Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

scrappage

• 11-12-2009 7:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭

theoretical question only...can I trade my NCT exempt classic in under the scrappage scheme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

i would say so,does the car have to be NCTd when its scrapped as in england?
    Good question though.

And if your scrapping the S,il match the scrappage offer...:p;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

under the budget the car needs an NCT or one that ran out less than 6 months ago (iirc)

£1500 for the S? Thats exactly what I paid for it...:cool:

Looks like a no to your original question so corky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

yeah, in UK it needs current mot & you have to have owned it for either 6mths or a year, cant remember... thats just to stop you paying €100 for a car & the next day tradin it in

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Might be worth consulting the Revenue. If they stand by the requirements of an NCT then there must be a maximum vehicle age limit to the scheme, (*on a technicality, rather than a stipulation of age) unless of course the vehicle has been subject of a voluntary NCT.

macplaxton wrote: »
    Might be worth consulting the Revenue. If they stand by the requirements of an NCT then there must be a maximum vehicle age limit to the scheme, (*on a technicality, rather than a stipulation of age) unless of course the vehicle has been subject of a voluntary NCT.
    Looks like its a good thing for classics going by the above.
    A thirty year cut off would be perfect.

macplaxton wrote: »

that was my thinking....would mean no classics being lost, although I suppose you are right about voluntary NCTs being possible...(but you'd have to wait 18 months IIRC

corktina wrote: »
    that was my thinking....would mean no classics being lost, although I suppose you are right about voluntary NCTs being possible...(but you'd have to wait 18 months IIRC

Its crazy that you would have to test a car for roadworthiness and emissions complience in order to crush it!It doesnt make sense.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

Its crazy that you would have to test a car for roadworthiness and emissions complience in order to crush it!It doesnt make sense.:mad:

nothing this goverment do,s makes sense :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭andr3w103

what type of car is it? .....just out of intrest

andr3w103 wrote: »
    what type of car is it? .....just out of intrest
    Just a rusty ol green cortina id say...;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Magnum

Which one ,light green or dark green....:D:D:D

Magnum wrote: »
    Which one ,light green or dark green....:D:D:D
    The 3.0S,the sexiest cortina in the land IMO.:D

Maybe he's considering trading in the Tanus:eek::eek::eek:

Magnum wrote: »
    Maybe he's considering trading in the Tanus:eek::eek::eek:
    Lol..i dont think he will be impressed with this kinda talk!:D

........yes...but all the rusty ol cortinas will be gone thanks to this scrappage scheme..then we'll be crying and we'll have to start making more lol

........yes...but all the rusty ol cortinas will be gone thanks to this scrappage scheme..
    Alot of them went in the last one,though alot of damn good ones went too.:(
    A friends mother had one with 40.000 miles up,she got it from her father who had it since new in 1982,twas absolutely mint,scrapped it for a new corsa in 1997.A waste.

Alot of them went in the last one,though alot of damn good ones went too.:(
    A friends mother had one with 40.000 miles up,she got it from her father who had it since new in 1982,twas absolutely mint,scrapped it for a new corsa in 1997.A waste.
    feckin terrible.....i was reading in autocar and saw a a4 , a few civics,a e class and a mgb in good condition all with low milage. and then on top of it a fiat bravo with only 1500 miles!.. imagine a good vintage mgb going to waste though .. discracefull. In a few years what are we going to do for a vintage car

True,alot of 1980s cars and beyond will fall by the wayside i suppose due to scrappage and the now yearly NCT,but there will always be fans of various newer marques keeping them going and preserving them.

Alot of the younger lads are into 80s Carinas and the like nowadays,as can be seen at shows,i know some of the older lads dont agree with it,but its just the way it goes.

There seems to be two,maybe three types of classic owner,the guys who like the mercs and sports cars,probably cars they wanted when they were younger but couldnt afford,and the guys who buy hugely expensive older rolls royces,bentleys and that sort of thing,and lads like myself who buy older, ordinary when they were new cars for more nostalgic reasons.
    Datsuns arent good looking,or valuable,but i always get stopped at petrol stations and at shows by someone who either had one,or whos father/uncle etc had one,and thats what i like,theres always a good story behind the more ordinary cars,that used to be popular and common but are now practially extinct.Though with the Datsuns its always a rust related story!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

Just wondering how you would go about doing a voluntary NCT/DoE?

I would be interested in seeing how the MGB copes. Are there any consequences if you fail it?

True,alot of 1980s cars and beyond will fall by the wayside i suppose due to scrappage and the now yearly NCT,but there will always be fans of various newer marques keeping them going and preserving them.

Alot of the younger lads are into 80s Carinas and the like nowadays,as can be seen at shows,i know some of the older lads dont agree with it,but its just the way it goes.

There seems to be two,maybe three types of classic owner,the guys who like the mercs and sports cars,probably cars they wanted when they were younger but couldnt afford,and the guys who buy hugely expensive older rolls royces,bentleys and that sort of thing,and lads like myself who buy older, ordinary when they were new cars for more nostalgic reasons.
    Datsuns arent good looking,or valuable,but i always get stopped at petrol stations and at shows by someone who either had one,or whos father/uncle etc had one,and thats what i like,theres always a good story behind the more ordinary cars,that used to be popular and common but are now practially extinct.Though with the Datsuns its always a rust related story!:D
    yep , im young and i know a load of people who think normal seirras(not cosworths) and carinas etc are cool, i dont get it.. i think alot of the time likin carinas and them 4 door corrolas are just for the craic though, like that song on youtube carina car.........i like all them types of clasic cars lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

Recent article in the Irish Time on NCT and Classic cars. interesting
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/motors/2010/0106/1224261724660.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 NOTSURE

hi,i have 73 merc 350 sl its on done deal will take 3k ,needs some work but well worth 3k,rang garage and they said they will allow 3k against any new car regardless of scrappage ,if not sold by end of feb its bye bye merc and hello new focus diesel,shame to see it scrapped but had some ridiculous offers for a genuine classic that could be used immediately,what do you think?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Lauder wrote: »
    Just wondering how you would go about doing a voluntary NCT/DoE?

You pay the money, they do the test.
    Lauder wrote: »
    I would be interested in seeing how the MGB copes. Are there any consequences if you fail it?

I'd be interested to, no reason why it shouldn't pass (is there?) The only consequences of a fail is if it was something safety critical that the insurers could throw back at you for non-disclosure.

I plan to take my cars in soon. It'll be interesting.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

NOTSURE wrote: »
    hi,i have 73 merc 350 sl its on done deal will take 3k
    Can't find it - not surprised you can't sell it. :pac:
    NOTSURE wrote: »
    bye bye merc and hello new focus diesel
    Hello depreciation!

light green AND dark green.....funny how the 3.0S isnt so sexy when i drive it...:rolleyes:

6iuus9.jpg

You dont want to do that, I'll give you more that the scrappage....

light green AND dark green.....funny how the 3.0S isnt so sexy when i drive it...:rolleyes:
    Why not,is it a pig on the road?

6iuus9.jpg
    i never thought id say this but......TTHAT CORTINA IS COOL!....im in a state of shock now :D

watever it is its a cool pig :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

For the love of God mate, just don't do it.

no no when I drive it.....:D

not a chance.....purely hypothetical...im going to be buried in that car....:)

sleep easy volvo man....

i never thought id say this but......TTHAT CORTINA IS COOL!....im in a state of shock now :D

ha ha...you should see the dark green one....its my belief i own the two best corties in ireland (in terms of sex)

not a chance.....purely hypothetical...im going to be buried in that car....:)....
    Well,ill be out in the middle of the night with a shovel!

ha ha...you should see the dark green one....its my belief i own the two best corties in ireland (in terms of sex)
    class.... i just think of fr.ted whenever i see one though lol.... but there actually better looking than i thought... sorta muscle car in a way

per leaze...Fr Teds car was a mk5...i wouldnt be seen dead in one of them let alone buried in it....:D

(i would really but prefer the comedy answer....:D

per leaze...Fr Teds car was a mk5...i wouldnt be seen dead in one of them let alone buried in it....:D

(i would really but prefer the comedy answer....:D
    haha...sum program :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

is that your gt

did you decide not to sell her in the end?

no this is the GT....noone interested in her so she is still here....

2yv7z40.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

nice cortina i used to work on one of those years ago pli westmeath reg it is in a shed now fairly rotten and not for sale it was only the 1300cc which i thought was too small for the car

yes a bit underpowerws but a 1600 is a straight swap....

Im told the 3.0 V6 fits quite well too....:D

2.8 is easier if you can find a donor 2.3 cortina....

2.3 cortinas are quite rare nowadays though arent they,surely it would be better to keep it original?

lol.....you were the one said stick a 3 litre in it!!!!

haha,ya,in a hangin old 1600!:D