Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jackie Hurley - Sports reader

• 01-12-2009 7:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭

Jackie Hurley is clearly straining her vocal chords

it is increasingly difficult to listen to her

also very unprofessional of her a few months ago on the Sunday show on Radio 1 when she was clearly hungover and the others spent the afternoon slagging her, at the very end of the broadcast she thought they were off air and she said (I think to Con Murphy)

'Im gonna kill you, ye little shit'

why does she try to sound like a man?

The best broadcasters are comfortable in their own skin. Jackie needs to sort herself out, I switch off when I hear her now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

LOL.. way ahead of you barname

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭SNORBEAST

What's more annoying about her is her pronunciations, she pronounces a " t " as a " d ", for example twidder instead of Twitter, Manchester UniDed, instead of United e.t.c, she really gets on my t*ts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

SNORBEAST wrote: »
    What's more annoying about her is her pronunciations, she pronounces a " t " as a " d ", for example twidder instead of Twitter, Manchester UniDed, instead of United e.t.c, she really gets on my t*ts

Afternoon....afdthernoon

jaysus!!! drives me bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

I switch station once I know she'll be on like I do for Aine Lawlor and Eanna Ni Lamhna:mad: I really wish they would go behind the scenes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Shouldn't that be on your dids? Incidentally, I think she's a fine broadcaster, most of the time presenters are criticised for homogenising their accents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Hello Mr Hurley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Jaysus, listening to Jackie Hurley today is fchurking severe...

Terrible delivery especially the A’s. Ayyyyzsnal’. Mike McCaaaayyyrdney’ very difficult to listen to this ayyyfdernoun.

Very difficult to listen to for any length of time.

Sure she’s a nice person.....but Jaysus....haaaaard going to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Jaysus, listening to Jackie Hurley today is fchurking severe...

Terrible delivery especially the A’s. Ayyyyzsnal’. Mike McCaaaayyyrdney’ very difficult to listen to this ayyyfdernoun.

Very difficult to listen to for any length of time.

Sure she’s a nice person.....but Jaysus....haaaaard going to listen to.
    Jackie’s voice can be grating but she is not the worst-I listen to Sat and Sun Sport on Radio 1. Jackie usually cohosts and gets on great with her sidekick (his name escapes me atm)- Anyone giving out about her should listen to Des and Joanne cohosting on Saturday-they do not give off good vibes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

She's not great alright. It's all about tokenism I'm afraid but that's the new era so nowt can be done about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

DellyBelly wrote: »
    She's not great alright. It's all about tokenism I'm afraid but that's the new era so nowt can be done about it.

Quotas I take it? Yes they, the state broadcaster seem obliged for some reason to ensure female quotas. It's not inherently clear why, unless the standard is high and it is often not. Both the aforementioned Ms. Hurley and Evainn Ní Chuileann are utterly abject. Poor voice control and intonation, repeated mispronounctions and generally desperately inadequate knowledge of their chosen subject which is sport, but hey the show goes on. Jackie has been hanging in there for years with her pirate accented aarrrrrr tay yeeee. There's dozens of other far worse misprouncements already shown in this thread. Unacceptable. F*ck the queen's english stuff. It's just not good enough. Maybe it's years of hanging about with the likes of Darren Frehill and Pauric Lodge not to mind Des Cahill that leaves a total lack of quality control. To be fair Joanne Cantwell shows all the attributes of a calm seasoned pro of undisputed quality that has deservedly seen her rewarded with the Sunday game presentation that she will no doubt control masterfully. There is light and shade. Lots of gloom too.

Yes You are correct, there is terrible stuff going on that seems to be accepted without any quality control or correction.

I mean one can accept if the ‘amateur’ co host gets the grammar wrong and gives us a ferocious beating with the ‘done’ and ‘seen’ words but I think one could surely expect better all round from the ‘professionals’

Jackie needs to ‘soften’ the ‘ As’ big time get rid of the ‘knacksrish’ Aaaaarsinal’ kind of stuff especially as she hosts a programme around three hours long.

Personally I couldn’t take three hours of that.

Edit I would’t say the above mentioned are ‘totally abject’ but would say need improvement and it shouldn’t be difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

AAAAAAAAAAAAARTE !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Sunday's show was shocking from the get-go.

How the likes of "I loves me county" Mullane can be consistently employed by a national broadcaster is beyond me.
    There was another spoofer who kept using the phrase "again Tipp" and "again Kilkenny"- amateurish in the extreme.

I'm not looking forward to a summer of listening to "oohhhh Pauric!!! The Wexicans are getting rowdy!!"

padd b1975 wrote: »

How the likes of "I loves me county" Mullane can be consistently employed by a national broadcaster is beyond me.
    There was another spoofer who kept using the phrase "again Tipp" and "again Kilkenny"- amateurish in the extreme.

I'm not looking forward to a summer of listening to "oohhhh Pauric!!! The Wexicans are getting rowdy!!"

They have to do something about this crappage Pad, they have Johnny McDonald and Pat Fenlon, nice lads but the frikken accents,yer man Darren Frehill saying ‘med’ instead of ‘made’.

Surely they can do better than this.

It’s extremely disrespectful to the listeners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Ah I wouldn't fault John Mullane - he's the genuine article, passionate, knows his stuff, can be partisan but ready to give credit when it's due to the other side. Listen to him any day.

Funnily my wife can't stand Jackie's voice for some reason too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

They have to do something about this crappage Pad, they have Johnny McDonald and Pat Fenlon, nice lads but the frikken accents,yer man Darren Frehill saying ‘med’ instead of ‘made’.

It's excrement. There is zero quality control. Zero. Darren Frehill is all hail fellow well met, but who is as much of a sports journalist as he is a vatican swiss guard. Totally bereft of knowledge or of any broadcasting skills whatsoever. It's college radio standard. Really despicable. Slurping Dessie Cahill and his clear disdain for Joanne Cantwell brings us into the weekend with their interminable boredom and half hearted sloppiness. Jackie Hurley is as well versed here, a f*cking abomination and the 2fm nightly shout fest between Hugh Cahill and Alan Cawley is ear gratingly hellish. At least Gary Murphy is actually quite good and has a remarkable voice.

Well, to corroborate that, there was an insert with Ray Houghton this morning on MI I think......three (3) major grammatical errors in the first two or three minutes.

Its not really good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,864 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

High standards being demanded by people who can't even spell her name correctly. Ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I'm not a fan of the likes of Jacqui Hurley because she's not very good at her job but many of the complaints here seem to be about people using their own accent. That doesn't bother me. We don't use the received pronunciation of the old BBC are neither should we. Neither do we live in the south east of England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I think she's good at her job.

Has a genuine passion for sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

A Dublin "twang" definitely helps if you want a gig talking about Irish soccer it seems.
    If you can stretch to a Louis Copeland pinstripe suit and a tie with a massive knot then you're in with a shout of getting on the telly as well.

A Dublin "twang" definitely helps if you want a gig talking about Irish soccer it seems.
    If you can stretch to a Louis Copeland pinstripe suit and a tie with a massive knot then you're in with a shout of getting on the telly as well.

Well spotted Padd.

I would agree there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Don’t forget the chewing gum!

Would those arseholes from the South pleeeeeeeeeeese stop referring to

Galway

as

Gollway

The Gooche, and the Cork fella are the main culprits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭EdEd

That's how they speak in Kerry and Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Would those arseholes from the South pleeeeeeeeeeese stop referring to

Galway

as

Gollway

The Gooche, and the Cork fella are the main culprits

Isnt it the other way around

Gaul-way is correct, like small way, or tall way

Whereas in Kerry they say Gal, like pal. Cork's Matt Cooper does it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,275 ✭✭✭bobbyss

I must be mixing her up with someone else in RTE who reports on the harse racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I dont listen to radio often so only really know Jackie Hurley from the TV. What is her knowledge of sport like on the radio? Because I remember during the Euros two yhears back she was the anchor on a programme where Spain were playing and during analysis she referred to Iniesta "pumping hopeful balls into the box". I think it was Dunphy who corrected her by saying he is one of the best midfielders in the world and doesnt play hopeful balls. It was cringe stuff for Jackie, it really showed that she doesnt quite get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Joe Dog

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I dont listen to radio often so only really know Jackie Hurley from the TV. What is her knowledge of sport like on the radio? Because I remember during the Euros two yhears back she was the anchor on a programme where Spain were playing and during analysis she referred to Iniesta "pumping hopeful balls into the box". I think it was Dunphy who corrected her by saying he is one of the best midfielders in the world and doesnt play hopeful balls. It was cringe stuff for Jackie, it really showed that she doesnt quite get it.

The irony of Eamonn Dunphy correcting someone for talking nonsense.