Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you wear to work?

• 25-11-2009 8:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭

I was in the Motor Tax Office today and while I was waiting for my turn, I noticed that all the people working there seemed to be dressed in their casuals. I mean everyone I know who works in an office is expected to wear trousers, shirt, shoes...not hoodies, tracksuits, trainers.

Is this another "F*ck you Joe Public" from the P.S...that hey we dont even respect you enough to dress appropriatly for work?...or what?

do you work in an office??...can you wear what ever you like to work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

i wear whatever i want.

and mary harney is a fat cnut.

Nothing but a smile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

I remember I went into the County council office to sort out my tax and was met with someone in a full track suit and white runners behind the desk, "Story Bud, yars give us der yer details der"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭To The North

yeah i work in a college library, public sector, and we pretty much wear tracksuits all the time just to show those students that we're better than them :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

I wear a shirt & tie combo even though I don't deal with the public face to face.

I look smart though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

I work in a "High End" store (the owner calls it that, I'm not trying to sound fancy) so I have to look nice, however it's freezing in there all the time so I need layers layers and more layers - thermal socks, vests, jumpers under jumpers, all whilst wearing something like a cute dress on the outside to look like I made some effort, it sucks.

In January last year I gave up and wore jeans, Uggs and a hoodie though, it was either that or freeze and die :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

I could be very wrong here..but I just feel that if you deal with the public...you should portray an image of professionalism..and to me that would consist of amongsnt other things a smartly dressed individual for face to face dealings!...if i wanted to be served by someone in a tracksuit Id go to JJB Sports!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Lol Voltex didn't you make a thread not too long ago complaining of an employee in Dunnes Stores who had a bushy beard or something, and you thought it was inappropriate for work. If so, do you always have to be so judgemental? I mean seriously, even if they were wearing casuals, who cares. It's not affecting you or anyone else is it. I would love to work in a place that allows you to wear your normal clothes because I hate having to dress for work. It's so annoying having to wear a suit, or a uniform. If this company allows people to ware their own clothes then it means they might have good morale, which is good for workrate, because a happy workforce is an effecient workforce.

As for dealing with public. Well if the company dosen't care then why should anyone else. It's not affecting you so much that you feel you need to make a vandetta against people who wear casuals to work.

Spadina wrote: »
    I work in a "High End" store (the owner calls it that, I'm not trying to sound fancy) so I have to look nice, however it's freezing in there all the time so I need layers layers and more layers - thermal socks, vests, jumpers under jumpers, all whilst wearing something like a cute dress on the outside to look like I made some effort, it sucks.

In January last year I gave up and wore jeans, Uggs and a hoodie though, it was either that or freeze and die :(

that sounds like a nightmare, there's nothing worse than being cold all day where you work :( i used to work in a shop where it was so cold the skin on my knuckles used to crack and start bleeding, it was horrible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

If it is appropriate to the job you should only have to wear formal clothes otherwise it shouldn't really matter. Did the fact that the person who served you wasn't dressed in a suit affect the way they did their job? I bet not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

that sounds like a nightmare, there's nothing worse than being cold all day where you work :( i used to work in a shop where it was so cold the skin on my knuckles used to crack and start bleeding, it was horrible!

Did You work in Iceland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Black pin strip Armani suit. Crisp white shirt. Black Italian shoes. Hair slicked back.

Lost my job 3 months ago but still go out every morning and sit in the park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

It's feckin horrible, there's actually times that my hands are so cold I can't dial the phone or open a box, my boss puts on a fan heater if I beg but unless you stand right in front of it it's no good :mad:

It was lovely in there from...well, in July, in August I had to start wearing socks and boots again :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Voltex wrote: »
    Is this another "F*ck you Joe Public" from the P.S...that hey we dont even respect you enough to dress appropriatly for work?...or what?

I wouldn't be upset to see people in an office wear casual clothing. I wear casual myself at work.

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Lol Voltex didn't you make a thread not too long ago complaining of an employee in Dunnes Stores who had a bushy beard or something, and you thought it was inappropriate for work. If so, do you always have to be so judgemental? I mean seriously, even if they were wearing casuals, who cares. It's not affecting you or anyone else is it. I would love to work in a place that allows you to wear your normal clothes because I hate having to dress for work. It's so annoying having to wear a suit, or a uniform. If this company allows people to ware their own clothes then it means they might have good morale, which is good for workrate, because a happy workforce is an effecient workforce.

As for dealing with public. Well if the company dosen't care then why should anyone else. It's not affecting you so much that you feel you need to make a vandetta against people who wear casuals to work.

Yeah...thats right...and it was Tesco. I just feel that if your dealing face to face with the public you should show enough respect to at least wear what could be considered "smart casual". Wheather you like it or not most people will form an opinion on a company or organisation based on first impressions..and in most occasions this will involve the visuals.
    The second part of this would be the more traditional view that a company that insists on hight standards in personal apperance for front line staff will carry this expectations of high standards through out the rest of the service being offered....take the example of the doormen at the Four Seasons in Ballsbridge. This Hotel is a 5*, top of the range..and guests have full 5* quality expectations. So what do you think the Hotel Manager would do if the Doorman turned up in jeans and a hoodie?...he will still do his job in the same manner and quality...but do you think he will still be allowed to work?...I think not.

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Did You work in Iceland?

if by iceland you mean dublin city centre then the answer is yes :D

there was just minimal heating in the place and the woman who ran it insisted on leaving the door wide open most days so that it looked more 'inviting' to the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

A friend of mine from Belgium that was over here on a placement for six months last year commented that she had never seen so many suits in her life!

Clothing in general in work seems to have become more gradually relaxed over the last few years but there needs to be a happy medium. Anyone dealing with the public be it in a shop or office should at least be dressed smart casual IMO. Trackies, on the other hand are not acceptable anywhere bar the gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Casual enough, but not taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I spent afew months in a Supervalu between school and college. The work wear was a blue 'supervalu' short sleeved sweatshirt and black trousers n shoes. I used to have to unload a lorry every morning and in the depth of winter the absolute tosspot of a store manager expected me to do that in my tshirt! He though it would be off-putting for the customers if I spent the first half hour of the day wearing a jumper!
    I was a callow youth and let him off with his bs - if i had it back again id plank him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Voltex, do you think it would be fair if I took a dim view of you because of your misuse of ellipses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I was in the Motor Tax Office today and while I was waiting for my turn, I noticed that all the people working there seemed to be dressed in their casuals. I mean everyone I know who works in an office is expected to wear trousers, shirt, shoes...not hoodies, tracksuits, trainers.

They may have been having a casual day . . . for charidee . . . y'know, for kids?

Pace2008 wrote: »
    ellipses?
    :confused:??
    Voltex, do you think it would be fair if I took a dim view of you because of your misuse of ellipses?
    Has "ellipses" got anything to do with suitable work attire?
    If so...comment away...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

A condom...just incase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Clothes

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Trackies, on the other hand are not acceptable anywhere bar the gym.

Rubbish. I do apologise in advance if me wearing a tracksuit while not at the gym upsets you.

:confused:??

Has "ellipses" got anything to do with suitable work attire?
    If so...comment away...
    An ellipsis (plural ellipses) is the little (...) you keep using in place of commas, semicolons and dashes. If I was an intellectual snob I might adopt the same view of you as you do of people who are dressed inappropriately in your estimation.

I don't, by the way. I judge you by the merit of your posts, as a I judge people by the quality of their work, not their choice of attire or magnitude of facial hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I just do my motor tax online so I don't get annoyed about utterly pointless things. Well, I don't get annoyed about utterly pointless things but you get my point.

I just wear jeans, t-shirt and trainers in. I like wearing comfortable stuff when I'm working. Don't really have to shave or dress up for my job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

There's too much emphasis on the least important things in life. You must do this, you must do that. Fúck all that shíte. I couldn't give a fúck if the fella handed me my tax form wearing a Freddy Kruger mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

My office has a dress code, even though we don't deal with the public. Shirt and nice trousers/shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Rubbish. I do apologise in advance if me wearing a tracksuit while not at the gym upsets you.

Scroate

An ellipsis (plural ellipses) is the little (...) you keep using in place of commas, semicolons and dashes. If I was an intellectual snob I might adopt the same view of you as you do of people who are dressed inappropriately in your estimation.

I don't, by the way. I judge you by the merit of your posts, as a I judge people by the quality of their work, not their choice of attire or magnitude of facial hair.
    .....so basically your post was completly pointless.....and...totally irellevant?........
    ....................:pac:

.....so basically your post was completly pointless.....and...totally irellevant?........
    ....................:pac:
    No, it just highlights your complete lack of perspective.

For the sake of staying on topic: I wear a shirt, trousers and shoes to work except on Fridays, when you can wear what you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Personally if I could get away with wearing tracksuit bottoms and a t-shirt to work, I sit at a desk all day and feel really sorry for guys who have to wear a suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

A pair of Le Coq Sportif trackshuit bwottoms and a windbreaker hey.

No, it just shows you completely lack perspective.

Perspective of what exactly??....Theres not a great deal to have to consider.
    by the way...my use of .... is my method of maintaining continuity of text..whilst allowing pause for thought.....nothing more....nothing less.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Scroate

Nice abuse right there.

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Nice abuse right there.
    Not Nice...Id say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭asdfgh86

I work in a video rental store, used to get away with wearing whatever but now I have to wear black trousers and black shoes as well as the company polo shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

genericguy wrote: »
    i wear whatever i want.

and mary harney is a fat cnut.

Pointless even posting.
    Did you do it just to post a stupid comment about Mary Harney?

Rabies wrote: »
    Pointless even posting.
    Did you do it just to post a stupid comment about Mary Harney?

Well,...the OP did have a poke at the gubbermint as well,...don't know what Mary Harney had to do with it...
    It's catching...must stop it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭xxlilyxx

I dont work face to face wit customers but we still hav to wear smart wear, except fridays its casual day. My manager reckons if your in your smart wear then your head is in professional mind, whereas if your in tracksuits and that then your head is in comfort mind and you get lazy, and i agree, i find on casual day in my jeans im more comfortable and laid back compared to the rest of the week, so it really is true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

stovelid wrote: »
    I just do my motor tax online so I don't get annoyed about utterly pointless things.

Why do you give a toss what the motor tax people are wearing, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭byrner51

snickers work bottoms and a nice warm fleece :D

Dudess wrote: »

Why do you give a toss what the motor tax people are wearing, OP?
    Perhaps he's an underemployed tailor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

shirt with no tie, trousers and shoes. Somewhat presentable. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Work in an office that doesn't deal face to face with the public: Whatever I want. Usually jeans, tshirt and runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Our dress code is business formal (i.e. skirt suits or trouser suits) every day ... even when we're not dealing with clients!

I don't really mind though. You get used to it surprisingly quickly. And at least you don't need to think too much about what to put on in the mornings.

I have to say, I would notice if I went somewhere like the tax office and the person behind the counter was wearing a tracksuit. I'm not saying I'd think less of them, and I'm not saying it would have any impact on how they do their job, but I'd certainly think it was unusual. I do think that in a customer-facing job like that, out of respect for the customers and out of personal pride in your appearance, you should dress appropriately.

Then again I'm not really a "tracksuit" kind of person in any situation, I wouldn't wear one casually, so the idea of wearing one to work just seems really odd to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

Work mostly at home so a frighteningly hideous array of tracksuits and unbrushed hair, mainly.

When I emerge for meetings I go into high octane suit and heels mode to compensate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭spartan1

Jez lads this attack on the Public sector is becoming laughable, attack the church, attack the cops , attack the FAI, attack .......... someone who isnt in a suit, does it matter to bejebus what the hell they're wearing, I mean , really !

If your a person is getting roused up and thick in the Q in the tax office I can see how their attitude to .........I lost my train of thought

anyway, pple stop being negative for goodness sake ! jobs a frickin job, and all this negativity is really getting us all down

A tie aint gonna process your tax any quicker, an incompetent fool can wear a suit too

Unless a boss decides so It shoudnt be compulsary for anybody to wear a suit IMO, Executives attending meetings, should, somebody who needs to be distinguished from a team of people, should, its corporate etiquette, but isnt smart casual acccpetable after that , and the wearing of a suit, or shirt and tie up to the individual.

they dont wear suits in Google !

Slacks, a t shirt nd jumper or a shirt nd jumper.. or jus a shirt if i'm bothered ironing.

The joys of no irish clients.