Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Long beard trimmers?

• 25-11-2009 8:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭

Does anyone know a beard trimmer that has a pretty long blade on it?
    Bigger beards are bit-by-bit coming back into popular fashion, and never really went out amongst certain sub-groupings of college students and older professionals...... but they are a pain in the backside to keep neat.
    Do any of you lads know of any beard trimmers with a longer blade-length than the 15mm that seems to be the largest on the market (well that argos has anyway)?
    I dont necessarily mean muslim or sikh-length beards, but even 3 cm would be a good,long lengthed blade in my books.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

A good scissors. Seriously.

I had a long beard last year and a good scissors and comb were the best thing. By long I mean several inches. If you want to deal with one shorter then maybe a beard trimmer would be best. I have the Babyliss For Men iTrim for that. Works great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭LazyFecker

besides the slight inconvience, what would you think of using a normal hair razor?
    other than the size, is there an appreciable difference between an electric beard trimmer and normal hair one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I suppose you could use a normal hair one. Sure thats what barbers use when trimming beards. The only issue is that it would be a bit bulkier and not as easy to use as a result.

Mine has 30 settings ranging from 0.5mm to 15mm. Works well for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭LazyFecker

ah grand so

thanks for the heads up friend.... its been really helpful

sleep well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Everything I use a electric razor when the sides of my beard starts getting out of control I feck it up and either have to fix it was a scissors or shave it all off.
    Dord wrote: »
    A good scissors. Seriously.

I had a long beard last year and a good scissors and comb were the best thing. By long I mean several inches. If you want to deal with one shorter then maybe a beard trimmer would be best. I have the Babyliss For Men iTrim for that. Works great!