK people nitpicking is not helping