Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Illegally parked in driveway

• 08-12-2009 4:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

Someone parked in my friends' driveway yesterday without asking permission. The car is still there today and the clampers say they can't touch the car even if they are invited onto the property by the owners. They recommended calling the Gardai and I have done so. They said they would send someone out but so far nothing.

My question is, are the occupants of the house legally responsible for the safety of the car even if it is illegally parked and is an obstruction?

If we blocked the car into the driveway with our own car would we be in the wrong?

It's taking a lot of self control not to go to the cupboard and get a hurley to it. This is not the first time this has happened. One of the joys of living near UCC. Is there anything legal I could do to discourage this in future apart from putting up signs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Get a gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 mrziggy

Student accomodation. We may be able to convince the landlord to get one but they are extremely slow to do anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

mrziggy wrote: »
    Someone parked in my friends' driveway yesterday without asking permission. The car is still there today and the clampers say they can't touch the car even if they are invited onto the property by the owners. They recommended calling the Gardai and I have done so. They said they would send someone out but so far nothing.

I dont think clampers would do in this case, very simply cos the owner of the car would just leave it there out of spite or whatever or might not need his car and you'd be stuck then !

the gardi will more likely confiscate it if its still there when they get there and it'll be a fine to get it back, (or they might just tell the owner to move it)
    My question is, are the occupants of the house legally responsible for the safety of the car even if it is illegally parked and is an obstruction?

the owner of the car is responsible (i think, might need some help here) because the car is not parked where it normally would be and they didnt have permission to park it there.
    If we blocked the car into the driveway with our own car would we be in the wrong?

No, your car, your driveway feel free to do what you want, BUT it might cause an argument with the owner of the car.
    It's taking a lot of self control not to go to the cupboard and get a hurley to it. This is not the first time this has happened. One of the joys of living near UCC. Is there anything legal I could do to discourage this in future apart from putting up signs?

It is private property, if they park there without your permission then they are wrong and by all means you can call the gardi.

signs saying private property no parking are allowed on your private property but its more of a case if people will pay attention to them.

did you ask the owner of the car about this before consulting boards.ie ?

Just saw its student accommodation, which can change some of what i just said.

tricky but still they shouldn't park in your drive, they may park on the road as long as it doesn't block your drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Student accomodation. We may be able to convince the landlord to get one but they are extremely slow to do anything.

I'm sure they've checked but...

Is your mate sure the car doesn't belong to their landlord or his family/mates?

We will be contacting the landlord this evening so we will ask then. The car still has no right to be there even if it was the landlord or one of their friends.

Haven't seen or been in contact with the owner of the car. From what I can tell, they saw a free space and just threw their car there and left it. A note was left on the car yesterday evening and it was still there this afternoon so it has just been left there unattended.

The landlord knows nothing about it. In the meantime we are without one parking space. I will be so happy if the Gardai tow the car. Still waiting for their call. I realise they have more important things to attend to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

We will be contacting the landlord this evening so we will ask then. The car still has no right to be there even if it was the landlord or one of their friends.

Haven't seen or been in contact with the owner of the car. From what I can tell, they saw a free space and just threw their car there and left it. A note was left on the car yesterday evening and it was still there this afternoon so it has just been left there unattended.
    Hang on a sec. Is the car in your drive (as in off the road, on your private property) or is it parked on the street in front of your house or up on the footpath outside your house? If its the latter then the car is on public property and you aren't entitled to claim the space as your own. It'd be up to the council to enforce parking laws in that case.

It is in the driveway and on private property. That's why the council wouldn't touch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

It is in the driveway and on private property. That's why the council wouldn't touch it.
    Ah grand. Do you know anyone with a towtruck? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Burn the car! Problem solved! :D

Nahh I am only joking. Ring the police and tell them that there is a car parked in your drive with white powder coming out of the boot. Then pour flour all over the boot, Problem solved.

Unfortunately no. I'm really hoping the Gardai can just take it away. Maybe they can sell it off. The country needs money :)

lol thanks for the advice Joey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Gall the Guards. Tell them you are afraid the car has been stolen and been dumped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Burn the car!
    Never, ever try this in your own driveway.

Victor wrote: »
    Never, ever try this in your own driveway.

Yes i agree take the tyres off then burn it. The tyres are toxic.

Siphon the petrol and sell the wheels. Problem solved!

Sell the car for parts. That way it gets taken away for free and you get the money!

All good advice but slowly getting more extreme! The landlord said she's going to call the Gardai now as well so I'd say it will be sorted tonight.

I'll post back if there's any developments! If I get a picture of the face of the person when they see their car is gone I'll frame it. Does that make me evil?

The car is gone! But not without me playing some mischief on it first....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

You go girl :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

What did you do?

At least tell us you siphoned the petrol and emptied their tank
    Hey, better in your tank then theirs

They may get a surprise when they try their windscreen wipers. That's all. Can't do too much. After all, they know where I live, I don't know where they live. I don't want to wake up with a rock coming through the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 freefromgov2009

Yes i agree take the tyres off then burn it. The tyres are toxic.

Siphon the petrol and sell the wheels. Problem solved!

Sell the car for parts. That way it gets taken away for free and you get the money!

if anyone else has this prob in the future. smash window, take off handbrake and roll the car wherevever you like, dont have to burn it . the owner may appear one day and want to know who did it

MOOO WHO WHOOO HAAAAA HAAAAA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

if anyone else has this prob in the future. smash window, take off handbrake and roll the car wherevever you like, dont have to burn it . the owner may appear one day and want to know who did it

It's a lot easier to get a few people and bounce the car out into the middle of the road and it doesn't do any criminal damage. Call the Gardai and they'll definately move it then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

They may get a surprise when they try their windscreen wipers. That's all. Can't do too much. After all, they know where I live, I don't know where they live. I don't want to wake up with a rock coming through the window.

Naughty, naughty......

That was criminal damage but I endorse, wholly without prejudice and with a full denial of liability, your essential thinking as direct action tends to avoid any need for paperwork. :D