Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight, RTE 1 9:30PM

• 30-11-2009 8:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭

Just a reminder that there is a programme on the Irish rugby team tonight. Should be good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭netvista

any links for outside ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

The shot of the guy going "f--- f---" when he realised drico has scored against Wales is priceless. Just the sheer shock and joy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

I need to see this. I live in a different country though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

What did you all think? I thought it was really good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Thought it was absolutely brilliant. Wasn't just a re-hash of 'reaching for glory', focused alot more on the camaraderie between the players and how close they are. Ranged from heart wrenching to hilarious, Rog making fun of himself over the Lions 2nd test incident for instance. It was quite emotional at the end and you saw a glimpse of just how much it meant to the players and staff. Never heard John Hayes speak before tonight!

Jesus Christ thank god Jones missed that penalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

It was like reliving it all over again!! That final kick in Wales ! I thought it was very good

I also have never heard John Hayes speak before either it was class!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's on DVD.

Good show. How O Driscoll didn't get player of the year is criminal, O Gara was honest and Bowe's a right messer.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Stunning program, the bits with the banter between the players and also getting to hear from the coaches that you never normally hear from were great. O'Garas joke about how his opinion of giving away last minute penalties has changed a lot since the summer was great.
    Another classic from Berry and Nugent..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭A-Train

It was very good, like has been said already never heard the Bull speak before. Also when ROG took the pee out of himself I cracked up...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Absolutely brilliant show, brought back all the great memories from what was the happiest sporting moment of my life. Definitely a keeper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

Very good and well presented. The honesty and freeness with their thoughts of the players gave was great. And yes, ROG on how experience can change your view on giving away late penalties was a highlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,978 ✭✭✭✭phog

For me it highlights the team ethos that exists within the camp, each and everyone of those interviewed showed how much they enjoy each others company. Long may it live within the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Great stuff, very emotional towards the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭ironingbored

The only thing the programme lacked I thought was a little insight in the dressing room at half time, full time, pre kick off, etc. Apart from that it was brilliant, players and coaches were fantastic.

Every time I watch the Jones' penalty I think he's going to get it over. :D

Unbelievable emotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Gotta appreciate some of the in-jokes and slagging - ROG on himself, the young lads calling him basically old, Paddy and how he was bricking himself.

Interesting to see how far along Ireland and the provinces have come when you hear ROG and the older fellas talk about how they wouldn't have had anywhere near the level of confidence that the lads like Luke, Rob, Bowe etc. have at their age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Great show I thought. Goose bumps at a few points during it. That DVD would make a great gift for the rugby fan. Fair play to them, legends.
    O'Driscoll is a phoenomenal rugby player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭JoeyDoh

Slightly off-topic but...

Does anyone know what song was playing when Stephen Jones took his kick:P

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Davie_m

JoeyDoh wrote: »

Cheers

sounded like regina spektor, not sure of the track though.. might of been 'eet'

class show, taught it was hilarious the lads taken the mick out of heaslip and his celebrations of his try against scotland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭candlegrease

this up on rte player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭JoeyDoh

Cheers Davie m,it was Regina Spektor-Eet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

The only thing the programme lacked I thought was a little insight in the dressing room at half time, full time, pre kick off, etc. Apart from that it was brilliant, players and coaches were fantastic.

Every time I watch the Jones' penalty I think he's going to get it over. :D

Unbelievable emotion.

See no one expected anything of Ireland so there were no cameras recording in the dressing room. Unlike 2006 with reaching for glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Love how ROG and the lads could have a laugh at (can't remember who) giving away a penalty at the last minute of the Welsh game.

ROG: "I've slightly changed my mind over the summer, before I was thinking how could anybody give away a penalty with 2 minutes left on the clock."

Considering how he himself gave away a vital penalty against the Springboks in the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Still sends shivers through my spine every time I watch ROG slot that drop goal!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

i dont warm to rog at all.i cant put my finger on it but im not fond of him.comes accross as arrogant.maybe thats the wrong word?? i dont know.like the time he kept his hands in his pocket meeting the queen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

i dont warm to rog at all.i cant put my finger on it but im not fond of him.comes accross as arrogant.maybe thats the wrong word?? i dont know.like the time he kept his hands in his pocket meeting the queen

He gets a +1 for doing that!

He was honest and was able to have a joke at his own expense over his opinion on giving away a penalty in the last 2 minutes. Maybe you are holding a grudge over something else.

If anything Kearney came out as the person who divided the dressing room by the finger pointing the munster players over commitment

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Dempsey wrote: »
    If anything Kearney came out as the person who divided the dressing room by the finger pointing the munster players over commitment

What? I've never seen anything but praise for that. It did the exact opposite of dividing the dressing room.

I don't know Ronan O'Gara as a person so I think its stupid to think one way or the other of him as one. He comes across poorly a lot of the time - and things like the hands in the pocket thing look childish - but we only catch a glimpse of the guy's life. Its completely unfair to even start to judge him based on that. He is a good rugby player, and yes he's not at his best at the moment but I wouldn't question the guy's character. He's done his best for Ireland, that's all I care about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

You obviously haven't a clue then. Kearneys comments were the sole thing in that Enfield camp that brought the entire squad together. He opened the flood gates for everyone to come in and speak about their opinions and concerns going forward and it galvanized the entire squad. The whole thing is documented in the Ireland grand slam book.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

He is as honest and as open as they come not something you expect from a sports star who are generally protected and say nothing. He just tells it like it is and rarely he is wrong. Might come across as brash but so what, you want a robot instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

JoeyDoh wrote: »

Cheers

It is by Sigur Rós and is called "Við Spilum Endalaust" ("we play endlessly")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

watching this just shows how crazy a decision it was to award McCaw with world player of the year. BOD was herculean all season, had he been on the pitch against france in '07 we could have been celebrating 2 grand slams in 3 seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭shanagarry

It's on DVD.

I assume the DVD isn't released yet? Would love to get my hands on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

Decent enough programme but a bit tedious at times especially if like me you had read the book.

Some good moments - The bit between Heaslip and O Connell

Heaslip " lads were making great hits at that stage"
    O Connell " I put in a few too"
    Heaslip " Did you?"
    O Connell " Yeah"

O Connell becomes David Brent

or Bowe
    " Delighted for ROG to score like that in his last season"
    Classic
    Did anyone notice that ROG looked at O Driscoll any time he (ROG) said anything?

Really?

97688.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

ronoc wrote: »
    Really?

97688.png

Thanks saved me searching for the picture! Why people still go on with that he wouldn't shake the queens hand, it was when he was chatting to her later he had hands in his pocket!:rolleyes: To me that is no biggie... sure most people when talking to someone standing up will have their hands in their pocket at somestage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

i'd really wish people would move on over rog meeting the queen :) he shook her hand ffs !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

I think he stood on her toe there, better than Sexton who would have just shouted in her face.:D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Great programme, I would have thought that showing it would have affected DVD sales negatively, but I definately am getting it now. Much better than the Leinster one imo. RTE do this kind of thing very well. Some very funny moments too, Bowe, O Gara and I had to laugh when Hayes was on about 'rotting back to the halfway line to get a sup of water!" what a legend!
    Really showed a great team spirit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

Anybody know why this aint up on RTEs iplayer yet? All of the rest of last nights shows seem to be up....

Podge_irl wrote: »
    What? I've never seen anything but praise for that. It did the exact opposite of dividing the dressing room.

Very simplistic view if you ask me. How many months were him and other players going around the Irish Dressing Room with that mentality? No wonder the WC campaign was doomed.
    chupacabra wrote: »
    You obviously haven't a clue then. Kearneys comments were the sole thing in that Enfield camp that brought the entire squad together. He opened the flood gates for everyone to come in and speak about their opinions and concerns going forward and it galvanized the entire squad. The whole thing is documented in the Ireland grand slam book.

You read a book so you know it all :rolleyes:

See above

Also to people questioning ROG's character, who was the first person from the sideline to congratulate Sexton? He was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭dublinhead

crisco10 wrote: »
    Anybody know why this aint up on RTEs iplayer yet? All of the rest of last nights shows seem to be up....

Was just looking for it as well. Is should be up by now if its going to be shown at all.

dublinhead wrote: »
    Was just looking for it as well. Is should be up by now if its going to be shown at all.

Probably gonna be released on DVD have anything to do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭dublinhead

Probably gonna be released on DVD have anything to do with it?

If its going to be released on DVD why show it on TV first??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

dublinhead wrote: »
    If its going to be released on DVD why show it on TV first??

They'll show it on TV to generate interest in it for sales for christmas. They won't put it on the player otherwise it'll kill the sales.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Glad i recorded it last night,

Great program RTE really do these programs really well, the same with the GAA ones.
    Honestly i felt like it was watching a tense movie cutting between the wales games and the others leading up to it.

Was like reliving the entire 2 months all over again.

It was what i thought the grand slam DVD was going to be already instead of just DVD's of the matches. Still great to look back on all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

chupacabra wrote: »
    You obviously haven't a clue then. Kearneys comments were the sole thing in that Enfield camp that brought the entire squad together
    oh for god's sake . . . :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Justind wrote: »
    oh for god's sake . . . :rolleyes:

I'm not sure I'd be so quick to disagree.

Keep in mind the scars that group would have had following the end of the EOS reign.

Certainly something like that could be seen to act as a catalyst in bringing a bunch of people together.

In saying that, unless anyone here was part of the Ireland squad, we can't actually know. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

They'll show it on TV to generate interest in it for sales for christmas. They won't put it on the player otherwise it'll kill the sales.

I assume there'll be more on the DVD than was screened last night ?

Was that an independent production, or an RTE one ? One of the names in the credits has the surname Nugent - is that a brother of Ryle ?

And was it Ryle asking the question (and when you scored (against France) did you think the Slam was on ?) that was ridiculed by O'Gara, Hayes & O'Driscoll ? He hadn't learned from his mistake when he later asked O'Gara about his state of mind when they needed a drop goal in Cardiff (No, that isn't what I was thinking at all ) :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭lovinit

Watched this programme last night, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was wonderful reliving every game of the six nations. Its nice to see that all the players actually get on well. Hector and Risteard did a DVD following the team at the world cup and even back then the whole team got on very well and thats really great to see. I would like to have heard from Donnacha as well but it was great to hear all their views from the campaign. They are a team to be truly proud of:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 chemgirl

In all fairness do you not remember when the English rugby team made Mary McAleese walk on the grass in Lansdowne road she is as important to this country as the Queen is to England. Rog still shook the Queens hand....