Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wild boar making a comeback???

• 14-12-2009 12:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭

From todays Irish Times
    Wild boar making a comeback in Ireland

EOGHAN Mac CONNELL

HAVING BEEN extinct for hundreds of years in Ireland, the wild boar appears to be making a comeback in many parts of the country.
    Biodiversity Ireland has reported sightings at a number of locations in 2009.
    The most startling of their reports revealed a 396lb boar “was shot near a school playground in south Tipperary” earlier this year. The group have also recorded sightings of sows, boars and piglets in counties Kilkenny and Wicklow.
    The physical environment has greatly changed since the wild boar became extinct in Ireland several centuries ago.
    Wildlife group Invasive Species Ireland is concerned about its reappearance. Ironically, due to the extinction of the Irish wolf, the wild boar has no natural predators in Ireland and could “expand unchallenged”, it said.
    Coillte’s game and wildlife manager Barry Coad said he had dealt with a number of wild boar over the past year. He described the problem as “quite widespread throughout the country”.
    Mr Coad has been directly involved in removing nine animals from Piltown in Co Kilkenny and Glenealy in Co Wicklow. “I think it is a serious concern for agriculture and also there is potential for spreading disease,” he said.
    Wild boar are known to uproot large areas of land, eliminate native vegetation and have the potential to spread disease to domestic livestock.
    Colonies of wild boar have become established in parts of the UK in the past decade.
    Chairman of the Wild Deer Association of Ireland Pat Scully said one of his members shot a wild boar in Clogheen near Cahir in Co Tipperary earlier this year.
    “There was one shot in Cahir earlier but it would be assumed that it would have been bred in captivity,” said Mr Scully.
    He was aware of people keeping the animals which could be imported with a licence. “There are some in captivity and I presume it is a safe assumption that some would escape,” he said

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Please tell me they like bog, rock, water and **** weather.

Tell meeeeeeee !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

johngalway wrote: »
    Please tell me they like bog, rock, water and **** weather.

Tell meeeeeeee !

They like Bracken, John, maybe there is some patches of that around you?
    They can also eat young lambs so maybe start saving for the 30-06:D
    I don't think the .223 will be up to the job.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    They like Bracken, John, maybe there is some patches of that around you?
    They can also eat young lambs so maybe start saving for the 30-06:D
    I don't think the .223 will be up to the job.

Feck them so, I've enough problems!! Lol. I'll shoot them in their area in that case :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

So what would the min caliber be to safely kill one? what is reccomended in the uk?

No6 wrote: »
    So what would the min caliber be to safely kill one? what is reccomended in the uk?

I have seen them shot with a .243 by pro's but generally .308 and up would be better, the boars have massive shields on the front shoulders, very hard to knock penetrate with any calibre.
    In NZ they use lever action 30-30's for close range work.
    Most guys I knew in NZ used dogs and knifes to dispatch them.
    The dogs find bail and hold the pig, hunter goes in get a back leg and flips the animal, then sticks it in the chest.
    Manly sort of stuff TBH.

Am I wrong in thinking shotguns and slugs are used in some places? Certainly not an animal you would want to go up against under gunned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Correct John. There used sometimes if the boar is charging and needs to be dropped quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

The day there's a shootable, established population in my area, I'll be picking up a nice .300 Win Mag and reinforcing the hanging supports in my cooler. :p

396lb boar shot though? That's a serious, serious animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

I have seen them shot with a .243 by pro's but generally .308 and up would be better, the boars have massive shields on the front shoulders, very hard to knock penetrate with any calibre.
    The dogs find bail and hold the pig, hunter goes in get a back leg and flips the animal, then sticks it in the chest.
    Manly sort of stuff TBH.

Jesus :eek:....hunting is never for the light hearted but that seems a bit mental! Dogs might have an issue with 400 lbs of angry mean boar! And going in MW2 stylee with a blade seems a tad on the wild side.

But would definitely present more of a challenge than bambi or bugs! Bring it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Correct John. There used sometimes if the boar is charging and needs to be dropped quick.
    I've got a young potbellied pig who I let out for a run around the garden most days, I wouldn't like her to run into me never mind a full size angry charging boar, my pig is as fast as hell when running and I'm sure a boar would be able to run at a similar speed.

BigDuffman wrote: »
    Jesus :eek:....hunting is never for the light hearted but that seems a bit mental! Dogs might have an issue with 400 lbs of angry mean boar! And going in MW2 stylee with a blade seems a tad on the wild side.

But would definitely present more of a challenge than bambi or bugs! Bring it.

Dogs frequently have issues with pigs but thats what they are bred for.
    Its pretty pure hunting though.
    http://monteriaboarhunts.co.nz/index.htm

No6 wrote: »
    I've got a young potbellied pig who I let out for a run around the garden most days, I wouldn't like her to run into me never mind a full size angry charging boar, my pig is as fast as hell when running and I'm sure a boar would be able to run at a similar speed.

There is a farmer up the road from me who keeps 2 pigs every year for fattening. He keeps them in a small shed and they dont get out much. He went in to clean them one day and one charged him and put out his knee. This was a charge from only a few feet as the shed is only an ould small stable.

The day there's a shootable, established population in my area, I'll be picking up a nice .300 Win Mag and reinforcing the hanging supports in my cooler. :p

396lb boar shot though? That's a serious, serious animal.

There was a story about it ISD with a few pictures. The farmer kept feeding the area and when he was out feeding this dude was called in to shoot him. Deer hunters might know the man im on about, he's a big deer shooter and was called in specially for the job. I'll paste the story if i can find the magazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

theres a friend of mine from kosovo and only last week we were talking about wild boar over there. he was telling me a story about his uncle out boar shooting and the rifle jammed:eek::eek:. anyway he said he had to run and ended climbing a tree and the boar was circleing the base. he unjammed the rifle and shot him:cool::cool: doesnt sound like much when written down but when my friend was describing it i laughed so much it hurt:D:D would love to go abroad to shoot them!!!

I was told that if you do come face to face with one you either play dead or climb a tree. I think id be climbing a tree:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

By coincidence, from today's Independent:

'Monday December 14 2009
    German police have rescued four frozen walkers who phoned from a waste container begging to be saved from roving wild boars.
    Police in Darmstadt, south of Frankfurt, said they received an emergency call from a man who said he and three companions had fled into the container after being surprised by a group of boars during a night-time walk in the woods.
    A police statement said that a patrol found the four shivering in the metal container and escorted them from the scene.
    The boars had already disappeared.
    Press Association'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Manly sort of stuff TBH.

my inlaw in NZ tells me that when they were younger they used to cut the top off bird shot and fill the pellets with wax and use the home made sabot to shoot pigs

older shot guns might be able to handle this sort of punishment I certinly do not recomend this with newer ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

When out flyfishing one evening in the summer my mate was down river from me and when we met up a bit later he told me he had seen a pig on the other bank. As I know he has never seen a wild boar in the wild i was thinking after reading this maybe it was one he saw that evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

was in poland last month they use shotguns and rifles to kill them
    the shotguns are for driven shoots where they pass close by and the rifle is for shooting from the huts was supposed to go with her dads friend but didnt get the chance hopefully next year
    heres a pic of one another guy shot

and heres a link to a company thats ya can go shooting with over there its a bit pricey though but i think its worth it

http://www.polowania.com.pl/angielski.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

4gun wrote: »
    my inlaw in NZ tells me that when they were younger they used to cut the top off bird shot and fill the pellets with wax and use the home made sabot to shoot pigs

older shot guns might be able to handle this sort of punishment I certinly do not recomend this with newer ones

So called "hillbilly slugs".Wont cause any damage to either type of gun.
    And the other now becoming pouplar types of firearms for driven shoots are Semi auto rifles in 308 or bigger,and lever action in big cals.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

I was told that if you do come face to face with one you either play dead or climb a tree. I think id be climbing a tree:D

Thats for Bears....:eek::D

Grizzly 45 wrote: »

No honest to god, thats what i was told:eek: Someone must want me dead:D

Fact! or they dont know much about wild boars,or are extracting the urine!

I'd get the ould dental records updated Dusty, might be the only bit of ya left lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

An old friend ( he's long passed away ) of my Dad's used to shoot them with a 12g shotgun with 0 cartridges back in the day when you were allowed just about any ammo you deemed suitable. They were a cartridge made by Coopal in Belgium, the casing was made of some soft metal alloy had an enormous load of powder and the pellets were like small grapeshot. The gun he used was a rough and ready Browning A5.

Anyway, all the hassle about them in the media sort of makes me frown a bit. What's the so called nature lover's problem with them ? They're a native animal. Is their problem mainly that they've had no involvement in the introduction ? I can understand that farmers are worried and a bit upset with them as they're potentially destructive but the reaction from the usual sources puzzles me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

I've heard that the way to tell a Black Bear from a Grizzly is to climb a tree. The black bear will climb after you but the grizzly will just shake the tree till you fall out. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

PPL i shoot Boar with mostly use 5.56!!!or 12G/5.56 combo and considered more than enough(i use 9.3 but i'd have no prob with 5.56)Boar are easy to get close to and have very poor eye sight but are generally dangerous and very dangerous with young or cornered,i've hunted with Husky/Wolf X and speer,adrenaline is the only word to describe it

However i do think that anyone who deliberatly released these animals here should be ashamed and may have a lot to answer for in future,the amount of destruction boar can cause is unreal and IMO supporters just have no idea of the possible consequences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭newby.204

Is it legal to just have a rifle, permission to shoot on land where you know that they are and, responsibly, shoot them?? Also if you had a shotgun could this be a good enough reason to appply for slugs,as they are restricted, if you didnt have a rifle of a suitable caliber licenced?

At close range 3", 00, 12g with a tight enough choke would probably do the trick. You might need a follow up shot but a heavy load magnum cartridge is a serious amount of raw power at short distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

anybody see one of these boars yet:confused: it wont be long until we have a cracker like this 1100lb

21jpyfk.jpg

At close range 3", 00, 12g with a tight enough choke would probably do the trick. You might need a follow up shot but a heavy load magnum cartridge is a serious amount of raw power at short distance.

True, you probably woudn't need a mincer to make your sausages after that much buck at close range.
    I think the Dixie tri-ball stuff would be much better though.

Emphasis on tight enough choke CJ. I agree with you that anything from 3 to 6 massive pellets in a cartridge would be ideal but trying to get your hands on it around this part of the world might land you in all sorts of bother. And just about perfect for boar would be slugs but let's not go there.

jap gt wrote: »
    anybody see one of these boars yet:confused: it wont be long until we have a cracker like this 1100lb

21jpyfk.jpg
    Nothing like a Boar

kakashka wrote: »
    Nothing like a Boar

No tusks, not enough hair??
    I seen that programme 'Hogzilla'. The chinese (or japs) got a domestic pig to over 1000lbs. But it died from weight problems:rolleyes:
    The biggest wild boar they found was over 800lbs in the US.

No tusks, not enough hair??
    I seen that programme 'Hogzilla'. The chinese (or japs) got a domestic pig to over 1000lbs. But it died from weight problems:rolleyes:
    The biggest wild boar they found was over 800lbs in the US.
    Hard to tell by tusks as they dont grow that big anyway but hair and short curved snout for a start,Boar have long pointed heads with ears much lower,far narrower frame with front end bulk and are far too active i think to ever get as fat as this pig in pic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

jap gt wrote: »

21jpyfk.jpg
    May buy a bigger dog:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

I brought this up in the now banned discussion in Nature and Bird Watching. I presume here are lots of breeds of these things? Some more passive than others? Is there a standard European one? Which one is closest to the one that originally habituated Ireland?

are far too active i think to ever get as fat as this pig in pic

Heres that boar i was on about on 'Hogzilla' on Nat Geo Wild Kakashka.
    The chinese one i mentioned was kept in a pen and fed but this one was actually shot in the wild.
    hogzilla.jpg

Heres that boar i was on about on 'Hogzilla' on Nat Geo Wild Kakashka.
    The chinese one i mentioned was kept in a pen and fed but this one was actually shot in the wild.
    hogzilla.jpg
    Yeah i seen that one before alright Dusty,another big pig IMO

Well there was some domestic pig found in his DNA but not enough to take away the wild boar status. They reckon a domestic got in the DNa somewhere back, one parent or grandparent. I tried to find the programme Kakashka but cant get link anywhere.

Sorry batt died,i think it's fairly common practice to cross breed and release in parts of the US for tropy/sport,nothing against it but i personally would not consider them to be Boar,i'm no expert either,i've only ever shot Russian Boar,and when you see one there is a hell of a difference(some huge animals also)AFAIK The Russian Boar DNA is considered most pure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

how long would it take to spit roast one of them bad boys :D:D .............Ray Mears would s**t himself

[
    quote=kakashka;63526063]PPL i shoot Boar with mostly use 5.56!!!or 12G/5.56 combo and considered more than enough(i use 9.3 but i'd have no prob with 5.56)
    5.56 wouldnt be legal in Germany for them Kakash.Thats about .223 and deffo not somthing to wave at a wildschwein.
    Boar are easy to get close to and have very poor eye sight but are generally dangerous and very dangerous with young or cornered
    But they have exellent hearing and sense of smell which compensates for their needing to go to Specsavers.:D.By and large they are very shy and evasive of humans,but as K said with young and/or cornerd,different story.
    ,i've hunted with Husky/Wolf X and speer,adrenaline is the only word to describe it
    Second you on that all right.Think the German hunting terrier in a pack of ten or more is the better option.
    However i do think that anyone who deliberatly released these animals here should be ashamed and may have a lot to answer for in future,the amount of destruction boar can cause is unreal and IMO supporters just have no idea of the possible consequences
    Why are always ASSuming it was one of our own who did this??? They could be escapees from farms,theme parks,or private exotic pets on the run.

lightening wrote: »
    I brought this up in the now banned discussion in Nature and Bird Watching. I presume here are lots of breeds of these things? Some more passive than others? Is there a standard European one? Which one is closest to the one that originally habituated Ireland?

Not really,the standard European Wild boarI]sus scrofa[/I is common from the Baltic downto the Balkans with most of France and Spain,Sardinia,Corsica and the Med sea flank of Italy.They are the ones that have aprently been shot here or have been seen here,and would have been the originals that lived here as well.
    They weigh as boars around 250 kg and stand 1meter at the shoulder.Summer coat is bristley and dark with a silver tinge,and uaually coverd in mud,[against insect bites,and one of the easiest signs to find if they exist in an area.look for mud wallows and scratching trees near the wallow.]
    ]In winter this coat goes thicker and brown or black with thick under fur.Piglets are reddish brown with yellowish longitudinal stripes[racing stripes] for the first four tofive months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

seen first hand what these can do
    from smashing up your bumper from been knocked down
    to digging up that lovely little veggie garden ya spent hours making
    there very strong and will dig up anything

where i saw them in poland there would be areas of forrest floors as big as a vw golf just ripped to bits by them looking for food
    if they get into a potato field which is very soft they will have a right time

the farmer here wont tolerate it because there so strung up on making money they aint going to welcome this foreign creature with open arms

as for there habitat it varies in poland anyway from the mountains to that small wood out the back of your house
    and at night there always on the go an will come around your gaff rooting

heres what its like when they dig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Not really,the standard European Wild boarI]sus scrofa[/I....

Thanks, that's what I was looking for. Impressive animal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

I'd like to see a nice population here, ive got permission in clogheen and cahir in co Tipp too so thats great to hear :)

Why are always ASSuming it was one of our own who did this??? They could be escapees from farms,theme parks,or private exotic pets on the run.
    They very well could be escapees of some kind but i DID say " i do think anyone who deliberatly releases these animals here should be ashamed"(dont apreciate the ass jibe either Griz)

Young female,sorry for bloody scene,dont usually show pics so dont usually bother to tidy up before i take