Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asked for ID to by paper!

• 07-12-2009 4:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

So, i was in supervalu today getting some stuff. I went to the express counter cos i had to buy some rizla. The girl serving me actually asked me for ID. I repeated tobacco PAPERS. She kept asking for ID. I was getting frustrated as i didn't have any on me and wasn't going to go out to the car to get my license over this. I was more annoyed as to why she was demanding ID for some pieces of paper. I thought she missunderstood what i wanted.

She asked the manager to intervene and she explained that they need to ask for ID for tobacco and tobacco PAPERS. I told her there must be a mistake as they wouldn't be doing anything illegal by selling something that doesn't have tobacco in it.

I told her it was ridiculous and she agreed but said they could lose their license over it and the girl serving me could be fined 3k for selling me the papers. She told me to take it up with the authorities if i had a problem :rolleyes:

The two guys behind me couldn't stop laughing and offered to buy them for me :) My mate who was in the queue was also declined them (he's about 32) because the girl said he could have been buying them for me. Was that even any of her business?:mad:

I'm actually 24 and don't even look 18 and i wouldn't have minded if it was tobacco or cigarettes i was buying but it was papers. It's like refusing wine glasses to someone without ID.

Bloody ridiculous IMHO but there must be a law regarding it or they wouldn't have made a fuss about it.

Does anyone know?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Haha loser :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Unless you have a rather small hole and you use them to wipe your arse with they have no other use..Perhaps a small little love letter or, grease paper for a tiny cake.

Otherwise they are used to fill with tobaco, And you need to be over 18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Yeah she was right. You have to be over 18 to buy cigarette papers, lighters, matches AFAIK. I used to work in a newsagents and our boss used to be quite strict about us IDing people for these things. She's just doing her job, it's mortifying for shop staff when customers cause a big fuss over things like that, especially in front of other customers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Smokers are jokers!!

I think everywhere is supposed to ask for i.d for any tobacco related parephenalia, but most places dont bother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Harsh

Did you try hitting her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

snyper wrote: »
    Unless you have a rather small hole and you use them to wipe your arse with they have no other use..

They're also used for drying the reeds of certain musical instruments.

Whopper of the day!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Probably wasn't for tobacco now was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭White_Feather

Not bein funny or anything and I know your going to say it was the principle of it,but would you not have just gone back to your car and get your I'd instead of prob standing there for 10 mins arguing...if they said no they won't change their mind,infact you will prob pi$$ them off even further that they definitly won't change their minds...but goin back to your point,no I never heard of asking for Id for papers..small bit silly really!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

AFAIK its still a tobacco product, and comes under the same legislation.

Bit on the harsh side, but thats the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Fol20

jaffa20 wrote: »
    So, i was in supervalu today getting some stuff. I went to the express counter cos i had to buy some rizla. The girl serving me actually asked me for ID. I repeated tobacco PAPERS. She kept asking for ID. I was getting frustrated as i didn't have any on me and wasn't going to go out to the car to get my license over this. I was more annoyed as to why she was demanding ID for some pieces of paper. I thought she missunderstood what i wanted.

She asked the manager to intervene and she explained that they need to ask for ID for tobacco and tobacco PAPERS. I told her there must be a mistake as they wouldn't be doing anything illegal by selling something that doesn't have tobacco in it.

I told her it was ridiculous and she agreed but said they could lose their license over it and the girl serving me could be fined 3k for selling me the papers. She told me to take it up with the authorities if i had a problem :rolleyes:

The two guys behind me couldn't stop laughing and offered to buy them for me :) My mate who was in the queue was also declined them (he's about 32) because the girl said he could have been buying them for me. Was that even any of her business?:mad:

I'm actually 24 and don't even look 18 and i wouldn't have minded if it was tobacco or cigarettes i was buying but it was papers. It's like refusing wine glasses to someone without ID.

Bloody ridiculous IMHO but there must be a law regarding it or they wouldn't have made a fuss about it.

Does anyone know?

they can also refuse you if your buying a lighter i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Seriously, you must look REALLY young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

According to the law, "tobacco product" includes papers, filters and 'tubes'.
    Lighters shouldn't be restricted.

jimi_t wrote: »
    They're also used for drying the reeds of certain musical instruments.
    And for taking certain drugs.. And you don't need ID for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I thought you meant newspapers. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Oi, watch it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

I only ever use them as cheap post it notes, I never knew you could use them to smoke tobacco or take drugs :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Ye. You have to be over 18 to buy cigarette papers, lighters, matches AFAIK.

Jaysus. Thats a bit much. IYou have to have ID if you are buying matches? What if you just needed them to light the fire in the house?

jumpguy wrote: »
    I thought you meant newspapers. :(

The Daily Spurt !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Vains tip of the day: Mc Donalds napkins can also be used as smoking paper.

Vain wrote: »

Ew, good grief no. Do you know what kind of chemicals go into the product of those napkins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Just get some tin foil and heroin! Bet they won't refuse to sell that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Your not this guy are you? 'cause that would be unlucky.

Unless you have a rather small hole and you use them to wipe your arse with they have no other use..Perhaps a small little love letter or, grease paper for a tiny cake.

I just spat tea over my laptop :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

bible and dictionary pages have served me well in the past.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Just get some tin foil and heroin! Bet they won't refuse to sell that!!

Supervalu sell heroin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

It's worse in off licences, the one I used work in had the policy of not serving anyone under 18 anything at all. This sounded reasonable but every now and again, a small girl would come in looking to buy ice for her mum outside in the car and I was supposed to refuse them?!? I never did refuse them, wasn't worth the wrath of the mum or dad storming in giving out.

On the topic of your friend getting refused after you, I can totally understand why by the way. Used to do that all the time to people, really annoying when you refuse someone because they don't have ID and they just smile and shout back to their mate in the queue to get their stuff, or when a dad and their 16/17 year old child comes in and the child picks everything out in front of you and the dad steps forward to pay for it, expecting it to be okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

rarnes1 wrote: »
    The Daily Spurt !!
    Now that would've been hilarious. I'd love to say to a scumbag "Sorry, you can't buy the Times, it's got big words"

jumpguy wrote: »
    Now that would've been hilarious. I'd love to say to a scumbag "Sorry, you can't buy the Times, it's got big words"

Now that, that I would dearly love to see. I would vote you man of the year. In fact, thats going into my sig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The Rizla Nazi....................

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The Rizla Nazi....................

Wow, Godwin'd in 32. Not bad.

Why is it that when someone upholds the law, no matter how mundane it may be, they get called a nazi? (I'm not capilatising the N, they don't deserve it.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I use matches and lighters to light the fire or a BBQ. I thought you were trying to buy a paper and the paper asked for ID.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Why is it that when someone upholds the law, no matter how mundane it may be, they get called a nazi? (I'm not capilatising the N, they don't deserve it.)
    Because the Nazis were really strict on enforcing laws. Apart from the one about killing everyone who isn't you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

I get ID'd for skins all the time, total BS to be honest but I guess no one has a problem with showing their papers on request. Next thing you know we'll have to wear something on our clothing to denote our filthy habit, and then its off to the gas chamber for a nice smoke up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

To buy anything associated with tobacco you have to be 18, so that includes papers/filters/tobacco itself etc.

She was perfectly right not to serve you, and if you happened to be under 18, she could possibly loose her job, never mind the fine that the shop would get.

I really amnt sure what the story is with lighters/matches, I tend to just use my discretion when serving people who look under 18, but no-one (Who looks under 21) gets papers or tobacco without ID.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭jenzz

Does anyone know?

I got asked for ID going into Coppers on a Monday night when I was 27. I nearly wet myself with the excitement someone could think I was underage....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Wow, Godwin'd in 32. Not bad.

A Seinfeld reference cancels out Godwin.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Aw man, I thought it was a newspaper you weren't allowed buy. Maybe cos Page 3 is now too explicit or something like that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Ew, good grief no. Do you know what kind of chemicals go into the product of those napkins?

Ammmmm you do know that tobacco has plenty of chemicals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

i thought this would be about a newspaper.....them page 3 girls are the di'vil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

OP i feel your pain. This happened to me once, luckily i had my id on me. The funny thing was i wasn't buying anything else, so i like to think she knew exactly what i was using them for. The stare she gave me was classic :pac:.

Although I still prefer the story of when i was asked for over 16s id to buy a can of red bull in tesco :eek:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Otherwise they are used to fill with tobaco, And you need to be over 18
    Too old to remember how to cheat on tests??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

The two guys behind me couldn't stop laughing and offered to buy them for me :)My mate who was in the queue was also declined them (he's about 32) because the girl said he could have been buying them for me. Was that even any of her business?:mad:

That drives me insane. I was in Tesco when I was 19 with two friends the same age, one of whom was buying a bottle of vodka for a houseparty, the other friend and I were getting food. Fair enough, we were 19, getting ID'd was completely reasonable. Queued up together, chatting away, friend with the booze is first. Gets asked for id, takes out her passport "we don't accept passports" (ridiculous enough anyway imo), so gives her age card. "And id for the other two as well" :confused: because we happened to be in the same queue with someone buying drink she had to ask us? All we had on us was our student cards because we weren't buying booze, and it turned into a big hoopla. I felt really bad for the cashier, she was really embarassed, she went and got her manager and he said it was fine, but really, pain in the arse holding the line up for that.

On topic, is this paper law new? I remember being little and being sent to get papers for my dad with no problem. Actually maybe that's just coz I'm from the country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

OP, have you tried using those hotel Gideon bibles, the pages work quite well. A holy smoke if you will.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Did you try hitting her?

Believe, me i was tempted. She was doing her job but was a bit cheeky all the same.
    Seriously, you must look REALLY young.

Nah, i never get asked for id anywhere but this place. The guys behind were about 16 and thought it was funny cos i looked about 26. I think the shop was stung by the guards before so now they are almost too strict with things like this.

I think it's a bit over the the top that there is a law regarding this if you are only buying a lighter, papers or matches. You could do more damage with other products on sale; glass, bleach etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Stop smoking. Problem solved.

And you'll save a small fortune as well.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

The manager didnt look like this when you went outside by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Stuff that gives you cancer if you burn and inhale it?

Ammmmm you do know that tobacco has plenty of chemicals?

True that, but why add to them? Also, I like to use as little tobacco as humanly possible, whenever I'm using skins anyway. Not that it makes an iota of difference, still smoke cigarettes.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    A Seinfeld reference cancels out Godwin.:P

Going to have to be blunt, not a Seinfeld fan, can you point it out for me?