Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

f*** you Deputy Stagg! F*** you!"

• 11-12-2009 4:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭

And so it begins. . . .

Government TD in foul-mouthed outburst in Dáil

A Government TD has today launched a foul-mouthed attack on a member of the Opposition during the Dáil debate on the Social Welfare Bill.

Green TD Paul Gogarty admitted that he believes the Bill, which makes cuts in allowances to the blind and carers, is grossly unfair.

He also said the Government should have taken some money off the old age pension, rather than make cuts in the Budget for the blind.

But when Labour's Emmet Stagg accused Mr Gogarty of being insincere, he immediately launched a foul-mouthed attack on the TD.

Gogarty said: "With all due respect, in the most unparliamentarily language, f*** you Deputy Stagg! F*** you!", before immediately withdrawing and apologising for his comments.

http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/government-td-in-foul-mouthed-outburst-in-dail-437918.html

Was he right to snap ? 397 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 397 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Fair play lol

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,877 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Best thing a Green has done in government so far imo. I suddenly have a tiny bit of respect for them now after Gogarty showed a bit of bottle. :)

Newstalk played the clip a couple of times already. It's not just a muted "f**k you", there's real vigour behind it. You can imagine bits of spit flying out of his mouth as he says it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Deputy Stagg once got in trouble for other ****ing things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

That's ****in' tellen the *****! Man yerself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Should have looked closer to home if he wanted unleash an outburst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

Fair F**ks to him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

mikom wrote: »

''H-you whill whithdraw that stitement''

I love the way he avoids the banstick by immediately withdrawing the comment. If only that worked on here :)

"F**k you I immediately withdraw that comment and apologise unreservedly you F***ing bastard again I immediately withdraw . . . . ."

(* not a direct quote)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

stagg will go to the pheonix park to 'calm' down after it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Savage. I love the emphasis on "****" when he says it. If only he did that yesterday with the country watching...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

That was pretty heroic

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

Why 'lol' and 'fairplay'?? :confused: He sounds so ignorant. He sounds like he was jarred. Sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

mikom wrote: »

:confused: As in beat his children?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,877 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

He'll probably catch Gogarty afterwards in the Dáil bar, call him over and quietly whisper in his ear: "you know earlier, when you said about f**king, well I was just wondering.... you and me, the Park, 20 mins.... how does that sound?"

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

If there was more of this kind of thing on oireachtas report i'd watch it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

PauloMN wrote: »
    He'll probably catch Gogarty afterwards in the Dáil bar, call him over and quietly whisper in his ear: "you know earlier, when you said about f**king, well I was just wondering.... you and me, the Park, 20 mins.... how does that sound?"

I wonder whos the Giver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭fintonie

now 100 more like that and we might get something done,

I can see it now them all gettin stuck in kickin the fook out of each other like the chinese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,569 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

His parents must be so proud of him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meeja Ireland

"I am outraged that thomeone dareth quethtion my thincerity on thith ithue!"

He sounds like a mincing eunuch, and a little fit of swearing doesn't disguise the fact that he is part of the worst government in the history of this state. And they're not even there on principle. They are there to slide one greasy inch of buttock onto the seat of government at any cost to their dignity and the lives of the people they pretend to represent.

So **** you, Deputy Gogarty, and the piss-green bike you rode in on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A Green turning the air blue and blasting a hole through the ozone layer? Hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

My guess is Stagg's comment hit the mark, and hurt because it was accurate. Why else would he react?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Video Clip

Brilliant.

I like that he acknowledges that his seat is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭bertie4evr

About time someone said something.

On a side note did you see googles new feature?If you search his name it'll show you live twitter feeds about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

in all fairness he should be sacked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why did he withdraw it so quickly? Seems kind of premeditated to me.. he wanted to cause a furore

in all fairness he should be sacked

For telling another Dail member to **** off?

That gets you sacked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭woodzyx

unparliamentary language

From Wiki:
    In Dáil Éireann, the lower House in the Republic of Ireland, the Ceann Comhairle has ruled that it is disorderly for one TD to describe another as a brat, buffoon, chancer, communist, corner boy, coward, fascist, gurrier, guttersnipe, hypocrite, rat, scumbag, scurrilous speaker, or yahoo; or to insinuate that a TD is lying or drunk.

I think some of those are great :)
    in particular 'guttersnipe' and 'yahoo' :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Havent we little to be worrying about than some TD dropping a few F Bombs.

The country is almost bankrupted and here are people moaning about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

bertie4evr wrote: »
    About time someone said something.

Why does using unparlimentary language mean that he has "said something". It is part of this guy's job to maintain his composure, debate the issue and uphold the rules of the dail in doing so. He has lowered the standard of debate today to childish namecalling. Everyone in that room feels like saying f-off to everyone else but in order to progress beyond schoolyard politics they have to keep it in.

Saying Fúck does not a valid point make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

EKRIUQ wrote: »
    Deputy Stagg once got in trouble for ****ing other things
    FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Fair play to him. That Stagg seemed like an arrogant twat. I'd do the same.

Why did he withdraw it so quickly? Seems kind of premeditated to me.. he wanted to cause a furore

I think he just couldn't take it any more.

If you listen to what he said afterwards, he knows he isn't getting reelected, he's just trying to do his best while he's in there, and obviously he is finding it difficult.

I'd say it was genuine.
    I know there have been one or two people I've wanted to say that to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Fucking lol'd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Paul Gogarty Banned for personal abuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

He's still a ****ing tree hugging hippie woos though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I said "fair play to him" too til i saw the clip. He seems like a petulent arse who just fell outta college and somehow into a Dail seat. Funny but unnecessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I thought that was hilarious. I love his emphasis and head bounce when he says the f word.

Get Gordon Ramsey in there for a day and give him a run for his money :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

He'll get a good fcuking down there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

TheZohan wrote: »
    Paul Gogarty Banned for personal abuse
    Fuck you deputy Zohan, **** you!

Please don't ban me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭PatrickD32

why not fair play?

He obviously lost his temper on an issue thats important.

The clip on news on tv show nothing but the cursing.

Heres a tiny bit of the clip online.

http://www.tv3.ie/article.php?article_id=27622&locID=1.2.&pagename=news

FAIR PLAY TO HIM!

Cursing might not have been best option but least it got attention it deserved, instead of another day in dial where no1 listens!

Its after getting everyones attention to isnt it?
    How bout people read up on it now, as to why he got annoyed!

as for this poll (was he right to snap)
    People snap day in day out, doesnt make it right or wrong, its part of being a human!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

That was the weirdest delivery of "Fuck you" I've ever heard. I'm sure he intended to sound venomous, but it just came out like a schoolboy trying to look rebellious and get himself a detention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭hacx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Weak.
    Saying it and then withdrawing it instantly.

Handbags.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Video Clip

Brilliant.

I like that he acknowledges that his seat is gone.
    I can't stop laughing at the way he points around 45 secs:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

If he has the qualities for it, I want this guy as Taoiseach. We'll finally have one with a pair of balls on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,572 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If only we could get them to throw things:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He sounds EXACTLY like David O'Doherty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,884 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Excellent: I believe the standard of debate in the Dail has to improve when people playacting for the crowd are called on it, and given the abuse they deserve.

Everyone knows 4 billion was the minimum that had to be cut, everyone knew they were going to have to hit social welfare, everyone knew it was going to be "unfair".

Gogarty did Ireland and political discourse a favour. Pity more politicians cant be as direct and honest.

Greens still arent getting a vote though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

If I was making an difficult decision and being very honest about the reasons for it (which I think Gogarty is), then I'd ****ing flip too if somebody started rudely interrupting me and questioning my integrity. I enjoyed his speech tbh, very honest of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

How did he vote on it?