Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Christmas Outing?

• 03-12-2009 12:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭

Howay'all??

Things have been a bit quiet on the golf forum this past few months, maybe we need to breath a bit of life back into it..??

To kick us off maybe a Christmas outing would be a bit of craic?
    Somewhere handy for us all, cheap and friendly maybe?

If we all bring a prize of some description, say max value a tenner, there'll be prizes for everyone who turns up, Kris Kindle style..
    Anything goes for prizes, drink, socks, funny stuff, whatever;)

No obligation to do anything except play golf, and have a bit of a laugh with a few fellow boardsies.

Also, I for one aint loooking to start a society, this is just a one-off for a bit of real-life banter between us.

I'm sure we'd have our pick of courses at a decent price, sometime in the week between Christmas and new year maybe..?

Thoughts?

Preferred Date 24 votes

Sunday 27th
    0%
    Monday 28th
    12%
    DU.LLAHANsweetswingDaithio9 3 votes
    Tuesday 29th
    50%
    PhilipMarloweMyksykL.O.F.TJCDUBf22BUACHAILLBigAl>>george67Kevinmarkhamjimjoboban zTheDuc 12 votes
    Wednesday 30th
    16%
    SnakeyheavyballsPaulieethoscon 4 votes
    Thursday 31th
    20%
    magDonnchadhirishtoffeeMr check raisejonas7 5 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

Tuesday 29th
    Yeah I would be in depending on the date, the usual Christmas commitments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Tuesday 29th
    I'd be up for it too, provided it's on a links. I don't have any wellies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Sounds like a plan to me, keep me posted on developments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

Thursday 31th
    i'd be up for that too. maybe try and get a place that has an open fixture on at the time also, kill two birds with one stone

Tuesday 29th
    I'll throw portmarnock Links into the mix to start the ball rolling, in fab condition and no more than e40 mid week.

I can walk down the road there too :p

Open to any other suggestions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Yeah sounds good. Dunno if a midweek will suit a lot of people though.
    I have leave I need to use up so could do it. Sat/Sun fine either.

Thursday 31th
    the week after christmas day, a lot of people have work off. is there any opens on in portmarnock at that time

Tuesday 29th
    the week after christmas day, a lot of people have work off. is there any opens on in portmarnock at that time

Don't think so , bar the Titleist Series on the Tuesday (9 handicap and less)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Great idea. Wouldn't mind travelling up from Kilkenny, (unless ye decide on Mt Juliet ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Tuesday 29th
    Lads, the following from the GUI website:

27th Dec - 4 man team Moyvalley
    27th Dec - 3 man scramble Rathcore
    28th Dec - Singles Naas
    28th Dec - 3 ball any combination (??) Birr
    29th Dec - 4 ball Druids Glen
    29th Dec - 4 person scramble Dunmurry Springs
    29th Dec - Singles S'ford Killeen

There are a few more, not too many singles on though.
    Here's a linky for ye're perusal

http://www.gui.ie/open_fixtures.asp

I'd be happy enough with the links in Portmarnock though.

Any thoughts on the above?

Naas & Killeen are both nice, and reasonably priced. I'd say forget about a scramble?
    Either of those two, or the new PM links is good with me.

Thursday 31th
    my vote is to killeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭george67

Tuesday 29th
    Count me in :)and try for a links if possible at least they'll be open !( or maybe Lutrellstown/Castleknock good drainage)

What about your place George?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Anyone a member in The European? Never played there, yet...anyone??

I've played a few links courses in Sligo recently (first few rounds on links) and am mad about them, like the honeymood period.........they're such an adventure and when the wind is up it's like King Crab fishing in the Bearing, analogy over.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭DU.LLAHAN

Monday 28th
    I wouldnt mind playin depending on the dates, a links course would be perfect for me as i love playin on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭boban z

Tuesday 29th
    European club would be perfect.
    If numbers could be pulled together a good rate could be organised with The European.

Without a shodow of a doubt the European is the finest links course in Ireland.........toughest course I ever played.

Only played it once but would love to get another crack at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭carnsoreboxer

Just wondering if ladies are included??

If you're on boards and you're a female golfer then I'm sure you're welcome, by me anyway.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Tuesday 29th
    I like the idea of this too... particularly if it's somewhere like The European where the likelihood of closure/frost is curtailed.
    All we need is a benevolent course owner who would give a rate to a little group who'd be sure to wax lyrical about the place :D

Tuesday 29th
    OK, so the general consensus is links for definite.

Either Portmarnock Links or the European seem to be the front runner.

Now for the date and numbers....

Mods I dunno if I can add a poll. If I can just tell me how and I'll do it. Otherwise can you add a poll with dates from the 27th Dec to 31st and a choice between the European Club and Portmarnock Links??We can see what the consensus is then..

Thanks.

Tuesday 29th
    Ok the date choice is added.
    PLEASE only vote if you are actually going to make an attempt at following through with this.

Tuesday 29th
    What about your place George?

Yeah my place only really available on thurs 31 before 10.10am spots are going quick this time of year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Wednesday 30th
    +1 euro club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Tuesday 29th
    European works for me too (not on 27th)

Thursday 31th
    i dont mind what day we play or where. When is the decision to be made

Tuesday 29th
    Further to an email to The European:
    Hello Mark

Thanks for thinking of The European Club.

We would be delighted to see your group here in the period December 28-December 30.

Our standard guest fee in Winter is €100. But we would be happy to offer you a rate of €80 per person playing in groups of four AND , here's a fun twist, allow your players FREE ENTRY to the East of Ireland Matchplay.

To enter the matchplay: Players must be members of golf clubs and hold official handicaps. Maximum handicap allowance (people with higher handicaps play off 18 in this event).

Your players could play against each other on the day ...... two singles matches going on within the one group of four .... with the winners entering the draw to come back to play round 2 at no extra fee in January; and if successful in January onwards at no further fee into subsequent month-by-month rounds until beaten.

For that week we require payment at time of booking and that can be done per credit card etc.

Best regards and looking forward to hearing from you,

Pat Ruddy

Thoughts?

Tuesday 29th
    Licksy wrote: »
    Further to an email to The European:

Thoughts?

cool:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 TheDuc

Tuesday 29th
    Long time viewer, 1st time poster. Would love to be included in this outing. Any of those days would suit.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭BigAl>>

Tuesday 29th
    Just wondering if there is a max handicap for people interested in playing?? ( I know alot of you play of really low handicaps)

Yea I am a high handicapper.....but still enjoy playing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

I'd love to play, and I don't mind when or where.

Although I don't mind paying it, €80 might be a bit expensive for some, add in the "prize" you have to bring, thats another €10, then add petrol for most €10 your now up to €100 before you've looked at food or, from what I've heard, golf balls.

Also I say we put a handicap limit on this of 36, just to get rid of the real hackers :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Tuesday 29th
    I'm interested of course and might be up in Dublin between xmas and new year. Hard for me to pin a date so I've guessed when it's likely I'll be up.

The European is a great course and I think the Ruddys have a good attitude to their customers. My brother-in-law is a member and brought me out there on a wet and dark evening last month. You pay the full price whether with member or not but that's grand. With evening closing fast, the Ruddys drove out on the course on the tenth with a car and a buggy ... gave us the buggy and went back for another just so we could get the round finished before dark. After the round they told my brother-in-law that when he came back with me I could go around free gratis because I may not have had the best experience of the course. Rare attitude these days.

Tuesday 29th
    Well the European looks ok, €80 though, wasn't what I had in mind tbh, bit rich for my blood at the moment, suppose I can sacrifice a night out or something though!

And we're getting (at least) two rounds for the price of one, so not all that bad.

Fookin nightmare journey for me though:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭boban z

Tuesday 29th
    Not sure why they are charging €80.

The competition they are refering to is €60

Tuesday 29th
    Unfortunately I have to back out at this stage, I’d have a good long journey to the course and the green fee, tolls, petrol and the rest, it works out well over €100.

But that’s not to say I don’t want to play. I think the matchplay is a cracking idea as if you win your match you get to play another round there. Depending out it works out you could have 3 rounds for €80, €27 a round! A course I’m real keen to play after reading these reviews, http://www.top100golfcourses.co.uk/htmlsite/productdetails.asp?id=66

Tuesday 29th
    boban z wrote: »
    Not sure why they are charging €80.

The competition they are refering to is €60

I think that comp has already started so we would be playing the first round against each other ,winners to go into the second round draw

If we get numbers then we could always ask for €60.

I'm deffo on for this...nice pressie for myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Only after noticing this thread lads. Great idea and a good price too for such a fine course. Ive only played it the once and it chewed me up and spat me out. Would love another crack at it. Fingers crossed the weather will be kind.

Tuesday 29th
    Anyone feel like contacting Portmarnock Links and see what's the story there for a couple/few fourballs?
    I only fired off an email to The European just to see what they came up with for 2-3 fourballs.
    Coming from Kilkenny, it's going be to a journey either ways and to be honest I'd prefer to have The European at the end of that journey rather than Portmarnock Links.... it's more money than I'd care to spend but it does have the added bonus that half of us will get to return at least once more for that price which is a nice sweetener.
    It would be nice to have a date and venue sorted and let people book it because I'm sure with the lack of tee times available due to daylight (can't start too early to allow for people travelling) that times won't stay around for long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭mag

Thursday 31th
    the one thing about the subsequent matchplay ties, which pat doesnt mention, is that they can only be played midweek. i looked at playing in it before and this scuppered it for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

I'd be interested in an outing. I don't have a GUI handicap tho - can't afford membership atm. Would that pose a problem? Datewise - I'm pretty open over Christmas. I can't commit to a specific date until I confirm with 'er indoors.

Tuesday 29th
    Yeah the midweek thing put me off entering the matchplay in the european club originally, it was discussed here before.

Portmarnock links is €40 per person, the man on the phone didn’t sound like budging for a group of ten or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭Tom Ghostwood

Would love to go but I couldnt afford 80/100e green fee as Im away on Euro tour with the band on the 30th & need every penny. Will there be another outing in spring/summer?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

have a family wedding on the 30th so that rules me out - along with my high handicap!!!

Have a good one everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

I got an email from the European tour about booking our own society for next year.

If you are a registered GUI society it is €70 a round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Tuesday 29th
    i would love to play in this !!
    Sorry Licksy I voted for monday the 28th and have just been informed I wont be here.
    So can you please change it to the 30 th for me please

cheers

This still on?

I'm working on my stinger shot in my bedroom.

Tuesday 29th
    Whyner wrote: »
    This still on?

I'm working on my stinger shot in my bedroom.

At 12.15pm tut tut shame on you:rolleyes:

Tuesday 29th
    Haha practising stingers, in your bedroom, I don't wanna know...

Lads tbh €80 is too dear for me, and the trek to the European doesn't suit me either.

I called Portmarnock links this morning and they can do it for €40, and that was without a shove. I reckon with definite numbers we could get them to throw in a bacon roll and a cup of coffee.

Only problem is the tee is booked until 12:30 on the 28th, leaving it pretty much impossible for a few groups to get around and in.

Other days prob ok though.
    Any thoughts?

Tuesday 29th
    The 40 bucks seems an altogether more attractive option for a fine course and also it will suit more people. I can be flexible anyway so the 29th or 30th is fine with me if they have availability. No point in teeing it up late and finishing in the dark.
    Probably only end up as a couple/few fourballs in the end but we'd need to settle on it soon and let people book it.