Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tales from the dole office

• 30-11-2009 4:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭

Anyone here have any interesting stories from things they have overheard from the dole office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

was in the queue and girl came in and queued...in shiny pj's with gold tackies..... this was in ennis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

someone having a translator to help them with their dole & benefits application because they spoke no english.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

Mothers bringing in their teenage offspring to get them all signed up for the first time at Thomas St in Dublin - What a proud moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Was never in a dole office to hear such harrowing tales :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

I hope it stays fine for you. It's horrible. Soul crushing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Guy waiting in line to sign on while wearing their work clothes (high vis vest and hard hat)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

How nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

quotin dis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I was queuing in the dole office and witnessed a load of obviously poor people (dressed in polyester leisurewear and reading tabloids) queuing up quietly and sorting out their claims in a polite fashion. I reported them all, of course. Clearly something fishy going on. Possibly drug dealing or fraud, I would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Guy waiting in line to sign on while wearing their work clothes (high vis vest and hard hat)

Such obvious fraud! Rubbing it in the faces of those who are benevolently handing out the money. :mad:

Oh wait.... part time dole. That's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

drug dealers. dole office is full of them shur they do be down there wearing the rolex with their free travel pass and yer one behind the counter hands every one out a roll of 50`s, a bail a briqutees, bag a coal, a take out of your choice, a car if your foriegn, she has the keys there ready for ya, then ya get meausred for an italian suit, oh and the free houses we get the free houses then. do be a busy oul day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Yeah probably handing in his Casual docket, same as me self

I forgot the bit with the strippers, the tax dollars gets us strippers aswell, great party down in the dole office sniffing coke off a hookers ass, an lighting me joints with yer tax dollars, I go jax then an wipe me ass with a 50 cos thats nothing to a scumbag like me cos Im on the dole shur I must be loaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Such obvious fraud! Rubbing it in the faces of those who are benevolently handing out the money. :mad:

Oh wait.... part time dole. That's it.

Opps I only saw your small print never mind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Not the dole queue bit very similar,

at the weekend, i was talking to a traveler. He was pretty pissed off that the government had money to give to farmers who are after having their farms and houses destroyed by floods (including a lot of my and the traveler's neighbours), but they wont give him his christmas dole bonus. I just laughed, what an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

A friend of mine ended up in dole limbo for a few months after losing his job during the dolerush earlier in the year.

He ended up being owed a backdated 4 and a half grand which was paid to him one morning in Dun Laoghaire dole office over the counter in 50s. Cash. He said he has never been as nervous walking out of the office and down to the bank.

Why on earth does the dole office have a massive stack of readies in the back? Surely cheques are good enough?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

mailforkev wrote: »
    A friend of mine ended up in dole limbo for a few months after losing his job during the dolerush earlier in the year.

He ended up being owed a backdated 4 and a half grand which was paid to him one morning in Dun Laoghaire dole office over the counter in 50s. Cash. He said he has never been as nervous walking out of the office and down to the bank.

Why on earth does the dole office have a massive stack of readies in the back? Surely cheques are good enough?

You don't get your money in dole office, you collect it from the post office or Xs and Os get a cheque.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

The dole Q in tallaght is a nightmare,like everywhere the q is massive but unfortunately tallaght is full of tosser's in tracksuits who seem to think they can just walk over to their mates at the top end of the q and sign on hassle free. and nacker's they're the worst..fcukin vermin. they just dont give a fcuk,they know no'one's gona say anything..one filth monger a few weeks ago, after Q'ing a good hour i was next in line to put pen to paper,ahead of me at the counter was a scruffy traveller oul lad making his mark..as he leaves the counter and i start to approach the counter when in walks this inbred fcuk wit about 19 or 20..walks passed me straight up to the counter..the woman behind the counter say's to him "you gona have to Q"..the cheeky **** turns around and points me out to yer one and says "he was holding me place in the Q"...i was having none of it...but the silly bitch behind the counter then puts me on the spot, asking if was in fact holding the spot for this stinking dirt bag..i looked at her in disbelief..thinking stupid bitch you're gona get me killed!!..anyway..i told her im next that this cnut appeared out of thin air and that i didn't give a fcuk..he's not gona skip me..anyway after i left the dole office im walking down the street and the 2 filth mongers are walkng behind me..the younger fella saying "he was gona get a charge sheet for beating me up,cos i stopped him signing on"!!
    VERMIN!!!!

You don't get your money in dole office, you collect it from the post office or Xs and Os get a cheque.

Yeah, I know this is the norm (OH was on it for a couple months earlier in the year unfortunately).

However, the friend I mentioned earlier did actually get €4,500 in fifties in a bulging envelope in October over the dole office counter. He couldn't believe it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

I had the misfortune of being on the dole for around 3 months - mind, I never actually got sorted with any money from it. Sort of happier that I didn't, I was embarrassed wandering in there every week.

I've seen plenty of **** down there - one chap carving his name into the teller's window, while she was staring right at home. He carved it in three times - each one spelled more differently than the last.

Another day I was in there and a foreign national was in there with her 5 children - 3 in gucci prams. Another chap wandered out into his brand new Lexus after claiming his dole.

Also seen plenty of "WHY DO I HAVE TO KEEP COMIN HERE EVERY WEEK TO SIGN ME NAME LOIKE" arguments. Here's praying I never have to go back..

Tellox wrote: »
    I had the misfortune of being on the dole for around 3 months - mind, I never actually got sorted with any money from it. Sort of happier that I didn't, I was embarrassed wandering in there every week.

I've seen plenty of **** down there - one chap carving his name into the teller's window, while she was staring right at home. He carved it in three times - each one spelled more differently than the last.

Another day I was in there and a foreign national was in there with her 5 children - 3 in gucci prams. Another chap wandered out into his brand new Lexus after claiming his dole.

Also seen plenty of "WHY DO I HAVE TO KEEP COMIN HERE EVERY WEEK TO SIGN ME NAME LOIKE" arguments. Here's praying I never have to go back..

maybe he bought the lexus before he was let go:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭TriciaDelicia

The Social Welfare Office never give out cash, if your due back money they give you a slip of paper (mandatory payment slip) which you then bring to the post office, they give you the cash. Your friend must've been at the post office either that or he is a liar.

Im with stupid. He sounds like he was lying. dole office do not give out monies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

There is a guy who likes to read the star out loud in Thomas street. Does it every time Im there to sign on.

Bloody Floods! Nama! I'll show you a bank! Crooks! etc...

Im with stupid. He sounds like he was lying. dole office do not give out monies.

I shall bow out assuring you that what I originally posted is indeed true (I have neither a reason to post porkies nor a desire to defend my posts).

At least I can surmise from your collective disbelief that handing out wads of cash seems to be a freak occurrence which is good to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

I forgot the bit with the strippers, the tax dollars gets us strippers aswell, great party down in the dole office sniffing coke off a hookers ass, an lighting me joints with yer tax dollars, I go jax then an wipe me ass with a 50 cos thats nothing to a scumbag like me cos Im on the dole shur I must be loaded.
    Ahh, so you were in a dole office in Downtown LA by the sounds of it.

I shall bow out assuring you that what I originally posted is indeed true (I have neither a reason to post porkies nor a desire to defend my posts).

At least I can surmise from your collective disbelief that handing out wads of cash seems to be a freak occurrence which is good to know.

No worries just sounds odd, he has no reason to make it up just "sounds" like a lie but Im just sceptical as the dole office I know of never hands out cash because when I 1st signed on I wasnt sure where I get the money and they made a fool of me by having a great laugh at me thinking i get the dole money there. Ignorant cnuts.

Sizzler wrote: »
    Ahh, so you were in a dole office in Downtown LA by the sounds of it.

yep!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:( Aww the dole office, how i miss my monthly singing on, what with the craic id have with the lads id know on it and the banter with the regulars and then a few of us heading to the bookies for free tea and coffee and a bit of a punt on the nags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

when I went in to sign on one time there was a woman there who tried to tempt me (using her best condescending voice) into learning how to use computer programmes such as microsoft word as it would make me more employable.

I told her politely that my two bachelors degrees and my masters weren't doing much to make me employable so I doubt sitting in a class I could easily teach would do much good for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

I remember the old Galway Dole Office in the early nineties. All the plain clothes cops would be lined up along the window waiting for their suspects to come in and sign on. It used to be great fun watching them come in and try to jump the queue and then get arrested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

oh yes the builders parking their vans outside the door and coming in to sign in their work clothes :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

Any fear of work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭crossmolinalad

AnonoBoy wrote: »

no got the message on nine o clock in the moring i had to go
    i m gone directly out of my job to the office to apply for jsb
    did that in my mucky gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭doubtfir3

Could be a 3/4 day working week? Maybe he's only signing up as he wants to claim (legitimately) for the day(s) which he is not working?

Of course could be quite unlikely... but you never know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

cloneslad wrote: »
    when I went in to sign on one time there was a woman there who tried to tempt me (using her best condescending voice) into learning how to use computer programmes such as microsoft word as it would make me more employable.

I told her politely that my two bachelors degrees and my masters weren't doing much to make me employable so I doubt sitting in a class I could easily teach would do much good for me
    Ah but no ones looking for people with degrees in basket weaving even if you got a masters and especially if your thesis was "The art of the 5 point weave".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Guy I know, couldn't find work, first time getting the dole and not sure how it works, turns up and queues patiently for 45 minutes. Approaches the desk in his collared up Leinster jersey, puts his passport on the table and says in his very well spoken voice...

"One dole please"

teller stares at him...

"What? I have my passport, I believe everything's in order?"

He was laughed out of the place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Theres usually a couple of yellow reg cars parked outside the social welfare office in Tallaght on signing days.