Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ice ice baby

• 30-11-2009 10:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭

So I was walking in to college this morning and it was dodgey to say the least! While I did pass 1 or 2 runners, I am a lil apprehensive of going running this evening if conditions are as bad.

What do ye do to adapt to these icey conditions? change route, dont go, run inside (hate it, not an option for me) or something else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Allright stop! Collaborate and Listen!

Sorry thats terrible.

Can you run during the day? It should be melted by lunch. I trained through last winter and there wasn't that many days that it was a no no. Maybe one day last winter I quit becuase of the ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

I don't go running if there is ice on the roads. not worth it. I'll go out in rain snow and at night but not ice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Round my area the road gritters tend to get the foot paths also so hopefully it won't be an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

One great thing about this icy cold weather is that I can go running at lunch time :D

I remember last year that the ice would be pretty much gone by 12.30 so it was safe enough except in shaded areas.

I'd say early evening is still fine but I wouldn't leave it until 9pm to go running as it will definitely have iced up again by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

+1 for lunchtime running, though I'm just back from a run and there's still some ice on the ground here in shady parts. Maybe try and stick to the sunny side of the road?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Should I get my skis out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Hey Marie - i just did 10 miles around and ran through campus twice and no ice anywhere that i could see. Didn't slip once. If your gonna be running around campus you will be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

I went for a 5 miler at lunch time and it was fantastic. It's so great to be able to get out of the office. Let's hope there's a lot of this weather over the next few months.

The best thing of all is I can go home and relax and don't have to go out running in the dark later because I've done my run for the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

robinph wrote: »
    Should I get my skis out?

citytrack.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Blueskye

I went running at lunchtime today and the sun was fantastic but I did have to pick my step at times as it was still icey in parts. I did land on my arse coming down a hill!! No harm done thankfully :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Fernando1

I try and stick to the grass when it's icy. The ground isn't as soft when the ice is about and I love that crunchy feeling underfoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

MarieC wrote: »
    What do ye do to adapt to these icey conditions?
    wine in front of the fireplace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭goofygirl

I'm living in Canada so I just bought a pair of Yak Traks. They're amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

No ice this morning, but very heavy rain, windy and 6C in Cork - a hero's morning for training. Fittingly I saw Olive Loughnane tearing along (at a pace that would burn me up :o) the country roads outside Coachford as I drove to work.
    Gave her a "beep".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I did 5k yesterday evening and the paths were fine in Portarlington.

The only slip i had was walking back into the house:o