Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beggars at ATM machines.

• 05-12-2009 6:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

Something should be done about beggars hanging around ATM machines. I came across coffee cup holders at the foot of several ATM machines around the city today.

With the amount of ATM scamming, "snatch and grabbing" etc strict law should be made about begging within 20 feet of these devices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

In Camden in London there's a circle around each ATM which no one else is allowed in while someone is using the ATM. Pretty good idea imo

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

you should piss them off by withdrawing 20 quid and giving it to the nearest 'help the disabled' stand while winking at the beggar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Good idea indeed, bluto63.

Yeah, I'm not fond of them either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

This is a thing that I see daily. Some sit right beside the cash machines, feet away.
    Good idea about the circle thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

yeah what the deal with that. No offence but I can't withdraw 50c for your, and yer deffo not gettin a score...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

you should piss them off

I just piss on them, warms the poor critters up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Caoimhín wrote: »
    I just piss on them, warms the poor critters up.

Or puke on 'em, to make sure they get at least one hot meal a day.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

bluto63 wrote: »
    In Camden in London there's a circle around each ATM which no one else is allowed in while someone is using the ATM. Pretty good idea imo

The circle should be electrified once you enter. Then when you want to step out you press a button and the electric currant stops.

'Hey budddd, can I have a...'*ZAP!!!!*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

The beggers at AIB on Grafton St are the worst of all. Just sitting there for hours.
    And the garda never move them on. Its rediculous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Of course, if people stopped giving money to beggars - as Focus, the Simon Community and others have repeatedly asked - there would be no beggars on the street.

Those who give to beggars bear primary responsibility for their existence; they give beggars a vested interest in begging. This is the plain and simple reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

o1s1n wrote: »
    The circle should be electrified once you enter. Then when you want to step out you press a button and the electric currant stops.

'Hey budddd, can I have a...'*ZAP!!!!*

Like in Harry Potter? I think you all know exactly what I'm referring to. That's right, 4th book, ring around the goblet thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I hope my Bank Manager is the one begging soon.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

I don't know which is worse, the beggar at the machine or the Concern chuggers hassling you as you try and get to the machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 gav_neonstars

This carry on boils my blood.

Do they expect you to feel sorry for them in the hope that we will hand them a score or something?

More than a few times i have told who ever is sitting under the cash machine to fook off away or face the consequences.

Sit on a bridge like the rest of your mates so i can ignore ya from afar ya smelly little bollix!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Of course, if people stopped giving money to beggars - as Focus, the Simon Community and others have repeatedly asked - there would be no beggars on the street.

Those who give to beggars bear primary responsibility for their existence; they give beggars a vested interest in begging. This is the plain and simple reality.
    It's Ireland , people aren't going to starve to death. Donate to a homeless charity instead.

Even in countries where people do starve to death giving money to beggars won't solve anything it's just a temporary respite. Don't forget that those who beg most aren't always the most deserving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 AnthonyK16

AIB in Grafton street is particularly bad for this type of carry on. Surely it would make more sense for them to sit where people would have access to small change,as people arent going to hand over notes very often

AnthonyK16 wrote: »
    AIB in Grafton street is particularly bad for this type of carry on. Surely it would make more sense for them to sit where people would have access to small change,as people arent going to hand over notes very often

I think it's to try and guilt people into thinking 'well I have all this money and he has nothing. I'll give him whatever change I have'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

I think it's to try and guilt people into thinking 'well I have all this money and he has nothing. I'll give him whatever change I have'

What atm gives you change? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Sit on a bridge like the rest of your mates so i can ignore ya from afar ya smelly little bollix!

Nooooooo! The Ha'Penny bridge feels like a toll booth some days in town with the beggars positioning themselves at the steps on both ends, ****ing annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 gav_neonstars

Yeah that bridge can be a bastard of a place for the owl homeless.

But then i get to use my favorite line 'got and spare change buddd?' 'loads thanks!'

I saw a very puzzling thing the other day tho. There was a homeless man on Eustace Street with an ipod in his ear, a phone in his hand and a sign saying 'starving and homeless'

Now.. This threw up a few questions. If you are indeed homeless how do you charge your phone/Ipod?
    And how the fook do you fill the ipod with all your junkie hits?

Hal1 wrote: »
    What atm gives you change? :confused:

Change you had before you approached the ATM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Absolute chancers, makes me mad. I sometimes withdraw a bit more than usual if they're there and stop for a sec and with my eyes agog and say "wow can't wait to waste all this money!" as I walk past them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

I seen one of these moochers begging at the ATM machines in Temple Bar. Once the bastard had gotten enough cash he got up and went to Hagan Daas and got a tub of ice cream!!!!!!!!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

ATM = Automatic Teller MACHINE

No need to put it twice ;)

Anyway, I don't like beggars sitting near ATMs, I get nervous, they could try to nick my cash.

It should be illegal to loiter around cash machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Q: have you any change?
    A: sorry, only 50s:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

There's a guy outside my local Sainsburys who asks for spare change almost everytime I go there. Last time I was there, I overheard a woman telling him she didn't have any spare change and he started giving her almighty grief.
    I've made up my mind not to be donating anytime soon if that's how he's going to be. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Thier beggers:eek: I tought they were offering sexual favours while you withdraw money and the cup is for if you wanna go solo:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

Come on guys...the beggars are there in the name of relativity.

I mean, you're in Taiwan on holidays and check your balance: 48,000 TW Dollars.

But wait, what the F0ck is 48,000 TW dollars?!

Well at least you know its 48,000 more than the smelly bastard on the ground beside you.

Relativity....its all about relativity.

Yes I am a bit pissed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Rebelheart wrote: »

Those who give to beggars bear pthat rimary responsibility for their existence; they give beggars a vested interest in begging. This is the plain and simple reality.

No it's not plain and simple simply because humanity is not that plain and simple.

If a beggar sits in a spot that has a passing trade of 1,000 people per hour then there will be a certain % of that 1,000 people who cannot resist to give them a few coins. That is human nature, plain and simple.

What you are suggesting is that every single person decides not to give a single cent to a person who is clearly in need. That just isn't going to happen so therefore a more viable solution needs to be advanced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

I don't give change to any beggars anymore cause of that report a few months ago in the paper saying all beggars were working for 1 'begging lord?' or something.

And walking around the spire/henry street theres always this plonker that actually APPROACHES you and says 'Sorry mate can i just ask ye a question?' I made the mistake of saying sure whats up one day... Now it's like 'Sorry Mate ca...' While i shout ENOUGH.

Also Hapenny bridge toll bridge HAHAHAHAHA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

i kick them and try to pretend it was an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

I alway's show them the receipt I get and laugh at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Q: have you any change?
    A: Yes, plenty, but thanks anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm very surprised at the lack of "there's this bunch of beggars who every evening get into a silver Bentley parked 'round the corner from their spot" comments thus far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

There is??? Do tell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭ttm

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm very surprised at the lack of "there's this bunch of beggars who every evening get into a silver Bentley parked 'round the corner from their spot" comments thus far.

Not quite but I've watched a family of beggers in Waterford take off good cloths and put on wretched looking ones as they approach their pitch.

Its not a silver Bentley that collects the crew that do a regular Dungarvan pitch but they are orgainised and one car goes around an picks up the 5 it dropped off in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Where'd you see them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

If you are indeed homeless how do you charge your phone/Ipod?
    And how the fook do you fill the ipod with all your junkie hits?

Sounds like George Michael's pre-public toilet sex checklist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Dont like folk begging at ATM machines either.

But that's nothing compared to how sick I feel when I read posts from absolute scumbags who think they can get away with outpouring their vile fantasies of degradation on other human beings.

There are genuine cases of people in awful situations.
    Just last week,I witnessed some random guy just attacking this poor homeless guy (he was nowhere near an atm machine btw), the vitriol of abuse was disgusting. Just because he thought he was in a higher place in society to the shivering guy, he thought it was okay to stand there and take out all his rage on him.

Racadh na Rian orthu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭deceit

Darlughda wrote: »
    Dont like folk begging at ATM machines either.

But that's nothing compared to how sick I feel when I read posts from absolute scumbags who think they can get away with outpouring their vile fantasies of degradation on other human beings.

There are genuine cases of people in awful situations.
    Just last week,I witnessed some random guy just attacking this poor homeless guy (he was nowhere near an atm machine btw), the vitriol of abuse was disgusting. Just because he thought he was in a higher place in society to the shivering guy, he thought it was okay to stand there and take out all his rage on him.

Racadh na Rian orthu!
    I wouldnt give a begger money as no way of knowing if its really a needy person and if is are they going to use it for something useful like food etc. I seen something like this happen before and seen it from the start so knew was for no reason so went over and punched the guy, lucky wasnt arrested :p but the guy was taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

How are people stopped from entering the circle while someone is using the ATM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

robby^5 wrote: »
    Nooooooo! The Ha'Penny bridge feels like a toll booth some days in town with the beggars positioning themselves at the steps on both ends, ****ing annoying.
    haha, yeah, it's hard not to trip on them all. :/
    Xinkai wrote: »
    And walking around the spire/henry street theres always this plonker that actually APPROACHES you and says 'Sorry mate can i just ask ye a question?' I made the mistake of saying sure whats up one day... Now it's like 'Sorry Mate ca...' While i shout ENOUGH.
    Theyre the worst kind. There's these ones on the south side who walk up and ask if you've 'change for the busssss?'. I said no, and he took out literally handfuls of change..makes me wonder how gullible they think we are.

And then, if you don't give some money, they start the whole 'where've i seen your face..I know I've seen your face...' which is extremely unnerving.

And just today at central bank I saw a man in a binbag and thought he was a pile of rubbish left there. I laughed loudly and pointed, then I realized it was a person. >.<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭ttm

Its in England they are English, civilised I expect, they que up and strange things like that so no way would they cross a yellow line when someone else was using the atm, except to kick a beggar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

segaBOY wrote: »
    I don't know which is worse, the beggar at the machine or the Concern chuggers hassling you as you try and get to the machine.

No comparison.

The chuggers are far worse. At least the beggars are fairly passive. The chuggers just try to bully / intimidate you into giving them money.
    IvySlayer wrote: »
    ATM = Automatic Teller MACHINE

ATM = Automated teller machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,380 ✭✭✭highdef

Something should be done about beggars hanging around ATM machines.

lol.....ATM machines........ automatic teller machine machines!!! That's like saying PIN number, as in Personal identification number number.

Sorry, carry on. I couldn't resist!!!

As for beggars at ATMs, I cannot stand them at all. I ignore them or tell them to pi$$ off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

segaBOY wrote: »

Chuggers, hands down.

Beggars for the most part are used to being passed by ... chuggers tend to be mobile, and they seem to get a perverse pleasure out of chasing people and hounding them.

Some beggars look so wretched, I feel sorry for them ... but the rational part of me thinks it is wrong to support begging.

Chuggers make my blood boil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

What I do sometimes is get a 1e burger or something from McDonalds and give them that, usually late in the evening/nightime.

Better than giving them a euro that theyll possibly spend on drugs,drink etc.

Plus I feel better knowing Ive given them a warm 'meal' as feck all expense to me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

A big black man named Ben. He comes up to and says, Get Away From The Circle, Mother F*cker.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6JJybtqNk8

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

That AIB one in Temple Bar is desperate, last weekend myself and the OH went to get cash out of it and there was this scruffy looking beggar sitting underneath it with a sign saying 'homeless and hungry', so we went to the one in the Centra instead. When we came out of the Centra, the beggar had taken out a little bit of tinfoil and a lighter and was happily toking up in the middle of the square!

Always cracks me up when there's one hanging around outside the Fleet Street car park, and they ask you have you any spare change, as you're feeding it all into the parking machine :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Kittykook

Theyre either hanging around atms or creating dogs from sand..

clever and creative ..