Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ROI applicants

• 29-11-2009 9:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Being from the Republic and have had my medical there last week, I am kinda of worried about what to do! I know a few Gardai and they keep telling me its too dangerous for a southern person to go into the PSNI. after the attempted shooting of the young catholic officer in garrison last week this has me even more worried. Is there discrimination in the PSNI about southern people?? also being a person with a republic of ireland accent be a really bad choice for me to go into the PSNI... ive not got confirmation ive been accepted or anything but as i am in my last year of college I want to keep my options open and I dont want to put my hopes into a job where I might not be accepted by the people I will be working with!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Relax. You'll meet plenty of people from ROI in the PSNI. I'm one of them! There are dangers in both AGS and PSNI, and as long as you pay attention in Garnerville and do what you're told, the chances of anything happening to you are very remote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭0607

bet.88 wrote: »
    Being from the Republic and have had my medical there last week, I am kinda of worried about what to do! I know a few Gardai and they keep telling me its too dangerous for a southern person to go into the PSNI.

Its no more dangerous than for a northern person...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 von clinkerhoff

There's a few things you need to think about.
    1. There is a risk. There always has been for Police all over the world. The specific threat from dissidents may be more obvious in Northern Ireland at the minute but there is not a Officer anywhere in the world who does not put themselves in danger one they take up their post.
    2. The minute you become a member of the PSNI you move from being an Irish Roman Catholic or Protestant or whatever Nationality or Religious background you may have descended from and you become a Peeler.
    This doesn't mean you stop practicing your religion or lose the right to vote but your outlook will change and people will treat you very differently.
    Think about why you want this job. If it's about money, forget it. Most other professions are paid as well if not better and the work conditions can be thankless. If you're prepared to put yourself and your family life well and truly after the needs of total strangers because it's the right thing to do then blarge on.

Ps.
    If you ever feel you are discriminated against, it'll not be down to faith or family background. It'll be cos the perpetrator is a knob and they feel totally inadequate.. Most often they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 pure_magick

Well if it puts your mind at rest I'm 21 female and from the south and in the PSNI and it's the best thing I've every done. I love it!! I have never had any problems with any of my colleagues. ya you get the normally banter but none of it is in badness or met to be taken in anyway personal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭lisnsooz

My biggest worry when I was there (from Cork with a southern accent) was in relation to the fact that I was going to be based in Derry. It's kinda hard to be working in a station in Derry, having to live in a commuting area outside Derry (because you can't live in the city), and lie to everyone about why you live where you live (like - if I have to make up an occupation for the neighbours - what reason has a Cork person to be living in Coleraine, or Maghera/etc). That was my main concern - how to 'get away with it' from a security point of view.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 pure_magick

Well I just tend to keep to myself outside the job as most of my mates up here are in the job. It all about a little imagination,a good story and sticking to that story. People from up the north have the same problem with living in doing the training and suddenly deciding to move when the get their district. You just need to keep to yourself and watch what your saying and who your saying it to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

It sounds like you almost have to develop a complete ' alter life ' then ?
    Do you not find it sometimes a strain ?
    Have you ever told a 'civilian ' what you really do ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 von clinkerhoff

There is no doubt that the need to protect yourself could be a strain. Don't forget though that there have ben thousands of families who have been through a lot of worse times than now. The general workers strike caused massive problems for Police families. Police don't strike. not only because they're legally bound not to, but they as a group understand the devastating impact that it would have. Until the workers strike (77 I think!) Police wouldn't have been quite so secretive about where they did. Most would have lived among the unionist population without any bother. When the RUC didn't take part (never mind carry out actions which diminished the impact of the strike) things changed. Neighbours turned their back on Police families either out of fear of being associated to or resentment for the actions of Police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I second PSNI's take on this issue. Listen to sound advice you're given. It tends to work. Be aware that once you're a police officer ( and that's anywhere ) the nature of your job is going to put you on a confrontational course with the less likeable members of society. That's life.

Don't dismiss security issues as if they're non-existant but don't let your life be ruled by paranoia either. Go for a bit of common sense middle ground because both denial and paranoia is going to destroy you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Rob-117

I'm from Dublin and in the job and 9 times out of 10 people I deal with are delighted to hear where I'm from and will chat away about how good it is to see us coming from down south, the only time I get any stick over it is usually from someone in cuffs :)

You'll face no discrimination from other peelers, there'll be plenty of banter about where you're from but if you can't take a slagging you'll be in the wrong job

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Good to see you back Rob. Hope you're keeping well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭scullersky

I'm going to pply the next time the PSNI are recruiting, Im from Co. Kerry in Ireland... When ill be called for the initial test will i have to trave to belfast or have they a centre in Dublin for ROI applicants??

Thanks.

They have Initial Assessment Test venues in Dublin.

psni wrote: »
    They have Initial Assessment Test venues in Dublin.

Thanks for that PSNI I appreciate it... Would you advise someone from the south to apply? I'm just worried that if i did be lucky enough to make it through that I would be accepted up there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Thanks for that PSNI I appreciate it... Would you advise someone from the south to apply? I'm just worried that if i did be lucky enough to make it through that I would be accepted up there...
    I think the other posts in this thread go some way to answering your question :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Rob-117

psni wrote: »
    Good to see you back Rob. Hope you're keeping well.

Keeping the head down mate :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bet.88

does anyone know how long the vetting takes for southern people??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Adolphus

Some people on here have said it can take up to one year :eek: as there are only a small number of Gardai involved in vetting, I guess it also depends on how many addresses you have had and any past convictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭lisnsooz

It really varies. And it depends on how many foreign jurisdictions you put down on the vetting form for yourself/family, because from what I recall they are then depending on those police forces to get back to them (at least - that's how it works for GS vetting, and I know from the garda reserves that some ppl who needed UK vetting at the time, it took a while).

I handed my form back about end Oct I think it was - and I was about the last person to get called up in my intake - got the call in March. Other boardsies had the call the week before, so I reckoned it was the vetting that held me up (pure speculation, but my merit listing was ok so that was my presumption).

I was a reserve at the time, so had been thru the GS vetting so the PSNI vetting would have been a bit more again on top of it (my GS vetting was done within about a couple weeks as was in the first intake and there was a massive push on vetting to get us cleared). I didn't have any foreign addresses down tho cept for a working holiday in NZ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 nursey

I was born in Donegal and all my family still live in south. I am in Derry. Sent forms august and am in jan intake

Hey is there more on here from the ROI that have applied for the current recruitment campaign?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Dubbhoy

Hey is there more on here from the ROI that have applied for the current recruitment campaign?:confused:

Hey Tommy-kerry

Ye there a few in here from the ROI who have applied for this campaine also know as C16( something i did not have a clue and ppl were saying all the time ).

Dubbhoy wrote: »
    Hey Tommy-kerry

Ye there a few in here from the ROI who have applied for this campaine also know as C16( something i did not have a clue and ppl were saying all the time ).

haha i was the same you'd have dat ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 peter_green

all you southerners....coming up here....stealing our jobs....i jest :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bet.88

in the same boat tommy-kerry... am takin a wild guess where ur from... not as far dwn the country as urself... have u heard neting back from vettin or anything yet?? when did you submit yours??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Dubbhoy

Hey bet

where u from in ROI ? Dublin her btw lol:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Doly2010

what is the working hours in psni?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭jclegs

Hey

It works on a shift pattern but for security reasons, exact shift patterns can't be discussed unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Doly2010

4 days on and 4 off. 12 hour shifts or?? Sorry to be pestering you. Quite hard to find info on the net & new to all this! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭BoutYe

I'll tell you its not 4 on 4 off. The length of your shift will vary by an hour or two. For obvious reasons Im not going to go into any more detail.

One thing it definately is not is 9-5.

in the same boat tommy-kerry... am takin a wild guess where ur from... not as far dwn the country as urself... have u heard neting back from vettin or anything yet?? when did you submit yours??

Hey, i just applied in Jan!! If i was as far as the vetting i would be laughing!:D;)

Has anyone else from the south got yeer IST date + time? I got mine but its in Belfast, I thought I might have been called to Dublin:confused:

Hey, did you tick the weekend option from the list?

Adolphus wrote: »
    Hey, did you tick the weekend option from the list?

yeah I did.. does that matter??

yes.

yeah I did.. does that matter??

Yea, if I remember correctly, there is a note below all the options which says that weekends are only available In Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭puddie77

Hi guys i'm also from the south i'd just like to know do any of ye have family? I have a wife and 3 kids she's backing me 100%, i'd like to hear a few good luck stories if ye have any, just to put her mind at ease a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 gibbo88

i am a 21 year old female from kildare and thinking of joining the psni. my parents are trying to talk me out of it. it cant be that dangerous can it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 peter_green

well i suppose theres always the risk of being killed or shot at, thus why you've a gun on you at all times. But, you could get hit by a bus tomorrow. that's my outlook lol

gibbo88 wrote: »
    i am a 21 year old female from kildare and thinking of joining the psni. my parents are trying to talk me out of it. it cant be that dangerous can it?

Do you watch the news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 S.Cronin

i got my ist in dublin.

when i got the letter thats when I really start thinking about the extra dangers that could be involved just because im from the south.
    I just turned 20 very recently and my parents and all my other relations really do no want me to go for the job.

At the end of the day i reckon everyone really needs to think what they want to do with their lives.
    For me i have always wanted to be a Police man whether it be ags or the psni, Im in college and im sure I could get a better paid job by staying in college for an extra couple of years but i know i would never be happy doing a 9-5 job. I cannot sit still for 5 minutes.

From the danger point of view.... think of the Irish who joined the brittish army and were sent to Afghanistan or Iraq
    I dunno bout the rest of yous but i think the streets in Northeren Ireland are safer then the war fields of Afghanistan and Iraq.

If your worried bout the troubles from the past then you really need to weigh up your options.
    For me????..... I honestly cannot wait. Ive made my choice and nobody in my family or in the news will change my mind. If some senseless ejit hurles abuse at me because of where im from then so be it. At the end of the shift I know I can still walk out the door knowing I have what in my opinion is the best job in the world :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

S.Cronin wrote: »
    i got my ist in dublin.

when i got the letter thats when I really start thinking about the extra dangers that could be involved just because im from the south.
    I just turned 20 very recently and my parents and all my other relations really do no want me to go for the job.

At the end of the day i reckon everyone really needs to think what they want to do with their lives.
    For me i have always wanted to be a Police man whether it be ags or the psni, Im in college and im sure I could get a better paid job by staying in college for an extra couple of years but i know i would never be happy doing a 9-5 job. I cannot sit still for 5 minutes.

From the danger point of view.... think of the Irish who joined the brittish army and were sent to Afghanistan or Iraq
    I dunno bout the rest of yous but i think the streets in Northeren Ireland are safer then the war fields of Afghanistan and Iraq.

If your worried bout the troubles from the past then you really need to weigh up your options.
    For me????..... I honestly cannot wait. Ive made my choice and nobody in my family or in the news will change my mind. If some senseless ejit hurles abuse at me because of where im from then so be it. At the end of the shift I know I can still walk out the door knowing I have what in my opinion is the best job in the world :D

Safer than Iraq ? Have you ever seen Dungannon on a saturday night ?:D