Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anyone been to a Life Coach?

• 30-11-2009 6:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭

Am curious cos I am vaguely bored with my life. Hate my job, it doesnt suit me at all and I dont seem to find things that truly capture my interest. HAs anyone been to a life coach and gotten benefit from it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

All they will really do is charge you a rake and tell you decide something you want to do and follow it.

I will do that right now for free.

What do you want to be in 5 years?

BTW Sarah, my offer is serious, I have been a good motivator for positive life changes before.....if you need one PM Me!! :)

No use in wasting money per session for someone who really just couldnt give a tupenny fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

A what?

Lia_lia wrote: »
    A what?

They are people you pay exorbitent amounts of money to who will allegedly motivate you to better yourself.

Like a councellor, but you go to them if you have no real problems and are just stuck in a rut TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Lia_lia wrote: »
    A what?

A LIFE COACH!!!!

Turn up your hearing aid dummy!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Never but I've bought loads of life coach/self help type books. I'm not sure if I'm allowed to link here but my current favourite is a guy called Steve Pavlina. Type his name into Google, then click on archives at the top of his page, there are loads of fabulous articles in there. He has a twitter page too.

I'm not sure you need to pay for what you are looking for Sarah, there is loads of life coaching information online or buy a few books like the Secret or The Life Audit. I agree with minidazzler in that they will just ask you the questions found in the books.

I think we need a support thread here soon for all our new years resolutions, same style as the happy/sad threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

I hate my job - its sucking the life out of me but I cant complain cos I am lucky to have a job. We had one of those personality assessment tests in work lately and it confirmed what I knew, that this job does not suit me in the slightest..... Rant over.

They are people you pay exorbitent amounts of money to who will allegedly motivate you to better yourself.

Like a councellor, but you go to them if you have no real problems and are just stuck in a rut TBH.

"Motivation to better yourself" is something that most of us need so I'm definitely not knocking the idea, think recession, unemployment, PI problems... In a way it's what we're all looking for but I disagree with paying for it.

SarahSassy wrote: »
    I hate my job - its sucking the life out of me but I cant complain cos I am lucky to have a job. We had one of those personality assessment tests in work lately and it confirmed what I knew, that this job does not suit me in the slightest..... Rant over.

That's bull, you can complain all you want.

But only if you are willing to do something about it, otherwise you are simply a moaner. So think not about where you are. But Where you want TO BE!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

No use in wasting money per session for someone who really just couldnt give a tupenny fcuk.

Do you know what your talking about ?
    You do realise that people who go to councilling get life coaching lesson's of the councilor for many different reasons?
    Whats your position on negitive and positive moods that affect those around you ?
    motivation comes from sastisfaction, and that satisfaction gives you motivation what do you think of this ?
    whats your understanding of weekly sheduales and having it all written out and mood rated per days how would you think this helps most people per day and in what way ?
    what about the understanding of emotions and how they effect you shurely you'd know all about the technicques to explain this?

personally having been to a life coach who was also coucillor having gone forma shy unhappy person to a forward straight talking confident man who is at peace ith him self I think what you've just said is for a lack of a better word. dissgracefully dissrespectfull and more then anything completely down to a lack of knowlage not only that but you've just tared a profession that in some case's has helped many many people over come problems in life that held them back.

Allow me to give you a fair point... I used to be like you wanting to help any body that was in trouble or need help. It wasnt untill i meet some one who had bigger problems then i could actually deal with the things i used to hear would make my hands shake uncontroalably with anger an anger that i couldnt control.

Some times helping people unless you understand how. Can be incredably dangerous for you as well as them....

That's bull, you can complain all you want.

But only if you are willing to do something about it, otherwise you are simply a moaner. So think not about where you are. But Where you want TO BE!!!

That's exactly what the Life coach would say to you (and me). I LOVE the concept of it and I expect life coaches have helped loads of people but if you can access the methods they use you can do it on your own. They can't really motivate you anyway, that has to come from within yourself. They just guide you using various techniques and goal setting exercises and plans.

sunnyside wrote: »
    That's exactly what the Life coach would say to you (and me). I LOVE the concept of it and I expect life coaches have helped loads of people but if you can access the methods they use you can do it on your own. They can't really motivate you anyway, that has to come from within yourself. They just guide you using various techniques and goal setting exercises and plans.

I know that's what they say!! :) But I don't charge a rake load to say it! :)

I have helped a few friends enact life changes by just telling them what they needed to hear, even if it wasn't what they wanted to hear.

I am not again life coaches, but I am against the idea of paying someone so much to tell you what you (should) already know.

Do you know what your talking about ?
    You do realise that people who go to councilling get life coaching lesson's of the councilor for many different reasons?
    Whats your position on negitive and positive moods that affect those around you ?
    motivation comes from sastisfaction, and that satisfaction gives you motivation what do you think of this ?
    whats your understanding of weekly sheduales and having it all written out and mood rated per days how would you think this helps most people per day and in what way ?
    what about the understanding of emotions and how they effect you shurely you'd know all about the technicques to explain this?

personally having been to a life coach who was also coucillor having gone forma shy unhappy person to a forward straight talking confident man who is at peace ith him self I think what you've just said is for a lack of a better word. dissgracefully dissrespectfull and more then anything completely down to a lack of knowlage not only that but you've just tared a profession that in some case's has helped many many people over come problems in life that held them back.

Allow me to give you a fair point... I used to be like you wanting to help any body that was in trouble or need help. It wasnt untill i meet some one who had bigger problems then i could actually deal with the things i used to hear would make my hands shake uncontroalably with anger an anger that i couldnt control.

Some times helping people unless you understand how. Can be incredably dangerous for you as well as them....

You say councillor, so that person was a Psychologist I assume?

NOT The same thing. I want to be a Psychologist.

Life coaching is NOT Psychology in that it requires no state certified Qualifications.

You say councillor, so that person was a Psychologist I assume?

NOT The same thing. I want to be a Psychologist.

Life coaching is NOT Psychology in that it requires no state certified Qualifications.

I dont think it matters to much.

Thats interesting. Am i supposed to be intimdated bye some wannabe who hasn't even got a cert on his wall ? well the ones i know would useually do this if that sort of talk comes to conversation they get very board start shifting around and staring at the pretty ladys or men in some case's...

wonder why that is :confused:

I dont think it matters to much.

Thats interesting. Am i supposed to be intimdated bye some wannabe who hasn't even got a cert on his wall ? well the ones i know would useually do this if that sort of talk comes to conversation they get very board start shifting around and staring at the pretty ladys or men in some case's...

wonder why that is :confused:

NO you are not supposed to be intimidated, I was just stating the difference of which there is a HUGE one.

ANYONE can call themselves a Life coach. it is NOT the same thing as Psychologist, the differences are irrefutable.

You have no experience of someone who is only a life coach it seems. So why would you keep arguing for them?

RE: The Bold part. I can't understand where this came from? Can you explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Fago_25 wrote: »
    A LIFE COACH!!!!

Turn up your hearing aid dummy!!! ;)

WOAH!

Can't believe they exist. Well actually I can, but you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

To all who have PM's me to offer their services, thanks but I am just finding out more at the moment.

SarahSassy wrote: »
    To all who have PM's me to offer their services, thanks but I am just finding out more at the moment.

Have actual life coaches PMed you?? lol

NO you are not supposed to be intimidated, I was just stating the difference of which there is a HUGE one.

ANYONE can call themselves a Life coach. it is NOT the same thing as Psychologist, the differences are irrefutable.

You have no experience of someone who is only a life coach it seems. So why would you keep arguing for them?

there isnt really when your on the other side of the fence, and have experenced the turn around, effect, how to deal with emotions how to deal with the lack of motivation things i could never have done with out the only word and that word is Life Coaching. because its a part of life. thus requireing life coaching.

and being that councilors do that, to me in a twisted sence are life coaching, unfortunatly when you said that people should be aware of how to deal with emotions where not all able to.

this is my point. I know that it may not make sense but when i think of a life coach i dont think of a seminar with a an running around a stage i think of the likes of learning how my emotions work and how one emotion can drag you down. How to motivate your self. etc... would you not agree that, thats what a good councilior does insted of listening. and saying very little. they show you what you need to learn to?
    RE: The Bold part. I can't understand where this came from? Can you explain?

wouldnt worry about it.

there isnt really when your on the other side of the fence, and have experenced the turn around, effect, how to deal with emotions how to deal with the lack of motivation things i could never have done with out the only word and that word is Life Coaching. because its a part of life. thus requireing life coaching.

and being that councilors do that, to me in a twisted sence are life coaching, unfortunatly when you said that people should be aware of how to deal with emotions where not all able to.

this is my point. I know that it may not make sense but when i think of a life coach i dont think of a seminar with a an running around a stage i think of the likes of learning how my emotions work and how one emotion can drag you down. How to motivate your self. etc... would you not agree that, thats what a good councilior does insted of listening. and saying very little. they show you what you need to learn to?

wouldnt worry about it.

What you call Life Coaching is actually Councilling. Life coaching is simply being motivated.

You went to a guy with a masters on his wall. He helped you. He was a Psychologist though, with actual certifiable training.

He may have been a Life Coach, but he was Also a Psychologist. His primary title, in fact his PROTECTED title is Psychologist.

I could open a studio tomorrow if I wanted with Life Coach on the Door. Does that make me a good Councillor? (I good at giving advice, but I am no councillor)

You are comparing apples and oranges!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

All they will really do is charge you a rake and tell you decide something you want to do and follow it.

I will do that right now for free.

What do you want to be in 5 years?

Love it - totally Munster. One of the girls in work said that today and I was the only one who got it - love baffling the Dubs with our culchie lingo.

I can barely coach myself out of bed in the morning, never mind going to someone else who'll tell me largely what I know already. I went to a career advisor a few years ago and her advice was to work in an area I have no interest free gratis for a few months to get experience. Instead I got a job in another area I have little interest in (which might have been a smart move since her suggested area was one of the first to go tits up). It pays the remaining college loans, and I have a job, which is not to be sneezed at at the mo - especially where I'm from - we have the second worst unemployment in the country according to the local rag this week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

I could open a studio tomorrow if I wanted with Life Coach on the Door.

Out of curiosity I googled 'Life Coach' and turns out there is qualifications you can get for life coaching from the International Coach Federation. So maybe you'll have to put the studio idea on hold for a bit. :p
    Bulsh_01 wrote:
    Love it - totally Munster. One of the girls in work said that today and I was the only one who got it - love baffling the Dubs with our culchie lingo.

Hold on a second! I thought that was more of a Dub term? Dub meaning D4 that is. :pac:

Notorious wrote: »
    Out of curiosity I googled 'Life Coach' and turns out there is qualifications you can get for life coaching from the International Coach Federation. So maybe you'll have to put the studio idea on hold for a bit. :p

There are qualifications you CAN get. But Coaching is NOT a protected term, (Doctor, Psychologist, etc.... all are!) I can call myself a life coach all I want.

I can call myself a life coach all I want.

Yes coach! You're the boss.

Hold on a second! I thought that was more of a Dub term? Dub meaning D4 that is. :pac:

A rake? Meaning a large amount?

God, if that's the case things have changed dramatically since I lived in Dublin 4. We must really be getting a toehold! G'wan the culchies!

Mini, I've changed my mind, defeatism is so last month. What're your rates?

Blush_01 wrote: »

God, if that's the case things have changed dramatically since I lived in Dublin 4. We must really be getting a toehold! G'wan the culchies!

Mini, I've changed my mind, defeatism is so last month. What're your rates?

Free of course! :) You need motivation and someone who can get your innermost secrets out....PM me! :) Seriously. I am not joking! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

Snow-Monkey, I have to agree with Minidazzler on this. A counsellor might be a life coach, but a Life Coach is certainly not a counsellor. I go to a counsellor and I have a lot of respect for what she does. I think Life Coaches are scam artists who take your money and do very little (if anything at all). Pretty much in the same box as Aura Readers and psychics.

Dinxminx wrote: »
    Snow-Monkey, I have to agree with Minidazzler on this. A counsellor might be a life coach, but a Life Coach is certainly not a counsellor. I go to a counsellor and I have a lot of respect for what she does. I think Life Coaches are scam artists who take your money and do very little (if anything at all). Pretty much in the same box as Aura Readers and psychics.

Not so much a scam IMO than it is a Confidence Scheme. People would naturally assume a person with a Title like Life Coach can gve good advice. But TBH, if you are a Life Coach, then TBH you aren't doing much with your life except telling other people what to do based on intuition.

I have no problem with that, because it can actually help people. I do it a fair bit. PI/RI is a life coach kinda thing. My Problem is when MONEY comes into it! People paying per session means a life coach will keep them for as many sessions as they can squeeze out of them. It may help them, but it would be slower and WAY more expensive than just talking to someone who is naturally intuitive and is just friendly.

THat's why I Love PI, people give advice, generally quite good advice, and we give as much as possible at one time to sort that person as best we can as fast as we can. Unlike Life Coaches who break it up and make it last alot longer than it needs to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

I've never been to a life coach but i know a few. Some I wouldn't send Shep the dog to and some I would happily attend myself. Of the two I would go to both have other qualifications that I place my trust in. One has a Masters in Guidance Counselling form Trinity and the other a PSI recognised degree in Clinical Psychology and both have twenty years plus experience in the counselling and guidance fields with adults.

The reality is that anyone can set themselves up as a Life Coach or indeed as a Counsellor. There is no statutory guidelines on levels of qualification or expertise. Some people operating as Life Coaches are excellent and the motivational approach they take with clients is great, and lots of positive things can be achieved. But there are more vulnerable people out there who can and have been harmed by charlatans who have done some mickey-mouse level training and end up through lack of experience and knowledge straying out of 'coaching' and into 'counselling' resulting in significant damage to the client.

If it was me I'd check the coaches qualifications carefully. I'd also ask to speak to between three and five of their former clients to try and get some insight before parting with my cold hard cash. :D Even then you still might not have the best experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Porkpie

OP, you should buy the book "Teach Yourself Life Coach". It's very good and at 12 euro or so, is a lot cheaper than lessons and probably just as effective. :)

41Z421R3G9L._SL500_AA240_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I'd put "life coaches" in the same boat with "career guidance counsellors" worthless, if a career guidance consellor was so good at finding a career, they'd have a meaningful job, as for self help/life coaching etc, we should listen to the late, great George Carlin, quoted for truth:

"If you're looking for self help, why would you read a book written by someone else?! thats not self help, thats just help! theres not such thing as self help, because if you did it yourself, you didnt need help, as you did it yourself!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Porkpie

Ever heard of the Self Help America Movement? :D

Seriously though, I wouldn't dismiss all self help guides as being nonsense, although tbh a lot of them are. I'm not knocking such books as The Power of Now and The Secret - whatever works for anyone is great - but they would be too spiritualistic and impractical for me.

That Life Coach book I mentioned did help me, so did Cognitive Behavioural Therapy for Dummies. You're better off reading something that offers practical advice, sets realistic targets and forces you work through your problems, keeping records of your progress. Also, I think success largely depends on the individual and how motivated they are.

Then again, wouldn't something like surviving a plane crash be the best thing to give you a kick in the bum and re-prioritise? :)

Hahaha! Yeah, for example:

"Mon, I went up to Dundrum yesterday and spent an absolute rake on a new pair of decks".

They'll be stealing "Well" as a greeting and "Jayz" as a response to something surprising or shocking from us next.

Damn pseudo-Dubliners! Bad enough that they 'acquired' "Sound".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I have a friend who went to a life coach..

Things were not going well for her.

Drink turned her into a psychopath.
    Recreational drugs didnt suit her,

The last straw was when she kicked off and went mental at all her mates on a weekend away.

Anyhow, she went to see this life coach for a couple of weeks and I must say she has really copped onto herself..

Its going on 3 years now since she has lashed out at any of us. She just copped on..

Who ever it was she went to and whatever they said to her worked. We had been trying for years to calm her down a bit.

But the life coach worked.

Quality wrote: »
    I have a friend who went to a life coach..

Things were not going well for her.

Drink turned her into a psychopath.
    Recreational drugs didnt suit her,

The last straw was when she kicked off and went mental at all her mates on a weekend away.

Anyhow, she went to see this life coach for a couple of weeks and I must say she has really copped onto herself..

Its going on 3 years now since she has lashed out at any of us. She just copped on..

Who ever it was she went to and whatever they said to her worked. We had been trying for years to calm her down a bit.

But the life coach worked.

Life Coach or Psychologist?

Some Psychologists will use the title Life Coach and hold the Degree.

I presume it's because there is no stigma of "Shrink" attached to a Life Coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

No Life coach was the persons title.. Dont know exactly who it was.. Or what accreditations they had..

But seriously this girl had issues, and this life coach really changed her.

I am not bullshítting...

ya see i dissagree

for instance you go to counciling so do I. Would you agree that your councilor may not suit my problems or we may not click the same way as my coucilor could be the same for you ?

So back on to life coaching...
    There is a number of them out there probably close to 1000s. and yes for the better part of it im sure lots are phoney.

But to some people it may just inspire motivate and give them the missing link and if it works for them good for them. Who are we to judge ? I mean does that mean because i go to couciling im some what sucidlile?

The thing is i look at things like this. People are inhearently a pack animal, they feel the need to belong to a group its in our jeans just like dogs and wolves and many other animals.

Not every one feels that. Now if you felt that you could go to some seminar for life coaching and felt like wow Im with people just like me.
    regardless of who evers doing the talk would you not, feel some what good about your self ?

But then again life coachs also talk about things called Risk, unfortunatly most people who are quick to dissmiss still havent figured that out.

They engourage people to take chances and so be it you fall flat on your face, teath out on the pavement, but big deal you leanr something you pick your self back up and take another maybe your right this time.
    good glad to hear it...

To me people need to learn these things and some dont know how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

munster my arse. we've been using that for as long as i can remember in the dark parts of the midlands. stop claiming things ye didn't come up with. rebels my arse too. ye were only rebels when it came to the english civil war.

international coach federation?? now that sounds reputable. like the derek zoolander school for kids that can't read good? or whatever it was called.

any decent person will remember that lynn scully in neighbours was a life coach, and what was she before that? that's right, a hairdresser. now if you want to go to someone who can talk to you about holidays and where you're going out on friday, then life coaching is the way forward.

OP, try scientology, they seem to be a great bunch of people for when you're down in the dumps. just bring cash!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Life coaching is worthwhile. It is important to choose a coach with accreditation and would also help if someone recommended a coach. Life coaches help someone to evaluate where they are at and set out goals on what they would like to achieve.
    Sounds easy but many need a mentor or someone to encourage them to take chances.
    Never mind those who ridicule your decision to see a life coach, if they want to stay where they are , then that's fine, but as in most things, no pain no gain.;)

shawnee wrote: »
    Life coaching is worthwhile. It is important to choose a coach with accreditation and would also help if someone recommended a coach. Life coaches help someone to evaluate where they are at and set out goals on what they would like to achieve.
    Sounds easy but many need a mentor or someone to encourage them to take chances.
    Never mind those who ridicule your decision to see a life coach, if they want to stay where they are , then that's fine, but as in most things, no pain no gain.;)

There is no official state body ANYWHERE That accredits' life coaching.

There are some Psychologists and such who do life coaching, and TBH, that I am supportive of.

But Hacks with no proof they can actually do it and stick to their station...no thank you.

There is no official state body ANYWHERE That accredits' life coaching.

There are some Psychologists and such who do life coaching, and TBH, that I am supportive of.

But Hacks with no proof they can actually do it and stick to their station...no thank you.

There are groups that were mentioned earlier in the thread who provide life coaching credentials. I don't know how reputable they are as I've never explored the avenues of life coaching.

I'd say if anyone was looking for a life coach, choose one recommended to you by a reliable source or one with some form of credentials as opposed to none.

munster my arse. we've been using that for as long as i can remember in the dark parts of the midlands. stop claiming things ye didn't come up with. rebels my arse too. ye were only rebels when it came to the english civil war.

Ballsy, babe, what makes you think I mean Cork when I say Munster? If you're from the midlands you should be close enough to us to know we're a big province. Venture out into the light!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

my 2 cents would be that they are mainly chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

The Life and Business Coach association in Ireland accredits Life coaches only after they complete suitable training and sit the usual exams. As I said earlier no more than teachers (accredited by state body) or counsellors , there are excellent life coaches and some who are not so good. They do 'not' profess to be counsellors or indeed psychologists and many do the job , not for the money but for the fulfillment of helping someone who is stuck to move on in life.
    However I am merely talking from personal experience and found the assistance of a life coach a tremendous help in my own career.:) :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

I went to one for a few weeks several years ago. He was recommended to me, but he was a total waste of time and money. Didn't give me any practical advise - spoke a whole load of psychobabble. I actually felt depressed by the time I realised it was a waste of time, and I've not recovered since, despite seeing other counsellers since. Maybe counselling just isn't for me - worst decision I ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Ballsy, babe, what makes you think I mean Cork when I say Munster? If you're from the midlands you should be close enough to us to know we're a big province. Venture out into the light!

5 years in the depths of munster was enough for me thanks!! light?? hmmm.