Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Games others loved but you thought 'meh'.

• 25-11-2009 8:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭

There's a few for me:

Mass effect. Not sure why so many worship this title. I found it a buggy repetitive mess. I tried to get into twice, but each time I drifted away. Meh.

Fallout 3. I loved oblivion but in their attempts to fix the flaws I found fallout lacking in something, not sure what. Lost interest eventually. Meh.

All turn based RPG. The lost odyssey was BORING. I absolutely forced myself through the first few hours on it before I could play no more. Meh meh meh.

I'll think of a few more...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

I agree with the 3 of the above, all bored me to tears and I just left them, Oblivion I put in 8-10 hours, Mass Effect about 3-4 hours and Fallout 3 less than 2 before uninstalling. I guess Rpg's just aren't for me, although I loved The Witcher and fps based rpgs like the S.t.a.l.k.e.r. games and Borderlands

Bioshock, the atmosphere was ok'ish but the clunky controls just annoyed me, could never figure out why people raved about it. Meh from me.

Gotta include the second half of the first Crysis. The first half was the most exciting and graphically beautiful game I've ever played, totally thrilling, but the second half was so much of a letdown, ruined the game for me. I did persist and finished it, but didn't enjoy it from the aliens on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Skate

Can't see how anybody could enjoy that exercise in frustration... One of the worst control schemes I have ever witnessed!

I loved all of the above suggestions though (apart from Crysis...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

World of Warcraft.. destroys peoples souls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭rizzla

Totally agree with Bioshock.

Killzone 2, very overhyped and unresponsive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭quad_red

Grand Theft Auto 4 - bored.to.tears.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Half Life 2

*awaits Jazzy's scathing....again*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

condemned... glad I only paid a fiver for it

on an aside though.. how does someone not like half life 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Any of the Metal Gears...as boring as watching paint dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Borderlands,easily the most boring game i have played in a good while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Menengroth™

Half Life 2

you sicken me.

Bioshock, audiosurf, TF2, CoD4.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

condemned... glad I only paid a fiver for it

on an aside though.. how does someone not like half life 2

because i just dont. i didnt get sucked into the atmosphere and found the whole game a drag and a bore from beginning to end. like a fool i invested in the episodes that followed, but wasn't impressed by them at all. i'm sorry if my taste offends you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Super Mario Galaxy. It was okay nothing special.
    Bioshock --> bad controls = bad game period.
    Dead Space --> See above, (bizzarre camera position....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

Metal Gear Solid 4

I finally bought a playstation 3, got this game and boy was i disapointed. I love all the other games, but this one is much more tedious. There really is more cut scenes than gameplay. I dont know how a series can go from fantastic gameplay (in metal gear solid 1) to this... sigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Valkyria Chronicles: Retarded AI, asinine dialogue, horribly complicated menu system, clogged with mundane cut scenes, clichéd plot... did I mention how rubbish the AI is? Plants vs. Zombies has better AI! They are basically moving on rails, with predetermined movements per turn, once you realise this it is pretty simple to exploit it as the AI won't adapt if you don't play the level as the game needs you to play it.

Oh, and they also managed to get characters reminiscent of the paper clip in XP that pop up to irritate you ever time you have to enter 1 of the plethora of menus... and, brilliantly, there is no way to disable them.

OVerall, I can't understand the hype behind this game. I feel as let down as when I let a bunch of Whedonites convince me to watch Dollhouse.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,396 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

MGS 4: Too many cutscenes that were all so boring and the storyline was retarded anyway and didn't make a lick of sense. However when the game let you play it which really wasn't very often at all it wasn't even that great a game. I can't see how the series went from MGS3 which was amazing and did everything right to this absolute mess of a game.

Final Fantasy VII: Don't get me wrong, FFVII is an excellent game. However it really should be no where near the top of best game ever lists. It's far from the best game ever. It's not the best JRPG ever. It isn't even the best in the FF series. People were blown away by the visuals and what seemed to be great storytelling at the time but really wasn't. I was one of those as well but have since realised I was wrong about it. The game has a lot of problems that can't be ignored and there's lots of better but lesser known games in the genre.

The Darkness: Don't see were the good reviews were coming from, this game is a mess. The storyline isn't that good, the AI is laughably bad and it's just not fun running around shooting out lightbulbs.

Goldeneye: While this game was revolutionary when it came out but has aged really badly since it came out 10 years ago. It's an unplayable mess now but some people just can't remove the rose tinted specs.

Halo 2 and 3: Halo on the original xbox was a great game for it's time and did introduce a lot of new mechanics to the genre. Halo 2 however is a complete and utter mess. Graphically it pushes the xbox like no other game. However it pushes it a bit too far and the framerate is terrible. The storyline has gone from simple but good sci-fi to absolute nonsense. Also almost every level has the flood making the single player game an abomination. Multiplayer is very basic as well to anyone that played PC games.

Halo 3 was basically Halo 2 with better graphics and thankfully a lot less flood. It's a decent game but nothing special and brought not nothing new to the table which is why I don't understand people talking about how original it is. Forge is a poor excuse for a level designer.

Donkey Kong Country: More rose tinted glasses here. DKC looked great when it comes out but the bad CGI looks grainy and terrible now. Also it's a slightly better than average platformer and kind of dull. Compared to the best 2D platformers at the time DKC isn't great.

Star Wars KOTOR: While I can see how people liked this it's a case of bioware RPGs not being for me. It bored me to tears with the amount of inane dialogue.

Legend of Dragoon: If you like this game you are an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Mass effect: Got it on recommendation from this forum, put 20 hours in and wasn't mad on it. Combat is tricky at best, too much time spent traveling and story line that bores me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

Counter strike. Jesus I was bored trying to get into that game. And I hate custom game types with everybody only having knives. How gay.

Sega Rally. Always thought it was the worst rally game. But so many think it's the best one for some strange reason.

Little big planet. I pick it up now and again to try get into it. But never played it for more than an hour in the four months I've owned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Nick_oliveri

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    MGS 4: Too many cutscenes that were all so boring and the storyline was retarded anyway and didn't make a lick of sense. However when the game let you play it which really wasn't very often at all it wasn't even that great a game. I can't see how the series went from MGS3 which was amazing and did everything right to this absolute mess of a game.

Yeah I found those cut scenes unbelievable. What a never-ending pile of ****. I ventured onto the MGS forums after completing the game to voice my rage, didn't see many with the same opinion so I decided against that.
    And the loading........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Yeah I found those cut scenes unbelievable. What a never-ending pile of ****. I ventured onto the MGS forums after completing the game to voice my rage, didn't see many with the same opinion so I decided against that.
    And the loading........

iirc, I ran through it twice - second time skipping all the cutscenes, and I completed it 16 hours quicker :confused:

Wossack wrote: »
    iirc, I ran through it twice - second time skipping all the cutscenes, and I completed it 16 hours quicker :confused:

completed it in an hour then?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Quake: I never really took to that game & found the necessity for razor-sharp twitch reactions so off putting. It was too easy to find yourself out-classed by some antisocial 12 year old bunny hopping about the place, I couldn't play the game for more than an hour or so before giving up.

Ditto Counterstrike. Most games for me consisted of walking around a corner only to get killed in one shot by a sniper & sit out the rest of the round. Borrrrring.

Fallout 3: It tidied up some of the gameplay mechanics of Oblivion, but Fallout 3 I found to be drab, dull & too short. I know it's an apocalyptic wasteland, but compared with Oblivion the experience was vastly reduced (even the map was 1/5 the size of Oblivions) & totally lacking in variation. The Point Lookout add-on solved some of that, but not enough to make me go back any time soon.

CoD4: Multiplayer: Ok, there's a trend here with the hate towards twitch-based FPS games, but I genuinely cannot "get" COD4 Multi. You have the instantaneous kill frustration of Counterstrike, the bland & (imo) imbalanced maps that didn't suit some of the game modes, the grenade spamming, the "perks" like martyrdom, the (generally) very immature and douchebag'y players, I just don't enjoy the Multiplayer at all. Single Player was a blast though

Left 4 Dead: A Limited but fun premise, but not enough meat in the game to warrant a sequel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Undead

Has to be Bioshock.

Maybe because i love Fallout and played that to death before finally seeing what all the fuss was about with Bioshock, and just found it to be too copycatish of Fallout...regardless of which came out first.

Still haven't completed it, cant be bothered killing little girls or big 30's scuba diver things with drill arms.

Also Gears Of War 1 & 2...i mean they're good but there not as good as everyone makes them sound. its cover, shoot, maybe the odd chainsaw kill....repeat.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,396 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

koHd wrote: »
    Sega Rally. Always thought it was the worst rally game. But so many think it's the best one for some strange reason.

It's an arcade racer, not a rally simulator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Half Life 2

I thought I was the only one *sob*

:P

I thought it was a grand game, but I've played better.

I never really understood the hype around the Halo series. I kind of understand that since I'm mainly a PC gamer, I've seen loads of FPS's done a hell of a lot better, but consoles haven't had as many, but there's an almost cult like following for it that I find bizarre.

And MGS4 was such a pile of crap. The main problem is that the creator fancies himself a film director and wanted to make some profound masterpiece. You've got to admire his chutzpah, but his talents definitely lie elsewhere. And the fanboyism that surrounds it is insane. Halo fans are simply dedicated. I wrote a review of MSG4 that outlined all of it's shortcomings (ie everything about it) and I got a load of death threats because of it. They're just mental!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Valkyria Chronicles: anime = sh!te.

Black no skipping videos and fairly **** game imo

red alert 3 complete ****e,....perfer original anyday

you dont tebd to remember bad games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

It's an arcade racer, not a rally simulator.

Yes. But it's an arcade rally game. And when on a console, people group with other console rally games.

But, I also enjoy arcade games. But Sega Rally really bores the crap out of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Mousey- wrote: »
    Valkyria Chronicles: anime = sh!te.

A very well rounded opinion there...
    Broaden your horizons a bit and you might actually find yourself enjoying anime.

Having said that, I didn't think much of the demo at all, not really my cuppa...

The FIFA games.... talk about polishing a turd ;)

koHd wrote: »
    Yes. But it's an arcade rally game. And when on a console, people group with other console rally games.

But, I also enjoy arcade games. But Sega Rally really bores the crap out of me.

You talking about the latest one or the old arcade one? There's no faulting the old arcade/saturn game, it's genius.

I can see how people don't like the latest one. It really shouldn't be grouped in with other console rally games, it isn't trying to be Colin McRae and if thats what you are looking for you will be disappointed. It's an arcade game with silly but fun driving physics. I enjoyed it but i don't think it's as good as some of the reviews made it out to be.

Actually I hated Black as well. It just felt like a painfully average shooter. Can't understand the hype behind it. It did nothing special and didn't do anything particularly well. It was just dull and over well before the 4 hour mark. Waste of money imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 scange01

Legend of Dragoon: If you like this game you are an idiot.

Boo hiss!

*Sigh*

Why can't you see it's an under appreciated gem!

scange01 wrote: »
    Why can't you see it's an under appreciated gem!

Because it's shit. It's a shameless cash in on the FFVII hype with Sony trying to jump on the money train and missing the point. The storyline is garbage and uninteresting with one of the worst localisation jobs ever. The battle system is atrocious. Battles take forever and every time you attack you have to play parappa the rapper with the fun removed. Other than the backgrounds it's also a terrible looking game.

Why can't people see that it's absolute scutter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Goldeneye: While this game was revolutionary when it came out but has aged really badly since it came out 10 years ago. It's an unplayable mess now but some people just can't remove the rose tinted specs.

I cannot agree with Goldeneye in the context of this thread

You are dead right it has aged badly but the thread is not called "Games that have aged badly"

At the time this game was amazing on a console. Fair enough if you didn't like it at the time then it suits this thread, but if you liked it at the time and so did your friends then it doesn't really fit here imho

People still think it's one of the best FPS games of all time when it really isn't. I'd take something like Doom or shadow Warrior over it now because they are at least still fun in this day and age. People still think it's great but it isn't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Gran Turisimo - so so boring

Metal Gear Solid - always thought it was clunky and just irritating to play. the PS pad doesnt help its case either. liked the story though, even though yer man Hideo Kojima is a mentalist.

Donkey Kong Country - what retr0 said

Call of Duty genre - boring and frustrating multiplayer. far too slow and basically the poor mans CS... and that must make you a homeless bum :pac:
    pixelburp wrote:
    Quake: I never really took to that game & found the necessity for razor-sharp twitch reactions so off putting. It was too easy to find yourself out-classed by some antisocial 12 year old bunny hopping about the place, I couldn't play the game for more than an hour or so before giving up.

dont get ya here. they are anti-social because they are good? it is possible that they copped to how the game works faster then you. fact is, as far as depth and game mechanics go and skill curve too - there is no other shooter out there that even comes close :) a game isnt bad because you are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

All football games (Its still the same game 10 times over ffs)
    Bioshock I thought it was very boring and pointless
    The Forza franchise boring as hell even with a steering wheel its nowhere near driving Grid is way better
    PGR same as forza
    Burnout Paradise destroyed the Burnout games for me found it no fun what so ever.

Evolute wrote: »
    Burnout Paradise destroyed the Burnout games for me found it no fun what so ever.

totally. No offline multilayer? they had a great formula, all they had to do was transport it to the next gen, instead they gave us a need for speed clone :(

wow, im driving around a city.... great :rolleyes:

Jazzy wrote: »
    Gran Turisimo - so so boring

Agreed. It's Pokemon with cars but without the fun. Give me something fun like F-zero over it.

tman wrote: »
    Having said that, I didn't think much of the demo at all, not really my cuppa...

Despite what you'll be told, it doesn't get better. It actually gets worse.

I'd have to agree with Mousey-, it takes everything that is clichéd and cookie cut from pop anime and balls them up into one sickening package. It's the kids from Beyblades when they hit puberty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

MGS series - played the second one on xbox I think but did nothing for me.
    SF/tekken etc - meh
    Fallout 3 I'm struggling to like as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Hercule

Im shocked at ppl not liking mass effect - not because its "like the best game evar" but the reaons people are giving for it being bad are the exact things that kept me playing - its one of the first games where I didnt skip my way through all the dialogue ala "yeyeye who do i have to kill?" really got wrapped up in the storyline like a good book - even tho the combat system was a bit pap I played it through.

for me the games that I thought were meh are:
    Any champ manager/football manager: - its like fantasy premier league but it costs money + I spend the whole day playing with spreadsheets in work why would I want to come home and do it again zzzz - people in school used to always waffle about where they took their teams or what players they got - its just a load of bloody numbers!

Call of Duty 2: constantly respawning enemies in SP + no sprint + no pb at launch = absolute agony, I bought a new PC to play this game only for it to be a dumbed down version of CoD1 with sluggish movement, hitblips and regenerating health.

Halo: Pretty much the most uninspired and boring FPS i have ever played - the level following that f***in robot around put me to sleep - if it werent for that soundtrack + fun pistol to use I would have never gotten thru it

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

dont get ya here. they are anti-social because they are good? it is possible that they copped to how the game works faster then you. fact is, as far as depth and game mechanics go and skill curve too - there is no other shooter out there that even comes close :) a game isnt bad because you are

Well it's not a hard game to figure out how it "works" and can hold my own with anyone I have played, so it's not a question of throwing a huff cos I can't win every game; I have just found the game immensely limited & boring after an hour or so's play. Playing Quake Live now is an odd feeling because it just emphasised how shallow the game feels. To be fair to it, its matchmaking service makes it easier to avoid the obsessive types.

L31mr0d wrote: »
    Despite what you'll be told, it doesn't get better. It actually gets worse.

I'd have to agree with Mousey-, it takes everything that is clichéd and cookie cut from pop anime and balls them up into one sickening package. It's the kids from Beyblades when they hit puberty.

This man liked Sonic Unleashed and Legendary. :P

While I see it probably isn't some peoples cup of tea I loved every second of it. If you are put off by games like fire emblem, shining force or can't stomach anime then you won't like it. Otherwise it's fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

The Project Gotham Racing games for me.
    Seem to be quite popular but I cant see
    the appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

all the Halos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Assassins Creed: Very very repetitive and bored me to tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

Oblivion: Worst leveling system in a game. Ever. Look at me, I have to jump every where so I can level. I'm also repeatedly casting a spell to level even faster. And it's ugly too.

Gears of War: (or any game that makes a big deal out of a "cover system"): This really pisses me off. In any normal fps, you go find a rock or a barrel or something and you crouch behind it and you are in cover. In Gears of War you have to glue yourself to the wall to protect yourself from incoming fire? Wtf? This is such a step backwards and yet I've heard people complaining about games not having cover systems.
    Also the multiplayer is dire. Counter-strike style dead until the end of the round in a deathmatch game? Ok...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

pixelburp wrote: »
    Well it's not a hard game to figure out how it "works"

so no then, you don't actually know what you are talking about. it is in fact one of the hardest games on the planet to figure out how it 'works'. id put quake and starcraft on similar levels for that. and to call quake limited is like saying natalie portman is unattractive. life is unbelievably simple, there is right and there is wrong.. opinions are just volume

This man liked Sonic Unleashed and Legendary. :P

Hey I never said I liked Legendary, I just played it through to completion ;), and Sonic: Unleashed is a game that's reputation largely rests on the shoulders of people who've never played it nor completed it. I've yet to find someone who didn't find that ending amazing. I still come back to it even now to try and beat my time trial scores in the day stages. It also has one of the best soundtracks in a game.... I digress

If we are going to take into account a persons taste here when listening to what they think of games, there is an image floating around that, imo, is a lot worse than admitting to liking Legendary :pac:

Also, my reasons for disliking Valkyria Chronicles are more than just to do with the story or type of game (I loved advance wars). Above all else the AI is simply atrocious. At one point I literally just ran 1 scout around the perimeter of the map and captured their flag by the second turn. The AI could see what I was doing, but because they where programmed to move on rails, they completely ignored the scout, wasted their turn moving a few units forward (actually away from him and out of firing range), and allowed me to just walk into their camp, undefended, and end the game.

so no then, you don't actually know what you are talking about. [...]

the thread is called "Games others loved but you thought 'meh'" you know, I'm allowed not to fall at the feet of a game supposedly loved by all :) I've spent enough time in LANs playing the thing to come away with a great big "meh" & yeah, I find it repetitive and limited. It doesn't whet my whistle, sorry that disturbs you.

And as for Natalie Portman? I'm no big fan of her either, but then beauty, like opinions, is in the eye of the beholder.

life is unbelievably simple, there is right and there is wrong.. opinions are just volume

Dude this thread is "Games others loved but you thought 'meh'", he's entitled to not like a certain game and form his own opinion on it