Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sexism disguised as chivalry - how does it affect you?

• 14-12-2009 12:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭

OK, probably been done to death, but no reason not to do it again.

Michael Ring (TD) was on the radio this morning and he made an "interesting" comment about Paul Gogarty's outburst. It was along the lines of, "It was outrageous. I mean, not just for the rest of the Dáil to hear it, but for the other people working there. There are even lots of women working there."

Which, although he thinks he's being "honourable", is effectively saying, "Poor little women can't handle some bad words in the same way that a man can".

Just got me thinking about the other things that men, particularly older men might do because they think it's right and honourable but in actual fact is ridiculously sexist and patronising.

Even stuff that I find myself doing; The "done thing" in our office is that women get in and out of the lifts first. It's never been said, by anyone, but it's just something that almost every man seems to do, and most women seem to accept that the men will stand aside and let her out first. Aside from being respectful in the "ladies first" sense, I can't see any reason to do it. So I can't decide if I'm being chivalrous or sexist when I do it.

Does this kind of stuff occur to you ladies on a daily basis, and perhaps more importantly, does it bother you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭IndigoStarr

I think that there is a difference between chivalry and sexism. While the above example of someone thinking that a woman can't handle bad language is undoubtedly patronising, I think that there is a difference between things like that and a man letting a woman go first or holding the door open.
    I would call myself a feminist but I appreciate it when my boyfriend does little things like that for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

seamus wrote: »
    "There are even lots of women working there."

In the dail?? No theres not, unless there working as secretarys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

panda100 wrote: »

Now THAT's chivalrous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

The "done thing" in our office is that women get in and out of the lifts first. It's never been said, by anyone, but it's just something that almost every man seems to do, and most women seem to accept that the men will stand aside and let her out first.

I don't think that's chivalrous or sexist just basic manners. I really think people over-analyse this stuff sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Even stuff that I find myself doing; The "done thing" in our office is that women get in and out of the lifts first. It's never been said, by anyone, but it's just something that almost every man seems to do, and most women seem to accept that the men will stand aside and let her out first. Aside from being respectful in the "ladies first" sense, I can't see any reason to do it. So I can't decide if I'm being chivalrous or sexist when I do it.

Really? (Y) ? Very hard to look at the lovely bottoms when you exit the lift first.

Sorry for my sexism ladies but you do all have lovely bottoms.

I don't think it's sexist to hold a door open or the whole paying on a first date thing. I know some people think women like to pick and choose the equal rights they get but nice "chivelrous" gertures are just that. As long as there is no sexist intentions behind the act then accept it for what it is.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I do think sometimes that in general, men fret over this more than women do.

I've held doors open for men many times, and received abuse for doing so... 'About f**king time' and 'Finally, a woman that knows her place' and 'Took ye f**king long enough to start doing that, didn't it?', and so on. I still do it instinctively.

Now, what I've experienced, is if I am walking up to a door with a heavy box or whatever, the lads I work with, if they are walking ahead of me, will let it close in my face, usually with a comment of 'You want equality, there you go, open your own doors!'
    On the off-chance someone does open a door for me, there's a speech afterwards, where I am expected to defend myself because some woman somewhere didn't say thank you to this guy in the past for holding open a door.

Or if I ask for a hand lifting something, I'm frequently told no, to lift it myself, whereas if one of the lads needs a hand lifting something, the other lads don't bat an eyelid.

So anyway, I think the whole thing is overanalysed anyway. It's just politeness and manners. If you hold a door open for a woman, then I assume if it was a guy walking behind you, you wouldn't slam it in his face, you'd hold it open for him too.

I'm not sure about the lift thing, that seems weird.

The one area I probably over analyse this is walking home after work (in the dark) behind a woman. Say if you are 10, 15 or 20 feet behind a woman who walks as fast as I do, I always tend to try to hurry past her so that she will not feel uncomfortable with a strange man walking behind her. Sometimes this boils down to power-walking at breakneck speed just to get past her. I have often wondered if this is actually necessary at all or just being over cautious ? Do women notice men doing this? Is all that power-walking in the dark necessary ?

Morlar wrote: »
    The one area I probably over analyse this is walking home after work (in the dark) behind a woman. Say if you are 10, 15 or 20 feet behind a woman who walks as fast as I do, I always tend to try to hurry past her so that she will not feel uncomfortable with a strange man walking behind her. Sometimes this boils down to power-walking at breakneck speed just to get past her. I have often wondered if this is actually necessary at all or just being over cautious ? Do women notice men doing this? Is all that power-walking in the dark necessary ?

Yeah, I have to admit I do notice this, I am extremely wary of anyone walking behind me. But to be honest, I know a good few males who are nervous of people walking behind them at night too.

I've had to do it when I've been out for my walk on a darkish evening and end up behind a woman who keeps looking back and is clearly nervous, however in my experience, suddenly speeding up and approaching them is not a good idea :/

Now I just cross to the other side of the road, and cross back up further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Morlar

So I am not the only one who does that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Silverfish wrote: »
    I do think sometimes that in general, men fret over this more than women do.

I've held doors open for men many times, and received abuse for doing so... 'About f**king time' and 'Finally, a woman that knows her place' and 'Took ye f**king long enough to start doing that, didn't it?', and so on. I still do it instinctively.

Now, what I've experienced, is if I am walking up to a door with a heavy box or whatever, the lads I work with, if they are walking ahead of me, will let it close in my face, usually with a comment of 'You want equality, there you go, open your own doors!'
    On the off-chance someone does open a door for me, there's a speech afterwards, where I am expected to defend myself because some woman somewhere didn't say thank you to this guy in the past for holding open a door.

Or if I ask for a hand lifting something, I'm frequently told no, to lift it myself, whereas if one of the lads needs a hand lifting something, the other lads don't bat an eyelid.

So anyway, I think the whole thing is overanalysed anyway. It's just politeness and manners. If you hold a door open for a woman, then I assume if it was a guy walking behind you, you wouldn't slam it in his face, you'd hold it open for him too.

I'm not sure about the lift thing, that seems weird.

the lads you work with sound like absolute ****.

genericguy wrote: »
    the lads you work with sound like absolute ****.

No, they're 'only joking'.
    And I've experienced this -and so have other females I know- in jobs where they are the only female. It's just the way it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Jesus Silverfish, you work with a bunch of complete dickbags.

In my experience I so far haven't come across that sour grape sort of mentality when I open doors or help people. It's manners, not chivalry. It's only sexist when there is an issue made over it regarding gender.

Last week I was walking back into my work cabin and there were a crowd of lads coming the other way out the door. I stepped aside and one of them shouted 'jaysus lads, you'd think one of yiz could let the girl through'
    I know the chap meant well, but to be honest I felt a bit embarrassed. I would rather not be treated with any more or less respect or manners because I am a chick.

I don't think that's chivalrous or sexist just basic manners. I really think people over-analyse this stuff sometimes.

Not really, what Michael Ring said was sexist and should be challenged.

I find the word chivalrous quite outdated tbh. Chivalry is based on the idea that we should treat someone differnetly because of their sex, and specifically treat women differnetly because they are percieved to be weaker and fragile.

Now dont get we wrong, I am all for politeness and common courtesy.
    I think men should be kind to women, and women kind to men.This includes holding doors open for each other etc.

What Michael Ring said was sexist. I hate when people swear to other people. Its the rudest thing anyone can do and It shows a huge ignorance of the person doing the swearing. This has nothing to do with gender and suggesting women are to fragile to hear swear words really just reinforces how terribly patriarchal the dail still is.
    I think society spends so much time focussing on how vunerable us women are that it forgets how vunerable men are, and this leads to enormous problems in our society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Have to admit I was expecting something else opening this thread but his comment is just a stupid one. Outdated and daft. If anything he was probably trying to be the opposite of sexist and just tripped himself up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

NothingMan wrote: »
    Really? (Y) ?
    Aside from the "it's just plain manners" aspect, I can't see any archaic reason for it in the way that Michael Ring seems to think that women can't handle bad language.
    WindSock wrote: »
    Jesus Silverfish, you work with a bunch of complete dickbags.
    Last week I was walking back into my work cabin and there were a crowd of lads coming the other way out the door. I stepped aside and one of them shouted 'jaysus lads, you'd think one of yiz could let the girl through'
    I know the chap meant well, but to be honest I felt a bit embarrassed. I would rather not be treated with any more or less respect or manners because I am a chick.
    I've actually seen that occur here too, where a bunch of lads goes through a door that a woman's waiting to go through, inevitably someone either stops to let her though (blocking everyone else) or makes a comment along the above lines, and the girl is often embarrassed and thanking/apologising to everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭dogeyknees

This chivalry/ sexist thing does my head in sometimes. A lot of women seem to pick and choose what is sexist or chivalrous depending on whether it benefits them or not. I was brought up to be a gentleman but i have abandoned that as there are not many 'ladies' about these days and i got sick of the snipes and dirty looks for doing something 'nice'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

WindSock wrote: »

See to me that sounds like he thought they just should've let you through. If it was a fella instead of you and he referred to him as a "fella" should that person feel embarrassed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

In my own experience women have a lot of double standards when it comes to things like this, to some holding open a door or lifting something is some caveman way of saying shes not capable,not doing it is you being an unchivalrous dick, i do things to be nice and thats it, seems women are the ones who over analyse it, when im out with my gf i hold the door open for her and let her go through sometimes, other times she does it for me, its called basic manners, nothing more. I work in an office thats 85-90% women and have heard people whinging when they have to lift something heavier than a stapler, and others who complain when one of us lads is asked to do it as they have no problem doing it themselves, horses for courses i guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Mackleton

To be fair, I agree with the other poster that said he was probably trying too hard to be chivalrous but went the other way. Happens quite frequently when people try too hard to be totally PC and end up sounding like bigots.

Personally I find that a lot of the men of this generation seem to have given up the opening doors, pulling out seats lark. Not sure why this is but it doesn't really bother me, why should a man do that just because he feels obliged? Like I absolutely wouldn't expect a man to pay for the first date, halves all the way with that stuff. I would hold a door for man, and have done twice today already!

On the other hand, I would be miffed if a man, witnessed me struggling with something, or carrying something so that I couldn't open the door and walked right past me, to me that's just ignoring common courtesy. If a guy is a decent, well brought up person then usually they will jump right in if they see I am a a disadvantage, stuff like walking you home at night, or helping lift something.

I think you all are right saying that in this day and age all a woman (or most women) would accept is the common courtesy you would show anyone else, not special treatment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

amacachi wrote: »
    See to me that sounds like he thought they just should've let you through. If it was a fella instead of you and he referred to him as a "fella" should that person feel embarrassed?

It is an unwritten common sense rule to let people 'out' first before going in.

I doubt very much he would have piped up if I were a dude. But he was trying to do the right thing. Of course I amn't going to scold him for it. Sometimes I would politely say 'ah I'm grand, thanks' though. I expect nothing. However that doesn't mean I would refuse help if it's offered and I needed it. That's just silly.

Mackleton wrote: »
    To be fair, I agree with the other poster that said he was probably trying too hard to be chivalrous but went the other way. Happens quite frequently when people try too hard to be totally PC and end up sounding like bigots.

Personally I find that a lot of the men of this generation seem to have given up the opening doors, pulling out seats lark. Not sure why this is but it doesn't really bother me, why should a man do that just because he feels obliged? Like I absolutely wouldn't expect a man to pay for the first date, halves all the way with that stuff. I would hold a door for man, and have done twice today already!

On the other hand, I would be miffed if a man, witnessed me struggling with something, or carrying something so that I couldn't open the door and walked right past me, to me that's just ignoring common courtesy. If a guy is a decent, well brought up person then usually they will jump right in if they see I am a a disadvantage, stuff like walking you home at night, or helping lift something.

I think you all are right saying that in this day and age all a woman (or most women) would accept is the common courtesy you would show anyone else, not special treatment.

I have given up on opening doors as i was shouted at by a woman for doing so! I would always help someone struggling, male or female but some women just use this as a way of getting out of a bit of work. I have had a few arguments with women at work who ask me to carry something downstairs - if its heavy, i can understand, if its not then carry it yourself and don't do the helpless act.

I had my knee reconstructed a few years ago and 2 weeks after i came off crutches some of the women were at me to carry stuff downstairs for them - i was barely able to support my own weight let alone carry stuff... ironically whilst on crutches, not once did a woman offer up her seat when i was getting the bus. Equality is a 2 way thing.

dogeyknees wrote: »
    I had my knee reconstructed a few years ago

So it's true what they say about usernames hehe :)

Yep, that's the reason for the name... plus the fact that i have to take glucosamine every day as i am farked if i don't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Michael Ring would have been better of saying that Paul Gogarty was no gentleman and left it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

And I've experienced this -and so have other females I know- in jobs where they are the only female. It's just the way it is.
    Thats not always the way it is. I've been in a male dominated field from the time I left school. I was the only girl on my course, I then worked in an engineers where there was one other girl - the receptionist. I moved from there to another company where again I was the only girl in a workforce of up to 30 at times.

I have experienced some sexist comments, mainly from customers in the second job and strangers who find girls in hard hats funny in the first. I have never ever experienced anything near what you seem to have.

If a man offers to carry something heavy for me, I wouldn't take it as an insult. I think it's sweet. I remember moving out of home. I did my first food shop on my own, got the trolley to the carpark and realised......I had to somehow carry all the bags home. Silly I know, I should have thought of it before hand, but I didn't. :o Anyway, I was struggling up the road with my bags when a man, about 17 or 18, and not Irish, ran up to me and offered to help. I was so grateful. He helped me back to the house and as I was saying thanks he just said welcome and left. The reason I mention that is because he was so obviously not expecting anything else like an invitation in etc. He did it to be nice and I'm sure if he saw a man struggling in the same way, he'd have done the same.

Sometimes sexism can be disguised as chivalry, but sometimes just being nice can be disguised as chivalry. If someone does something nice for me, I thank them. I don't try to figure out the reason WHY they did it or what their real motive was. I just appreciate it.

Thats not always the way it is. I've been in a male dominated field from the time I left school. I was the only girl on my course, I then worked in an engineers where there was one other girl - the receptionist. I moved from there to another company where again I was the only girl in a workforce of up to 30 at times.

I have experienced some sexist comments, mainly from customers in the second job and strangers who find girls in hard hats funny in the first. I have never ever experienced anything near what you seem to have.
    I'm delighted and reassured that you haven't experienced this at all, but I can assure you it does happen.

In my last job, I was the 3rd female to resign due to sexist behaviour, and there has been one girl who has resigned since me, I believe there's a male working in the role now. When the issue was raised with management, they said 'It's just the way it is' so it was a quote from them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I think it's a disgrace you experienced that, it's bullying whether it was directed at a man or a woman. Did all of that happen in one business or have you experienced it elsewhere too?

I wonder, if a man made a statement that women treat them in a certain way, and thats just the way it is, everyone would be jumping on them saying that they are making assumptions on all women based on experience with a few and that in itself is sexist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

It shouldn't be the way it is. If somebody treated my girlfriend like that in work or anywhere else, I'm pretty sure she'd respond with a kick in the gonads, and she'd be dead right. I work in a place with a lot of women, and I treat them with respect, it's really not difficult to have manners.

don't be afraid to stand up for yourself, and don't be afraid to pull the face off the next lad that slams a door in yours.

It's happened in one or two places. Now, the majority of workplaces have been fine, it's just the odd time, one person has taken issue with a female being in the role, and manages to get almost a 'mob' together, I would imagine for anyone who doesn't agree it would be very hard to speak up.
    But in fairness, a few have on my behalf.

I go out of my way to be courteous, civil, friendly, smiley, and helpful - just to ensure I am in no way bringing this behaviour on myself. I don't rise to it, however if there have been a number of incidents, I raise it with management. But it is just the way it is - for example, no invite to the office xmas party based on gender. I don't bat an eyelid because I'd rather have a job than fight this particular battle, but I'm just giving the example that there's worse kinds of sexism than someone trying to be nice in a clumsy awkward buffoonish way.

That said, I don't really believe in chivalry, I believe in courteous and civil behaviour, from both sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

It's about respect and consideration for the other person - regardless of sex. We are undoubtedly guilty of overthinking every situation. I don't think it's sexism, or chivalry - or indeed, sexism as chivalry re the OP.

It's happened in one or two places. Now, the majority of workplaces have been fine, it's just the odd time, one person has taken issue with a female being in the role, and manages to get almost a 'mob' together, I would imagine for anyone who doesn't agree it would be very hard to speak up.
    But in fairness, a few have on my behalf.

I go out of my way to be courteous, civil, friendly, smiley, and helpful - just to ensure I am in no way bringing this behaviour on myself. I don't rise to it, however if there have been a number of incidents, I raise it with management. But it is just the way it is - for example, no invite to the office xmas party based on gender. I don't bat an eyelid because I'd rather have a job than fight this particular battle, but I'm just giving the example that there's worse kinds of sexism than someone trying to be nice in a clumsy awkward buffoonish way.

That said, I don't really believe in chivalry, I believe in courteous and civil behaviour, from both sides.

Works both ways though - i have worked with events staff who were all women and i was subject to sexist behavior and they deliberately made my job difficult and constantly tried to embarrass me. Its not just men who are sexist, women can be just as bad... if a bloke grabs a woman's ass in a nightclub he is a sexist pig and could get charged with sexual assault.. if a woman grabs a blokes ass its a bit of a laugh. Go figure?

Yes I get you, but this is the Ladies Lounge so it was posted here for the ladies point of view.

Perhaps a new thread in the Gentlemens Club could be an idea to discuss the other side of it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I've experienced the inverse of this- abuse from women, when I hold open a door, or are otherwise polite or mannerly. Just because I hold open a door, does not mean I'm being sexist, and does not mean that I somehow imagine the person I am allowing through the door is somehow incapable of holding it open themselves- its just good manners. Similarly I've had some of the same women slam the door shut when I tried to leave behind them carrying things- and then laughing at me struggling with a computer monitor and the door at the same time.

People do over analyse- its good manners to hold a door open when someone has something in their hands- or to let someone leave before you enter. Its not sexist- and it doesn't imply anything whatsoever.

Good manners seem to have been forgotten by many.

I have given up on opening doors as i was shouted at by a woman for doing so!
    smccarrick wrote: »
    I've experienced the inverse of this- abuse from women, when I hold open a door, or are otherwise polite or mannerly.

Well this is very unusual behavior and I would put it down to someone having a bad day rather than women having some sort of chip on their shoulder when men do something polite and mannerly for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Seonad

Personally I would let anyone older than me out first and after that whoever is closest to the door. It's not something I think about really-I just do it. I do very much get where you're coming from though and I think for all intents and purposes this sort of thing isn't really sexist. It's seems to be more of a habit. I can remember a male friend of mine wailing to me one day after 2 'old dears' assailed him after he stopped to let them pass at a door. It's a shame situations like this occur because the people are generally always well-intentioned.
    ironically whilst on crutches, not once did a woman offer up her seat when i was getting the bus. Equality is a 2 way thing.

This happened to me when I was in Secondary school too. I had badly twisted my ankle and spent 2 days on crutches. When I got on the bus nobody let me sit down. Sometimes people are just dicks:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Where the hell do you lot work if you get abuse for holding a bloody door open??? :p

Its nice to be nice, I just think its mannerly to keep doors open behind you, but rarely would let anyone in first ahead of me, whether they are male/ female, young or old. But I would not close a door on someones face, unless they are far enough behind I won't do it, am not gonna stand there like a fool waiting for someone unless I have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

The 1950's called they want their way of thinking back:p

Yes I get you, but this is the Ladies Lounge so it was posted here for the ladies point of view.

Perhaps a new thread in the Gentlemens Club could be an idea to discuss the other side of it.

Not allowed a men's only club - its sexist!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Well this is very unusual behavior and I would put it down to someone having a bad day rather than women having some sort of chip on their shoulder when men do something polite and mannerly for them.

In Ireland its actually very common for a guy to get abuse if he holds a door open for a woman- its far from unusual. It would be nice to have a simple "thankyou", or even just to be ignored, but sadly its incredibly common to have abuse hurdled at you.

BluesBerry wrote: »

The 1950's called they want their way of thinking back:p

Uhhmm I was actually being serious and stating fact,that theres not many women in the dail unless there working as a secretarys for male, or the few female, td's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

In Ireland its actually very common for a guy to get abuse if he holds a door open for a woman- its far from unusual. It would be nice to have a simple "thankyou", or even just to be ignored, but sadly its incredibly common to have abuse hurdled at you.

That's disgusting if someone is the type of person who is a gentleman and having good manners and acting on them is a matter of honour for them and I consider it rude and churlish to rebuke them for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Varyn

I'm quite 'modern'(:rolleyes:) in that I wouldn't like anyone telling me what to do or that I couldn't do something just because I'm a woman (a career guidance guy once told me I wouldn't get anywhere in law as it's a man's world, and after that I was intent on entering it just to prove him wrong..until I realised it actually wasn't for me anyway!) However, I have no problem with guys holding doors open etc. It's just being nice and courteous, not sexist. I do it too, both for my girl and guy friends! I don't think it's sexist. Some of my guy friends look surprised sometimes though which is funny :p. And I definitely wouldn't have a problem with a guy helping me lift something heavy..it's a fact that the average guy has more muscle than the average woman so it's not sexist! The guys (and girls) I work with often give me a hand if I'm trying to move something or reach something and I think it's great! Same with a guy offering to walk you home. None of my guy friends would let any of the girls walk home alone at night and they insist. While it's obviously dangerous for anyone on the streets at night nowadays, girls do seem to be more at risk (imo). I think it's a lovely gesture and makes me love them all even more because it just shows they care about us. Obviously if it was only girls out we would all be careful too that none of the group has to walk home alone, so this doesn't just extend to guys - it's about looking after the people you care about. I will admit a guy being a little bit 'chivalrous' (old fashioned word though..) makes me a bit fuzzy inside but I wouldn't expect it or require it to be friends or have a relationship with someone. For example I wouldn't EXPECT a guy to give me his coat when I'm cold..cos then he'd be cold! But the mere fact that he offered it makes me smile, even though I always say no!

Long post.. and just reading back over this I realise I seem a bit confused about the whole thing anyway :o Basically if everyone had decent manners the world would be a slightly better place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I do notice this, but be careful about hurrying to overtake. It might make the woman think you are running to catch her and you might get an elbow to the throat.;)

Some men just don't even think about it though. I was walking my dogs last week in a wooded are which is quite off the beaten track in my local nature park. I go up there as it's a safe place for my dogs to walk off lead and they don't bother anyone. It was the afternoon so it was still bright, but it's not an area I'd go near after dark.

After about a minute I realised there was a man walking behind me, keeping pace with me. I initially thought it was a fisherman as people often fish in the area up beyond me but he had no rod, he also had no dog. There is nowhere to go beyond the fishing spots so I was a bit freaked out as to why he was on this path. I looked back at him a few times so he could see I saw him and I called the dogs back to me so he could see I had dogs with me so I wasn't completely unprotected. He walked along behind me for a little bit and went another way when I headed back to the main paths.

I was completely on alert all the time he was behind me I was uncomfortable and on 'flight or fight' mode the whole rest of the walk. Tbh, I don't think he had any ill intent I just don't think he gave a second thought to the fact that walking along behind a woman in a secluded area might freak her out a bit.

Not allowed a men's only club - its sexist!

Gentlemen's Club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I think it all comes down to common sense in most circumstances, Ring was just looking for any reason to make his complaint sound more valid. On the other hand there are some occasions that genuinely warrant it, like giving a pregnant woman your seat or opening the door for an old lady/man....

As an able-bodied female, I wouldn't expect any special treatment but of course if a man wants to help lift a heavy box or change my flat, he's more than welcome & I would be very grateful for the help! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I do this now.
    I didn't used to, but then I accidently made a woman scream by walking out of the shadows towards her (I'm around 6'4'' and somewhat heavyset, so it would be scary). Was just walking home, swinging a freshly bought two litres of milk in my hand, my mind a million miles away, when she got out of a taxi, just as I emerged from the shadows of her hedge (was walking parallel).

I jumped a foot when she suddenly turned and shrieked.

As above, I'm 6'4'' and heavyset, if I throw my weight around in an elevator someone is getting squashed. I think the fact that I could easily barge through and trample everyone, makes me okay with waiting and letting them go first.

It's weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

but sadly its incredibly common to have abuse hurdled at you.
    One advantage of being tall, and wearing a trenchcoat: they say thanks, or nothing at all :D
    iguana wrote: »
    After about a minute I realised there was a man walking behind me, keeping pace with me.
    If within a metre of them, I overtake. If a fair bit behind them, I'd stop, itch the leg, or roll a rollie ans start smoking it, to make distance if it's dark. If it's bright, I tend not to do this.

=-=

As for giving up my seat: mainly only for old people. If someone is on a crutch, sometimes (unless they're a scumbag, then I ignore them totally).

I do this now.
    I didn't used to, but then I accidently made a woman scream by walking out of the shadows towards her (I'm around 6'4'' and somewhat heavyset, so it would be scary). Was just walking home, swinging a freshly bought two litres of milk in my hand, my mind a million miles away, when she got out of a taxi, just as I emerged from the shadows of her hedge (was walking parallel).

I jumped a foot when she suddenly turned and shrieked.

I'm 4 foot ten and got a thump in the face when I was walking behind some woman for a while and attempted overtaking. Startled yelling on both parts. So it happens us all, I think its more a sign of the times rather than any reflection on an individual :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

Sexism disguised as chivalry affects me in that I find it creepy. In a situation like that, the person's actions don't match their thoughts, and I'm very wary of anyone who pretends to be something they're not.

Chivalry in itself is the same as basic manners. I think a man/woman who holds doors open has good manners. I think a man who (on a regular basis) uses the equality argument to disguise the fact that he's no manners doesn't understand basic human interaction. I think a woman who (on a regular basis) shouts at/ignores people for helping her doesn't understand basic human interaction.

Then there are the people who just don't realise that someone has helped them, or that they've let the door slam in someone's face because they have just been to the hospital and found out they're terminally ill/they've just lost their job/they've broken up with their boyfriend or girlfriend. I think this is the case in that most people are away in their own worlds, and aren't being rude just to make a point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Until a couple of weeks ago, I would have been happily oblivious to you ... however last time a guy hurried up quickly behind me at night, he punched me in the back of the head and robbed my bag. :rolleyes: So yeah, I am quite conscious of who's around me these days, and particularly men. So I have to admit I would be much happier if you did just hurry past me than to keep pace a few feet behind me all the way home! But as I said, I'm just particularly paranoid at the moment.