Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shawshank Redemption

• 12-12-2009 9:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 47

This brilliant film is on Channel 4 now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

The most over-rated, and formulaic film I've ever seen. The people who haven't seen enough good films generally call this their favourite movie of all time.

It's a good film, an enjoyable tale, but not better than the true great films.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 pheonix1234

and what is your true great film?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Good on ya OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Best film of all time imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Love this movie, one of my favourites..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Funnily enough, it is my favourite film of all time.

Christ.. if that makes me someone "who haven't seen enough good films", so be it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

basquille wrote: »
    Probably one of my personal favourites too..

You enjoy your curry :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

An amusing yarn, but predictable. The fantasy end on the beach with boat was a bit far fetched, providing an unreal happy Hollywood ending for the lead and supporting characters.

I would put The Tenth Man (1989), staring Anthony Hopkins, ahead of Shawshank Redemption for the prison genre. The plot and character development was superior, as was the building tension up until the climax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

You enjoy your curry :)
    You quoted me before I finished editing it...

OT: It was a chow mein, and twas very tasty - despite being charged for it twice! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Aliens is on Film4 (even better :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

omahaid wrote: »
    Aliens is on Film4 (even better :D)

Yup im watching it on film4+1. Yes ive seen it at least 20 times but i still gotta watch it!!!:D

Feckin brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Good entertaining film, one or two things I don't like about it but it easy to watch every now and again

Shawshank is a pretty good film I suppose. I enjoyed it when I seen it, but the ending kind of put me off it. Green Mile is superior in my opinion where Jail/Prison kinda stuff is concerned, but of course, neither can go head to head with Terminator 2: Judgement Day (in my opinion).

As much as i enjoy the Shawsham redemption, its just a little too easy-going for me, i dont find it gripping enough.
    Its the sort of movie you watch to relax after watching a real heavy weight tense action/thriller or something.

Dont get me wrong i really like the movie but its a little mild.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

will someone explain what andy does for the warden and how they are actually scamming money and how come the guards aren't chasing the fictional character andy made up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

mink_man wrote: »
    will someone explain what andy does for the warden and how they are actually scamming money and how come the guards aren't chasing the fictional character andy made up?

Could be any sort of financial scams, hiding money, probably tax fraud or something

I think he probably exonerates himself by mailing evidence to the press, but maybe they do look for him, plus they don't know where he went, closed the bank accounts etc

Maybe the book goes into it more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,470 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

great movie abouttobebanned you obviously have a poor taste in movies, Shanshank sits on top of the imdb top 250 movies ever, its always listed in peoples top 10 movies of all time and whenever its on most people will switch on and watch it (although I was watching this and Saving Private Ryan on RTE 2 tonight flicking between both :) )
    as for the idea of Terminator 2 being better then this I don't think so actually I was let down by T2 felt Arnie should have been left as a bad Terminator, but thats for a different thread.

great movie abouttobebanned you obviously have a poor taste in movies, Shanshank sits on top of the imdb top 250 movies ever, its always listed in peoples top 10 movies of all time and whenever its on most people will switch on and watch it (although I was watching this and Saving Private Ryan on RTE 2 tonight flicking between both :) )
    as for the idea of Terminator 2 being better then this I don't think so actually I was let down by T2 felt Arnie should have been left as a bad Terminator, but thats for a different thread.

Reading your profile name, i recommend you tread lightly around the subject of poor taste.!!!!!!!:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

The people who haven't seen enough good films generally call this their favourite movie of all time.

Opinion

Opinion

Tonight on Celebrity Death Match - Opinion vs Opinion

Lets get it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The most over-rated, and formulaic film I've ever seen. The people who haven't seen enough good films generally call this their favourite movie of all time.

I'd put people who rate Citizen Kane as the best movie ever at the top of people who have no taste in movies before people who rate Shawshank as theirs, each to their own though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Problems with Shawshank Redemption.

1) How come Red is about the only black guy in an American prison?

2) How usual is it for a lifer to spend his entire stretch in the same cell, a premise without which the whole plot of the film falls on its ass?

3) How did Andy manage to replace the poster on the wall after climbing into the narrow tunnel?

4) where did he get the time to start a library, help the young kid through his high school exams, launder the warden's books AND stay up all night picking a hole in his wall? Come on, guys.

5) How come the guards didn't hear the sound of his chiselling at night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Problems with Shawshank Redemption.

1) How come Red is about the only black guy in an American prison?

2) How usual is it for a lifer to spend his entire stretch in the same cell, a premise without which the whole plot of the film falls on its ass?

3) How did Andy manage to replace the poster on the wall after climbing into the narrow tunnel?

4) where did he get the time to start a library, help the young kid through his high school exams, launder the warden's books AND stay up all night picking a hole in his wall? Come on, guys.

5) How come the guards didn't hear the sound of his chiselling at night?

1. He's not, theres plenty of black inmates there, one of them is played by Morgan Freemans son (who also provides the profile pic of the younger Red on his conviction sheet) also, hes not black in the book, he's a red-headed Irishman (hence the name)

2. Thats the entire point of him sucking up to the warden the whole time, its explained in the book

3. its hung by the top of the poster, once he climbed in the poster would have just fallen back to its original position, you only need 2 pieces of blue-tack to hang a poster not 4

4. He's been there 19 years, seriously?it takes him at least 2 years to get the initial funds for the library and then another few to get more books for it, the laundering is done in the evenings and the hole digging is done at night time, taking 19 years

5. Hes doing it with a tiny rock hammer, not a pneumatic drill, its why it takes so long

movies are more fun when you pay attention ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Thats a pretty elitist attitude right there. I've seen most of what are considered the 'the classics', and i still say its the best film ever made. Obviously thats my opinion, but at least my opinion isnt slightly insulting to people who like the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I really enjoyed it:). It's one of those films you come across when you're flicking through the channels and you get engrossed in it straight away. The Green Mile was brilliant but I'd've preferred a happier ending.. it's heartbreaking. Same goes for Braveheart. Jaws has to be one of my favourite films of all time too, I never tire of it.

Kiith wrote: »
    Thats a pretty elitist attitude right there. I've seen most of what are considered the 'the classics', and i still say its the best film ever made. Obviously thats my opinion, but at least my opinion isnt slightly insulting to people who like the film.

Don't mean to insult anyone - as I said, it's an entertaining movie, to many an inspiring film...but I believe that it has got all these "greatest" tags because it has a lot of the traits that people love in a movie...some humour, some tears, some inspiration and a great big twist at the end. I didn't like, actually I hated one major thing in the movie, it was something that, to me strips it of at least 2 points in IMDB land...you can guess....it's the bit where someone comes forward who's met the real killer...who just happened to confess all...it's just a bit silly and not something you'd see in a greatest movie of all time.

Look, it's a really enjoyable film, and I suppose in a certain snobbish way it annoys me that so many people, somewhat lazily, call it their favourite film of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Look, it's a really enjoyable film, and I suppose in a certain snobbish way it annoys me that so many people, somewhat lazily, call it their favourite film of all time.

Well they have every right to call anything they like their favourite film of all time.
    Favourite film =/= best film.

At which point did I say it didn't? All I said is that it annoys me.

I think the problem is you've essentially said that anybody that considers TSR their favourite film basically doesnt know what their talking about because in your opinion they havent watched every single film ever made!:rolleyes: A little condescending maybe?
    Before you think im having a go at you i actually agree with your criticism.
    But if someone thinks its the bees knees, well thats fair enough. Thats their opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Well, your first post in this thread stated:
    The people who haven't seen enough good films generally call this their favourite movie of all time.
    and then later you implied that people who consider it their favourite film of all time are somewhat lazy.
    Anyway, there is no point getting annoyed by what people's favourite film is. A friend of mine's favourite film is Pirates of the Carribean. More power to him. Who are we to tell him to watch more films so that he'll find a better film to be his favourite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

In my opinion it's the best film ever made by an absolute mile, it's the most uplifting, wonderful and inspiring piece of entertainment ever.

I never stop going on about how much I love films like Pulp fiction, Usual supects, Braveheart, Termiator2, Star wars...but none of these are anywhere near close to Shawshank imo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

Adore the film. Watched it last night on channel 4 even though the dvd was staring me in the face.

Makes me want to go to Zihuatanejo and restore an old boat.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Lets be honest people - the ending was a FANTASTIC idea, because if they'd left it the way the book did, someone ****ing exec would have thought

"I've got a great idea!! Lets make a sequel, and have them meet up"

"Then what would happen?"

"I don't know - it's a buddy movie. We'll make it up as we go along. Maybe add a dog...or Joe Pesci"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

Reading your profile name, i recommend you tread lightly around the subject of poor taste.!!!!!!!:D:D:D

come on, the first movie was good :cool:

indough wrote: »
    come on, the first movie was good :cool:

Ahmm.....good? Nah not really, not for me. It was different, i'l give you that. But hey one mans treasure is another mans trash!;)
    I thought the 80's horror The Keep was good & ive been laughed at because of it! Bloody philistines.:D