Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever ditched a friend who was not right in the head?

• 02-12-2009 10:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭

I'm sure some of you boardsies have have a mate, or someone in your circle who has been a few shillings short in the purse. Have you ever had to ditch them, avoid them and hope they get the message?

Inspired by this story out today; a man accidently texted someone he had last seen 4 years ago. The guy who recieved it called to his door, and after he got in, killed him. The Judge said the victim was unlucky for texting this guy accidently.
    Man found not guilty of attempted murder by reason of insanity

01/12/2009 - 16:37:57
    A Meath man who slashed the throat of a law graduate has been found not guilty of attempted murder by reason of insanity.

It took the jury eleven minutes to find that Niall McDermott (aged 30) of Kilbrew, Ashbourne, County Meath, was insane when he attacked 36-year-old Joseph McManus with a knife.

Mr Justice Patrick McCarthy directed that Mr McDermott continue to be treated at the Central Mental Hospital.

Niall McDermott denied attempting to murder Joseph McManus at an apartment in Dublin’s Fitzwilliam Square on May 26, 2008.

The Central Criminal Court today heard evidence from two consultant psychiatrists that Mr McDermott suffered from paranoid schizophrenia.

The jury was told that at the time of the attack, the accused was religiously obsessed and had fixations that were not grounded in reality. Mr McDermott believed he was involved with a US celebrity and, at one stage, he had travelled to New York in an attempt to realise this relationship.

Sean Gillane SC, prosecuting, told the jury there was no dispute regarding the factual matters of the case and that the only real issue concerned the 30-year-old’s mental state at the time of the incident.

The court heard details of how Niall McDermott went to Joseph McManus’ apartment at around 9.40pm on the evening of the attack. The pair knew each other through friends but had not met for four years. They had been in contact the previous week when the victim inadvertently sent a text to Mr McDermott.

The pair chatted before Niall McDermott left to go to the bathroom. When he returned to the living room, he moved behind the couch on which Joseph McManus was sitting. He pulled the victim’s head back, lifted up his chin and slashed his throat with a knife. The court was told how Mr McManus heard Mr McDermott accuse him of “not renouncing the devil”.

Niall McDermott continued to stab at Joseph McManus as he tried to escape. The victim suffered wounds to his chest and stomach, in addition to the injury to his neck. The trial heard how Mr McManus managed to barricade himself into a bedroom and use his mobile phone to call his sister, a nurse, and the emergency services.

Detective Garda Brian Sheeran, Harcourt Terrace, told the court that when his colleague arrived at the scene, he saw Mr McDermott standing by the couch and Mr McManus staggering to the living room in a distressed state. Niall McDermott told the garda: “You can help him, I hope he bleeds to death”.

The jury heard details of how Mr McDermott adopted an “increasingly bizarre” position during the questioning which followed his arrest. He told gardaí about a man he had met at a house party who was a drug dealer with links to terrorist organisations. He also told gardaí about a paedophile ring, he believed was in operation, involving well-known Irish personalities.

Detective Garda Sheeran said the victim, Joseph McManus, underwent surgery and was hospitalised for two weeks. The court heard how the attack left him with permanent scarring and serious disfigurement to his neck.

Dr Paul O’Connell, consultant psychiatrist, told the court it was his opinion that at the time of the attack, Mr McDermott was acting under a number of delusions, and that he was severely mentally ill.

He said these delusions were “longstanding” with “no basis in reality”.

Dr O’Connell said the accused believed he had a divine purpose in life and that this was shared with a US celebrity.

He said Mr McDermott believed his relationship with this celebrity was being frustrated by certain organisations.

Dr O’Connell said Mr McDermott had become “pre-occupied” with Mr McManus as a result of an inadvertent text he had sent, and described the victim as “very unlucky indeed”.

He said Niall McDermott had been labouring under a distorted sense of reality and that he “didn’t know” what he was doing was wrong when he attacked Joseph McManus.

The court heard that while Mr McDermott’s mental state has, in some ways, improved he is still considered “seriously ill”.

Dr Sally Linehan, consultant psychiatrist, said she was also of the view that Niall McDermott was suffering from a mental disorder at the time of the attack, namely paranoid schizophrenia.

She said the “intensity of his beliefs” were such that he did not know what he was doing was wrong.

The jury took just 11 minutes to return their verdict, finding Niall McDermott not guilty of attempted murder by reason of insanity.

Earlier, Mr Justice Patrick McCarthy told the jury of seven men and five women that while it was a matter for them to decide, “the only rational conclusion” in his view, would be a finding of “not guilty by reason of insanity”.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-found-not-guilty-of-attempted-murder-by-reason-of-insanity-436579.html#ixzz0YWd6V2QV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Had a mate i went to school with for 12 years, he was an absolute champion all during the week, playing rugby, off camping and the like, but you get more than a six pack into him and all he wanted to do was fight, and fight anyone.

After more than 3 years of him wanting to fight the world and expect me and a few others we went to school with to have his back (and 3 years of telling to cut out his drunken garbage), he decided to start on the doormen at a dodgy Brisbane night club one night, anyhow we stood back while the doormen cleaned their shoes on his ribs, he got the hint we were sick of him after that and went his own way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

That dude needs to be locked up, i don't care whether its jail or a mad-house, but he needs to be fúcking locked up.

The Aussie wrote: »
    Had a mate i went to school with for 12 years, he was an absolute champion all during the week, playing rugby, off camping and the like, but you get more than a six pack into him and all he wanted to do was fight, and fight anyone.

After more than 3 years of him wanting to fight the world and expect me and a few others we went to school with to have his back (and 3 years of telling to cut out his drunken garbage), he decided to start on the doormen at a dodgy Brisbane night club one night, anyhow we stood back while the doormen cleaned their shoes on his ribs, he got the hint we were sick of him after that and went his own way.

Well that's bad form on your part.

If you don't have his back, tell him, don't just let him get his ass whooped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

sunnyjim wrote: »
    ory out today; a man accidently texted someone he had last seen 4 years ago. The guy who recieved it called to his door, and after he got in, killed him. The Judge said the victim was unlucky for texting this guy accidently.

No he didn't the guy is still alive.

Some mentally ill people are suffering pretty horrendously. There are lot of mentally ill people functioning relatively normal lives undiagnosed. Not that many are a threat. I genuinely believe religions and superstitions cover and guide many people with such conditions. Anybody who says they would not have any morals if it was not for the bible makes me nervous as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭plissken

The guy who recieved it called to his door, and after he got in, killed him. The Judge said the victim was unlucky for texting this guy accidently.

I think you need to re-read the article

plissken wrote: »
    I think you need to re-read the article

Seems to have skipped the "Attempted" part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

anyhow we stood back while the doormen cleaned their shoes on his ribs, he got the hint we were sick of him after that and went his own way.

Watching an old friend get a kicking. Nice touch. I'd say that taught him.

Wow, you must be proud of that story :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Seems to have skipped the "Attempted" part.

whoops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yep. An old friend who had violent tendancies. She kept getting herself and myself into trouble. Too many times I had to stop her from starting on guys at parties. She is very pretty and she knew it so she got away with a lot of that sort of shit. The final straw for me was when she kicked a dog. I couldn't get rid of her easily so I responeded to a call by a friend in a local pub. I knew she was on the warpath so I went up, got a punch in the face and had a wee scuffle and never heard from her again. Glad to be rid of that nut bag.
    I have since decided to keep away from paranoid schizophrenics and psychos. Too selfish imo, and way too much hassle. Sorry if anyone who has the condition is reading this btw. I know it is a horrible thing to have and would not wish it upon anyone.

Edit for the kiddies: Stay away from gange and other psychoactives until you are 17 or 18 at least. Otherwise you are at greater risk of developing these mental illnesses that will have you being billy no mates' for the rest of your lives. There is nothing harder than trying to tell a paranoid loved one that they are being paranoid.

2nd Edit to clarfiy; My scrappy friend was not a paranoid schizophrenic. Just a psycho.

rarnes1 wrote: »

What, were they expected to assualt people because their friend said so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Why the abuse for 'The Aussie'?

Sticking into trouble that your mate drunkenly starts is not part of the friend contract; the scumbag code maybe.

Aussie's story rings a bell with me. Although I myself am still friends with the culprit (he copped on later in life), a good few of the old gang give him a wide berth and never invite him to anything. The old gang were big guys who could take care of anyone on in a weapons-free environment. The crazy guy would fancy a go off strangers after four pints and expect back up from the lads. Not cool.

I did drop one other old pal when he went hardcore down the drugs route. I see him now and then in the street and he looks frontal lobotomised. Guy had everything going for him as a teenager - looks - pop with girls, brains at school, good sportsman, funny joker etc. He can't hold a conversation now and taps old 'mates' up for cash. Again not cool.

No, but expected to pull him away before he starts, seeing as how he said he put up with it for many years, he knows what his friend is like, and makes it seem like he was only there to see him get the beating some day.

Bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Some friend you are.......Maybe your the one thats been avoided.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

rarnes1 wrote: »

I think he answered the exact question that was asked in the OP.

No but drag him away kicking and screaming if you must, thats desperate carry on leaving a mate to take a hiding. If they cared enough about him and his drinking they should have gotten him a bit of help years ago.....i.e councelling or something like that.

I wouldn't imagine the doorman's shoes in his ribs was the answer....do you??

No but drag him away kicking and screaming if you must, thats desperate carry on leaving a mate to take a hiding. If they cared enough about him and his drinking they should have gotten him a bit of help years ago.....i.e councelling or something like that.

I wouldn't imagine the doorman's shoes in his ribs was the answer....do you??

The 'friend' was putting his own mates in danger by constantly starting fights. What would happen if he started on somebody who ended up knifing whoever jumped him?

The guy essentially picked fights with all and sundry. I'd say picking on people smaller than him was in there too, no one picks fights to lose. That's another reason to ditch him.

The 'friend' was putting his own mates in danger by constantly starting fights. What would happen if he started on somebody who ended up knifing whoever jumped him?

The guy essentially picked fights with all and sundry. I'd say picking on people smaller than him was in there too, no one picks fights to lose. That's another reason to ditch him.

Then get your friend a bit of help, he will thank you in the end. If a friend of mine needed my help i would be there 100% and i would get him the proper help.
    Not bring him out drinking with me, and watch him take a hiding, some friend that is.

Then get your friend a bit of help, he will thank you in the end. If a friend of mine needed my help i would be there 100% and i would get him the proper help.
    Not bring him out drinking with me, and watch him take a hiding, some friend that is.

Sh!t nobody even said get involved in the fight, just pull him away would have done, and yeah, you get your friend help, a beating does nobody any good...

How "amazing" would you have felt if one of the bouncers beat your friend into a coma, or gave him brain trauma, sh!t even killed him..

Bet you wouldn't be flaunting your story then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

WindSock wrote: »
    I have since decided to keep away from paranoid schizos. Too selfish imo, and way too much hassle. Sorry if anyone who has the condition is reading this btw. I know it is a horrible thing to have and would not wish it upon anyone.

It doesn't sound like she was a paranoid schizophrenic from what little you have said. The aren't normally violent just to be violent they tend to have disillusions that make them react violently. She sounds like a socio-path and maybe just somebody with anger problems. They don't tend to be traits even linked to cannabis use by the most condemning reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

Not so much friends but guys i was friendly with for years. Total pot heads! Effected them all to some extent but one in particular.
    No idea how many personalities he has going on! Real jaw dropping stuff sometimes.

But anyway to answer the original question i pretty much avoid them now, theyre just not worth the hassle. Besides being associated with people like just tars you with the same brush!

Kipperhell wrote: »
    It doesn't sound like she was a paranoid schizophrenic from what little you have said. The aren't normally violent just to be violent they tend to have disillusions that make them react violently. She sounds like a socio-path and maybe just somebody with anger problems. They don't tend to be traits even linked to cannabis use by the most condemning reports.

You're right. She wasn't, but I had other friends who were. I sort of went off on a tangent there. What I should have said was that I stay away from anyone who is a bit of a mentaller, regardless of their conditions. Or at least I try to keep them at arms length.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

I always wondered about these type of delusionary mental illnesses. Religious/spiritual beliefs often seem to play a big part.

For example, maybe if more people with schizophrenia* were complete atheists (believing in nothing supernatural) it would help them live more normal lives and we'd see less of this sort of thing (which is quite rare to begin with).

*picked because there seems to be a large genetic component so it's not entirely psychological

vinylmesh wrote: »
    For example, maybe if more people with schizophrenia* were complete atheists (believing in nothing supernatural) it would help them live more normal lives and we'd see less of this sort of thing (which is quite rare to begin with).

*picked because there seems to be a large genetic component so it's not entirely psychological

A schizophrenic I knew was an athiest. It wasn't the supernatural world that bothered him, it was what he beleived to be the real world. The voices he heard were real to him. He believed he was getting bugged by the CIA or whatever.

A lot of paranoid people seem to believe this. I wonder what paranoid people believed before television, bugging and the CIA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Sh!t nobody even said get involved in the fight, just pull him away would have done, and yeah, you get your friend help, a beating does nobody any good...

I'm generally the guy who pulls my friends away from starting/ getting into fights but never really met anyone who'd fight with their own shadow as The Aussie described of his 'friend', so it's hard to say, maybe the guy deserved a bit of a kicking? I would have stopped being friends with him long before though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    I'm generally the guy who pulls my friends away from starting/ getting into fights but never really met anyone who'd fight with their own shadow as The Aussie described of his 'friend', so it's hard to say, maybe the guy deserved a bit of a kicking? I would have stopped being friends with him long before though.

I have a mate like that and I walk away every time. You wouldnt know unless you know someone like that. The warnings go on and on and on, ut are never taken and it is always someone elses fault.

engrish? wrote: »
    I have a mate like that and I walk away every time. You wouldnt know unless you know someone like that. The warnings go on and on and on, ut are never taken and it is always someone elses fault.

I have a friend was like that, and with advice from his friends, he took up muay thai and BJJ, and is now in the army.

God i hope he doesn't like fighting when he comes back, or we're all fúcked.

After more than 3 years of him wanting to fight the world and expect me and a few others we went to school with to have his back (and 3 years of telling to cut out his drunken garbage)

Well well well, people who have not been there have an opinion:pac:, if you tell someone every other weekend for 3 years to cop on, end up with a criminal conviction for having his back, a personal claim against me for $3800 plus expenses and a bit of extra scar tissue for my trouble, i wonder how may keyboard hard men would have stuck by him for that long, Ha Ha Ha...

You just made yourself look like more of an idiot.

Or just generally a slow learner, your choice.

Neither my Limerick friend, just a different culture, talking of slow learners would it have taken you less than 3 years to dump him as a mate, if so some friend you are. i suppose its easy when your behind a keyboard though...

No i just wouldn't have gone drinking with him, and if i did, not being a slow learner, i would have known what was instore and have expected a fight from him, if i had put up with that you had for the three years.

Sooooooo, you're saying you are a better friend, because instead of just not being friends with him anymore, you let him get the sh!t beat out of him??

And you're not behind a keyboard?? stfu with that stupid jibe to everyone here, you're a reaaaaaaal man, we get it, you watch your friends get beaten, Real man, we get it.

I think your o button is sticking there mate, and as for being a real man if i was i would have told the wife last christmas we were staying in brisbane. So wise and humble Yoda how would you stop drinking with someone who invited themselves out, hanging on to your next pearl...

Wow, you go to the same place every time, or does he have a tracking device on you???

He must be finding you somehow, if you're not inviting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

It sounds like the Aussie's mate was a bully. A good hiding is probably exactly what he needed

Nah mate, i think your missing the point of a normal young fella going out with his mates, to pick up women (i had to put in women in there just in case your location of chasing rainbows is your preferred option there sister) and i will even throw in a brief history lesson for you, Brisbane in the early 90's only had 2 pubs and 1 nightclub that you went to if you serious about pulling (once again i will state Women ) so even with very minor powers of deduction it would not take a smart man to figure that one out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

I think the point that was being made Aussie, is that if you go out with this guy and engage in fights with him to the point where you get arrested, sued and permanently injured, your friend might have a pretty good basis to assume that you will jump in when he gets in a fight and help him out. To say that you left him to get a good kicking from a bouncer in order to cop him on seems pretty darn unfair in the circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

I'm sure some of you boardsies have have a mate, or someone in your circle who has been a few shillings short in the purse. Have you ever had to ditch them, avoid them and hope they get the message?

Inspired by this story out today; a man accidently texted someone he had last seen 4 years ago. The guy who recieved it called to his door, and after he got in, killed him. The Judge said the victim was unlucky for texting this guy accidently.

FUUUUUUUUUCK

Someone i know was on jury duty for this case :eek:

z_topaz wrote: »
    I think the point that was being made Aussie, is that if you go out with this guy and engage in fights with him to the point where you get arrested, sued and permanently injured, your friend might have a pretty good basis to assume that you will jump in when he gets in a fight and help him out. To say that you left him to get a good kicking from a bouncer in order to cop him on seems pretty darn unfair in the circumstances.

Good point well made, when you grow up with someone you want to protect them as much as you can and looking back we should have let him at it from the day dot, it just took me having to sell my car to pay off my debts to realise it i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I ditched a friend right in the head once.

And by ditched I mean f*cked.

And by head I mean ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

The Aussie is right, if any of my mates made an unprovoked attack on some doormen I would leave him to it, is there anything worse than going out with an arsehole like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I have friends like that too, alcohol just drives some people crazy. These lads are the life and sole of the party on any other drug but put more than 6 cans in them and they turn violent. I just won't support them when they go off causing trouble when they're drunk and they know it and don't expect anything else. If it's a friend who doesn't always go out causing hassle but gets agro drunk once in a blue moon I will take him out of the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭bSlick

You are the one who is sounding like a complete idiot here. It's obvious from Aussie's story that he is a good friend who went through alot with this friend, and told him repeatedly he was sick of the fighting. Then yer man goes and starts another fight against some rough bouncers in which case Aussie is looking at getting a good beating himself at best or else ending up seriously injured/getting a(nother) criminal conviction. Why the f*ck should he jump in and have your man's back again? Aussie would have to be a complete f*cking moron to jump in again after telling yer man repeadtedly to cut out the fighting and after racking up serious personal loss from previous incidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

If you want to have a good old read on this topic try this
    The Chaotic Life of Brendan O'Donnell by Tony Muggivan and J.J. Muggivan
    Mental illness, religious delusion, murder and much more all in a rural Clare setting.
    Sad read tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭spartan1

I wonder how many people agree with this.

Anyone who starts fights for little reason, deserves a kickin
    and I think a little reason is ......spilling a pint by accident etc etc

anyone who is having a few pints and starting fights cos they're twats on booze is a twat in general, its so annoying on nights out

and for those of you who are saying that just cos your drunken mate starts a fight with pple on the street that you should jump in with showers of punches and kicks ? WTF like ? My mates are very clear on my stance, if one of them starts a fight that is unwarranted , dont expect my help.

and for the record im well used to violence, have seen it all, and a lot more than most, know quite a lot of pple with attidude problems, and like to go mad on nights out like anybody, but for the pple who get drunk and agressive, give it up its just not for you..........and its refreshing sometimes to see some stupid drunkard on the street getting his comeuppance.

they're just terrorizing people !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

If any of my mates got in a fight I would probably stick up for them,well not jump into to make it an unfair fight but if he was getting battered,but if he LOOKED for this fight and it happened more then once then he could fcuk right off.The Aussie's stance was the right one in my eyes,maybe he didnt want him getting seven shades of shoite knocked out of him,perhaps he thought a few digs would sort him out.

Gillington wrote: »
    If any of my mates got in a fight I would probably stick up for them,well not jump into to make it an unfair fight but if he was getting battered,but if he LOOKED for this fight and it happened more then once then he could fcuk right off.The Aussie's stance was the right one in my eyes,maybe he didnt want him getting seven shades of shoite knocked out of him,perhaps he thought a few digs would sort him out.

It's not the point that he didn't help him, it's the point that he kept backing him up even though he knew he was wrong, and instead of not going out with his mate, he just went out with him, and let him get the sh!t kicked out of him, unless you've been in this situation before, you probably understand, and I know Aussie made a judgment call, I'm just saying it's not the one i would have made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

vinylmesh wrote: »
    I always wondered about these type of delusionary mental illnesses. Religious/spiritual beliefs often seem to play a big part.

I think thats a fairly ignorant statement. Schizophrenia will manifest in people regardless of what they believe and they will suffer from the symptoms regardless.

I think it's amazing how some people will use any topic to take a pop off religion.

I think thats a fairly ignorant statement. Schizophrenia will manifest in people regardless of what they believe and they will suffer from the symptoms regardless.

I think it's amazing how some people will use any topic to take a pop off religion.

Did you read the original post, the man stabbed him because he claimed the dude failed to "renounce the devil".

Religion had rightful place in this topic, Jus' Saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Did you read the original post, the man stabbed him because he claimed the dude failed to "renounce the devil".

Religion had rightful place in this topic, Jus' Saying.

He probably would have still done it if he did'nt believe in the devil. As another poster said schizophrenics might think they are being spied on by the CIA.

I'm not saying he wouldn't have, I'm just saying I don't think that vinylmesh was making an outlandish attack on religion, that's all.