Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cena v 'Taker

• 26-11-2009 5:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,468 ✭✭✭✭

this is strongly rumoured for Mania as far as I'm aware.

i'm in completely two minds about what would happen, and also what should happen, if/when the match takes place.

half of me wants Cena to win and watch the internet explode.

half of me doesn't want 'Taker to give his streak to someone who doesn't need the push.

then a whole other part of me would like 'Taker to use the streak to elevate someone like Punk.

but given this might be his last year, he might only have one more Mania, and Cena is the money match by far.

what do people think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

I want Cena to win just to watch the net explode:pac:
    Seriously though its the biggest match the WWE can do between active superstars so it would be madness for them not to do it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,468 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Seriously though its the biggest match the WWE can do between active superstars so it would be madness for them not to do it. :)

plus i genuinely believe it would be an excellent match, if 'Taker still mobile by then.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

SlickRic wrote: »

but given this might be his last year, he might only have one more Mania, and Cena is the money match by far.

Cena def is the money match but how many times (and i know he isnt moving all that well these days) have we heard that this might be his last year?

I hope this happens but in no way would i want Cena to break the streak not that i think he would. He will however get boo'd in what would be an awesome match for crowd reaction imo. not the same and probably a level below but it could have a hoga/rock type effect on the match its that big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

cena to win and turn heel right after pinning taker

this stuff just writes itself

i keep imagining 'Taker hooking on the Triangle Choke, Cena showing 'superhuman' strength to hoist 'Taker up, hit the FU, then slap on the STF to make 'Taker tap.

how hilarious would that be? :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

rossie1977 wrote: »
    cena to win and turn heel right after pinning taker

this stuff just writes itself

i dont think cena would win but id def accept that as it could be awesome if done right, imo the streak continues though

What bigger match is their for Cena who is the company's biggest star? :o
    Cena v Hunter -Nope, done before
    Cena v HBK - Same as the previous! :p
    Cena v Orton - ^^^^^
    Cena v Batista - This would be money but heh Batista will probably be injured by then so lets forget it!
    Cena v Punk - This would be great but sadly Punk seems certain to be in MITB. :(
    Cena v Rey - Rey is injured...
    Cena v Jeff. Jeff won't be back by then..
    Cena v Benoit... Benoit is dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Lone Kimono

I like the sound of this match. Oh and I dont think Taker should ever lose the Streak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

The only reason I would like to see this match is because they can use it to turn Cena heel.

Cena will get boos if the match goes ahead and just like at ONS he can feed off that, lose clean and then put a serious heel beatdown on Taker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭michael.etc...

The only reason I would like to see this match is because they can use it to turn Cena heel.

Cena will get boos if the match goes ahead and just like at ONS he can feed off that, lose clean and then put a serious heel beatdown on Taker.

I like the idea of doing something like this, much better than actually having Taker lose. For me, there's absolutely no point having Cena beat Taker at Mania- because if it was to ever happen (and I'm off the opinion it probably shouldnt), it should be a babyface on the bring of huge stardom- not someone who already polarises a huge portion of the fans, and will be resented more so by those people.

I was in two minds about Cena turning heel- but I'm starting to really think that it's a good short term plan to rejuvinate his character, and when he does turn Babyface again, perhaps even be in a position to win over the older fans/smarks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I like the idea of doing something like this, much better than actually having Taker lose. For me, there's absolutely no point having Cena beat Taker at Mania- because if it was to ever happen (and I'm off the opinion it probably shouldnt), it should be a babyface on the bring of huge stardom- not someone who already polarises a huge portion of the fans, and will be resented more so by those people.

I was in two minds about Cena turning heel- but I'm starting to really think that it's a good short term plan to rejuvinate his character, and when he does turn Babyface again, perhaps even be in a position to win over the older fans/smarks.

This, basically.

He can easily turn temporary heel for the couple of months around Mania, a la HBK in the Hogan feud a few years back. As you say, he even has the chance of winning back the affections of some of the smarks if hes as great a heel as he was back in the days of those great p*ss taking raps he used to cut on Smackdown.

And Cena winning does him no good, hes already a huge star. If anyone does end the streak (I personally think no one ever will) it should be the win that propels someone into the stratosphere. Cena's already there.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I would love to see an end to the streak.

Its a painful thing every year, streak this, streak that, throw in the MITB every year and you have two stale matches where the build up is the same every year.

When Cena takes on the Undertaker the fact its Cena v Taker is enough. The streak is only a distraction they will have to keep talking about.

If the streak never existed would it matter? HBK claims to steal the show every year but at least that allows a match outcome that has put others over and can put over a guy this year or next year or whenever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

You know what **** it I'd love to see Cena take the streak. :D

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    You know what **** it I'd love to see Cena take the streak. :D
    If he tapped to the STF I would mark harder than The King at a teen beauty contest. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

If he tapped to the STF I would mark harder than The King at a teen beauty contest. :pac:

lol. :D I'd love an unclean win by Cena, that would just send both the arena and the internet into absolute pandemonium. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i think id stop watching wwe if cena beat undertaker

this is the thing, i would too.

and i reckon Vince knows it too.

this sort of finish is the kind of finish that would generate a huge reaction. we can argue about whether Cena deserves to end it or not, but the fact is the biggest reaction would come from a clean Cena victory.

or maybe the heel beat down option of michael etc's.

they're the only two options i would have for the finish to this match.

to be honest, the thought of the match has me excited as i type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

It would be cool if there was a screwjob type ending (scripted) with Cena going heel. He would get huge heat and he could on and on about how he ended Takers streak.

Cena V Taker is the biggest 'Mania match they can do. But I would rather see Jericho-Taker and a tap to the walls of jericho. 'Takers problem with it has been that nobody is trustworthy enough to break the streak so they may have that extra bit of confidence in John Cena.
    It would be a great match though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Cena V Taker is the biggest 'Mania match they can do. But I would rather see Jericho-Taker and a tap to the walls of jericho. 'Takers problem with it has been that nobody is trustworthy enough to break the streak so they may have that extra bit of confidence in John Cena.

Unfortunately they gave that away on free TV a few weeks ago, Smackdown
    (and again this week on Smackdown!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

Who the hell taps to the walls of jericho nowadays??? If i recall corectly, the last person to tap out in a match was um... RICKY STEAMBOAT...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Xinkai wrote: »
    Who the hell taps to the walls of jericho nowadays??? If i recall corectly, the last person to tap out in a match was um... RICKY STEAMBOAT...

Whom a lot a so called superstars on the rosters could learn a thing or two about putting on a good match.

Steamboats matches are one of the highlights of the year IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Xinkai wrote: »

thats because its not the walls of jericho anymore.....its a f*cking boston crab!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

I just hope Cena V Taker isnt for any world titles just Streak V Streak (if Cena wins he ends Taker's winning streak and if Taker wins Cena streaks :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

thats because its not the walls of jericho anymore.....its a f*cking boston crab!

True, when Jericho debuted it looked a lot more painful.... he was bent over so much, his head was almost touching the other guy's head!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Cena and Taker had good matches a few years ago.I like to see them square off again in a situation like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Fitzy101

It would defo be a good way to make Cena turn heel
    because he will get booed pretty badly anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TheCandystripes

The undefeated streak:rolleyes: Mark Callaway needs to grow up. His gimmick is stale and well doesn't really belong in the 21st century.

I'd love to see Cena make him tap :D

BUTTTTTT....Cena turning heel should signal the beginning of a new direction for wwe, it needs to be one of the biggest moments in wrestling history not some moment in the bland pg era. keep him as the top guy as a face for 2-3 more years then wwe can bring back the old days or a newer more relevant version

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

The undefeated streak:rolleyes: Mark Callaway needs to grow up. His gimmick is stale and well doesn't really belong in the 21st century.

I'd love to see Cena make him tap :D

BUTTTTTT....Cena turning heel should signal the beginning of a new direction for wwe, it needs to be one of the biggest moments in wrestling history not some moment in the bland pg era. keep him as the top guy as a face for 2-3 more years then wwe can bring back the old days or a newer more relevant version

I beg to differ, a lot of people still love the Undertaker's character. It's the only gimmick that has been consistantly over since the beginning. Not to mention this is the PG era, so the Undertaker gimmick is over for all the kids, just like Cena's gimmick. But still Undertaker's gimmick is one of those unique gimmicks now. You don't get many dark type gimmicks anymore and I think WWE needs proper gimmicks like those. They're a lot better then the generic wrestlers that we see nowadays, which are just boring and bland. Also as for Taker's gimmick not being relevant to the 21st Century. Well I tend to believe that the Superman gimmick that guys like Cena, Triple H and Batista tend to play are just not right. My point being, Undertaker is still a legend.

As for the thread. I'd like to see it, but i've also heard that The Rock and Cena are close to decsion on a possible Rock/Cena match up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 monsieur bob

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    lol. :D I'd love an unclean win by Cena, that would just send both the arena and the internet into absolute pandemonium. :p

I reckon Taker will drop it to an up and coming star and if it is a heel,it'll be a dirty finish which will keep the rivalry going through til Backlash

Ted DiBiase wouldn't be overly bad to kill the streak,and I'd say Cena will be as Rock,leave the company for Hollywood but only times will tell lol :cool:

so is there anyone else that finds him really boring?

Riddle101 wrote: »
    As for the thread. I'd like to see it, but i've also heard that The Rock and Cena are close to decsion on a possible Rock/Cena match up.

anywhere in particular?

ye on a keyfabe mag lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

ye on a keyfabe mag lol

:confused::confused:

From NoDq.com
    The next issue of Inside Wrestling features The Rock and John Cena on the cover of the magazine with a headline reading: “Hot WrestleMania Rumor – John Cena vs. The Rock.” The sister publication of Pro Wrestling Illustrated claims that the “mega-bout is closed to being signed.”

The article’s synopsis reads: “The relationship between The Rock and John Cena is strange. Cena respects all The Rock has accomplished yet seems to resent it at the same time. That is why “The Champ” is pining for a match with The Rock at WWE’s showcase event. Word is, this mega-bout is close to being signed.”

To view the cover of the magazine, visit www.pwi-online.com. The issue hits newsstands December 8, 2009. With all that being said, don't read too much into these rumors at the moment.

Link: http://nodq.com/wwe/261366190.shtml

^^^^^^^^^^^

Shocked if this happens.

Why would Rock be bothered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

If it is Takers last match i'd like to see it against Edge but i doubt he will be back in time. A match with Cena would no doubt be the money maker for Vince and the reaction to a clean Cena win would be biblical. I would like to see it but i'd prefer a Taker win.

Also i'd love to see Paul Bearer have a role in the match.

flahavaj wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^

Shocked if this happens.

Why would Rock be bothered?

I would say because Cena has been talking a lot about how he would love to have a match with The Great One, and has been very outspoken about The Rock and his new Hollywood career. To sum it down, Cena thinks Rock is a liar for saying he loves the wrestling fans and the business because The Rock went to Hollywood and has distanced himself from wrestling.

Also if you saw Hall Of Fame when Rock's father and grandfather was inducted. The Rock noted the huge reaction he got when he spoke about him and Cena facing off. Rock knows people would love to see this, which is why he'd proberly be bothered.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I would say because Cena has been talking a lot about how he would love to have a match with The Great One, and has been very outspoken about The Rock and his new Hollywood career. To sum it down, Cena thinks Rock is a liar for saying he loves the wrestling fans and the business because The Rock went to Hollywood and has distanced himself from wrestling.

Also if you saw Hall Of Fame when Rock's father and grandfather was inducted. The Rock noted the huge reaction he got when he spoke about him and Cena facing off. Rock knows people would love to see this, which is why he'd proberly be bothered.

What about the cash? He would get a nice pay day and royalties forever!

WWE's PG image would do him no harm either.

Still don't expect to see it.......

The bolded part nullifies the rest of your argument.

If he was that bothered by "fan reactions," why leave at all in the first place. If knowing "people would love to see this" was something that truly motivated him, he'd never have left in the first place.

Why bother wrestling and taking bumps on what is said to be a pretty knackered neck, when he's making good money and gaining more mainstream fame than ever making movies? And fair play to him for getting out with his marbles still intact btw.

This isn't gonna happen lads.

its one match

He's gone from wrestling. Whether its one match or 100 makes no difference. Even the article that started the rumour says not to read that much into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

The only thing i'll say is that The Rock went from distancing himself from wrestling and not speaking about it to saying there is something being planned, So while i'm not that optimistic I would love to see it happen

flahavaj wrote: »
    The bolded part nullifies the rest of your argument.

If he was that bothered by "fan reactions," why leave at all in the first place. If knowing "people would love to see this" was something that truly motivated him, he'd never have left in the first place.

Why bother wrestling and taking bumps on what is said to be a pretty knackered neck, when he's making good money and gaining more mainstream fame than ever making movies? And fair play to him for getting out with his marbles still intact btw.

This isn't gonna happen lads.

First of all WWE allowed his contract to run out without even telling him. The Rock got a call from someone who congradulated The Rock for his years in WWE and when Rock asked him what was up he found out WWE allowed his contract to expire. As for as The Rock was concerned, he was no longer wrestling for WWE anymore and left it at that. If WWE wanted him, they would have wanted to renegotiate a contract deal so it's not like The Rock said goodbye to wrestling and it's fans.

Secondly The Rock wanted to make movies and believed that by distancing himself from the wrestling business, it would be better for his movie career. Just like Steve Austin is doing now. Especially when WWE was undergoing a steroid scandal caused by the Beniot Incident and The Rock felt it would look bad for him to be associated with a company going through a scandal. It's not that he didn't care about the fans or hated the wrestling business because he was born into the business and I think he was genuinely honest when he said he loved the business. But John Cena think's he's lying for some reason. Whatever it is, I do wish they would face off just to shut up all those people who whine about how The Rock is a sellout and that he never comes back or makes an apperance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Shaneomac

Pretty sure the Rock will be back in some form for an appearance in the next 12 months whether its guest gm or a match with Cena at maina. Hopefully the second but the rocks made some rumblings and Vince will be all over this if he thinks theres a chance to draw some money. Probably be Taker Batista again if Reys still injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,733 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Well The Rock did send in a video appearence for Smackdowns 10th Anniversary, and hinted at hosting Raw. So who knows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

I would prefer Cena V Rock than Cena V Taker tbh

If it was Cena V Rock though, I couldn't see it being much different to Rock V Hogan at WM18.

I couldn't see it being much different to Rock V Hogan at WM18.

it would be infinitely better.

Cena is ten times the worker Hogan is.

and knowing most old-school fans' hate of Cena, the reaction to the match would be monumental.

it would be nothing short of epic.

SlickRic wrote: »
    it would be infinitely better.

Cena is ten times the worker Hogan is.

and knowing most old-school fans' hate of Cena, the reaction to the match would be monumental.

it would be nothing short of epic.

Obviously the match itself would be better, but in terms of the fan reaction, it'd be quite similar. The crowd will cheer for Rocky more than Cena. They'll boo Cena even though he's supposed to be the biggest face in the company. No matter who wins, there'll pose together, shake hands etc, big crowd reaction from both.

Problem is, Hogan was staying with the company. Rock would only be back for one match. Which means if Cena wins, he'll be booed for months. If Cena loses, it makes him look weak and he can't even get a rematch or anything. At least with Rock and Hogan, they were both with the company after the match, and even teamed together.

It'd be awesome to see, but it'd have to be done carefully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

Can't see how losing to one of the greatest superstars in history could make anyone look weak.