Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lucy Kennedy and Brendan O'Connor for Saturday Night Chat Show!

• 24-11-2009 10:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭

Read this during the week on the train.

Seems to be set to be produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Say It Aint So!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Say It Aint So!!!! :eek:

Yeah they are the more sarky version of Thelma and Derek. :eek: Old people will just love them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Well all I can say is that I'm never in on a Saturday night, so this is one TV bullet I will be both fortunate and grateful to dodge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Well done to RTE....

Cancel The Clinic (probably the best drama they have at the moment)
    Gives green light to The Byrne Ultimatum, Val Falvey TD, Maeve Higgens etc etc
    Give Tubridy the LLS.
    and now give this pair their own show??

What would be an apt metaphor for this year's antics?
    shooting+yourself+in+the+foot.jpg

They must listen to NOTHING their viewers say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

sounds like a car crash in the making alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭jonas7

These two morons got their own show!!! Ahhh shyte!!!:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

vomit-smiley-9529.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Are you frickin' kidding me?! How in the hell can these two get their own show? Who is running this mediocrity factory at RTE and constantly churning out these talentless drones for our displeasure?

I mean, what is the appeal here?!

What next? Maybe a Thursday night show starring Twink and Eddie Hobbs? Maybe I shouldn't give them ideas.

Unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Linku

Lucy Kennedy's chat show was literally the worst thing RTÉ have ever shown.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Elmo wrote: »
    Read this during the week on the train.

Seems to be set to be produced.
    Christ,O Connor's puckered anus features need to be hidden from public view,not broadcast to the nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Wow!

I never thought I would be surprised by an RTE decision but I am by this. Did they actually think that Lucy Kennedy did well on her chat show?

Did they watch it at all?

The woman can barely handle scripted TV and she most definitely does not have the talent, personality or charm to pull off a chat show.

As for O'Connor well that fool thinks he's edgy and controversial when in fact he's the journalistic equivalant of the eejit who sat at the back of the class and made stupid noises when the teacher's back was turned. I'd say he doesn't have the courage of his convictions but that would be assuming he has convictions. He doesn't. He changes his view point to go against the prevailing wind in the belief that this somehow makes him a maverick or a renegade figure. All the while doing ads for f*cking Spar or Centra or whatever sh*te he does on the radio. :rolleyes:

He's a no-hope case that tries to name drop his 'celebrity' friends in the hope that some of their charmed life will rub off on him. Remember his embarrassing attempts to assure us that him and Katy French were 'like the best friends ever OMG!!!' ? That was until she brushed him off with the sort of condescending remark that he deserves. He's a slime ball and a talentless one at that.

RTE should have left this pair out in the cold a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

So Lucy's daddy works in RTE. Aha. There is your explanation cos she sure is useless. Bit like that twat who shouts who is supposed to be a comedian. Cannot even remember his name he is such a non-entity.

In fairness to O'Connor who I think is a cnut the apprentice thing was ok a few nights, but a sat nite chat show when only the ould fogies or us with young kids are in, u gotta be kiddin me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Just when you imagined every possible combination of non-existent talents had been paired, RTE trump everyone.

Aidric wrote: »

Saturday Nights 2010 isn't as outrageous as Lucy Kennedy and Brendan O'Connor for Saturday Night Chat Show! :eek:

It's all about marketing if you want to sell you thread on boards these days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

In securing the Tubridy Tonight slot, Kennedy and O'Connor won out over stiff competition from the likes of Craig Doyle, Gerry Ryan and Irish Big Brother winner Brian Dowling, who were all reported to have been attached to rival proposals.

I don't know what to think. It's like some kind of horrible race to the bottom of the talent pool. Seriously, Brian Dowling, Gerry Ryan or Kennedy and O' Connor...

MikeC101 wrote: »
    I don't know what to think. It's like some kind of horrible race to the bottom of the talent pool. Seriously, Brian Dowling, Gerry Ryan or Kennedy and O' Connor...

Did you miss Craig Doyle's summer Travel/Chat Show a few years ago were he met up with famous people on their holidays. Bring it back I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meeja Ireland

I think I would rather watch Pol Pot playing the theme from the Afternoon Show on banjo and armpit farts.

In what sick world can Brian Dowling and Gerry Ryan be considered "stiff competition" for a position as chat show host?

Did you miss Craig Doyle's summer Travel/Chat Show a few years ago were he met up with famous people on their holidays. Bring it back I say!

Sounds....wonderful :eek:

I don't think I've ever seen Craig Doyle on TV, so I don't really know anything about him.

MikeC101 wrote: »
    Sounds....wonderful :eek:

I don't think I've ever seen Craig Doyle on TV, so I don't really know anything about him.

He does allot of the BBC's sports now, before that he present their Holiday show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Whoever thought this could be a good idea is off their ****ing head completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

i like brendan o'conor. just wish they would let him do his own thing. 'dont feed the gondolas' when he and dara were on it was the funniest thing ever done on RTE. hes very good on apprentice. but with lucy kennedy. her and that headwrecking laugh. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭TheBlock

This doen't sound like a good Idea. I'll be preparing for some more pish coming from RTE in the next year as cash gets tighter and production coompanies seek to fill slots for as little as possible. I'd prfer some more cash was spent on fewre productions and re-runs were added to the schedule but this doesn't seem to be the plan.

Clinic going frees up a lot of cash for a good well funded co-pro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Johnny Giles

In what sick world can Brian Dowling and Gerry Ryan be considered "stiff competition" for a position as chat show host?

Brian might get a bit stiff looking at Gerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Shoot me now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Why are you guys surprised?....it's RTE...bunch of clowns run the gaff.

TheBlock wrote: »
    This doen't sound like a good Idea. I'll be preparing for some more pish coming from RTE in the next year as cash gets tighter and production coompanies seek to fill slots for as little as possible. I'd prfer some more cash was spent on fewre productions and re-runs were added to the schedule but this doesn't seem to be the plan.

Clinic going frees up a lot of cash for a good well funded co-pro.

A nice chunk of cash will be going on this though (€90,000 an episode wtf?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

Brendan O'Connor always looks to me like a man who got a slap too many from the midwife (along with the mother no doubt). Lucy Kennedy looks like a woman who could have done with an extra slap or three.

Seriously, the obvious dream team was Craig Doyle and Grainne Seoige - telly hunk for her and telly totty for him of a depressed recessionary Saturday night. Stretch it out to midnight and they could even have had a stripper on at the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Linku

Craig and Grainne would actually probably bounce off each other really well, sounds like a great idea if he could be convinced to come back! Attracting guests is the other thing though, especially if it's recorded on Saturday or live, then you're competing with the Late Late for guests around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭TheBlock

Linku wrote: »
    Craig and Grainne would actually probably bounce off each other really well, sounds like a great idea if he could be convinced to come back! Attracting guests is the other thing though, especially if it's recorded on Saturday or live, then you're competing with the Late Late for guests around

Craig Doyle is due to be back on RTE later in 2010, I believe there is something in development at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Lemondrop kid

Brendan O'Connor always looks to me like a man who got a slap too many from the midwife (along with the mother no doubt). Lucy Kennedy looks like a woman who could have done with an extra slap or three.

Seriously, the obvious dream team was Craig Doyle and Grainne Seoige - telly hunk for her and telly totty for him of a depressed recessionary Saturday night. Stretch it out to midnight and they could even have had a stripper on at the end.

Yup. That'd do it.;)

Poor Lucy, seems like a nice individual - but a case of possible over exposure.
    I wonder how many performers are liked by genetics to RTE? And therefore i wonder is it simply that some people have talent and also happen to have contacts, or is it that they have contacts, and talent is optional. I'm serious now, not trying to start a crazy anti-RTE rant. But i really do wonder if the 'nepotism' accusation is real or not? Anyone any links or (real)stats to illustrate the nepotism charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Gulliver

Remember Charity Lords of the Ring? Every time Barry McGuigan tried to do some actual presenting (and a damn fine job too) Lucy the donkey would interject some inane tripe followed by her braying laugh. I'd say listening to her was why the celebrities were so eager to fight.

Brendan O'Connor should not be allowed in public, never mind on TV.

As Lucy says, make the "big switch", RTE. Pull the plug on the life support of your creative team, 'cause they're all brain dead!

TheBlock wrote: »
    Craig Doyle is due to be back on RTE later in 2010, I believe there is something in development at the moment.

Just because Craig is on the BBC doesn't mean he is good. He happens to be the worse BBC presenter at the moment, let him stay there, he is possibly to expensive anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭coopersgreen

Gulliver wrote: »
    Brendan O'Connor should not be allowed in public, never mind on TV.

Could not agree more. Spike Island, perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Linku wrote: »

I agree with both things that you say. Craig and Grainne are both attractive and professional. Like you say, attracting the guests would be ridiculous though, considering how poor the guests are on the flagship RTE production. I can only guess it would be the other half of the RTE staff that havent been on the previous night.

I have to admit I do find Brendan O'Connor entertaining, he's like the Eamon Dunphy of the Entertainment world. But I cant stand Lucy Kennedy, she's such a ladette. She was embarrassing on that "Living With Lucy" program. And dont get me started on her contribution to the Celebrity Boxing program.

How a pregnant woman would bring herself near a boxing ring/gym/skipping ropes/flying medicine balls/punch bags/etc, and all the possibilities of an accident that that brings, is just beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

*shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

Yup. That'd do it.;)

Poor Lucy, seems like a nice individual - but a case of possible over exposure.
    I wonder how many performers are liked by genetics to RTE? And therefore i wonder is it simply that some people have talent and also happen to have contacts, or is it that they have contacts, and talent is optional. I'm serious now, not trying to start a crazy anti-RTE rant. But i really do wonder if the 'nepotism' accusation is real or not? Anyone any links or (real)stats to illustrate the nepotism charge?

Don't know if Lucy has a dad there but ex FF td Todd Andrews, was chairman of rte in the 60s, until his son david andrews became parliamentary secretary to the Taoiseach. Years later David Andrews son, David junior, changed his name to Dave McSavage and for a few years worked as a warm up comedian on the late late, as wells as later having a show of his own. McSavages cousin, Ryan Tubridy has worked in rte since the age of 12, got to host a talkshow on saturday nights, and went on to take over the late late when pat kenny left.

This is just one family, probably hundreds of cases like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Cool. I would actually go out on a Saturday night to avoid watching this.
    Must get getting pressured by the Vintners federation to increase business for the pubs. Only reasonable explanation I can see.

These two will be worse than Plank Kenny.

RTE fail again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭ben bedlam

Lucy Kennedy is a man

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

ben bedlam wrote: »
    Lucy Kennedy is a man

Co-Sign!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Oh Dear God. I didn't think it was possible to be surprised by RTE any more...
    But this is just ridiculous. I just don't understand how they are making the decisions about new shows. It's like they're aiming to produce as much crap as possible and getting rid of any semi-decent shows like The Clinic.

€90,000?!??!??

WTF?????????!

Ninety thousand euro. Per episode.
    What. The. F*ck.

If this goes ahead those pricks can sing for their license...I'd prefer a week in the 'joy than funding that sort of crap at those sort of prices.

Okay you will be surprised to find that 90 grand is what will be required regardless of the ineptitude of the presenters.

As Charlie brooker says

"Television costs money, so much money it would make your head spin around, even a programme like this which is considered low budget in telly term costs around £47,667 per episode to make"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

i don't think that why he was complaining abouthte 90,000 grand being spent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

Lucy Kennedy on a Saturday night.........kill me now..........

i don't think that why he was complaining abouthte 90,000 grand being spent

I would think that the 90,000 budget is very low for a chat show, and really RTÉ should be investing more into it, but also for get about the two hosts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 mike rolite

Oh my God, those two are the most narcicisstic morons in Ireland :eek:. Does RTE actually want viewers? I always try to stay in on Saturday nights and to be honest Saturday night telly is not that great. I hope Santa listens to my plea for box sets...

I would think that the 90,000 budget is very low for a chat show, and really RTÉ should be investing more into it, but also for get about the two hosts.

Personally I'd get far more entertainment from watching the live televised coverage of RTÉ's chief executive standing at a brazier and feeding it €20 notes for an hour, every weekend.

I realise making any sort of TV costs money...with that in mind, I'd think that in these times of enforced austerity, that peak value for money is found in any new show that is commisioned, something vaguely in line with public expectations and not based on the doctrines of what the montrose mafia think people out in viewer land want...the general tone of the thread seems to agree that Kennedy and that other waste of space aren't as popular as RTÉ would like to believe.
    I'm aware that boards.ie is not seen as reflective of RTE's general viewership.

Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

BRING BACK Tubridy Tonight