Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Grand Slam journey Mon 30 Nov

• 23-11-2009 12:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭

According to www.radiotimes.com
    Ireland's Grand Slam Journey 2009
    Monday 30 November
    9:35pm - 10:40pm
    RTE1
    A look back at Ireland's grand slam victory in the Six Nations Championship rugby tournament this year after a 61-year wait. Features contributions from players including Paul O'Connell, Brian O'Driscoll, Tommy Bowe and Ronan O'Gara, and includes previously unseen footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Thanks, might Sky+ this insted of having to buy the DVD :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Anybody know if the new Living with the Lions DVD; Living With The Pride is going to be shown on TV? Dont want to buy the DVD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭phog

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Anybody know if the new Living with the Lions DVD; Living With The Pride is going to be shown on TV? Dont want to buy the DVD

Think there's a Hector special some night this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Deadly Delta

From RTE.ie

MONDAY 30 NOVEMBER

IRELAND'S GRAND SLAM JOURNEY 2009
    9.35pm

Never before seen on-field footage and reflective interviews with the Irish team and management following Ireland's glorious 6 Nations Championship win

Last March Ireland ended a 61 year wait for Grand Slam glory and landed their first RBS 6 Nations. RTÉ's cameras followed the drama unfolding from the low after the Autumn Internationals and throughout every second of action over the RBS 6 Nations tournament. The team talking candidly about the challenges they faced both on and off the pitch

We hear from Paul O'Connell, Brian O'Driscoll, Tommy Bowe, Ronan O'Gara, and many more of the players on the dedication required and emotions they experienced on every step of their Grand Slam journey.

Declan Kidney and his backroom team offer insight into the decisions and worries of management while Gerry Thornley and Conor O'Shea put this great achievement into perspective.

From the same team who made Reaching for Glory: Inside Irish Rugby '07, The Dubs and Brian Kerr documentaries Ireland's Grand Slam Journey 2009 offers never before seen on-field footage and reflective interviews with the Irish team and management.

I wonder is there any "fear of god" stuff on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

phog wrote: »
    Think there's a Hector special some night this week.

again, www.radiotimes.com
    Chasing the Lions 2
    Wednesday 25 November
    9:00pm - 10:00pm
    TV3

Funnymen Hector O hEochagain and Risteard Cooper give their candid and irreverent commentary on the 2009 British and Irish Lions rugby tour to South Africa. The comedians follow the drama in their converted camper van studio, catching up with players, critics and fans to debate and discuss the biggest stories and scandals of the tour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

AHH...a bit disappointing! I thought this was going to be a thread about going for back-to-back Grand Slams. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 shakyface

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Nice to see the lads winding up ROG in the trailer ;)

Clip from Documentary: Monday 9.35 RTE 1 - Nov 30th

Tommy Bowe Try against Wales

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eu7njU7_Efo

Ireland v England Clip:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hsnUkvZ0KBg

Brian O'Driscoll's Try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Looking forward to this now, looks great. Not often you see John Hayes giving an interview!

shakyface wrote: »
    Clip from Documentary: Monday 9.35 RTE 1 - Nov 30th

Tommy Bowe Try against Wales

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eu7njU7_Efo

LOL at Rob and Luke "Ah here we go / don't get us started" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭redmca

shakyface wrote: »
    Ireland v England Clip:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hsnUkvZ0KBg

Brian O'Driscoll's Try

Wonderful try ...... strange how RTE put the date of the match as 30 February !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Could we possibly e-mail RTE and tell them that 'defence' is spelled with a 'c' in this part of the world and not a bloody 's'....(sorry, it's the sub-editor in me, but slack, slack,slack...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

They completely butchered the word "minutes" at one point too.
    Overall I thought it was one of their better productions.
    Really stirred up the emotions I felt during the Wales game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Seifer wrote: »
    They completely butchered the word "minutes" at one point too.
    Overall I thought it was one of their better productions.
    Really stirred up the emotions I felt during the Wales game.
    Minuets....thats what they've just banned in switzerland isn't it? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Will this be put up on the RTE player? I missed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

yep should be there in the morning!

Its programmes like this that remind me why i love Irish Rugby!! The end of that welsh match leaves Tears in my eyes!

gcgirl wrote: »
    Its programmes like this that remind me why i love Irish Rugby!! The end of that welsh match leaves Tears in my eyes!
    Its weird, I've seen ROG's drop goal re-played on tv and on youtube many times, but I have to say I got a bit emotional this time watching it. It was all to do with the build up I suppose.

I get the same reactions when watching the Munster H-Cup champions 2006 DVD and the song that is played when the ball is kicked out at the end of the game is too much. :p

This world cup thingy in 2011 can't come soon enough.

wow i had goosebumps watching it all again!! definitely something i'll remember in detail for ever!! it was great to see the shots of o'connell celebrating (going "bananas") after the game too!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Its weird, I've seen ROG's drop goal re-played on tv and on youtube many times, but I have to say I got a bit emotional this time watching it. It was all to do with the build up I suppose.

Damn right it was emotional, I was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Makes the decision of IRB player of the year that much harder to swallow when you see the absolute Herculean, Heroic and Inspirational efforts of the great man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Superb effort from RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Yeah great stuff from RTE, really enjoyed it. Glad I have it recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I thought it was great, was hilarious with ROG and his "How can you give away a penalty in the last two minutes?"

Thought at the start "Oh christ this is gonna be some cheesy ****e from RTE now!" with the flames in slow motion and all that...but the build up was great, and it really brought back the emotions from the Wales match, I had goosebumps! I nearly felt like closing my eyes watching Stephen Jones' final penalty again. :)

Great stuff from RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Aidric wrote: »
    Will this be put up on the RTE player? I missed it.

Should appear here soon: http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1061212

All of Ireland's AIs in full are here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Wookster76

Still not up on the player unless I'm missing it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Barnica1

Anyone know the name of the song played at the end when stephen jones is kicking the penalty? thought it was great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Magpie87

Barnica1 wrote: »
    Anyone know the name of the song played at the end when stephen jones is kicking the penalty? thought it was great

Was it "Eet" by Regina Specktor ?

I'm also trying to figure out some of the songs that were on it... but I knew that one alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Being shown again apparently for anyone that missed it http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/features/irelandsgrandslamjourney2009.html

Thought it was brilliant, I'm glad there was no insight into the changing room discussions and that, I'm pretty sure whatever the hell Kidney says to them at half time is some sort of "God speak" that if I heard by an average Joe non rugby international causes instant deafness! :D

Barnica1 wrote: »
    it was Eet by regina spektor!! i looked it up myself after hearing it!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CPMIXk-ipT0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Comment on one of the youtube videos above:
    I emailed stupid RTE and guess what!
    It will not be replayed on RTE player! Makes you wonder what the hell a TV licence if for....

Flippin' flip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Barnica1

yeah thats it! thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 dirrin

Does anyone know what the music was near the end of the program (not the end credits, just before that?

It was a piano piece and the Wales game had just ended and the team were celebrating on the pitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

dirrin wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the music was near the end of the program (not the end credits, just before that?

It was a piano piece and the Wales game had just ended and the team were celebrating on the pitch?

I know Radio Ballet by Eluvium was used at some point during the programme, that's quite a beautiful piano piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 dirrin

The music is Radio Ballet by Eluvium!
    Thank you Morf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Just watched it there on Sky+ - fantastic! Brought up all the emotion for the Wales game again. Almost shouting at the TV again and everything. Loved them making fun of Heaslip's celebration before he grounded the ball against Scotland - POC "The day he doesn't ground it there'll be trouble" and Tommy Bowe "It's not football, there's no need for that" :P

Just like the last documentary "Inside Irish Rugby 2007", a brilliant programme with a fantastic musical score.

Looking for the song that's on during the Ireland v France bit, gonna be tricky with all the talking over it but there's french lyrics in there too :D

Heh, I love Sky+ and Google. That one is Coeur De Pirate - Comme Des Enfants

Looking for the one where Darcy scores the try against France. It's just a short piano piece so it could well be a custom one.

The music when Tommy Bowe scored his try after the break at the start of Ireland v Italy is another one I'd like to know the name of. It went on right through into the England game to the BOD try.

Morf got this one, it's Mono - Ashes in the Snow

There's just so much good music. The one that was on for the entire Ireland v Scotland segment, the epic buildup track for the second half of the Wales match right down to just before Ireland's last shot. The track for ROG's drop goal to put Ireland back in the lead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Elbows

niallon wrote: »
    Being shown again apparently for anyone that missed it http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/features/irelandsgrandslamjourney2009.html

Thought it was brilliant, I'm glad there was no insight into the changing room discussions and that, I'm pretty sure whatever the hell Kidney says to them at half time is some sort of "God speak" that if I heard by an average Joe non rugby international causes instant deafness! :D

Balls and Codology!! Its on the night I'm flying back to UK after Xmas!!!

Elbows wrote: »
    Balls and Codology!! Its on the night I'm flying back to UK after Xmas!!!

It could very well make it's way onto RTE player after the 28th. If not somebody might cap it and upload it :)

Eluvium - Radio Ballet and Mono - Ashes In The Snow both feature in the programme somewhere.

Morf wrote: »
    Eluvium - Radio Ballet and Mono - Ashes In The Snow both feature in the programme somewhere.

Thanks Morf! Mono - Ashes in the Snow is the Ireland v Italy Tommy Bowe try one

I didn't write down where Radio Ballet plays because I'd got the name of the track :)

You're welcome.

They also like Explosions in the Sky in the sound dept. of RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

The track for ROG's drop goal to put Ireland back in the lead.

Still trying to find out what this one is... anyone got the name?

It was produced by ScreenScene who can be contacted at info@screenscene.ie - I suppose if a few of us email asking for a list of songs then they might be so nice and give us a Christmas present :D

Looking at the list it might be better to email Suzanne McKenzie who is in charge of Broadcast Documentaries at suzanne@screenscene.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

*Bump*

Just a reminder that this is on tomorrow, RTE2 at 8 for anyone that missed it...

NotWormBoy wrote: »
    Still trying to find out what this one is... anyone got the name?

It's a Sigur Ros song off their latest album . . .

Sigur Rós/ Med Sud I Eyrum Vid Spilum Endalaust/Við Spilum Endalaust

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Haha that bit with rodge about "how I guy can give away a penalty with 2 minutes remaining" was gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭IrishKev

Just watched it there on RTÉ2 at 8pm, what a programme really brought back the happy memories of the Grand Slam. I watched it the last time around a month asgo and I completely forgot to look up the song that was on when Stephen Jones missed the last minute kick, but I made sure not to forget this time :D Really great soundtrack and great programme overall, even though I'm not buying the DVD I really enjoyed it.