Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A few videos of Big game Hunting, Warning Graphic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Here is the link for the first one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1z2YdpZ8Fc&feature=sub

it seems to be embeded

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Pity the cat didn't win. Not opposed to hunting just that kind of hunting.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

think ill stick to my varmint hunting and a few pheasants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

ezridax wrote: »
    Pity the cat didn't win. Not opposed to hunting just that kind of hunting.

i agree cant see why anyone would shoot them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

jap gt wrote: »
    i agree cant see why anyone would shoot them

I certainly wouldn't be into that, but I suppose it could be justifiable if the leopard was killing livestock or the elephant was destroying crops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

yea i guess that would be a valid enough reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Mornings aren't the best time of the day for me.

I was thinking along the lines of some of the posts in this thread.

Then it struck me again, Yellow Triangle.

Each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Was the leopard shot the day before? Must have been deranged after a night of pain. I have seen these in the wild. They guide I was with used to shoot them, biggest regret of his life he reckons. He grew up and saw the light. Sampled some of his kudu meat though. So so so nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

No flies on the smart boy up the tree in No2:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

johngalway wrote: »
    Mornings aren't the best time of the day for me.

I was thinking along the lines of some of the posts in this thread.

Then it struck me again, Yellow Triangle.

Each to their own.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

You know it just goes to show how emotive some people can be! But remember that hunters are among some of the best protectors of nature!
    If it weren't for hunting reserves there would be alot more animals on the endangered species list!

I suppose that people feel up-set knowing that the world is becoming smaller and there are no wild untouched places left! The real enemy of these magnificent beasts is our growing population! And specifically the African human population in this instances!

Just remember - Its hunting!! - Just because these images are foreign to us allows some people to think that they have the moral high ground to object!
    It is by this mechanism that the anti's fill their ranks- sure its no wonder to see why they have such success in built up areas! People from these built up areas being shown such footage will have, on the whole, a fairly standard response.

I for one am glad to see such links here because this is the place for them albeit that they're a bit graphic but they are no different to other links in which bunnys or deer or foxes are being destroyed!!:(

If anything it goes to show that rifles are not as effective as some would like to think they are!!;)

PS Riflehunter77. There not all that graphic ;)

If it weren't for hunting reserves there would be alot more animals on the endangered species list!

True. However poorly run or funded its a help.
    Just remember - Its hunting!! - Just because these images are foreign to us allows some people to think that they have the moral high ground to object!
    It is by this mechanism that the anti's fill their ranks- sure its no wonder to see why they have such success in built up areas! People from these built up areas being shown such footage will have, on the whole, a fairly standard response.

I for one am glad to see such links here because this is the place for them albeit that they're a bit graphic but they are no different to other links in which bunnys or deer or foxes are being destroyed!!:(

You cannot compare rabbit and deer hunting to large cat and other threatened or endangered species. Their (rabbits/deer) gestation period and litter sizes are shorter and bigger than those of the large cats. Plus in some countries (Ireland) these animals, which some consider pests or vermin, have no natural predators and there is no real population control. The population of the large cats is shrinking due to human encroachment into their lands/territories and the illegal and legal hunting of them.

There are already so many species lost due to over hunting. While i admit that in times gone by the people were not as in tune with keeping the scales balanced in relation to controlled hunting and land preserves for breeding but excuses aside once a species is extinct its gone forever.

I personally don't see the need for hunting of large cats and other animals that are threatened or near threatened. Once they are gone people will move onto another species and another. Why go for the one most threatened?

Before you think i'm some tree hugging, tofu eating hippy i'm not. I'm an active hunter, but even when i'm out shooting rabbit, deer, fowl, fox i only shoot what is vermin, or going to be used. I hear of lads saying "my freezer is still full from last year" or " i got 100/120/140 deer this season". I shoot only what i'll use and no more but i would not criticise any lad for doing something different. Each to their own. I may not agree with it but thats their right.

If anything it goes to show that rifles are not as effective as some would like to think they are!!

Or the nut behind the butt is a trigger happy git with no range time, appitude for shooting.

To end this "rant" i agree with hunting and in some cases its necessary for population control. etc, but to kill an endangered or threatened species for the fun of it is not okay in my book.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

is it not the case that game reserves in africa HAVE to cull the elephant heards to keep the heards healthy?? remember reading it somewhere but dont know how true it is. have to say it wouldnt be my cup of tea though
    what about the noises your man was making in the second video though:D:D "squeel like a pig boy":D:D
    ps.read an article in an american hunting mag about a little rich girl going on buffalo hunt with her daddy. she ended up shooting one of the guides and you should have read her trying to justify herself. she really boiled my piss:mad::mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

ezridax wrote: »
    True. However poorly run or funded its a help.

You cannot compare rabbit and deer hunting to large cat and other threatened or endangered species. Their (rabbits/deer) gestation period and litter sizes are shorter and bigger than those of the large cats. Plus in some countries (Ireland) these animals, which some consider pests or vermin, have no natural predators and there is no real population control. The population of the large cats is shrinking due to human encroachment into their lands/territories and the illegal and legal hunting of them.

There are already so many species lost due to over hunting. While i admit that in times gone by the people were not as in tune with keeping the scales balanced in relation to controlled hunting and land preserves for breeding but excuses aside once a species is extinct its gone forever.

I personally don't see the need for hunting of large cats and other animals that are threatened or near threatened. Once they are gone people will move onto another species and another. Why go for the one most threatened?

Before you think I'm some tree hugging, tofu eating hippy i'm not. I'm an active hunter, but even when i'm out shooting rabbit, deer, fowl, fox i only shoot what is vermin, or going to be used. I hear of lads saying "my freezer is still full from last year" or " i got 100/120/140 deer this season". I shoot only what i'll use and no more but i would not criticise any lad for doing something different. Each to their own. I may not agree with it but thats their right.

Or the nut behind the butt is a trigger happy git with no range time, appitude for shooting.

To end this "rant" i agree with hunting and in some cases its necessary for population control. etc, but to kill an endangered or threatened species for the fun of it is not okay in my book.

Well as i said its human population growth.
    Personal i would not be interested in shooting either of the above and I only shoot enough for the pot.

Really though! you are making general comments! and although i would like to see these animals afforded protection i am not in a position to comment on these specific actions!

Also Hunting is hunting- there is no difference as to the prey and these animals are unfortunately not at the top of the food chain! I am!!

It is the efforts of European farmers and ranchers in Africa that are paving the way to a financially rewarding system of protection! I'm afraid that this is the only thing that will make a difference.

Well as i said its human population growth.
    Personal i would not be interested in shooting either of the above and I only shoot enough for the pot.

Same as myself so.
    Really though! you are making general comments! and although i would like to see these animals afforded protection i am not in a position to comment on these specific actions!

Not fully with you there. What about the general comments?

There is too much money to be made from Safari hunts for the local government to stop. Tourists can be a key factor in the country's economy and when you have little in the way of tourist attractions you substitute it by exploiting the natural resources. In this case the animals.
    Also Hunting is hunting- there is no difference as to the prey and these animals are unfortunately not at the top of the food chain! I am!!

Of course there is a difference. Some git pays 5/10/20 grand to go shoot an animal so he can have a new rug and say he was "roughing" it. Compare that to those that must hunt for food, to control vermin/pests/ to reduce exploding population numbers. Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

What's wrong with general comments? :)

I've been to Africa, leopards are rare and elusive and play an important role in the food chain. But, the place is starving and as ezridax says, easy money to be made out of people wanting to bag one.